Questions tagged [mtg-stack]

For questions about Magic: the Gathering specific to the Stack, a system for managing the order events resolve in. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
41 votes
4 answers
44k views

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems ...
Demento's user avatar
  • 3,610
41 votes
3 answers
103k views

Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin ...
MadLarkin's user avatar
  • 687
29 votes
4 answers
42k views

In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?

I'm a relatively new player to Magic: the Gathering. I was reading the expanded rules to try to understand exactly when it's okay to cast instants (e.g. Cancel) and use some abilities (e.g. Goblin ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does Epic Experiment let me pull creatures out of the graveyard that were exiled during its casting?

My brother showed me Epic Experiment today. Now he says you can use it to put creatures in the graveyard and then fish them out with the free spells you get, because the free spells get put on the ...
Gilsham's user avatar
  • 328
13 votes
2 answers
6k views

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose "indestructible"?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the not-indestructible ...
SirDuckduck's user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you cast a spell while casting a spell?

Suppose I start casting a simple spell, such as Sol Ring. I follow the steps in rule 601, up to 601.2g, which is where I get a chance to activate mana abilities. I tap Selvala, Explorer Returned, ...
Grimmy's user avatar
  • 395
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens to spells on the stack when a player leaves the game?

Let's say, in a multiplayer late-game (3+ players) I want to cast/activate anything during another players turn. Everyone is rather low on life, and in response to my spells/abilities on the stack ...
Erik's user avatar
  • 858
10 votes
3 answers
3k views

Does a spell cast via cascade resolve before the cascade trigger finishes resolving?

Cascade says to: Exile cards until you reveal the appropriate spell Optionally cast that spell Return the exiled cards to your library I am wondering whether or not 3 happens before the cast spell ...
Antimony's user avatar
  • 1,081
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can Eldrazi Processor effects "counter" madness?

In a couple of weeks cards with the madness mechanic, Eldrazi Processors, and Eldrazi Displacer are going to be in standard together. The text for Madness reads as follows: “If a player would discard ...
Duke of Sam's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
962 views

MTG Is the commander-ness of a card always known to all players?

Haven't been able to find any definitive information about this. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object ...
user117001's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do player choices use the stack?

Last night I played a commander game with a new deck using Noble Heritage as a background. This caused some confusion the first time I resolved my commander, raising 3 questions: What order do we ...
James Jackson's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Why don't triggered abilities immediately go on the stack?

Rule 603.2 of the Comprehensive Rules says: Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at ...
Andy's user avatar
  • 93
8 votes
3 answers
10k views

Is voluntarily revealing a card from your hand considered proposing?

Inspired by some comments on this question where someone might play two sorceries at the same time, a different question arose. Namely, if someone is to reveal cards from their hand (without an ...
corsiKa's user avatar
  • 10.8k
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I choose 0 targets for Terror of the Peaks?

My Terror of the Peaks triggers when my creatures entered the battlefield. My opponent responds to the trigger with Teferi's Protection and phases out along with his board. Can I submit 0 targets ...
Barry 's user avatar
  • 83
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

My opponent used Huatli's ability with a creature that had died. Was that allowed?

Recently, I played a match where a player used a card that killed off everyone’s creatures above a certain power, including one of his own. Immediately after that card, when no other card was played ...
Sanguine Crow's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

"Wrath of God" -VS- "Chord of Calling" + "Selfless Spirit" sacrificed in response

My opponent plays Wrath of God. In response I use Chord of Calling to get Selfless Spirit, so I can sacrifice Selfless Spirit and all of my creatures become indestructible, preventing the effect of ...
Telmurcio's user avatar
  • 153
8 votes
2 answers
6k views

How can we interrupt the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo?

A friend of mine was discussing the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo (pictured below). I was wondering if it would be easy to interrupt the combo easily, since Chain of Smog is a sorcery....
Kyle's user avatar
  • 89
8 votes
2 answers
753 views

Eater of Days, Hushwing Gryff, and the stack

How does the stack work for this scenario? Hushwing Gryff is already in play and the player goes to cast Eater of Days so the Hushwing Gryff will cancel out the loss of two turns. In response the ...
kjwilso's user avatar
  • 83
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
Fr33dan's user avatar
  • 2,893
7 votes
2 answers
647 views

Narset, Parter of Veils interaction with Aria of Flame

If I have Narset, Parter of Veils on the battlefield on one loyalty counter and my opponent has an Aria of Flame on the battlefield, what happens if the opponent plays Faithless Looting? I know the ...
Padjinski's user avatar
  • 421
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Hypergenesis vs Containment Priest - How does it resolve?

