Questions tagged [warhammer-40k]

In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Warhammer 40,000 is a detailed futuristic table-top battle simulation.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
1answer
670 views

Munchkin Warhammer 40k - Running Away - Automatic Escape vs Automatic Failure

I recently played a game of Munchkin Warhammer 40k. In the middle of a fight I was losing, I was cursed with a "Can't Locate the Astronimican" which I responded by playing a "Tactical Rearward ...
1
vote
2answers
136 views

How do Wounds, Damage, Saving Throws and Invulnerable Saves interact with each other?

I have read the freely available Battle Primer, which explains the core rules. However, I am still a bit confused regarding how exactly to resolve damage. Imagine a unit of Space Marines gets 10 ...
2
votes
1answer
94 views

What does a damage number of “<1” mean in Warhammer 40k?

I recently bought the Dark Imperium starter set for Warhammer 40k. This set includes two "mini-codices" for both Space Marines and Death Guard, covering only the units that are in the set. What ...
3
votes
1answer
88 views

How many wounds does each Ripper Swarms model have in 40K 8e?

In the 8th edition Tyranid codex, on page 91 for Ripper Swarms, the unit description text is as follows: This unit contains 3 ripper swarms. It can include up to 3 additonal Ripper Swarms (Power ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can multiple 40k psykers cast the same spell in the same phase?

I really enjoy psykers, and I've built a Tyranid army that is pretty psyker heavy. This question is for 8th edition rules for Warhammer 40k. The friends I play with, are trying to tell me that once a ...
0
votes
1answer
145 views

Miniature wise what is the size comparison between a centurion and a crisis battlesuit?

Size wise how different is the height of the tau crisis battle suit and the imperium centurions?
1
vote
0answers
92 views

Can I use the Farsight enclave eight separately?

Can I use the members of the eight separately or do they have to be on the battlefield together? Like can I just have subcommander Torchstar and commander Brightsword in an army but no other members ...
0
votes
1answer
483 views

How to get the eight?

I just heard about the Farsight enclaves eight and I wanted to know if you could get them as separate figures or do If I have to modify the battlesuits in order to make them the eight?
7
votes
1answer
390 views

Codex vs Chapter Approved

I am finally getting around to doing my Death Guard in Warhammer 40k. In the Dark Imperium, the Lord of Contagion, was listed at 137 points, in the Codex it is listed at 120 points, but in Chapter ...
5
votes
2answers
353 views

Is there any bonus to a second Plague knife on Plague Marines?

I'm new to 8th edition 40k and as far as I understand you no longer receive the extra attack for 2 melee weapons. But the Death Guard codex gives the option: "Any Plague Marine can replace their ...
2
votes
1answer
469 views

What are the rules for a space marine commander?

I was searching the space marines section at a local warhammer shop when I saw a miniature called the space marine commander, I looked for it in my index but his rules weren't in it. What are the ...
8
votes
1answer
987 views

Can a squad use a leader or unit from another squad?

I've never played Warhammer. I have a close friend that does. I am looking for a gift to get her for the game. Is it possible for a Blood Angels squadron to use a character like Sammael from ...
5
votes
2answers
8k views

How are you supposed to build space marines in 8th Ed? [closed]

I've been playing Warhammer 40,000 since the last year of 7th Ed and I've had some extreme problems with Space Marines since the swap. While the army was still in 7th Ed, it worked great: 3+ or 4+ ...
4
votes
1answer
671 views

Can I use chapter specific characters in a custom space marine chapter? [duplicate]

I have made my custom space marine chapter, currently I have only a generic apothecary and captain as my HQ. What I wanted to know is if I could use specific HQ units like the imperial fists Captain ...
4
votes
1answer
363 views

Can I make a space marine army and then have them ally with the tau?

I already had tau that my relative gave to me and I wanted to know if I could employ them as allies to the custom space marine chapter I'm making.
4
votes
1answer
632 views

Can I create a colour scheme for a custom chapter and the apply it to other chapters?

So what I mean is, could I make a colour scheme for my Space Marines and then use that same colour scheme for Grey Knights or Adeptus Mechanicus or Astra Militarum?
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a space marine chapter consist of marines from other chapters?

