Questions tagged [mtg-stack]

For questions about Magic: the Gathering specific to the Stack, a system for managing the order events resolve in. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
1 answer
91 views

Attacking effect, after attacker dies? [duplicate]

My opponent declares Lulu, Loyal Hollyphant to be attacking with Greatsword of Tyr. In response, I murder Lulu. Does the Greatsword's "tap up to one target creature" effect still resolve?
user avatar
  • 988
4 votes
1 answer
340 views

Can I return a copied spell from exile to my hand via Narset's Reversal?

I cast a spell like Mizzix's Mastery: Exile target card that's an instant or sorcery from your graveyard. For each card exiled this way, copy it, and you may cast the copy without paying its mana ...
user avatar
  • 2,345
0 votes
1 answer
639 views

How does Myrkul, Lord of Bones interact with Feign Death

Myrkul, Lord of Bones says: Whenever another nontoken creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that's a copy of that card, except it's an enchantment and loses all other ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
85 views

How are spells and abilities with the keyword "you" affected after they are suddenly under an opponent's control while on the stack? Who's "YOU"?

Suppose I want to dump a loss from Pact of the Titan on my opponent. So I play Pact of the Titan. I then play Sudden Substitution. I envision this will allow me to take one of my opponent's creatures, ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
310 views

Alaundo the Seer removing multiple last time counters at the same time

Suppose that I have 2 or more spells in exile with exactly 1 time counter on each of them. I activate Alaundo the Seer's ability to "remove a time counter from each other card you own in exile&...
user avatar
  • 371
4 votes
1 answer
210 views

Sacrifice Garna before ETB resolves

Garna, the Bloodflame has an ETB (enter the battlefield) effect that states that I may "return to your hand all creature cards in your graveyard that were put there from anywhere this turn". ...
user avatar
  • 371
3 votes
2 answers
407 views

How does casting a spell while casting a spell affect priority?

So, in this question, a process for casting a spell while you're in the middle of casting another spell is described, and the consensus in the answers is that it works, and allows you to cast a second ...
user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you cast a spell while casting a spell?

Suppose I start casting a simple spell, such as Sol Ring. I follow the steps in rule 601, up to 601.2g, which is where I get a chance to activate mana abilities. I tap Selvala, Explorer Returned, ...
user avatar
  • 375
2 votes
2 answers
535 views

Does the 'Disturb' keyword (and the transformed effect therein) interact with card effects that reduce the casting cost of spells?

For example: I have Urza's Incubator on the table, and I declare Spirits as my creature type. I then want to cast Mirrorhall Mimic (A spirit creature) from my graveyard for its Disturb cost which ...
user avatar
  • 31
4 votes
1 answer
431 views

Ancient Greenwarden and Simic Growth Chamber

If I have Ancient Greenwarden on the field and I play Simic Growth Chamber, since Greenwarden's third ability isn't a may it means that Chambers ETB goes on the stack twice. My question is if I can ...
user avatar
  • 41
0 votes
1 answer
141 views

Can I select the same creature for sacrifice twice? [duplicate]

I am playing an Edgar Markov deck with plenty of 1/1 tokens and an Indulgent Aristocrat on the field. Indulgent Aristocrat has the ability {2}, sacrifice a creature: put a +1/+1 counter on each ...
user avatar
  • 9
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you shoot Terror of the Peaks when it enters with a bunch of dragons, to avoid the damage?

On a recent edh game a player was returning all the dragons from his graveyard to play. One of those dragons was Terror of the Peaks, so other dragons would trigger him. All of them enter at the same ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
784 views

Is it today possible to cast spells targeting other spells placed at the bottom of the stack?

Taking up a theme I introduced "in the past" - as you can read from the question posted here: Was it possible to target spells placed at the bottom of a just-cast fast effects chain? with ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
213 views

Remove counters from creature after an effect like fling

Let's say I have a 3/3 creature with two +1/+1 counters in it making it a 5/5. I then use an ability or spell like Fling that sacrifices a creature to deal damage equal to the sacrificed creatures ...
user avatar
  • 21
5 votes
1 answer
199 views

Tiger-Tribe Hunter and temporary power/toughness changes

I played AFR draft on MTG Arena last night and encountered something that doesn't make sense to me. My opponent had a Zombie Ogre with a +1/+1 counter and a Death-Priest of Myrkul in play. I had a ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
813 views

Does this Teshar combo (listed #1 on EDHREC) really work?

In the EDHREC page for Teshar, Ancestor's Apostle, there is a list of combos recommended for him as a commander. The top combo shown features these four cards: Blasting Station Myr Retriever ...
user avatar
  • 243
1 vote
2 answers
170 views

Can Tawnos, Urza's Apprentice be used to name two cards for Phyrexian Revoker? Or for Stuffy Doll?

