Questions tagged [stack]

The stack is a common system for managing the order events resolve in. It is used as the foundation of event resolution in Magic: the Gathering and many other games. Please also tag with the appropriate game tag, e.g. [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
151 views

Creature kill and resurrect effects on the stack interaction?

For example, casting Murder on a creature while Rally the Ancestors is on the stack (and would effect the creature if it was in the graveyard)? I would think so, because the creature should die and ...
6
votes
1answer
110 views

Bloodlord of Vaasgoth plus Warstorm Surge, then casting a vampire creature spell

I run vampire tribal and have a stack related question. I have a Bloodlord of Vaasgoth and Warstorm Surge in play, my main phase I cast a Vampire Nighthawk from my hand, here is my issue, how does the ...
8
votes
2answers
607 views

Eater of Days, Hushwing Gryff, and the stack

How does the stack work for this scenario? Hushwing Gryff is already in play and the player goes to cast Eater of Days so the Hushwing Gryff will cancel out the loss of two turns. In response the ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to spells on the stack when a player leaves the game?

Let's say, in a multiplayer late-game (3+ players) I want to cast/activate anything during another players turn. Everyone is rather low on life, and in response to my spells/abilities on the stack ...
1
vote
1answer
426 views

Can a player tap lands for mana, in response to Elder Deep-Fiend tapping those lands at the beginning of the turn?

I have Elder Deep-Fiend, a creature which has flash and allows me to sacrifice another creature towards the cost of its mana. When the creature is played, it allows me to tap 4 target permanents. I ...
1
vote
2answers
259 views

Can you use an ability as you put the card on the stack?

If I play Elixir Of Immortality for example, or any card with an ability, when it goes on the stack, can I activate its abilities before my opponent can respond? And if so, if he counters the card ...
6
votes
2answers
223 views

What is the order of Waterfront Bouncer's ability + Basking Rootwalla + Intruder Alarm on the stack?

I have some confusion about the ordering of specific triggered abilities on the stack which can be summarized with this sequence: Waterfront Bouncer (no summoning sickness) and Intruder Alarm are on ...
-1
votes
1answer
103 views

Stack resolution in stack

I have a deck, and it involves Murderous Redcap, Viscera Seer, and Geralf's Messenger. I was to sacrifice the Redcap and Messenger, remove a +1/+1 counter from the Messenger using Retribution of ...
-3
votes
1answer
259 views

Can you respond to a mandatory action loop?

I was thinking about triggered abilities that form a mandatory loop. For example, an opponent loses a life which triggers the enchantment 'Exquisite Blood' causing you to gain a life which triggers ...
3
votes
1answer
554 views

MTG Trapjaw Tyrant vs Butcher of Malakir and tokens

I have a question about interaction between Trapjaw Tyrant's enrage ability and Butcher of Malakir's sacrifice ability. I was playing a multiplayer EDH game with friends and one of them had the ...
2
votes
2answers
444 views

Portcullis triggers

The oracle text for Portcullis is: Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, if there are two or more other creatures on the battlefield, exile that creature. Return that card to the battlefield ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a spell cast via cascade resolve before the cascade trigger finishes resolving?

Cascade says to: Exile cards until you reveal the appropriate spell Optionally cast that spell Return the exiled cards to your library I am wondering whether or not 3 happens before the cast spell ...
1
vote
1answer
153 views

Sinuous Striker query around pump in reaction to combat/defending

So I heard a while ago that damage doesn't kill creatures, state based actions kill creatures. Not relevant but this was a judge who said it. So I wanted to ask, is it possible for someone to attack ...
1
vote
2answers
373 views

What happens while casting protection from Banishing Light?

What would happen with this stack?: Player 1 plays Banishing light targeting player 2's creature. Player 2 plays Gods Willing on that same creature. What happens with player 1's enchantment? Does ...
1
vote
0answers
79 views

Can I sacrifice the same permanent for two different sacrifice costs? [duplicate]

Hi im new the mtg and have a question about the deck im playing. so I use "Ravenous Intruders" ability (sacrifice an artifact gain +2/+2 until the end of the turn) the artifact I sacrifice is "...
8
votes
2answers
784 views

“Wrath of God” -VS- “Chord of Calling” + “Selfless Spirit” sacrificed in response

My opponent plays Wrath of God. In response I use Chord of Calling to get Selfless Spirit, so I can sacrifice Selfless Spirit and all of my creatures become indestructible, preventing the effect of ...
0
votes
2answers
298 views

Fiend Binder's triggered ability

I have a question about Fiend Binder's triggered ability regarding the stack. I just want to make sure I'm understanding it correctly. It states: Whenever Fiend Binder attacks, tap target creature ...
8
votes
3answers
6k views

Is voluntarily revealing a card from your hand considered proposing?

Inspired by some comments on this question where someone might play two sorceries at the same time, a different question arose. Namely, if someone is to reveal cards from their hand (without an ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I have priority passed back to me during spell resolution, so that I can do more with my own spell?

