Questions tagged [phase-10]

A card game similar to Contract Rummy for two - six players. The aim is to complete 10 melds in sequence.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
2answers
22k views

Discarding a card in Phase 10 that allows the next player to go out

We are enjoying the game Phase 10 but are unsure about one rule. According to the rules, is it ok to discard a playable card allowing the next player to go out? This ends the hand and causes each ...
7
votes
5answers
47k views

Where can I play Phase 10 online?

Is there an online site to play the card game Phase 10 on? A clone is fine, but I'd really like to avoid a download.
6
votes
1answer
3k views

In Phase 10, can Wild Cards be discarded?

Can you discard a wild card in order to NOT have them as points in your hand? For instance, I was about to go out and someone else discarded their wild so that they wouldn't have those extra 25 ...
6
votes
1answer
830 views

Skip card - Phase 10

When playing phase 10, If I have a skip card in my hand and it’s my turn to play, do I have to pull a card before I play my skip card?
4
votes
1answer
6k views

What is the standard rule for running 12-1?

In Phase 10, in specific phases, you have to complete "run"s of cards, like this: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 But recently I've come across the discussion whether this is a valid run? 11, 12, 1, 2....
3
votes
2answers
3k views

In Phase 10, can you play out your hand before all players has played a turn?

In Phase 10, is it legal to lay out your phase and play out your hand (placing remaining single card in the discard pile) in the first round, before all players have had a chance to play in that round ...
3
votes
1answer
7k views

In Phase 10, can you draw any card from the discard pile or just the top card?

I am new to the Phase 10 game and still confused about the discard pile. Can a player draw any card from the discard pile or just the top card? Is the discard pile only one single stack?
3
votes
1answer
9k views

Can you pick up from the discard pile and hit in Phase 10?

When playing Phase 10, can you pick up from the discard pile to hit yourself or your opponent? Any rules related to that (i.e. add to hand first, etc.)
3
votes
2answers
180 views

Phase 10 discard pile

While playing Phase Ten, is it legal to pick up the top card of the discard pile and then immediately discard that exact card?
3
votes
1answer
767 views

Can you add the same hit as someone else?

Can you add the same hit card as someone else did? Suppose I'm playing with 4 people, it's my turn and I laid down my phase and then hit on a run of 4,5,6,7, ... I added an 8 and 9. The next player ...
3
votes
1answer
18k views

In Phase 10, can a Skip card be played in the first round of a hand?

Can a Skip card be played before all the players have had at least one chance to play? Or can it be played at anytime?
3
votes
1answer
104 views

Phase 10 rules on discard pile [duplicate]

In phase 10, can I pick up a card from the discard pile and then relay that card back down in the discard pile?
3
votes
1answer
156 views

Can a phase requiring two colored sets be completed with the same color?

In Phase 10 can a phase requiring collecting x of one color and y of one color be completed using x+y of the same color? E.G. Can Candy Castle / Mountain Vista Phase 7 (4 of one color + 6 of one ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Phase 10 - Do I have to lay down as soon as I have the cards?

MUST you lay down your phase as soon as you draw the cards to play the phase? If you know someone picked up cards from the discard that will be able to play on your phase and go out do the rules ...
3
votes
1answer
634 views

Explanation for extended phase 10 5 sets of 2 in the same color

I play the extended phases in phase 10 with my friends and phase 29 is 5 sets of 2 in the same colo. we use the standard deck and there is usually 3-4 of us playing. Do we add in another deck since ...
3
votes
1answer
16k views

Phase 10 Go Out Rule

The Go Out rule says if you discard your last card that can't be played ends the round. You can't discard to end the round if the card is playable and become a "floater" or in "limbo" till you're able ...
2
votes
2answers
4k views

Phase 10 Twist, If I lay down a phase how will I get enough cards to continue?

I was given Phase 10 Twist as a gift. Most of the rules seem straight forward enough, but when trying to play it I'm confused on one point. There came a time I laid down a phase and had 5 cards ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Phase 10 - acquiring cards after completing a phase

After laying down the required cards that complete a phase, does the player continue to draw cards or does he play only the cards that remain in his hand?
2
votes
1answer
528 views

Is more than one deck of cards ever used in Phase 10?

When 4-6 players are playing Phase 10 is it possible that the deck can be exhausted before anyone completes a phase?
2
votes
1answer
961 views

Phase 10 - Who goes first?