I'm new to warhammer so I wanted to know if I could run a custom space marine chapter and then use soldiers from other factions For example could I run a space marines chapter that included soldiers ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Are movement trays legal in Warhammer 40k Tournaments?

I play Tyranids and would like to make it faster for myself to move units of 30 termagants. I only ask this question for tournament play since in a casual game none of my friends would care. I was ...
4
votes
1answer
806 views

How does vertical movement work in 40k eighth edition

How does vertical movement work in 8th edition? In previous editions moving up a floor in a building was 3", but I can't seem to find any rules in the new edition describing if you just measure the ...
1
vote
1answer
598 views

In Warhammer 40K does taking a Chaos Icon replace other weapons?

The Codex for Chaos Space Marines says on the data sheet for Chaos Space Marines One model may take a Chaos Icon (pg 153). Does taking a Chaos Icon replace the model's boltgun? Can the model with ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Which books to buy to start playing Warhammer 40K 8th edition?

My sons (12 & 13) are new to Warhammer and want to start playing 40K with Chaos Space Marines and Blood Angels. We already have the free 'Warhammer 40,000 Battle Primer' but need to know what ...
0
votes
2answers
2k views

In 8th Edition, do you always make a to-hit roll?

In 8th edition of 40k, several weapons have the phrase "This weapon always hits." Or some slight variation. If a weapon with an ability that depends on a to-hit roll, like Hellblasters, were to get ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

40k 8th Edition Unit Customization

TLDR Has 40k lost a lot of its customization and character options? Are the expected codices supposed to give more options/customization? Can I take a unique item or character and modify it for my ...
2
votes
1answer
508 views

Do you have to buy the books to get the 40k model rules?

The 8th edition of warhammer 40k was recently released and every model now has new rules. In Age of Sigmar you can access models' rules for free either via the app or on the Games Workshop site. Can ...
8
votes
1answer
351 views

Should Commander Farsight's crisis suit be blue instead of red?

In the Warhammer 40k novel Crisis of Faith by Phil Kelly, O'Shoh (aka Commander Farsight), the main character, is asked why he painted his battlesuit red. He replies, "It is to honour the Arkunashan ...
-2
votes
1answer
170 views

I have a question about 40K [closed]

For a couple of weeks I have been thinking about starting to play Warhammer 40k and as a noob in this game I have a few questions I could use an answer to: Is it possible for a game to be played with ...
1
vote
1answer
124 views

Warhammer 40k: Do 'decurion' style detachments comprised of multiple formations still count as one detachment for ITC purposes?

Say I have a Hunter Contingent (the Tau 'decurion' style detachment) comprised of Hunter Cadre and an Optmised Stealth Cadre, will this count as one detachment against the ITC tournament limit of ...
2
votes
1answer
352 views

Does the psychic abomination rule apply to an unmoving unit already within the effect radius?

The Culexus Assassin and Sisters of Silence's psychic abomination rule states that blessings and maledictions are nullified as soon as the target unit moves within 12" of the model. Does it means that ...
2
votes
2answers
442 views

What books do I need to get all the rules for the Tyranid armies units/formations/detachments?

I have the Tyranid codex and got the Shield of Baal: Leviathan supplement but what other books or datasheets would I need to get all of the rules for my army? I would like to get as many of these in ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Can fleet units charge the turn they run

So the warhammer 40k rule book is pretty explicit about running and charging not being allowed but I was wondering if their was possibly a errata I was missing about fleet units being able to charge ...
4
votes
1answer
232 views

Do Warhammer models that have no models have specific dimensions stated any where?

I have made some tyranid mycetic spores by just covering a dreadnought sized base in some green putty to show how the spore burst when it hit the ground. I have seen many mycetic spore conversions and ...
1
vote
1answer
85 views

Warhammer 40k traitor legions-favored of tzeench special rule

In the book (traitor legions), the favored of tzeench rule refer to ''all units in the formation can reroll any failed saving throws of 1''. In the case of the Tzaangor warherd formation, does the ...
2
votes
1answer
388 views

Is Apocalypse still a rule set in 7th edition and are the books still useful

I haven't played 40k since 5th edition and I am looking to play my Necron army again and I am trying to figure out which of my books if any are still useful. It looks like none of my codexs are still ...
2
votes
2answers
227 views

If my walker is in base with a vehicle can it shoot AND attack?

My opponent rams my walker with his tank. No significant damage is incurred on either side, but my walker is immobilized and my walker fails to scratch the tank. What are my options on my turn: Can't ...
2
votes
1answer
106 views

Do markerlights put on a unit embarked in a dedicated transport remain on the passengers after the vehicle is destroyed?

If I place markerlights on a unit that is inside their dedicated transport and subsequently destroy said transport, can I still use the remaining markerlights when I target the disembarked passengers ...
2
votes
0answers
79 views

Warhammer 40k Dark Eldar+Harlequins

Can I have a Haemunclous start a match with a unit of Harlequin Troupe in the deep strike reserves using the webway portal rule? With both having their own codex's now they're battle brothers, I know ...
2
votes
1answer
570 views

What datacards should a chaos space marines player use in a maelstrom of war game?

My friend plays chaos space marines with the old codex. We want to play maelstrom of war and I think that having datacards to draw objectives is very handy. I can't find a chaos space marines datacard ...
1
vote
1answer
198 views

Can a unit use a markerlight token to fire a seeker missile at BS 5 after jinking?

The rules say that skimmers who have jinked can only fire snapshots (BS 1) on the next shooting phase. On the other hand, the markerlight seeker rule says that one can spend a markerlight token to ...
3
votes
1answer
686 views

Does a dedicated transport for a troops unit retain objective secured after the troops disembark?

If I take a devilfish for my strike team in a combined arms detachment, will the transport have objective secured even after the unit has disembarked? If so, can I disembark the fire warriors on an ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

How to determine points costs of Tau unit enhancements?

I have been trying to figure out which are the points costs for the several enhancements to tau units, but there is not a single comprehensive list for that. Sometimes model stats sheets have 'may ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

How to identify miniature parts that correspond to in-game enhancements?

I'm totally new to Warhammer and to assembling my own miniatures. I'm preparing a team of tau fire warriors and I am confused with the enhancements and how to prepare the miniatures to reflect them in ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Why does a Thunder hammer have Concussive?

In the Space Marine Codex, the Thunder hammer has the Concussive rule, allowing it to force the model it hits to Initiative step 1 during that Assault Phase. However, it also has the Unwieldy rule, ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you use custom made cosmetics on 40K figures?

In tournaments are you allowed to custom cosmetics like custom Space Marine shoulder Pads and heads, as long as the rest of the figure, weapons and wargear are all official. I found a website that ...
3
votes
1answer
606 views

Could i run a stormcast eternals body with a head from a space wolf?

I was wondering if I could use a stormcast eternals body but use a space wolves head and run him as a terminator? I got some stormcasts from a small local tournament and I run space wolf army so I was ...
4
votes
2answers
307 views

Warhammer 40k - Tau detachment benefit clarification

Coordinated Firepower is a Tau detachment benefit: Whenever a unit from a Hunter Contingent selects a target in the shooting phase, any number of other units from the same detachment who can still ...
3
votes
2answers
256 views

Does a Venomthrope gets an extra attack for using multiple weapons?

This question is related to the 7th edition core rules and Codex Tyranids 6th edition: The Codex has a "designer note" in the Melee Weapons section stating: Tyranid Melee weapons come as pairs. ...
2
votes
1answer
953 views

Are there online variants to “Path of Glory”? WH40K

I've been watching a handful of this extended campaign type for a while now and I just saw a video where someone created an Ork war-band by using a dice-roll sheet prepared from custom rules. Can ...
3
votes
1answer
141 views

What is a “Small Area” when talking about Cluster Mines?

When I was building a scout-heavy army, I noticed that cluster-mines could be taken by my scout-bikes to mark a "small area" as dangerous terrain. However, there is no actual measurement in how big ...
1
vote
2answers
230 views

How does “Concealment” transfer to Dedicated Transports?

I have been looking over the combat benefits from the various force organisations granted by Gladius Strike Forces. The one that interests me is the 10th Company bonus where all units in this Company ...
2
votes
1answer
571 views

Does anyone know the Campaign Badges for the Second Purging of Lastrati or the 3rd War for Armageddon?

I am in the process of painting an obscure Space Marine army of mine called the Storm Giants. Due to having a similar name to the Storm Lords, I was looking to include a campaign badge from either of ...