So, this is a basic question, but I want to make sure I'm getting this right. Suppose I have a Lightning Bolt and a Twincast, and I want to bolt my opponent twice. I know that to do so I can do the ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can Eldrazi Processor effects “counter” madness?

In a couple of weeks cards with the madness mechanic, Eldrazi Processors, and Eldrazi Displacer are going to be in standard together. The text for Madness reads as follows: “If a player would ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I interact with a creature exiled with Eldrazi Displacer?

So I've been playing an Abzan displacer deck for some time now and the following interaction only just occurred to me: I have an Eldrazi Displacer and a Wasteland Strangler in play and my opponant ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana? [duplicate]

What happens if I tap a Llanowar Elves for its ability and the creature is destroyed in response with an Ultimate Price? And why? (a brief explanation will suffice) This may sound as a silly question ...
6
votes
1answer
650 views

Hypergenesis vs Containment Priest - How does it resolve?

In an upcoming Legacy event near my residence, a friend of mine intends to play using an Hypergenesis deck. However, recently we have a certain abundance of Containment Priests in our region. This ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

If I sacrifice a creature for a spell and it creates a token, can I sacrifice that token for the spell too?

I have to sacrifice multiple creatures to pay for an ability, e.g. Flashback - Sacrifice two creatures. How does the stack interaction work if I sacrifice one creature with an enters the graveyard ...
0
votes
1answer
401 views

How does stacking and resolving work exactly?

I understand that every card that is put onto the stack is resolved in the opposite order that it is put on (meaning the first card to be put onto a stack is the last one to be resolved), but here is ...
6
votes
1answer
829 views

MTG: How does Devour work with abilites like Dragon Tempest

Suppose that I have Dragon Broodmother, two dragon tokens, and Dragon Tempest on the battlefield. Dragon Broodmother puts a 1/1 Dragon Token with Devour 2 on the battlefield and Dragon Tempest deals ...
2
votes
3answers
649 views

Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?

If I resolve a Gitaxian Probe, can I crack a Lion Eye Diamond before I draw?
3
votes
1answer
7k views

Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?

While going through Fate Reforged, I became a little bit confused by the new mechanic Dash. For example, if you take a look at Goblin Heelcutter, the ability states as such: Whenever Goblin ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Granting Indestructible and the Stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible," can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
0
votes
1answer
169 views

Can I activate an ability after part of a spell has resolved? (please read example) [duplicate]

I made a Phelddagrif group hug deck with Windfall as my win condition (obviously I would only use it in an emergency) and Elixir of Immortality. So, I cast Windfall with, say, 40 cards in my hand, ...
1
vote
2answers
696 views

Multiple stack abilities and casting spells in that time

My question is as follows: If I have multiple "At the beginning of your upkeep..." abilities, and I want to cast an instant spell or activate an ability during that time, can I cast the spell between ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
2
votes
2answers
653 views

Do spells targeting Daring Thief follow it after control is exchanged?

Suppose I have Daring Thief out. My opponent attempts to kill it via Doom Blade or another kill spell. In response I untap Daring Thief with Thassa's Ire, and attempt to gain control of, say, my ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I cast a Slaughter Pact on a Spellskite after I played Lightning Storm and I already discarded some lands?

My opponent has a Spellskite on board. He is at 17 life, has one blue mana and one land in hand. I just resolved Ad Nauseam + Angel's Grace and I have my entire deck in my hand. I have 2 Slaughter ...
2
votes
1answer
469 views

+1/+1 counter, where does it go when my adversary bolts it's target?

Vastwood Hydra is on the field, 7/7 atm (7 x +1/+1 counters). My adversary blocks it for combined strength of 7, all creatures in combat die when the damage resolves. When Vastwood Hydra dies I get to ...
1
vote
1answer
716 views

When is a Spell considered to be “Cast”?

Is a spell "Cast" when it is first declared and put on the stack? Or when it resolves? I used to think it was when it resolves. But I think I am wrong. For example, if my opponent puts a creature ...
4
votes
1answer
5k views

Triggered abilities: Whenever a creature deals damage

I have among others the following two permanents in play under my command: Derevi, Emyrical Tactician, which has "Whenever Derevi, Empyrical Tactician enters the battlefield or a creature you control ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose “indestructible”?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the not-...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Epic Experiment let me pull creatures out of the graveyard that were exiled during its casting?

My brother showed me Epic Experiment today. Now he says you can use it to put creatures in the graveyard and then fish them out with the free spells you get, because the free spells get put on the ...
35
votes
3answers
69k views

Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?

Player A taps Goblin Fireslinger targeting Player B; its "deals 1 damage to target player" ability is placed on the stack. Player B gets priority and responds with Snap, targeting Goblin Fireslinger. ...
39
votes
4answers
31k views

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems ...