Questions tagged [scoring]

The process of keeping track of the number of points earned by each player in a game, as a means of "ranking" players. See also the [counting] tag, for keeping track of the score, particularly in Go.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
71 views

Multiple Yahtzee bonus checkmark rules: additional turn or fill blank box?

Yahtzee cards have rules for multiple 5 of a kind Yahtzees: ✔️ FOR EACH BONUS SCORE 100 PER ✔️ Imagine I've already rolled and marked 50 for my first Yahtzee. On my next turn I roll another Yahtzee. ...
2
votes
1answer
102 views

In Rummikub, does a joker count towards the 30 points contract?

If you have a joker in your initial hand of 14 tiles, can it be played in a meld adding its value in order to pass the 30 points contract? I.e. does a joker have the value of the number it replaces?
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How to score for claiming routes in Ticket to Ride: Europe

Apologies if this is answered somewhere. I haven’t found it. I have a couple of questions as a new player to Ticket to Ride Europe. How many points do you score if the route you claim does not ...
0
votes
0answers
25 views

Scoring two points for '31' after 'Go' in cribbage? [duplicate]

I'm teaching my family to play and we had a very tight game recently which ended with me scoring exactly 121, but I'm not sure that I got my own scoring right. We were playing a three player game, and ...
4
votes
2answers
141 views

Alive strings inside a string?

$$ ------------------ $$ | O . O X . . . . $$ | . O O X . . . . $$ | O O O X . . . . $$ | X X X X . . . . $$ | . . . X . . . . $$ | . . . X . . . . $$ | X X X X . . . . $$ | . . . . . . . . How is ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

In Scrabble, does a blank tile on the double/triple word square count?

If the blank tile is on a triple word tile while you are making a word, does it still count as a triple word?
1
vote
1answer
59 views

What does "Point Value of Bid" mean in the card game Boston?

This description of the card game Boston has this list of the bids: What does the "Point Value of Bid" column indicate? There is another table later that shows how many chips the bidder ...
29
votes
4answers
65k views

Why does a run of 4 in Cribbage score only 4?

Cribbage scoring is fairly logical. There are card combinations worth a given number of points and you can score every unique subset of cards independently and total up the score. Except for runs of ...
4
votes
2answers
12k views

Scoring when two triple word squares are covered in one play

The word QUAGMIRE is on the board vertically, with the Q on the top row, second column. The next player creates SQUEEZED horizontally, landing the S on the triple word square in the top row, first ...
0
votes
4answers
101 views

Scoring systems for a tournament with variable player numbers [closed]

I'm running a tournament where I need to score games with anything from 3 to 8 players. My initial plan was to always have 8 players, and award 10 for 1st, 8 for 2nd, then 6/5/4/3/2/1. However, I need ...
16
votes
6answers
1k views

How can we remember to score points for claimed routes?

When we play Ticket to Ride we sometimes forget to score the points and move the score markers. You know; you're playing not only to get points, but to enjoy the game. And when someone realises they ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Go - How does one count territory in these two scenarios? (9x9)

I'm learning to play Go and I was trying to develop a game in java, but I'm still not sure how to count territory in some cases. In the scenario below, which side belongs to White, Top or Bottom? $...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Carcassone city score when tie

The question is explicitly about a situation when two or more players have the same number of knights in a closed city. The instructions say: "In case of a tie, the tied players each score the ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How do you count runs in cribbage during play

10-10-4 opponent started hand and can't play, I play 3-2-1 . How many points do I get for the run? 4 or 7 ?
1
vote
1answer
106 views

How to score the play of this Cribbage round?

Two players kept the same hands: 2 threes, 1 four, 1 five. The play went as follows (count is in brackets, scoring was quickly beyond us) Player 1 led with a 3 [= 3] Player 2 followed ...
1
vote
1answer
383 views

How to score 4 of a kind in cribbage after a go

In Cribbage, we had a go after 3 Aces were played, but then the 4th Ace was played. Does the player receive 12 points for the 4 of a kind or do they receive 6 points for the 3 of a kind before the go ...
5
votes
1answer
855 views

Scoring first word with all 7 letters

What scoring conditions apply if all 7 letters are used for the first word in Scrabble? Does the player get double points for the word AND 50 points for using all their tiles?
1
vote
2answers
414 views

How many points are Jacks and Queens worth?

