Podcast #128: We chat with Kent C Dodds about why he loves React and discuss what life was like in the dark days before Git. Listen now.

Questions tagged [terra-mystica]

Terra Mystica is a highly strategic game for 2 to 5 players. Each player chooses one of 14 different races and develops their civilization during 6 rounds. The game takes about 40 minutes per player.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
2answers
440 views

What happens if we run out of terrain tiles?

In a recent game we almost ran out of a particular terrain tile. In this scenario, what do you do? Is substituting a different token and remembering the terrain type allowed, or is the terraform not ...
2
votes
1answer
38 views

Can I build on a different tile to the one I terraform?

In a game I played recently, there was an adjacent territory that was my home terrain that I wanted to build a dwelling on, but also the bonus for that round was terraforming, so I wanted to do a ...
6
votes
1answer
407 views

Does the Terra Mystica app implement the official rules updates?

I've been playing the Terra Mystica app on Android, and I noticed that the rules description on the Cultists' ability didn't include the updated text (if everybody declines taking power when you could ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

In the Terra Mystica iOS app, what is the “map balanced VP” option?

I have the Terra Mystica iOS app and am wondering what the option "map balanced VP" does. I'm assuming it's some sort of house rule or optional rule that was added later, but I don't see an ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

What's the hexagon symbol under the Sanctuary?

In Terra Mystica, under most structures, you find the income that building generates. But, the Sanctuary also has a weird hexagon: The gold outline looks just like those used on the town tokens. I ...
2
votes
1answer
236 views

Can I terraform outside of my turn, or during my turn in some other action?

I'm trying to figure out Terra Mystica by myself. One thing I'm having trouble with is the spades used for terraforming. The rules seem very clear that these need to be used immediately — they can't ...
3
votes
1answer
414 views

ACT5 and ACT6 + pay extra spades

Is it possible to pay extra spades (with for example workers) when you choose power action 5 or 6? Thanks in advance.
4
votes
2answers
774 views

Terra Mystica - Taking a bonus card with coins on the final turn as an Alchemist

The Alchemists' special ability is to turn gold into victory points at any point in the game. So on the last turn, when passing, could I take a bonus card with coins built up on it, and immediately ...
3
votes
1answer
935 views

How works exactly the bonus tile that gives you '+1 river shipping'

There's a bonus tile with a +1 river shipping distance. On the official rules on appendix IV: bonus tiles, talking about the shipping half of the tile it reads (translated from Spanish) 'Moreover, ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Fakir/Dwarf ability

In the rules it states: When taking "Transform and build action" you may skip one terrain or river space With our last game we had a little discussion that produces 2 questions: If you already ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

What stategy should I use when playing as the engineers?

I played terra mystica for the first time recently as the engineers. I decided to pick good bridging starting locations, build a stonghold and a bridge the first turn, and spend the rest of the game ...
5
votes
1answer
630 views

Engineers : only 3 bridges

Are the engineers limited to only 3 bridges? I ask this just as confirmation. I can't find this anywhere in the rules, but I suppose it's so.
5
votes
1answer
796 views

6 power favor tile Town/Culture benefit order

In the middle of a game I built a temple which let me pick a favor tile. I selected the favor tile that lets you form a town with 6 power. This favor tile also awards you 2 of the red cultures. It ...
3
votes
1answer
479 views

Engineers end of game victory point stronghold

When an Engineer builds a Stronghold they get 3 victory points for each bridge. My question is when the game ends do they get this victory point bonus for each bridge again? I'm kinda confused ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Correct use of Bonus cards in Terra Mystica

Does a player take a Bonus card as soon as they have passed their turn? Page 7 of the rule book states "Three out of the nine Bonus cards award Victory points when you have completed all the actions ...
9
votes
2answers
644 views

When can power be converted?

When another player builds next to you, you can choose to taken power (and lose the #power-1 points). But when the number of power you can take is greater than the number of tokens you can move to ...
7
votes
1answer
909 views

Can the Mermaids create towns with +1 shipping bonus?

Is it possible for the mermaids to create a new town with their special ability when they have the bonus +1 shipping card?