Questions tagged [mtg-stack]

For questions about Magic: the Gathering specific to the Stack, a system for managing the order events resolve in. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I tap a permanent for mana multiple times with multiple copies of an untap spell on the stack?

Let's say I have Thousand-Year Storm with a few triggers (or some other copy ability), then I cast Dramatic Reversal (or similar) can I tap my mana rocks between each resolve of Dramatic Reversal? Say ...
NotDead's user avatar
  • 61
3 votes
1 answer
320 views

Multiple End step events

Let’s say I have Promise of Tomorrow and a couple creatures exiled with it. I cast Eerie Interlude during my main phase and exile all my creatures. Now, what I want to know is if Promise of Tomorrow’s ...
Bytogram's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
827 views

Does the game check how many creatures you have before a boardwide effect changes those creatures toughness? (MTG)

Say I have Kaervek, the Spiteful and Endrek Sahr, Master Breeder on the battlefield and I cast Sibsig Muckdraggers, creating 9 1/1 thrulls that immediately die to Kaervek's effect. Would the game ...
MewUwU's user avatar
  • 21
2 votes
1 answer
145 views

Copying Éomer, Marshal of Rohan trigger on the stack

I somehow managed to trigger Éomer, Marshal of Rohan's ability and copied it 10x on the stack. Do I get 10 combat phases? Does the triggers resolve one after another or does it empty the stack ...
Pboy's user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
3 answers
217 views

Can the combo of Smothering Tithe + Faerie Mastermind + Training Grounds be interrupted by removing the Faerie?

My opponent controls Smothering Tithe, Faerie Mastermind, and Training Grounds, and they are activating Faerie Mastermind's ability repeatedly to draw their whole deck I Deadly Rollick'd their Faerie ...
mike56k's user avatar
  • 31
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I choose 0 targets for Terror of the Peaks?

My Terror of the Peaks triggers when my creatures entered the battlefield. My opponent responds to the trigger with Teferi's Protection and phases out along with his board. Can I submit 0 targets ...
Barry 's user avatar
  • 83
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does Eye for an Eye work if my opponent casts a lethal Fireball on me

My opponent and myself are at 5 life points. He casts a Fireball of 5 targeting me and I respond with Eye for an Eye so we both take five points of damage. Does my Eye for an Eye resolve first, ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
2 votes
1 answer
404 views

How does the Ozolith work with undying?

If a creature with undying and a +1/+1 counter dies when The Ozolith is on the battlefield, is the counter removed so that the undying ability makes the creature come black to the battlefield?
sinsedrix's user avatar
  • 1,121
1 vote
2 answers
707 views

Can an opponent respond to me sacrificing a creature with Diamond Valley?

I tap a Diamond Valley I control to sacrifice one of my creatures, and my opponent responds by removing my creature with Swords to Plowshares (or similar spell). Do I still get the increase in life ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
-1 votes
1 answer
223 views

Does Mizzix/Reiterate/Electrodominance infinite loop work?

In theory, you use the experience counters on Mizzix of the Izmagnus to pay for the Buyback cost of Reiterate to remove it from the graveyard, allowing you to recast Electrodominance. But, all that ...
ReclusiveCthulhOU812's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
279 views

Gyome, Master Chef, Idol of Oblivion, and End Step Timing

Gyome, Master Chef creates food tokens during your end step based on the number of creatues you had enter the battlefield during your turn. Idol of Oblivion has the ability to tap it and draw a card. ...
Ghostship's user avatar
  • 422
1 vote
1 answer
157 views

Does Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale go on stack?

I have Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale in play. My opponent has a Serendib Efreet and a Serra Angel in play. I cast Mana Short in his upkeep to tap all his lands and empty his manapool. He has no other ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
2 votes
2 answers
723 views

Do I get to order the outcome of a voting card on the stack in the way I want?

If I play Cirdan the Shipwright its ETB triggers and everybody votes. If I receive no votes and have Consecrated Sphinx in hand, do I get to order the results of the vote in such a way, that I may put ...
kvltfjord's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
127 views

Question about damage triggers while going below 0 life

My relevant board state is Blood Hound and Shalai and Hallar. An opponent attacks with unblockable creatures, for say 20 damage, which is more damage than I have life. Do I get to add the counters ...
TG Wabba's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
510 views

MTG: Interaction Narset Parter of Veils with Seizan Perverter of Truth

How is the interaction between Narset, Parter of Veils with Seizan, Perverter of Truth? Does the opponent lose 2 life during the upkeep without drawing the cards?
DasLicht's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
150 views

How does Bolt Bend interact with Cycling triggers?

