Questions tagged [warhammer-40k]

In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Warhammer 40,000 is a detailed futuristic table-top battle simulation.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1 vote
1 answer
71 views

Playing Leviathan games for Warhammer 40K when the rules are no longer sold or available for download

Rookie question for Warhammer 40K 10th Edition rules. It sounds like all official 10th edition Games Workshop tournaments are using the Leviathan game format for tournament play, is that correct? If ...
hotmeatballsoup's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
65 views

WH40K 10ed: Is “change to a 6” and “change to a unmodified 6” means the same? Why? Or why not?

The question is about Warhammer 40,000 10th edition rules. Take a look on Infernal Master and Fluxmaster Infernal Master (Thousand Sons, index page 35) Glimpse of Eternity (Psychic) Once per turn, ...
Ohar's user avatar
  • 185
5 votes
2 answers
110 views

What's going on with Burning Chariot having psychic weapons and abilities but not being a psyker?

Burning Chariot (10th edition Chaos Demons Index, Balance Dataslate January 2024) has both an Eldritch Flames (Psychic) ability and a Fire of Tzeentch [PSYCHIC] ranged weapon. According to the core ...
Ohar's user avatar
  • 185
1 vote
1 answer
65 views

In Warhammer 40k 3rd to 6th edition, is it possible to use an older rules set but newer codexes?

From what I've read, it was quite common from 3rd to 6th (7th?) edition to use older codexes with the rules set that was supported by Games Workshop at that time. But does it work the other way around ...
glahn's user avatar
  • 183
1 vote
1 answer
144 views

Why do these Warhammer 40,000 stratagems use slightly different wording?

In 10th edition Warhammer 40,000, the counter offensive stratagem can we used "when an enemy unit has fought" while the Adeptus Mechanicum venegful fallout strategem can be used when "...
Ohar's user avatar
  • 185
0 votes
1 answer
142 views

What is this miniature? 40K tyranid?

Not sure what this is? Thought is was a tyranid but went through the visual archive and could not find it. Any help would be appreciated.
Scott Gurman's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
210 views

Can Turret Weapons be used to fire Overwatch if already engaged?

In Warhammer 40,000 9th Edition with the latest (2022) Astra Militarum codex, can a Turret Weapon be used to fire Overwatch if it is already engaged with an enemy unit? Excerpt from the Overwatch rule:...
Hammer-on's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
454 views

What do you need to play 40k combat patrol?

Warhammer now appear to sell combat patrol boxes for each of the armies. What do you need that isn't in this box to play. Apart from presumably a second army box and an opponent?
Jontia's user avatar
  • 2,051
0 votes
1 answer
297 views

When using a Recon Drone for Tau Pathfinders in Kill Team (narrative campaign), how many other models can I use?

I'm currently playing in a narrative campaign as Tau Pathfinders, and I'm using the following operatives. Since I'm using the Recon drone, would this list be considered the correct number of models? ...
grumbledown's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
314 views

What differences are their in the Tau rules between the Compendium and Chalnath?

I recently started getting into Kill Team with a couple of my children. One of them is collecting Tau, and we’re taking the rules from the Kill Team: Compendium book. In issue 478, July 2022 of White ...
James Thorpe's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
93 views

Which 40k codex would I use?

Thinking about starting a full army conversion project. The issue becomes if I use another faction's models. I’m looking to make Armageddon Ork Hunters which is a guard regiment. But they fight like ...
A.J. Ward's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
2k views

How do you summon Daemons in 40k?

I bought the Chaos Daemon Tzeentch start collecting box and realized that other armies can summon daemons so I don't have to just play a Daemon army. But I don't know how that would work. Lets say you ...
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
701 views

How can I use Tzaangors in my 40K Tcheentch army?

I like the Tzaangors models and would like to add them to my army, we are playing Warhammer 40k 9th edition. The problem I'm having is the Tzaangors are not in the latest Chaos Daemons Codex (8th ...
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
188 views

Is there any way to make a dreadnought a character OUTSIDE of iron hands

I play a custom Dark Angels successor chapter, whose chapter master is entombed in a leviathan dreadnought, and I am wondering if there is a way outside of the iron hands stratagem as I would like him ...
IthurielCane40K's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
393 views

Is there a way to search for which models I can play in which Warhammer army?

Say I wanted to field an Inquisition army with Grey Knights and... Lets say Astropaths. I want to do that because I've read some of the lore, and I want a fluffy army, not strictly an optimised army. ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does adding Inquisitors to an army work, and can they form their own army?