When playing the game of Cambio I have played it where Jacks and Queens are both 10 points at the end of the game. Is this correct or are Jacks worth 11 and Queens worth 12?
2
votes
0answers
86 views

How can I rate player skills in a social deduction game?

I want to create a scoring system for my boardgame group that often plays the resistance (currently online over video call because its 2020). In my short research I found that Elo score works for two ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Scrabble - Parallel Words joined at one letter [duplicate]

Parallel words joined at a single letter forming a second word. I cannot seem to find a clear answer to this scrabble question. Say player one plays, "scrabble" as their first word. Is it ...
5
votes
1answer
187 views

Does the Cosumi Go site sometimes get the score wrong?

Cosumi claims that I won this game by 37 points: — [9×9, Level 0] Black(You) Wins by 37 Points - Go Browser Game COSUMI But it looks even to me. Am I missing something, or does the site sometimes get ...
3
votes
1answer
318 views

Does my Scrabble play have to be all adjacent tiles?

Do all tiles played in one move need to be adjacent to each other? Example - there is a Y on the board, can a player place the letter E on both sides to make the word EYE ?
-1
votes
1answer
95 views

Help me score my cribbage hand

In Cribbage, my hand was 2,2,2,5 and the cut card was a 3. I wanted to use the cut card with each of my twos for a count of five and subsequently one 15 for two points. I thought the hand should have ...
1
vote
1answer
187 views

Scrabble vs. Unspeakable Words

What are the differences between the letter distribution and the letter scoring on Scrabble and Unspeakable Words? Are there any other differences? Are these games similar in some ways? Next ...
2
votes
0answers
528 views

Churchill Solitaire scoring

In theory, one scores 5 points for each card moved from the "devil's 6" and 1 point for each of the other cards. So a win should score 98 + 30 = 128 (ignoring any bonus for winning in a short time). ...
1
vote
3answers
137 views

Will any route (built without a destination ticket) be counted as points?

Will any routes, built without a destination ticket, be counted as points? In other words, can you get any points if your built any segments without the appropriate destination ticket? Can you ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the purpose of bonus points in Gin Rummy?

What purpose do the bonus points after a player wins a game of Gin Serve? Let's say two players agree to play a game to 100 points. At the end of the game, the typical rules call for bonus points ...
2
votes
2answers
419 views

What is scored for bidding and making 3 Clubs Doubled?

Bidder bids 3 Clubs. Opponent doubles. No other bids. Bidder makes 3 Clubs. What is the Score the Bidder gets?
0
votes
1answer
79 views

Scrabble premium word score question [duplicate]

In the following scenario, does a double word premium apply to both words made on the same turn? Player 1 plays the word "book". Player 2 plays the word "shot", placing the "s" on a double word score ...
5
votes
1answer
21k views

In Gin Rummy, what happens when one knocks but the opposing player has a lower deadwood?

In Gin Rummy, what happens when one knocks but the opposing player has a lower deadwood? E.g. I knock placing everything but a 6. My opponent was able to place everything but a 4. So, my opponent had ...
4
votes
2answers
237 views

Is there a long-term scoring system for 4 or 5 players who have played the same game repeatedly?

We are a group of 4, sometimes 5 players who have played Power Grid every week for nearly 2 years. For every game we have played, I have kept track of game dates and rankings (1st place, 2nd,..., 5th)....
2
votes
1answer
9k views

How is a Gin Rummy hand scored if both the knocking and defending player have Gin?

I am playing with the Big Gin variant, which is not part of the base game. Say I pick up a card from the deck which makes me a Gin hand. Only, I don't realize it due to say, misreading my hand, or I ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

In Gin-Rummy, what is the bonus points for Gin and Undercut?

In the traditional rules of Gin-Rummy: Is going Gin worth 20 or 25 points? Is undercutting worth 10 points? If a player knocks and is undercut by their opponent and this opponent lays off and has no ...
0
votes
1answer
143 views

Is there a canonical way of placing the scoring meeple to signify having gone round the scoring track?

