Questions tagged [splendor]

For questions about the 2014 resource management board game Splendor by Space Cowboys.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
1 answer
81 views

Trading Post version of Splendor

When playing the Trading Post version of Splendor, are you required to have the 3 black bonuses power to get the 5 prestige points for having the 5 green bonuses and 1 noble tile power?
  • 1
7 votes
2 answers
726 views

What to do when you don't have any move available?

During a game of Splendor on Board Games Arena, I reached a state where no move can be made. My timer ran out and I was expelled from the game. I can't reserve a card because my hand is full. I can't ...
  • 445
6 votes
3 answers
1k views

Usefulness of Splendor rare moves

I'm writing a AI for the game of Splendor. While the following moves are allowed by the rules, I'm more curious if there is ever a use case to actually play them: If you are buying a card, is there a ...
  • 400
0 votes
2 answers
113 views

2 players for 2 nobles

If player 1 got enough resources for noble A and B, because the game only lets players obtain 1 noble per turn, player 1 got noble A. Then player 2 got enough resources for noble B. Who will get noble ...
6 votes
1 answer
362 views

Do you add a new noble if one is taken?

If you read the rules of splendor, you only get a fixed number of nobles (number of players + 1). But in this video they add a new noble every time one is taken. Did I misinterpreted the rules or do ...
  • 11.6k
0 votes
1 answer
122 views

How can I buy development cards?

I have already bought 3 emerald development cards and I have 3 emerald tokens. I would like to buy a card which costs 3 emeralds. Do I need to pay with my tokens, or is it OK to have this with my ...
2 votes
1 answer
400 views

How can you ever buy a development card with 14 tokens?

How can you ever buy a development card with 14 tokens? as you can never reach this amount, even when you draw +3 on your turn, the max you can reach is 13, and you cant use them to purchase the card ...
  • 21
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

How much of an advantage is going first in Splendor?

I've only played Splendor a few times so far, but it feels like the first player has a significant advantage, even if we also stipulate that each player receives the same number of turns (resulting in ...
  • 191
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

If I have 10 gems, can I still reserve a card?

In the game 'Splendor', if I have 10 gems at the beginning of my turn, can I still reserve a card and get a yellow gem (and discard another to respect the 10 gems limitation) ? Or it's not possible ?
  • 261
1 vote
1 answer
260 views

Reserve cards and winning [duplicate]

Can you have cards on reserve and still win if you reach 15 points? We have had arguments that a person cannot win using gold coins if cards still on reserve and not yet purchased. Some players feel ...
  • 11
1 vote
2 answers
408 views

Can you use jokers to change which noble visits at the end of turn?

A player cannot refuse a visit from a noble. But can you choose to use jokers to change which noble visits if you don’t have the gem colors required at end of turn?
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

Do I need to get a noble in order to win Splendor?

Is it necessary to win a noble in order to win the game of Splendor? I have heard two different sets of rules, one is to reach 15 points, the other is to reach 15 points and possess at least one ...
  • 223
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do reserved cards get returned when gold token is spent?

I am playing with my son and he reserves a card I wanted and gets a gold token. On his next turn he buys another card and uses the Gold token in his purchase. What happens to the reserved card? He ...
12 votes
6 answers
3k views

What is the fastest possible game in Splendor?

In the game of Splendor, what is the fewest number of turns you could take to get 15 points?
  • 5,122
8 votes
1 answer
3k views

In Splendor can we have more than 3 joker (gold) tokens in our hand without spending them?

the situation arrived when a player had one reserved card but already 3 joker tokens and wanted to reserve another card. can he receive a gold token even if he already has 3 in his hand?
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Winning Splendor with reserve cards

Can you win a game of Splendor if you still have cards in reserve?
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you take 2 gems of the same kind for 2-3 players?

It says in the rule book that you can only take 2 gems of the same kind only if there'll be at least 4 chips left after you take the 2. Since you only have 4 chips for two players and 5 chips for ...
0 votes
1 answer
887 views

Discarding Coins in Splendor [duplicate]

In Splendor there is a max coin limit of 10. If I exceed that limit by one, Would I need to return the most recently acquired coins, or could I return any in my hoard? The rules: A player can ...
2 votes
1 answer
814 views

Do I have to pay for a development card if I have a joker and the card needs only one type of resource?

Yesterday I've been introduced to Splendor (awesome game!), and there's one question stuck in my head. In one turn I've run out of options (no resources to collect, nothing to buy), so I reserved a ...
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Splendor: Visibility of reserved development cards

When one reserves a development card, the rules state The reserved cards are kept in hand and cannot be discarded. And when reserving a card drawn blindly from one of the three decks without ...
  • 369
7 votes
2 answers
10k views

Returning tokens for the 10 token limit: which ones?

Splendor rules regarding tokens (gem coins) state: A player can never have more than 10 tokens at the end of their turn (including jokers). If this happens, they must return tokens until they only ...
  • 369
4 votes
2 answers
3k views

Splendor: can I use gem coins instead of development cards?

In Splendor, when I buy a development card, can I choose to pay the full price using coins, rather than exploiting the bonus price reduction given by the development cards I already own? Example: I ...
8 votes
6 answers
4k views

Alternative play for Splendor

My husband and I like Splendor, but once someone manages to get one high level card, the game is pretty much over in minutes. Increasing the number of points you need to win doesn't make the game last ...
18 votes
4 answers
905 views

Is Splendor accessible to those with red-green color-blindness?

I was recently discussing Splendor with a friend who in turn has a friend who's colorblind, and my friend was wondering whether his friend would be able to play the game. Color-coding shows up in ...
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

When is it worthwhile to aim for visits from Nobles?

I've played quite a few rounds of Splendor over the past few months, but I've almost never come across a situation where a visit from a Noble has made a difference to the outcome of the game, except ...
  • 469
1 vote
2 answers
2k views

How to count Splendor bonus gems

In the game of Splendor when you have a developer card with prestige points on it, is that the number of gems it produces also? Or is it just one gem per card?
2 votes
1 answer
351 views

What if a player forgot to take the noble tile?

A player has all the cards to be visited by one noble, but at the end of their turn they forgot about the noble tile. If another player in their turn also have all the cards for this noble who gets ...
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do reserved cards influence the end of the game?

I have some reserved cards in Splendor and 15 prestige points at the end of my turn. Is this the final round of the game, or do I have to buy all my reserved cards to end the game? Do reserved cards ...
10 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can you be visited by more than one Noble in Splendor?

In Splendor, after you have collected enough bonuses to receive a visit from a noble, can you receive a visit from a second noble with the some of the same bonuses as the first, or do you need ...
  • 396
9 votes
4 answers
4k views

Handling dwindling supplies in Splendor

Splendor is a great game, but the rules were written sub-optimally. The following quotes the rules that specify what actions a player can take on his turn: On their turn, a player must choose to ...
  • 47.3k
7 votes
1 answer
4k views

Is a noble permanently yours once he's visited you in Splendor?

Splendor is a great game, but the rules were written sub-optimally. At the end of their turn, each player checks the noble tiles in order to determine if they’re receiving a visit from one of them. ...
  • 47.3k