Questions tagged [mtg-stack]

For questions about Magic: the Gathering specific to the Stack, a system for managing the order events resolve in. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
41 votes
4 answers
39k views

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems ...
user avatar
  • 3,600
38 votes
3 answers
92k views

Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin ...
user avatar
  • 657
29 votes
4 answers
40k views

In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?

I'm a relatively new player to Magic: the Gathering. I was reading the expanded rules to try to understand exactly when it's okay to cast instants (e.g. Cancel) and use some abilities (e.g. Goblin ...
user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does Epic Experiment let me pull creatures out of the graveyard that were exiled during its casting?

My brother showed me Epic Experiment today. Now he says you can use it to put creatures in the graveyard and then fish them out with the free spells you get, because the free spells get put on the ...
user avatar
  • 328
13 votes
2 answers
5k views

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose "indestructible"?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the not-indestructible ...
user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you cast a spell while casting a spell?

Suppose I start casting a simple spell, such as Sol Ring. I follow the steps in rule 601, up to 601.2g, which is where I get a chance to activate mana abilities. I tap Selvala, Explorer Returned, ...
user avatar
  • 363
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does a spell cast via cascade resolve before the cascade trigger finishes resolving?

Cascade says to: Exile cards until you reveal the appropriate spell Optionally cast that spell Return the exiled cards to your library I am wondering whether or not 3 happens before the cast spell ...
user avatar
  • 1,101
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can Eldrazi Processor effects "counter" madness?

In a couple of weeks cards with the madness mechanic, Eldrazi Processors, and Eldrazi Displacer are going to be in standard together. The text for Madness reads as follows: “If a player would discard ...
user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
564 views

MTG Is the commander-ness of a card always known to all players?

Haven't been able to find any definitive information about this. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

My opponent used Huatli's ability with a creature that had died. Was that allowed?

Recently, I played a match where a player used a card that killed off everyone’s creatures above a certain power, including one of his own. Immediately after that card, when no other card was played ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
4k views

How can we interrupt the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo?

A friend of mine was discussing the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo (pictured below). I was wondering if it would be easy to interrupt the combo easily, since Chain of Smog is a sorcery....
user avatar
  • 99
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Why don't triggered abilities immediately go on the stack?

Rule 603.2 of the Comprehensive Rules says: Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at ...
user avatar
  • 93
9 votes
1 answer
1k views

What happens to spells on the stack when a player leaves the game?

Let's say, in a multiplayer late-game (3+ players) I want to cast/activate anything during another players turn. Everyone is rather low on life, and in response to my spells/abilities on the stack ...
user avatar
  • 762
8 votes
3 answers
9k views

Is voluntarily revealing a card from your hand considered proposing?

Inspired by some comments on this question where someone might play two sorceries at the same time, a different question arose. Namely, if someone is to reveal cards from their hand (without an ...
user avatar
  • 10.6k
8 votes
2 answers
895 views

"Wrath of God" -VS- "Chord of Calling" + "Selfless Spirit" sacrificed in response

My opponent plays Wrath of God. In response I use Chord of Calling to get Selfless Spirit, so I can sacrifice Selfless Spirit and all of my creatures become indestructible, preventing the effect of ...
user avatar
  • 153
8 votes
2 answers
706 views

Eater of Days, Hushwing Gryff, and the stack

How does the stack work for this scenario? Hushwing Gryff is already in play and the player goes to cast Eater of Days so the Hushwing Gryff will cancel out the loss of two turns. In response the ...
user avatar
  • 83
7 votes
2 answers
610 views

Narset, Parter of Veils interaction with Aria of Flame

If I have Narset, Parter of Veils on the battlefield on one loyalty counter and my opponent has an Aria of Flame on the battlefield, what happens if the opponent plays Faithless Looting? I know the ...
user avatar
  • 421
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
user avatar
  • 2,863
7 votes
1 answer
886 views

Hypergenesis vs Containment Priest - How does it resolve?

