Questions tagged [mtg-stack]

For questions about Magic: the Gathering specific to the Stack, a system for managing the order events resolve in. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
29 votes
4 answers
41k views

In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?

I'm a relatively new player to Magic: the Gathering. I was reading the expanded rules to try to understand exactly when it's okay to cast instants (e.g. Cancel) and use some abilities (e.g. Goblin ...
user avatar
39 votes
3 answers
94k views

Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin ...
user avatar
  • 667
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

Granting Indestructible and the Stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible," can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
user avatar
  • 51
41 votes
4 answers
40k views

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems ...
user avatar
  • 3,610
13 votes
2 answers
5k views

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose "indestructible"?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the not-indestructible ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

If I sacrifice a creature for a spell and it creates a token, can I sacrifice that token for the spell too?

I have to sacrifice multiple creatures to pay for an ability, e.g. Flashback - Sacrifice two creatures. How does the stack interaction work if I sacrifice one creature with an enters the graveyard ...
user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you cast a spell while casting a spell?

Suppose I start casting a simple spell, such as Sol Ring. I follow the steps in rule 601, up to 601.2g, which is where I get a chance to activate mana abilities. I tap Selvala, Explorer Returned, ...
user avatar
  • 375
8 votes
2 answers
903 views

"Wrath of God" -VS- "Chord of Calling" + "Selfless Spirit" sacrificed in response

My opponent plays Wrath of God. In response I use Chord of Calling to get Selfless Spirit, so I can sacrifice Selfless Spirit and all of my creatures become indestructible, preventing the effect of ...
user avatar
  • 153
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
user avatar
  • 2,873
2 votes
3 answers
944 views

Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?

If I resolve a Gitaxian Probe, can I crack a Lion Eye Diamond before I draw?
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
539 views

Can you use an ability as you put the card on the stack?

If I play Elixir Of Immortality for example, or any card with an ability, when it goes on the stack, can I activate its abilities before my opponent can respond? And if so, if he counters the card ...
user avatar
  • 401