Newer versions of Carcassonne (or perhaps it's one of the expansions) contain scoring tiles, to track how many times a player's score-keeping meeple has gone round the scoring track, so that 50 or 100 ...
2
votes
1answer
828 views

Can dummy claim points for honors in contract bridge?

North won the bid at 4 hearts. When South laid down his dummy hand, South had 4 of the top 5 hearts. Is the North-South team eligible to declare 100 honors even though North won the bid and South ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

What if two players are eligible for the Express bonus?

The longest path for Adam are ten trains while Bella and Celia both has a longest path of fifteen trains, i.e both Bella and Celia has the longest path and thus are eligible for the Express Bonus/...
6
votes
3answers
7k views

Do you score points for claiming a route in Ticket to Ride Pennsylvania?

Do you score points for claiming a route in Ticket to Ride Pennsylvania as you do in all other variants of the Ticket to Ride game? The rules aren't explicit and there is no scoring guide.
7
votes
2answers
573 views

How to score the Southampton to New York route in Ticket to Ride UK?

In Ticket to Ride UK, when the Southampton to New York route is claimed, does the claimant receive the points for laying down train cars in addition to the 40 points stated on the board? If so, how ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Scoring Attractions in Ticket to Ride: New York

I recently bought the new version of Ticket to Ride New York. One thing that is slightly unclear is the scoring rules on routes between two tourist attractions. (Sorry if that is incorrect, but I don'...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

Losing points for partially completed destination tickets in Ticket to Ride

I have the game Ticket to Ride: Europe and I'm a little confused about the points for destination tickets. I read somewhere that if you don't start to complete one of your destination tickets, at the ...
11
votes
2answers
4k views

What is the highest achievable score in Catan

The game ends as soon as you get 10 or more points, so even if you can build multiple things, the one that gets you to 10 is it. I'm fairly certain that the highest score possible in Catan is 12 ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

How do you score an all wild card Canasta?

Today I made my first ALL Wild card Canasta with six 2's and a Joker in Classic Canasta :O) How much is this worth please? Also, it was concealed... does that 'Up' the bonus?
7
votes
1answer
11k views

Scrabble Triple Word Score Question

In Scrabble, If on the board there is: PICKLE If you start at the E tile, go down one tile, then right one tile there is a triple word score. If you put SO vertically at the end of pickles (So the ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

How does a renege that is discovered later in a bridge game affect the scoring?

In a recent bridge game, the contract was 2C doubled. The contracting team discovered, at a point in the game after a trick had been played that the opposing team had reneged. They assert that there ...
6
votes
2answers
5k views

Rubber bridge: when must honours be declared in order to be scored?

If you have four or five honors (or four aces in no-trump), when does it have to be declared? The last time I played, I declared my four honors for 100 points after the hand was over. The bridge ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Two-handed cribbage

This evening, after contributing to the crib, I held three 5s and the Jack of the 5 that was turned by my opponent. So, what did my hand score, with the four fives and the Jack of the knobs, after ...
4
votes
2answers
439 views

Why does Pinochle utilize ultra-high point values for melds?

In Pinochle, according to the Bicycle insert in my decks, at least, aces around (one ace of each suit) is worth 100 points. The 9 of trump is worth 10. Other meld values all are multiples of ten. ...
4
votes
2answers
477 views

Go - How does one count territory in these scenarios?

I'm learning to play Go (Japanese rule) however I'm still confuse how to count territory in some cases. Which side each territory belongs to? Scenario 1 $$W Scenario1 $$ -------------------- $$ | . ....
6
votes
1answer
163 views

Acol Bridge card game

I am playing game in 4 hearts and get four. The opponents revoke on the 12th trick. If they had not revoked they would of taken us down one trick. Do we get our four hearts? I know a revoke does not ...
1
vote
2answers
9k views

In cribbage, during the play, what is the count for four 5s in a row?

If the person to the left of the dealer starts play with a 5, the next person plays a 5, the third person plays a 5 and finally, the dealer plays a 5, what is the count for the dealer? Obviously the ...