Questions tagged [phase-10]

A card game similar to Contract Rummy for two - six players. The aim is to complete 10 melds in sequence.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-1 votes
1 answer
48 views

Phase 10 skip card 2 player

When playing phase 10 with 2 players. Player one goes out and discards the skip, does player two get to play the run in their hands for the phase they’re on or do they have to take the points for not ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
177 views

Can a wild card be used as a skip card?

Is it possible to play a wild card as a skip card? It makes a big difference when playing this game with two people. The rules state that you can play the wild card as any other card if I am correct.
user avatar
  • 21
0 votes
1 answer
84 views

Phase 10 not enough cards after skip card

2 players, phase 6 (1 run of 9) : Cards player 1: skip, skip, skip, 2, 4, 5, 7, 0, 5, 3 Player 1 decides to lay down a skip card. Player 2 has to skip the turn. Player 1 decides to lay down a skip ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
383 views

Phase 10 Skip card play rules

When a skip card is played does the player get to draw and lay down again, or is it the discard itself?
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
61 views

Phase 10: End of a turn and new phase

We are 3 players. My 2 opponents are both in 2nd phase, I'm still in 1st phase. Their score are: 0 and 10, mine is 60. I finally complete the phase and end my turn. What happens to my opponents? All ...
user avatar
  • 3
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Phase 10 “Skip” Card

Just read a rule concerning “Skip” card. You place the Skip card in front of player skipping. My question is, does next player have option of taking previous discard?
user avatar
  • 1
0 votes
1 answer
136 views

Discarding before laying down a hand

Can I throw out my discard, and then lay down my hand? Or am I then supposed to wait until the next turn to lay it down? If I do lay down after I discard is that cheating? My Stepdad throwed his ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
403 views

Problem going out in phase ten

I was playing Phase 10 tonight with one other person. Here is our dilemma: During phase one, each were able to lay down the 2 sets. Let’s say the 4 cards used were: ones, fives, eights, and tens How ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
138 views

Trying to remember card game I played a few years back

I still remember the rules pretty well, the name escapes me though. The cards look a lot like Phase 10, so I'm hoping my grandma didn't just make it up. Each player is dealt a hand of 6(?) cards Each ...
user avatar
  • 49
0 votes
1 answer
350 views

Skip card points count against you?

We are playing phase 10, and our rules say “To use, simply discard the skip card on your turn by placing it in front of the player you’ve chosen to skip instead of placing it on the discard pile.” So ...
user avatar
  • 1
1 vote
1 answer
713 views

Phase 10 - After laying down a phase, do you still draw a card on your turn?

Me and my friends are playing Phase 10 and we all grew up playing it two different ways and we don’t know what the correct way is. After you put down your phase and are trying to get rid of your cards:...
user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
2 answers
4k views

In Phase 10, what happens when a skip card is played by the only person who hasn't been skipped yet?

In Phase 10, each player can only be skipped once per round. What happens if a player discards a skip card, but they are the only player who hasn't been skipped yet that round? Do they have to skip ...
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
523 views

Can a player return a card to discard pile if they are still touching it?

My family believes that you may pick up a card from the discard pile and return it, as long as you are still touching the card, and then draw From the draw pile in the same turn. I disagree and think ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
69 views

Player draws a card before the previous player discarded

A player drew a card before the previous player placed down their discard card. Does that card get forcefully removed from the player and shuffled back into the draw deck? Do they keep it if they ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
164 views

Phase 10 skip card

I am player one and use my skip card on player three. When their turn of being skipped passes, can I use another skip card to the same player to block them from completing their Phase on my next play?...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
427 views

If the person to my right plays a Skip card, can I still pick the top card off the discard pile?

In Phase 10, if the person to my right uses their 'Skip card' to skip over me, can I still pick the top card off the discard pile?
user avatar
  • 1
3 votes
1 answer
360 views

Phase 10 rules on discard pile [duplicate]

In phase 10, can I pick up a card from the discard pile and then relay that card back down in the discard pile?
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Skip card - Phase 10

When playing phase 10, If I have a skip card in my hand and it’s my turn to play, do I have to pull a card before I play my skip card?
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
2k views

Adding an additional same phase? Nothing in the rules?

For example, it says 1 set of 3::1 run of 4 But if I have 2 sets of 3 can I put down a second set of 3? I could find nothing in the rules on this and nothing in any of the questions here? Thank ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
289 views

Can a phase requiring two colored sets be completed with the same color?

In Phase 10 can a phase requiring collecting x of one color and y of one color be completed using x+y of the same color? E.G. Can Candy Castle / Mountain Vista Phase 7 (4 of one color + 6 of one ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
3k views

Phase 10 Going Out - Do you keep picking up?

I've just picked up a copy of Phase 10 to play with my kids. I'm a little confused about the 'Going Out' part. Once you get a phase and place it on the table, you can place any appropriate cards on ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

Phase 10 - Can you hit on the same turn as playing a phase?

Reading the rules it states that you must have a phase before you can "hit" on other people's phases. That said, do you have to have that phase at the start of your turn? Or can you play a phase, and ...
user avatar
  • 113
3 votes
2 answers
235 views

Phase 10 discard pile

While playing Phase Ten, is it legal to pick up the top card of the discard pile and then immediately discard that exact card?
user avatar
  • 31
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is more than one deck of cards ever used in Phase 10?