I have Tawnos, Urza's Apprentice as my commander for a deck I'm building. And looking over Phyrexian Revoker I wondered if I could copy its ability and name a second card as it comes down to lock ...
user avatar
  • 11
4 votes
2 answers
802 views

Madness and Conspiracy Theorist

Strixhaven introduces Conspiracy Theorist, with the triggered ability: Whenever you discard one or more nonland cards, you may exile one of them from your graveyard. If you do, you may cast it this ...
user avatar
  • 3,886
2 votes
1 answer
552 views

Dina Soul Steeper & Lifelink Combo

I recently pulled a Dina, Soul Steeper from a Strixhaven, School of Mages pack. I realized that Dina's activated ability, when given lifelink, could instantly win you the game. The ability reads "...
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
212 views

How many Corridor Monitors can I make with Blade Of Selves and Strionic Resonator?

I have Corridor Monitor attached with Blade of Selves. As well as this I have Strionic Resonator, and a load of spare mana. I have a way to give my creatures exalted (Sublime Archangel) or at least ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
5k views

How can we interrupt the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo?

A friend of mine was discussing the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo (pictured below). I was wondering if it would be easy to interrupt the combo easily, since Chain of Smog is a sorcery....
user avatar
  • 99
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does Psychic Surgery work with Scheming Symmetry?

If I have the card Psychic Surgery out and I cast Scheming Symmetry, when exactly do I get to exile? Does the Psychic Surgery trigger resolve before or after the card tutored with Scheming Symmetry (...
user avatar
  • 3,672
3 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can Ghired, Conclave Exile and Helm of the Host go infinite?

So in a Commander match a buddy threw down Helm of the Host and Ghired, Conclave Exile. He attached the equipment to his Commander and swung out. Given the cards' rules texts, what goes onto/off of ...
user avatar
  • 339
1 vote
1 answer
295 views

Instants in response to your own abilities

If an ability I control is on top of the stack, can I cast an instant before it resolves? For example, I have Sarkhan the Masterless and a dragon on the board. An opponent attacks, triggering 1 damage ...
user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
642 views

MTG Is the commander-ness of a card always known to all players?

Haven't been able to find any definitive information about this. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object ...
user avatar
0 votes
3 answers
255 views

Can Jinxed Idol be activated many times in a turn?

Irecently played a game with my group and I used Jinxed Idol at the beginning of my end step so I sacrificed a small 1/1 token to pass to 1 of my 3 opponents (next in turn after me) but then a game of ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
144 views

Responding to a Triggered Ability, multiple times

My opponent is at 3 life and has a Dread on board. I have a Fungal Plots, and a Slimefoot, the Stowaway, a 1/1 green Saproling token, and 8 mana open. I attack with my token, and he blocks. My token ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
3k views

What happens when you cast a spell with multiple copies of Krark, the thumbless

Using the partner commanders Krark, the Thumbless and Sakashima of a Thousand Faces. Krark has the ability: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, flip a coin. If you lose the flip, return ...
user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
524 views

Inspiring unicorn vs shock

I’m fairly new to Magic and still learning but got the basics. My problem is as follows. My friend person A : white deck (basic starter) Me person B : red deck (basic starter) Scenario Person A ...
user avatar
  • 29
6 votes
1 answer
618 views

Why don't I get an chance to respond to the Extinction Event choice?

Extinction Event reads Choose odd or even. Exile each creature with converted mana cost of the chosen value. Why can't I respond to my opponent's choice of odd/even, for example by activating my ...
user avatar
  • 355
0 votes
1 answer
185 views

MTG reactive play denied in MTG Arena

I played MTG Arena today and I attacked with Zulaport Duelist on which my opponent reacted with Stomp adventure of Bonecrusher Giant and instead of letting me change my Duelist for Zareth it simply ...
user avatar
  • 355
3 votes
1 answer
402 views

MTG Returning lands at upkeep

I have a card that says: "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice this card unless you return a land you control to its owner's hand." If I have two of these on the battlefield, do I ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
161 views

Moss-Pit Skeleton and Skyclave Shadowcat - sacrificing as cost of a triggered ability and triggering another ability when the first one resolves

Suppose Alice has Moss-Pit Skeleton and Skyclave Shadowcat in game and Bob has a Kazandu Stomper (or some other strong creature, it does not matter). It is Bob's turn and he attacks with his Kazandu ...
user avatar
  • 103
0 votes
2 answers
215 views

MTG Commander Clarification on Triggered Abilities

I’m playing a 4 person game, and I’m in position #1. I cast: “Jolrael, Mwonvuli Recluse” with the activated ability that states: “whenever you draw your second card each turn, create a 2/2 green ...
user avatar
1 vote
3 answers
190 views

Can I sequence Twilight Drover triggers to get around an overloaded Cyclonic Rift?