I've played Phase 10, the card game, for years, but recently I started playing the android app version. It has always been my understanding that the dealer role rotates to the left after each hand, ...
2
votes
1answer
88 views

If more than one user is on a twist phase do they each draw their own phase?

In Phase 10 Twist there are only 10 twist phases. If everybody drew their own twist phase then we'd run out really quickly. So, if more than one person is on a twist phase at a time, do they all ...
1
vote
2answers
168 views

In Phase 10, what happens when a skip card is played by the only person who hasn't been skipped yet?

In Phase 10, each player can only be skipped once per round. What happens if a player discards a skip card, but they are the only player who hasn't been skipped yet that round? Do they have to skip ...
1
vote
1answer
68 views

Phase 10 skip card

I am player one and use my skip card on player three. When their turn of being skipped passes, can I use another skip card to the same player to block them from completing their Phase on my next play?...
1
vote
1answer
406 views

What happens if I go past Phase 10 in Phase 10 Twist?

In the Phase 10 Twist rules, they say the winner is whoever gets past phase 10. Say I'm on Phase 9, and I go out, dropping all my cards. I'm supposed to go 3 spaces forward, but can't because Phase 10 ...
1
vote
1answer
547 views

Phase 10 how to play on after completing 5 and 3

3 people are playing and I lay down the set of 5 and set of 3 but still have cards in my hand. Someone completes the 5 and 2 and goes out. So we need to play another round. What do I play? I ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Rules do not explain the answers to these 2 questions

What do you do when you don't have a discard during the game? Also, what happens when you lay down a skip card? Does the color change to what the next player lays down or do you have to use the ...
1
vote
1answer
5k views

When playing Phase 10 with 2 or more players, how do we conclude the hand?

Why keep score for the points if on phase 10 there will be only one winner? I assume as soon as one person lays the phase 10 and goes out first he or she will be the winner regardless of the previous ...
1
vote
1answer
763 views

Phase 10 - Can you hit on the same turn as playing a phase?

Reading the rules it states that you must have a phase before you can "hit" on other people's phases. That said, do you have to have that phase at the start of your turn? Or can you play a phase, and ...
1
vote
1answer
675 views

Using a card from the discard pile instead of picking up from the face down pile

So, we are in Phase 2. I have already opened. It is my turn again. On the end of the run is a 10-card. I am about to play an 11-card but realize I haven’t picked a card yet. On the top of the discard ...
0
votes
1answer
46 views

Player draws a card before the previous player discarded

A player drew a card before the previous player placed down their discard card. Does that card get forcefully removed from the player and shuffled back into the draw deck? Do they keep it if they ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Phase 10 Going Out - Do you keep picking up?

I've just picked up a copy of Phase 10 to play with my kids. I'm a little confused about the 'Going Out' part. Once you get a phase and place it on the table, you can place any appropriate cards on ...
0
votes
1answer
9k views

Winning the round before all players have had a turn in Phase 10 [duplicate]

Would it be correct to say that before the round can be officially 'over' in Phase 10, everyone playing should be able to take a turn? For example: three people are playing Phase 10 and just started a ...
0
votes
2answers
69 views

Can a player return a card to discard pile if they are still touching it?

My family believes that you may pick up a card from the discard pile and return it, as long as you are still touching the card, and then draw From the draw pile in the same turn. I disagree and think ...
0
votes
1answer
111 views

If the person to my right plays a Skip card, can I still pick the top card off the discard pile?

In Phase 10, if the person to my right uses their 'Skip card' to skip over me, can I still pick the top card off the discard pile?
0
votes
1answer
97 views

Adding an additional same phase? Nothing in the rules?

For example, it says 1 set of 3::1 run of 4 But if I have 2 sets of 3 can I put down a second set of 3? I could find nothing in the rules on this and nothing in any of the questions here? Thank ...
0
votes
1answer
50 views

Phase 10- how to discard

Me and my friends are playing phase 10 and we all grew up playing it two different ways and we don’t know what the correct way is. After you put down your phase and are trying to get rid of your cards ...
0
votes
0answers
17 views

In Phase 10 when a skip card is used to my right on someone else, can I still pick the top card off the discard pile? [duplicate]

In the card game, Phase 10, if the person to my right skips someone else during their turn, that's considered thier discard and their turn is over. Now it's my turn. Can I still pick up what ever card ...
0
votes
0answers
39 views

Discarding more than one card

Can I discard more than one cards, like double or triple cards if they are of the same number? Is it like what we do in uno?