The Inquisition don't seem to follow normal rules around building an army. How does adding them to an existing army work, and can they form their own army? This answer covers normal allies, but not ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
331 views

What model is this, that represents Enslavers?

I spotted this model on a Bell of Souls article about Enslavers. But when googling, I can't find the model, and I don't think the article says. I'm also not sure Enslavers ever had models, so I don't ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
280 views

Dark angels legion praetor in cataphractii size

I know that some heresy models are smaller than the 40k models, so I was wondering for a friend building a dark angels company. How big is the dark angels legion praetor in cataphractii armour? Is he ...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
3 votes
1 answer
924 views

What to do with multiple invulnerable saves?

My friend has built a dire avenger exarch with a shimmer shield which gives it a 5+ invulnerable save. However it has the ability Battle fortune which gives the exarch a 4+ invulnerable save. How does ...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
1 vote
1 answer
624 views

Question regarding the new custom chapter rules

So recently this year, games workshop has added the addition of custom chapters to Warhammer, and while building my army I realised that I was going with a space wolves kind of army. However while ...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
3 votes
1 answer
235 views

Can I get help identifying these models?

These models were for sale on a site and I was wondering if anyone could help me identify what these models actually are before I decided to buy them.
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
2 votes
1 answer
278 views

Warhammer 40K White scars

Im trying to work out what rules still apply to white scars. I have watched lots of videos about the different space marine factions and white scars Play style appealed to me. Since getting the ...
Tom Benford's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
306 views

Could I use gryph-chargers for my Warhammer 40k space marines? And would they fit?

When creating a custom space marine chapter i wanted to make something that was a little unique visually. Right now it doesn't really have anything that stands out so I decided to add a fast attack/...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
1 vote
1 answer
312 views

How is morale resolved when the Bonding Knife and Tormentor rules are in effect?

I recently ran into an issue where two different rules conflicted without an obvious intended solution. Tau have their Bonding Knife Ritual rule: "If you roll a 6 when taking a Morale test for this ...
Question Marks's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
382 views

Warhammer 40k 8th: When using two allied factions what stratagems and warlord traits do you use from the codices

Im playing Admech/imperial knights (seperate detachments) and I'm wondering, if my warlord is a knight, am I able to use admech strategems?/is the trait in effect?
Connor Fletcher's user avatar
4 votes
5 answers
4k views

Do the rules as written make Assault weapons and Pistols useless?

I recently got into a discussion with somebody, as they tried to explain to me that both Assault weapons and Pistols were actually completely useless in 8th edition. He did not mean "useless" as in "...
MechMK1's user avatar
  • 373
4 votes
2 answers
970 views

How would one model an Ork Warboss with a Kombi-Skorcha?

The current Ork Codex states that an Ork Warboss "is armed with a kombi-weapon with rokkit launcher". However, it also states This model may replace its kombi-weapon with rokkit launcha with a ...
MechMK1's user avatar
  • 373
2 votes
1 answer
7k views

What is the purpose of the Attack stat for a unit with no melee weapons?

According to the 8th Edition Core Rules, the attack stat is defined as follows: Attacks (A): This tells you how many times a model can strike blows in hand-to-hand combat. As I understand, this ...
MechMK1's user avatar
  • 373
3 votes
1 answer
904 views

Is there a quick comparison list of the different Warhammer 40k Space Marines Chapters?

As per the title, I'm wondering if there is a comparison list/tool somewhere that show the difference between the different Space Marines Chapter. I'm starting Warhammer 40K with my son and I ...
algiogia's user avatar
  • 131
4 votes
1 answer
5k views

What is an unmodified hit roll?

In Warhammer 40k 8th Edition, Orks commonly have an ability called "Dakka! Dakka! Dakka!". The rule reads: Each time you roll an unmodified hit roll of 6 with a ranged weapon made by this model, ...
MechMK1's user avatar
  • 373
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can I mix same races but different factions in one army 40k

Please forgive me but I am incredibly new to warhammer and the other answer didn’t really make sense, could I mix Drukhari and Harlequins?
Retinull's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
980 views

How do I allocate variable damage to multi-wound models? [duplicate]

Let's say my grav cannons (D3 damage) shoot at some crisis suits (3 wounds each) and the suits fail 3 saves. I roll damage and get a one, a two and a three. Should I have rolled the dice in order? Or ...
Paul Hutton's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Munchkin Warhammer 40k - Running Away - Automatic Escape vs Automatic Failure

I recently played a game of Munchkin Warhammer 40k. In the middle of a fight I was losing, I was cursed with a "Can't Locate the Astronimican" which I responded by playing a "Tactical Rearward ...
Dave Smylie's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
27k views

How do Wounds, Damage, Saving Throws and Invulnerable Saves interact with each other?