When 4-6 players are playing Phase 10 is it possible that the deck can be exhausted before anyone completes a phase?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Using a card from the discard pile instead of picking up from the face down pile

So, we are in Phase 2. I have already opened. It is my turn again. On the end of the run is a 10-card. I am about to play an 11-card but realize I haven’t picked a card yet. On the top of the discard ...
user avatar
  • 11
5 votes
1 answer
3k views

Phase 10 - Do I have to lay down as soon as I have the cards?

MUST you lay down your phase as soon as you draw the cards to play the phase? If you know someone picked up cards from the discard that will be able to play on your phase and go out do the rules ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can you add the same hit as someone else?

Can you add the same hit card as someone else did? Suppose I'm playing with 4 people, it's my turn and I laid down my phase and then hit on a run of 4,5,6,7, ... I added an 8 and 9. The next player ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Phase 10 - acquiring cards after completing a phase

After laying down the required cards that complete a phase, does the player continue to draw cards or does he play only the cards that remain in his hand?
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
5k views

In Phase 10, can Wild Cards be discarded?

Can you discard a wild card in order to NOT have them as points in your hand? For instance, I was about to go out and someone else discarded their wild so that they wouldn't have those extra 25 ...
user avatar
  • 61
1 vote
1 answer
451 views

What happens if I go past Phase 10 in Phase 10 Twist?

In the Phase 10 Twist rules, they say the winner is whoever gets past phase 10. Say I'm on Phase 9, and I go out, dropping all my cards. I'm supposed to go 3 spaces forward, but can't because Phase 10 ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
15k views

Can you pick up from the discard pile and hit in Phase 10?

When playing Phase 10, can you pick up from the discard pile to hit yourself or your opponent? Any rules related to that (i.e. add to hand first, etc.)
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
687 views

Phase 10 how to play on after completing 5 and 3

3 people are playing and I lay down the set of 5 and set of 3 but still have cards in my hand. Someone completes the 5 and 2 and goes out. So we need to play another round. What do I play? I ...
user avatar
  • 11
3 votes
1 answer
923 views

Explanation for extended phase 10 5 sets of 2 in the same color

I play the extended phases in phase 10 with my friends and phase 29 is 5 sets of 2 in the same colo. we use the standard deck and there is usually 3-4 of us playing. Do we add in another deck since ...
user avatar
  • 31
3 votes
1 answer
9k views

In Phase 10, can you draw any card from the discard pile or just the top card?

I am new to the Phase 10 game and still confused about the discard pile. Can a player draw any card from the discard pile or just the top card? Is the discard pile only one single stack?
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
9k views

What is the standard rule for running 12-1?

In Phase 10, in specific phases, you have to complete "run"s of cards, like this: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 But recently I've come across the discussion whether this is a valid run? 11, 12, 1, 2....
user avatar
  • 141
3 votes
1 answer
20k views

In Phase 10, can a Skip card be played in the first round of a hand?

Can a Skip card be played before all the players have had at least one chance to play? Or can it be played at anytime?
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
19k views

Phase 10 Go Out Rule

The Go Out rule says if you discard your last card that can't be played ends the round. You can't discard to end the round if the card is playable and become a "floater" or in "limbo" till you're able ...
user avatar
  • 31
0 votes
1 answer
14k views

Winning the round before all players have had a turn in Phase 10 [duplicate]

Would it be correct to say that before the round can be officially 'over' in Phase 10, everyone playing should be able to take a turn? For example: three people are playing Phase 10 and just started a ...
user avatar
  • 1
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Phase 10 - Who goes first?

I've played Phase 10, the card game, for years, but recently I started playing the android app version. It has always been my understanding that the dealer role rotates to the left after each hand, ...
user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
2 answers
6k views

In Phase 10, can you play out your hand before all players has played a turn?

In Phase 10, is it legal to lay out your phase and play out your hand (placing remaining single card in the discard pile) in the first round, before all players have had a chance to play in that round ...
user avatar
  • 31
1 vote
2 answers
2k views

Phase 10, no card to discard to end the turn

What to do when you don't have a card to discard to end your turn? (Also, what happens when you lay down a skip card? Does the color change to what the next player lays down or do you have to use the ...
user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
6k views

When playing Phase 10 with 2 or more players, how do we conclude the hand?

Why keep score for the points if on phase 10 there will be only one winner? I assume as soon as one person lays the phase 10 and goes out first he or she will be the winner regardless of the previous ...
user avatar
  • 11
2 votes
2 answers
5k views

Phase 10 Twist, If I lay down a phase how will I get enough cards to continue?

I was given Phase 10 Twist as a gift. Most of the rules seem straight forward enough, but when trying to play it I'm confused on one point. There came a time I laid down a phase and had 5 cards ...
user avatar
  • 21
2 votes
1 answer
108 views

If more than one user is on a twist phase do they each draw their own phase?

In Phase 10 Twist there are only 10 twist phases. If everybody drew their own twist phase then we'd run out really quickly. So, if more than one person is on a twist phase at a time, do they all ...
user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
27k views

Discarding a card in Phase 10 that allows the next player to go out

We are enjoying the game Phase 10 but are unsure about one rule. According to the rules, is it ok to discard a playable card allowing the next player to go out? This ends the hand and causes each ...
user avatar
7 votes
5 answers
49k views

Where can I play Phase 10 online?

Is there an online site to play the card game Phase 10 on? A clone is fine, but I'd really like to avoid a download.
user avatar