Skip to main content

Questions tagged [saboteur-2]

Saboteur 2 is an expansion for Saboteur by Frederic Moyersoen, which first appeared in 2004 from Amigo Spiel. Each player takes on the role of a gold-digging dwarf or a saboteur who wants to hinder exploration of the gold mines -- but each player knows only his own role, so the digging may or may not go as planned! The original Saboteur allowed 3-10 players, while Saboteur 2 handles 2-12 players.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11 votes
1 answer
3k views

Why do you need to set aside 10 cards when setting up the game?

The rules of Saboteur 2 state you should set aside 10 cards from the main deck when you set up the game, then at the end of the game you put them back in the deck but set aside 10 cards again for the ...
Nelu's user avatar
  • 385
1 vote
1 answer
146 views

Saboteur (1/2): Should the mine cards match like pieces on a puzzle?

When you play a card on your mine, can you put something that doesn't match as long as one part matches? In the example below, the purple arrow shows the direction of play. So the three uncircled ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
167 views

Saboteur 2 - Restrictions on playing "trapped!" in the end of the round

Are there any in-game restrictions on playing the trapped! and the tool-breaking cards in the end of the round? For example, can I play the trapped card as my last one on a player who has no more ...
Mikhail Okun's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
814 views

Apparent contradiction in the Saboteur 2 rules: does it actually matter which team finds the treasure if both can reach it?

At a board game night with some colleagues, we ended playing a game of Saboteur 2. While it was a lot of fun, we ran into a seemingly very basic rules question that we couldn't find a clear and ...
Ilmari Karonen's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
528 views

Which crystals can a Geologist collect?

The rules say "When the treasure is split, a Geologist gets as many Gold Pieces as there are crystals visible in the maze of tunnels." I find this ambiguous. How should I interpret this? Is it that:...
Robert Gowland's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
203 views

Can I discard more than 1 card at a time if there are no draw cards left?

Ordinarily no one would discard more than one card when there are no draw cards available. In this situation though, the player discarded down to one card on one turn, and then on the next turn played ...
Robert Gowland's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
884 views

Remove roles based on number of players in Saboteur 2

I only played Saboteur 2 once, but I realize that it can very easily become unbalanced. We have 6 players. In a round of the game, we have 2 gold diggers, 1 geologist, 3 saboteurs. The gold diggers ...
Yuchen's user avatar
  • 113
2 votes
1 answer
503 views

Saboteur - ladder card

When playing Saboteur card game for 2, where can you put the ladder card? Can you e.g. put it next to a brown card, once it has been turned and there is no gold on it?
Cathai's user avatar
  • 23
1 vote
1 answer
840 views

Can the road go behind the Treasure Cards

Can the road go beyond the 9x5 card grid ?
Alexandru's user avatar
  • 179
1 vote
1 answer
774 views

Place road card in between the Treasure cards

If I have a continuous road to a Treasure Card, and that treasure card is not the Gold Card, can I place a new road card right in between the Treasure Cards and to flip the next Treasure Card, or do I ...
Alexandru's user avatar
  • 179
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can I use more than one Theft card

Can I use more than one Theft card in Saboteur 2?
Alexandru's user avatar
  • 179
1 vote
1 answer
233 views

Count Theft card as card in front on the player

In the rules of the first Saboteur is specified that each player can have in front of them a maximum of 3 cards ( doesn't specify if blocking cards or other ). In case I use a Theft card and I put it ...
Alexandru's user avatar
  • 179
4 votes
1 answer
812 views

If too many players wins the game, can the Boss and Profiteer win no gold?

If 5 players wins the game (2 green dwarfs, 1 blue dwarf, a Boss and a Profiteer), they only get 1 gold piece each. But the Boss gets 1 less, and the Profiteer gets 2 less. That means that they get no ...
Alexandre Bliska's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does a Geologist get their gold if they're locked up?

At the end of a game I just played, there were 5 crystals on the table, and the geologist was locked up. Everyone else in the group said the geologist didn't get the gold, but nowhere in the rules ...
madeline moore's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
856 views

What if there are two paths connecting to the gold in Saboteur 2?

Let's say a blue dwarf makes the final connection to the gold. However, there are two paths that one could take to get from the ladder to the gold. One of these paths has a blue door, one of them has ...
jlewkovich's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Saboteur 2 - How many saboteur cards do you take out for 4 players?

I'm playing with 4 players in total in Saboteur 2 and we are not sure whether we are supposed to remove the other 2 Saboteur cards so that there is only 1 Saboteur. I guess what I'm really asking is ...
Rene's user avatar
  • 51
3 votes
2 answers
3k views

What if the boss or the profiteur connect to the gold? [duplicate]

I have this situation: The boss has flipped the gold card with a path card. The path there was blocked by both a green and a blue card. We had one profiteur, a blue dwarf, a green dwarf, a sabotuer ...
Andrei Cristian Prodan's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
478 views

What happens if nobody wins?

If you create a path to the gold with a blue door in the way, and there are no blue dwarves, no boss, and no profiteer, what happens?
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,567
11 votes
3 answers
4k views

What happens if you reach the gold with both (blue and green) doors?

If you construct a path from a ladder to an end card with a blue or green door in the path, the end card is flipped. If the card is the gold, all dwarves on that colored team (blue or green) win, as ...
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,567
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

After playing a Swap Your Hand card should the player draw in Saboteur 2?

When player A plays a Swap Your Hand card he or she changes his or her cards with somebody else (player B). Then player B draws a card. Should player A draw a card too? The general rules say that ...
palacsint's user avatar
  • 173
7 votes
1 answer
5k views

Where can the Ladder card be placed in Saboteur 2?

Most path cards in Saboteur can only be placed if they connect to the entry ladder The Saboteur 2 rules say that a ladder path card is connected to the main entry ladder. Does this mean you can ...
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,567
5 votes
1 answer
282 views

Does the Thief card work for a dwarf with broken equipment in Saboteur 2?

The rules for Saboteur 2 specifically state that the Theft card does not work for a dwarf who is Trapped!. Does the Theft card work for a dwarf who is not Trapped! but who does have broken equipment?
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,567
4 votes
1 answer
580 views

Do you get points if you are broken/trapped in Saboteur 2

In Saboteur, if the good dwarves reach the gold, they distribute points to themselves but skip over any good dwarves with broken equipment. Does this rule still apply for point distribution in ...
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,567
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do geologists ever count as "winners" in Saboteur 2?

In Saboteur 2, the number of dwarves who win a round matters quite a bit: the more dwarves who win, the fewer points are awarded to each. Geologists play by funny rules, though, and get points in ...
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,567
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

What are the rules for who wins when the gold is reached in Saboteur 2?

In Saboteur 2, I am having trouble understanding precisely which dwarves win in certain situations. Could someone clarify what's already in the rulebook? In particular, I was wondering: if a dwarf ...
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,567