In an upcoming Legacy event near my residence, a friend of mine intends to play using an Hypergenesis deck. However, recently we have a certain abundance of Containment Priests in our region. This ...
T. Sar's user avatar
  • 173
6 votes
1 answer
778 views

Why don't I get an chance to respond to the Extinction Event choice?

Extinction Event reads Choose odd or even. Exile each creature with converted mana cost of the chosen value. Why can't I respond to my opponent's choice of odd/even, for example by activating my ...
eXPRESS's user avatar
  • 355
6 votes
2 answers
308 views

What is the order of Waterfront Bouncer's ability + Basking Rootwalla + Intruder Alarm on the stack?

I have some confusion about the ordering of specific triggered abilities on the stack which can be summarized with this sequence: Waterfront Bouncer (no summoning sickness) and Intruder Alarm are on ...
David Coffron's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
241 views

Bloodlord of Vaasgoth plus Warstorm Surge, then casting a vampire creature spell

I run vampire tribal and have a stack related question. I have a Bloodlord of Vaasgoth and Warstorm Surge in play, my main phase I cast a Vampire Nighthawk from my hand, here is my issue, how does the ...
Draxis's user avatar
  • 61
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

MTG: How does Devour work with abilites like Dragon Tempest

Suppose that I have Dragon Broodmother, two dragon tokens, and Dragon Tempest on the battlefield. Dragon Broodmother puts a 1/1 Dragon Token with Devour 2 on the battlefield and Dragon Tempest deals ...
Luke's user avatar
  • 379
6 votes
2 answers
231 views

Spell proposal and hidden information

Forgive me if this has been asked elsewhere - if it has, my google-fu has failed me. CR 601. Casting Spells handles the process of moving a card from the player's hand, a hidden zone, to the stack, a ...
Nightglow's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Why does playing Rancor on Gossamer Phantasm send Rancor to the graveyard?

I was playing Magic 2014 (the videogame) and I played the enchantment Rancor Enchanted creature gets +2/+0 and has trample. When Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, return Rancor to ...
ordago's user avatar
  • 153
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

Granting Indestructible and the Stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible," can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
Nikesh's user avatar
  • 51
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does Psychic Surgery work with Scheming Symmetry?

If I have the card Psychic Surgery out and I cast Scheming Symmetry, when exactly do I get to exile? Does the Psychic Surgery trigger resolve before or after the card tutored with Scheming Symmetry (...
The Man's user avatar
  • 3,672
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I tap a permanent for mana multiple times with multiple copies of an untap spell on the stack?

Let's say I have Thousand-Year Storm with a few triggers (or some other copy ability), then I cast Dramatic Reversal (or similar) can I tap my mana rocks between each resolve of Dramatic Reversal? Say ...
NotDead's user avatar
  • 61
5 votes
2 answers
557 views

Standstill, Phyrexian Tyranny and both players wanting to cast instants immediately after standstill is played. Who gets damage? [duplicate]

A question regarding Standstill; I have Phyrexian Tyranny on the table and we both have 2 life left. I play Standstill and immediately play an instant so that my fellow opponent would have to draw 3 ...
Wastelander's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
222 views

Tiger-Tribe Hunter and temporary power/toughness changes

I played AFR draft on MTG Arena last night and encountered something that doesn't make sense to me. My opponent had a Zombie Ogre with a +1/+1 counter and a Death-Priest of Myrkul in play. I had a ...
Matt Drake's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
519 views

damage triggering a simultaneous modifier of damage

Earl of Squirrel and Griffin Protector both deal combat damage to player. As Earl of Squirrel creates squirrels will it trigger the effect on a Griffin Protector before the Griffin deals damage to the ...
Ariel D Salem's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

If I sacrifice a creature for a spell and it creates a token, can I sacrifice that token for the spell too?