I was playing Lotus Field Combo in pioneer, and I cycled Vizier of Tumbling Sands: Cycling {1}{U} ({1}{U}, Discard this card: Draw a card.) When you cycle Vizier of Tumbling Sands, untap target ...
HyperSpaceman's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
56 views

Do on death triggers still function if they have been removed by an aura? [duplicate]

I have a Wurmcoil Engine. My opponent casts Reprobation on it, making it a 0/1 Coward without any abilities. If the Wurmcoil Engine dies, do I get the tokens it would generate? The specific text on ...
Timothy Chu's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
839 views

Can my creature spell be countered if I cast a split second spell after it?

Scenario: I put 9 black mana into my mana pool I cast Massacre Wurm I cast Sudden Spoiling I pass priority to my opponent Sudden Spoiling has Split Second, which means that says players cannot cast ...
Mulan's user avatar
  • 143
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Why does playing Rancor on Gossamer Phantasm send Rancor to the graveyard?

I was playing Magic 2014 (the videogame) and I played the enchantment Rancor Enchanted creature gets +2/+0 and has trample. When Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, return Rancor to ...
ordago's user avatar
  • 153
6 votes
2 answers
231 views

Spell proposal and hidden information

Forgive me if this has been asked elsewhere - if it has, my google-fu has failed me. CR 601. Casting Spells handles the process of moving a card from the player's hand, a hidden zone, to the stack, a ...
Nightglow's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
187 views

How does Kaya's Ghostform work with undying?

If I have Geralf's Messenger enchanted with Kaya's Ghostform, if he dies does he re-enter the battlefield with his +1/+1 counter or no? I tried googling "how does kaya's ghostform work with ...
MagicGeek's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
142 views

How do Paradise Plume and Defiant Bloodlord interact if the first spell mentioned is used to cast the second

Paradise Plume allows the caster to choose a color, spend a mana of chosen color, and whenever a spell of that color is played the controller may gain 1 life. Defiant Bloodlord is a creature that ...
Jacqueline Schrickel's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
516 views

Stacking combat triggers with Raffine, Scheming Seer

I have 3 opponents and attack one of them with Raffine, Scheming Seer and a Grizzly Bears equipped with Blade of Selves. If I stack the triggered abilities such that Blade of Selves' resolves before ...
James Jackson's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do player choices use the stack?

Last night I played a commander game with a new deck using Noble Heritage as a background. This caused some confusion the first time I resolved my commander, raising 3 questions: What order do we ...
James Jackson's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
742 views

If Pitiless Pontiff sacrifices Piru, the Volatile, does it get indestructible?

If Pitiless Pontiff sacrifices Piru, the Volatile, does it get indestructible before getting killed by Piru?
Euphorbium's user avatar
1 vote
3 answers
798 views

How would Glasspool Mimic (or other clones) resolve if cloned target is removed

If I cast Glasspool Mimic targeting a Lord of Atlantis that I control, and in response to the spell going on the stack, my opponent casts Petty Theft targeting the same Lord of Atlantis, how would ...
pvtbrownstar's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can I cast a spell after the stack has resolved on my opponent's turn in MTG?

In a game, my opponent played Burn the Accursed to kill one of my creatures also deal 2 damage to me. I also have a 1/1 Scavenger Folk in play and the ability to create enough mana to cast Simulacrum, ...
FriendlyWizardinMTG's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
774 views

Attacking effect, after attacker dies? [duplicate]

My opponent declares Lulu, Loyal Hollyphant to be attacking with Greatsword of Tyr. In response, I murder Lulu. Does the Greatsword's "tap up to one target creature" effect still resolve?
Raj's user avatar
  • 1,119
4 votes
1 answer
763 views

Can I return a copied spell from exile to my hand via Narset's Reversal?

I cast a spell like Mizzix's Mastery: Exile target card that's an instant or sorcery from your graveyard. For each card exiled this way, copy it, and you may cast the copy without paying its mana ...
Lainathiel's user avatar
  • 2,365
0 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does Myrkul, Lord of Bones interact with Feign Death

Myrkul, Lord of Bones says: Whenever another nontoken creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that's a copy of that card, except it's an enchantment and loses all other ...
TheDragonOfFlame's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
112 views

How are spells and abilities with the keyword "you" affected after they are suddenly under an opponent's control while on the stack? Who's "YOU"?

Suppose I want to dump a loss from Pact of the Titan on my opponent. So I play Pact of the Titan. I then play Sudden Substitution. I envision this will allow me to take one of my opponent's creatures, ...
Rick James's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Alaundo the Seer removing multiple last time counters at the same time

Suppose that I have 2 or more spells in exile with exactly 1 time counter on each of them. I activate Alaundo the Seer's ability to "remove a time counter from each other card you own in exile&...
kaine's user avatar
  • 391
4 votes
1 answer
859 views

Sacrifice Garna before ETB resolves

Garna, the Bloodflame has an ETB (enter the battlefield) effect that states that I may "return to your hand all creature cards in your graveyard that were put there from anywhere this turn". ...
kaine's user avatar
  • 391
3 votes
2 answers
851 views

How does casting a spell while casting a spell affect priority?