If I have Twilight Drover and a bunch of tokens, along with infinite/sufficient mana, can I work around Cyclonic Rift? The overloaded Cyclonic Rift resolves. I stack the leaves the battlefield ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
733 views

Does a creature block when it is declared as a blocker or when damage is dealt?

Suppose the following scenario: It's Bob's turn. He has five open lands including a Labyrinth of Skophos and a 10/10 creature. In combat phase he declares the 10/10 creature as attacker and passes ...
user avatar
  • 1,155
1 vote
1 answer
157 views

Treefolk Mystic and destruction effect timing

This is a fairly basic question, but there's some underlying rule or principle I think I'm missing. What happens if Treefolk Mystic blocks an attack from a land enchanted with Living Terrain? I think ...
user avatar
  • 303
1 vote
1 answer
269 views

servant of the scale during a board wipe

Would you be able to, as Servant of the Scale dies, pass on x amount of counters to Fertilid and then activate his ability multiple times before Fertilid is then killed by the board wipe, or would ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
651 views

How does Wizard's Lightning stop Archfiend's Vessel?

So, I'm watching this youtuber play Magic: the Gathering Arena, and he was able to stop an Archfiend's Vessel from triggering when it is pulled from the graveyard by casting a Wizard's ...
user avatar
  • 209
1 vote
2 answers
288 views

Can Relic of Progenitus be used to prevent a card being fetched from the graveyard?

I played a Relic of Progenitus on my first turn. My opponent (who went first) activates a fetch land, then casts Wrenn and Six. Can I force the opponent to exile a card from their graveyard in ...
user avatar
  • 421
3 votes
3 answers
890 views

Ordeal of Nylea and the stack

I was playing MTG with my lady and came across this scenario: She had a creature with 2 +1/+1 counters, and 2 Ordeal of Nylea. She attacks with the creature, both triggers hitting the stack. I play ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
287 views

Can I stop a Counterspell of Goblin Grenade by sacrificing a Goblin Gardener?

I want to cast Goblin Grenade, but my opponent wants to counter it. Can I prevent them doing so like this?: I play Goblin Grenade. As part of the cost, I sacrifice Goblin Gardener (whose text reads: “...
user avatar
  • 31
2 votes
1 answer
157 views

Leonin of the Lost Pride and undying creature

How would Leonin of the Lost Pride interact with an opponents creature who has undying? The player with the undying creature sacrificed it and he also had out Dictate of Erebos, which when the undying ...
user avatar
  • 21
1 vote
2 answers
273 views

Ordering of Triggers

If I have Terror of the Peaks on the board, play Storm Herald and target Colossification, can I order triggers so Storm Herald is enchanted with Colossification before Terror of the Peaks' ability ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Why don't triggered abilities immediately go on the stack?

Rule 603.2 of the Comprehensive Rules says: Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at ...
user avatar
  • 93
3 votes
1 answer
261 views

Can you attack in stages before blockers are declared?

I have Answered Prayers, which reads: Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, you gain 1 life. If Answered Prayers isn't a creature, it becomes a 3/3 angel with flying in ...
user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
531 views

Standstill, Phyrexian Tyranny and both players wanting to cast instants immediately after standstill is played. Who gets damage? [duplicate]

A question regarding Standstill; I have Phyrexian Tyranny on the table and we both have 2 life left. I play Standstill and immediately play an instant so that my fellow opponent would have to draw 3 ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
294 views

How do Butcher of Malakir and Extractor Demon interact with Barter in Blood?

Suppose my opponent has a Butcher of Malakir and an Extractor Demon on the field, and they have no other creatures, and I have a Nuisance Engine and let's say, oh, eight 0/1 colorless Pest artifact ...
user avatar
  • 209
4 votes
1 answer
881 views

Explanation of Selvala, Explorer Returned's ruling?

Selvala, Explorer Returned has the following ruling: If you activate Selvala's ability while casting a spell, and you discover you can't produce enough mana to pay that spell's costs, the spell is ...
user avatar
  • 2,505
3 votes
1 answer
225 views

Order of the stack with conspire?

The ability "Conspire" found on some instants/sorceries, reads As you cast this spell, you may tap two untapped creatures you control that share a color with it. When you do, copy it and you ...
user avatar
  • 2,505