I have read the freely available Battle Primer, which explains the core rules. However, I am still a bit confused regarding how exactly to resolve damage. Imagine a unit of Space Marines gets 10 ...
MechMK1's user avatar
  • 373
3 votes
1 answer
438 views

What does a damage number of "<1" mean in Warhammer 40k?

I recently bought the Dark Imperium starter set for Warhammer 40k. This set includes two "mini-codices" for both Space Marines and Death Guard, covering only the units that are in the set. What ...
MechMK1's user avatar
  • 373
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

How many wounds does each Ripper Swarms model have in 40K 8e?

In the 8th edition Tyranid codex, on page 91 for Ripper Swarms, the unit description text is as follows: This unit contains 3 ripper swarms. It can include up to 3 additonal Ripper Swarms (Power ...
as.beaulieu's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
14k views

Can multiple 40k psykers cast the same spell in the same phase?

I really enjoy psykers, and I've built a Tyranid army that is pretty psyker heavy. This question is for 8th edition rules for Warhammer 40k. The friends I play with, are trying to tell me that once a ...
as.beaulieu's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
678 views

Miniature wise what is the size comparison between a centurion and a crisis battlesuit?

Size wise how different is the height of the tau crisis battle suit and the imperium centurions?
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
2 votes
0 answers
133 views

Can I use the Farsight enclave eight separately?

Can I use the members of the eight separately or do they have to be on the battlefield together? Like can I just have subcommander Torchstar and commander Brightsword in an army but no other members ...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
1 vote
1 answer
6k views

How to get the eight?

I just heard about the Farsight enclaves eight and I wanted to know if you could get them as separate figures or do If I have to modify the battlesuits in order to make them the eight?
Akuma's user avatar
  • 11
7 votes
1 answer
699 views

Codex vs Chapter Approved

I am finally getting around to doing my Death Guard in Warhammer 40k. In the Dark Imperium, the Lord of Contagion, was listed at 137 points, in the Codex it is listed at 120 points, but in Chapter ...
Wayne Weibel's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is there any bonus to a second Plague knife on Plague Marines?

I'm new to 8th edition 40k and as far as I understand you no longer receive the extra attack for 2 melee weapons. But the Death Guard codex gives the option: "Any Plague Marine can replace their ...
BL4CKR1D3R's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
827 views

What are the rules for a space marine commander?

I was searching the space marines section at a local warhammer shop when I saw a miniature called the space marine commander, I looked for it in my index but his rules weren't in it. What are the ...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a squad use a leader or unit from another squad?

I've never played Warhammer. I have a close friend that does. I am looking for a gift to get her for the game. Is it possible for a Blood Angels squadron to use a character like Sammael from ...
Thatguy's user avatar
  • 279
5 votes
2 answers
10k views

How are you supposed to build space marines in 8th Ed? [closed]

I've been playing Warhammer 40,000 since the last year of 7th Ed and I've had some extreme problems with Space Marines since the swap. While the army was still in 7th Ed, it worked great: 3+ or 4+ ...
Areadbhair's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I use chapter specific characters in a custom space marine chapter? [duplicate]

I have made my custom space marine chapter, currently I have only a generic apothecary and captain as my HQ. What I wanted to know is if I could use specific HQ units like the imperial fists Captain ...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
4 votes
1 answer
914 views

Can I make a space marine army and then have them ally with the tau?

I already had tau that my relative gave to me and I wanted to know if I could employ them as allies to the custom space marine chapter I'm making.
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
4 votes
1 answer
945 views

Can I create a colour scheme for a custom chapter and the apply it to other chapters?

So what I mean is, could I make a colour scheme for my Space Marines and then use that same colour scheme for Grey Knights or Adeptus Mechanicus or Astra Militarum?
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
6 votes
3 answers
4k views

Can a space marine chapter consist of marines from other chapters?

I'm new to warhammer so I wanted to know if I could run a custom space marine chapter and then use soldiers from other factions For example could I run a space marines chapter that included soldiers ...
Taishoku's user avatar
  • 431
7 votes
2 answers
4k views

Are movement trays legal in Warhammer 40k Tournaments?

I play Tyranids and would like to make it faster for myself to move units of 30 termagants. I only ask this question for tournament play since in a casual game none of my friends would care. I was ...
Max Young's user avatar
  • 822