So, in this question, a process for casting a spell while you're in the middle of casting another spell is described, and the consensus in the answers is that it works, and allows you to cast a second ...
nick012000's user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you cast a spell while casting a spell?

Suppose I start casting a simple spell, such as Sol Ring. I follow the steps in rule 601, up to 601.2g, which is where I get a chance to activate mana abilities. I tap Selvala, Explorer Returned, ...
Grimmy's user avatar
  • 395
2 votes
2 answers
992 views

Does the 'Disturb' keyword (and the transformed effect therein) interact with card effects that reduce the casting cost of spells?

For example: I have Urza's Incubator on the table, and I declare Spirits as my creature type. I then want to cast Mirrorhall Mimic (A spirit creature) from my graveyard for its Disturb cost which ...
joxley's user avatar
  • 31
4 votes
1 answer
548 views

Ancient Greenwarden and Simic Growth Chamber

If I have Ancient Greenwarden on the field and I play Simic Growth Chamber, since Greenwarden's third ability isn't a may it means that Chambers ETB goes on the stack twice. My question is if I can ...
Miguel's user avatar
  • 41
0 votes
1 answer
964 views

Can I select the same creature for sacrifice twice? [duplicate]

I am playing an Edgar Markov deck with plenty of 1/1 tokens and an Indulgent Aristocrat on the field. Indulgent Aristocrat has the ability {2}, sacrifice a creature: put a +1/+1 counter on each ...
Bob's user avatar
  • 9
3 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you shoot Terror of the Peaks when it enters with a bunch of dragons, to avoid the damage?

On a recent edh game a player was returning all the dragons from his graveyard to play. One of those dragons was Terror of the Peaks, so other dragons would trigger him. All of them enter at the same ...
Euphorbium's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
891 views

Is it today possible to cast spells targeting other spells placed at the bottom of the stack?

Taking up a theme I introduced "in the past" - as you can read from the question posted here: Was it possible to target spells placed at the bottom of a just-cast fast effects chain? with ...
ManoFromBerlin's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
376 views

Remove counters from creature after an effect like fling

Let's say I have a 3/3 creature with two +1/+1 counters in it making it a 5/5. I then use an ability or spell like Fling that sacrifices a creature to deal damage equal to the sacrificed creatures ...
Ooze's user avatar
  • 21
5 votes
1 answer
222 views

Tiger-Tribe Hunter and temporary power/toughness changes

I played AFR draft on MTG Arena last night and encountered something that doesn't make sense to me. My opponent had a Zombie Ogre with a +1/+1 counter and a Death-Priest of Myrkul in play. I had a ...
Matt Drake's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does this Teshar combo (listed #1 on EDHREC) really work?

In the EDHREC page for Teshar, Ancestor's Apostle, there is a list of combos recommended for him as a commander. The top combo shown features these four cards: Blasting Station Myr Retriever ...
Qami's user avatar
  • 243
1 vote
2 answers
216 views

Can Tawnos, Urza's Apprentice be used to name two cards for Phyrexian Revoker? Or for Stuffy Doll?

I have Tawnos, Urza's Apprentice as my commander for a deck I'm building. And looking over Phyrexian Revoker I wondered if I could copy its ability and name a second card as it comes down to lock ...
Bofoi's user avatar
  • 11
4 votes
2 answers
895 views

Madness and Conspiracy Theorist

Strixhaven introduces Conspiracy Theorist, with the triggered ability: Whenever you discard one or more nonland cards, you may exile one of them from your graveyard. If you do, you may cast it this ...
Drunk Cynic's user avatar
  • 3,892
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Dina Soul Steeper & Lifelink Combo

I recently pulled a Dina, Soul Steeper from a Strixhaven, School of Mages pack. I realized that Dina's activated ability, when given lifelink, could instantly win you the game. The ability reads "...
JustDungeoning's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
431 views

How many Corridor Monitors can I make with Blade Of Selves and Strionic Resonator?

I have Corridor Monitor attached with Blade of Selves. As well as this I have Strionic Resonator, and a load of spare mana. I have a way to give my creatures exalted (Sublime Archangel) or at least ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
6k views

How can we interrupt the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo?

A friend of mine was discussing the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo (pictured below). I was wondering if it would be easy to interrupt the combo easily, since Chain of Smog is a sorcery....
Kyle's user avatar
  • 89
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does Psychic Surgery work with Scheming Symmetry?

If I have the card Psychic Surgery out and I cast Scheming Symmetry, when exactly do I get to exile? Does the Psychic Surgery trigger resolve before or after the card tutored with Scheming Symmetry (...
The Man's user avatar
  • 3,672
3 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can Ghired, Conclave Exile and Helm of the Host go infinite?

So in a Commander match a buddy threw down Helm of the Host and Ghired, Conclave Exile. He attached the equipment to his Commander and swung out. Given the cards' rules texts, what goes onto/off of ...
Odin1806's user avatar
  • 337