In an upcoming Legacy event near my residence, a friend of mine intends to play using an Hypergenesis deck. However, recently we have a certain abundance of Containment Priests in our region. This ...
user avatar
  • 173
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does Psychic Surgery work with Scheming Symmetry?

If I have the card Psychic Surgery out and I cast Scheming Symmetry, when exactly do I get to exile? Does the Psychic Surgery trigger resolve before or after the card tutored with Scheming Symmetry (...
user avatar
  • 3,672
6 votes
1 answer
581 views

Why don't I get an chance to respond to the Extinction Event choice?

Extinction Event reads Choose odd or even. Exile each creature with converted mana cost of the chosen value. Why can't I respond to my opponent's choice of odd/even, for example by activating my ...
user avatar
  • 355
6 votes
2 answers
284 views

What is the order of Waterfront Bouncer's ability + Basking Rootwalla + Intruder Alarm on the stack?

I have some confusion about the ordering of specific triggered abilities on the stack which can be summarized with this sequence: Waterfront Bouncer (no summoning sickness) and Intruder Alarm are on ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
199 views

Bloodlord of Vaasgoth plus Warstorm Surge, then casting a vampire creature spell

I run vampire tribal and have a stack related question. I have a Bloodlord of Vaasgoth and Warstorm Surge in play, my main phase I cast a Vampire Nighthawk from my hand, here is my issue, how does the ...
user avatar
  • 61
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

MTG: How does Devour work with abilites like Dragon Tempest

Suppose that I have Dragon Broodmother, two dragon tokens, and Dragon Tempest on the battlefield. Dragon Broodmother puts a 1/1 Dragon Token with Devour 2 on the battlefield and Dragon Tempest deals ...
user avatar
  • 369
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

Granting Indestructible and the Stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible," can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
user avatar
  • 51
5 votes
2 answers
517 views

Standstill, Phyrexian Tyranny and both players wanting to cast instants immediately after standstill is played. Who gets damage? [duplicate]

A question regarding Standstill; I have Phyrexian Tyranny on the table and we both have 2 life left. I play Standstill and immediately play an instant so that my fellow opponent would have to draw 3 ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
452 views

damage triggering a simultaneous modifier of damage

Earl of Squirrel and Griffin Protector both deal combat damage to player. As Earl of Squirrel creates squirrels will it trigger the effect on a Griffin Protector before the Griffin deals damage to the ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

If I sacrifice a creature for a spell and it creates a token, can I sacrifice that token for the spell too?

I have to sacrifice multiple creatures to pay for an ability, e.g. Flashback - Sacrifice two creatures. How does the stack interaction work if I sacrifice one creature with an enters the graveyard ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
194 views

Tiger-Tribe Hunter and temporary power/toughness changes

I played AFR draft on MTG Arena last night and encountered something that doesn't make sense to me. My opponent had a Zombie Ogre with a +1/+1 counter and a Death-Priest of Myrkul in play. I had a ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
175 views

Creature kill and resurrect effects on the stack interaction?

For example, casting Murder on a creature while Rally the Ancestors is on the stack (and would effect the creature if it was in the graveyard)? I would think so, because the creature should die and ...
user avatar
  • 307
4 votes
1 answer
745 views

Does this Teshar combo (listed #1 on EDHREC) really work?

In the EDHREC page for Teshar, Ancestor's Apostle, there is a list of combos recommended for him as a commander. The top combo shown features these four cards: Blasting Station Myr Retriever ...
user avatar
  • 243
4 votes
1 answer
641 views

How does Wizard's Lightning stop Archfiend's Vessel?