I have to sacrifice multiple creatures to pay for an ability, e.g. Flashback - Sacrifice two creatures. How does the stack interaction work if I sacrifice one creature with an enters the graveyard ...
ThunderHorse's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
516 views

Stacking combat triggers with Raffine, Scheming Seer

I have 3 opponents and attack one of them with Raffine, Scheming Seer and a Grizzly Bears equipped with Blade of Selves. If I stack the triggered abilities such that Blade of Selves' resolves before ...
James Jackson's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
202 views

Creature kill and resurrect effects on the stack interaction?

For example, casting Murder on a creature while Rally the Ancestors is on the stack (and would effect the creature if it was in the graveyard)? I would think so, because the creature should die and ...
qwersjc's user avatar
  • 307
5 votes
1 answer
9k views

Triggered abilities: Whenever a creature deals damage

I have among others the following two permanents in play under my command: Derevi, Emyrical Tactician, which has "Whenever Derevi, Empyrical Tactician enters the battlefield or a creature you ...
Hyperboreus's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does Eye for an Eye work if my opponent casts a lethal Fireball on me

My opponent and myself are at 5 life points. He casts a Fireball of 5 targeting me and I respond with Eye for an Eye so we both take five points of damage. Does my Eye for an Eye resolve first, ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does this Teshar combo (listed #1 on EDHREC) really work?

In the EDHREC page for Teshar, Ancestor's Apostle, there is a list of combos recommended for him as a commander. The top combo shown features these four cards: Blasting Station Myr Retriever ...
Qami's user avatar
  • 243
4 votes
1 answer
678 views

How does Wizard's Lightning stop Archfiend's Vessel?

So, I'm watching this youtuber play Magic: the Gathering Arena, and he was able to stop an Archfiend's Vessel from triggering when it is pulled from the graveyard by casting a Wizard's ...
Robert's user avatar
  • 219
4 votes
2 answers
895 views

Madness and Conspiracy Theorist

Strixhaven introduces Conspiracy Theorist, with the triggered ability: Whenever you discard one or more nonland cards, you may exile one of them from your graveyard. If you do, you may cast it this ...
Drunk Cynic's user avatar
  • 3,892
4 votes
1 answer
839 views

Can my creature spell be countered if I cast a split second spell after it?

Scenario: I put 9 black mana into my mana pool I cast Massacre Wurm I cast Sudden Spoiling I pass priority to my opponent Sudden Spoiling has Split Second, which means that says players cannot cast ...
Mulan's user avatar
  • 143
4 votes
1 answer
763 views

Can I return a copied spell from exile to my hand via Narset's Reversal?

I cast a spell like Mizzix's Mastery: Exile target card that's an instant or sorcery from your graveyard. For each card exiled this way, copy it, and you may cast the copy without paying its mana ...
Lainathiel's user avatar
  • 2,365
4 votes
1 answer
548 views

Ancient Greenwarden and Simic Growth Chamber

If I have Ancient Greenwarden on the field and I play Simic Growth Chamber, since Greenwarden's third ability isn't a may it means that Chambers ETB goes on the stack twice. My question is if I can ...
Miguel's user avatar
  • 41
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
user7270's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
742 views

If Pitiless Pontiff sacrifices Piru, the Volatile, does it get indestructible?

If Pitiless Pontiff sacrifices Piru, the Volatile, does it get indestructible before getting killed by Piru?
Euphorbium's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
859 views

Sacrifice Garna before ETB resolves

Garna, the Bloodflame has an ETB (enter the battlefield) effect that states that I may "return to your hand all creature cards in your graveyard that were put there from anywhere this turn". ...
kaine's user avatar
  • 391
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana? [duplicate]

What happens if I tap a Llanowar Elves for its ability and the creature is destroyed in response with an Ultimate Price? And why? (a brief explanation will suffice) This may sound as a silly question ...
Renato Sanhueza's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Explanation of Selvala, Explorer Returned's ruling?

Selvala, Explorer Returned has the following ruling: If you activate Selvala's ability while casting a spell, and you discover you can't produce enough mana to pay that spell's costs, the spell is ...
CollinB's user avatar
  • 2,499
3 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you shoot Terror of the Peaks when it enters with a bunch of dragons, to avoid the damage?

On a recent edh game a player was returning all the dragons from his graveyard to play. One of those dragons was Terror of the Peaks, so other dragons would trigger him. All of them enter at the same ...
Euphorbium's user avatar