So, I'm watching this youtuber play Magic: the Gathering Arena, and he was able to stop an Archfiend's Vessel from triggering when it is pulled from the graveyard by casting a Wizard's ...
user avatar
  • 209
4 votes
2 answers
779 views

Madness and Conspiracy Theorist

Strixhaven introduces Conspiracy Theorist, with the triggered ability: Whenever you discard one or more nonland cards, you may exile one of them from your graveyard. If you do, you may cast it this ...
user avatar
  • 3,876
4 votes
1 answer
401 views

Ancient Greenwarden and Simic Growth Chamber

If I have Ancient Greenwarden on the field and I play Simic Growth Chamber, since Greenwarden's third ability isn't a may it means that Chambers ETB goes on the stack twice. My question is if I can ...
user avatar
  • 41
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana? [duplicate]

What happens if I tap a Llanowar Elves for its ability and the creature is destroyed in response with an Ultimate Price? And why? (a brief explanation will suffice) This may sound as a silly question ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
7k views

Triggered abilities: Whenever a creature deals damage

I have among others the following two permanents in play under my command: Derevi, Emyrical Tactician, which has "Whenever Derevi, Empyrical Tactician enters the battlefield or a creature you ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
752 views

Explanation of Selvala, Explorer Returned's ruling?

Selvala, Explorer Returned has the following ruling: If you activate Selvala's ability while casting a spell, and you discover you can't produce enough mana to pay that spell's costs, the spell is ...
user avatar
  • 2,505
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you shoot Terror of the Peaks when it enters with a bunch of dragons, to avoid the damage?

On a recent edh game a player was returning all the dragons from his graveyard to play. One of those dragons was Terror of the Peaks, so other dragons would trigger him. All of them enter at the same ...
user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
880 views

Ordeal of Nylea and the stack

I was playing MTG with my lady and came across this scenario: She had a creature with 2 +1/+1 counters, and 2 Ordeal of Nylea. She attacks with the creature, both triggers hitting the stack. I play ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
773 views

Is it today possible to cast spells targeting other spells placed at the bottom of the stack?

Taking up a theme I introduced "in the past" - as you can read from the question posted here: Was it possible to target spells placed at the bottom of a just-cast fast effects chain? with ...
user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can Ghired, Conclave Exile and Helm of the Host go infinite?

So in a Commander match a buddy threw down Helm of the Host and Ghired, Conclave Exile. He attached the equipment to his Commander and swung out. Given the cards' rules texts, what goes onto/off of ...
user avatar
  • 339
3 votes
1 answer
383 views

MTG Returning lands at upkeep

I have a card that says: "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice this card unless you return a land you control to its owner's hand." If I have two of these on the battlefield, do I ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
269 views

Can I stop a Counterspell of Goblin Grenade by sacrificing a Goblin Gardener?

I want to cast Goblin Grenade, but my opponent wants to counter it. Can I prevent them doing so like this?: I play Goblin Grenade. As part of the cost, I sacrifice Goblin Gardener (whose text reads: “...
user avatar
  • 31
3 votes
1 answer
7k views

Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?

While going through Fate Reforged, I became a little bit confused by the new mechanic Dash. For example, if you take a look at Goblin Heelcutter, the ability states as such: Whenever Goblin ...
user avatar
  • 201
3 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can I have priority passed back to me during spell resolution, so that I can do more with my own spell?

So, this is a basic question, but I want to make sure I'm getting this right. Suppose I have a Lightning Bolt and a Twincast, and I want to bolt my opponent twice. I know that to do so I can do the ...
user avatar
  • 381
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I interact with a creature exiled with Eldrazi Displacer?

So I've been playing an Abzan displacer deck for some time now and the following interaction only just occurred to me: I have an Eldrazi Displacer and a Wasteland Strangler in play and my opponant has ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
353 views

How does casting a spell while casting a spell affect priority?

So, in this question, a process for casting a spell while you're in the middle of casting another spell is described, and the consensus in the answers is that it works, and allows you to cast a second ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
731 views

MTG Trapjaw Tyrant vs Butcher of Malakir and tokens

I have a question about interaction between Trapjaw Tyrant's enrage ability and Butcher of Malakir's sacrifice ability. I was playing a multiplayer EDH game with friends and one of them had the ...
user avatar
  • 197
3 votes
1 answer
245 views

Can you attack in stages before blockers are declared?

I have Answered Prayers, which reads: Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, you gain 1 life. If Answered Prayers isn't a creature, it becomes a 3/3 angel with flying in ...
user avatar