Questions tagged [warhammer-40k]

In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Warhammer 40,000 is a detailed futuristic table-top battle simulation.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
93 views

Warhammer 40k traitor legions-favored of tzeench special rule

In the book (traitor legions), the favored of tzeench rule refer to ''all units in the formation can reroll any failed saving throws of 1''. In the case of the Tzaangor warherd formation, does the ...
2
votes
1answer
462 views

Is Apocalypse still a rule set in 7th edition and are the books still useful

I haven't played 40k since 5th edition and I am looking to play my Necron army again and I am trying to figure out which of my books if any are still useful. It looks like none of my codexs are still ...
2
votes
2answers
258 views

If my walker is in base with a vehicle can it shoot AND attack?

My opponent rams my walker with his tank. No significant damage is incurred on either side, but my walker is immobilized and my walker fails to scratch the tank. What are my options on my turn: Can't ...
2
votes
1answer
131 views

Do markerlights put on a unit embarked in a dedicated transport remain on the passengers after the vehicle is destroyed?

If I place markerlights on a unit that is inside their dedicated transport and subsequently destroy said transport, can I still use the remaining markerlights when I target the disembarked passengers ...
2
votes
0answers
81 views

Warhammer 40k Dark Eldar+Harlequins

Can I have a Haemunclous start a match with a unit of Harlequin Troupe in the deep strike reserves using the webway portal rule? With both having their own codex's now they're battle brothers, I know ...
2
votes
1answer
631 views

What datacards should a chaos space marines player use in a maelstrom of war game?

My friend plays chaos space marines with the old codex. We want to play maelstrom of war and I think that having datacards to draw objectives is very handy. I can't find a chaos space marines datacard ...
1
vote
1answer
273 views

Can a unit use a markerlight token to fire a seeker missile at BS 5 after jinking?

The rules say that skimmers who have jinked can only fire snapshots (BS 1) on the next shooting phase. On the other hand, the markerlight seeker rule says that one can spend a markerlight token to ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a dedicated transport for a troops unit retain objective secured after the troops disembark?

If I take a devilfish for my strike team in a combined arms detachment, will the transport have objective secured even after the unit has disembarked? If so, can I disembark the fire warriors on an ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

How to determine points costs of Tau unit enhancements?

I have been trying to figure out which are the points costs for the several enhancements to tau units, but there is not a single comprehensive list for that. Sometimes model stats sheets have 'may ...
6
votes
4answers
3k views

How to identify miniature parts that correspond to in-game enhancements?

I'm totally new to Warhammer and to assembling my own miniatures. I'm preparing a team of tau fire warriors and I am confused with the enhancements and how to prepare the miniatures to reflect them in ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Why does a Thunder hammer have Concussive?

In the Space Marine Codex, the Thunder hammer has the Concussive rule, allowing it to force the model it hits to Initiative step 1 during that Assault Phase. However, it also has the Unwieldy rule, ...
4
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you use custom made cosmetics on 40K figures?

In tournaments are you allowed to custom cosmetics like custom Space Marine shoulder Pads and heads, as long as the rest of the figure, weapons and wargear are all official. I found a website that ...
2
votes
1answer
699 views

Could i run a stormcast eternals body with a head from a space wolf?

I was wondering if I could use a stormcast eternals body but use a space wolves head and run him as a terminator? I got some stormcasts from a small local tournament and I run space wolf army so I was ...
4
votes
2answers
346 views

Warhammer 40k - Tau detachment benefit clarification

Coordinated Firepower is a Tau detachment benefit: Whenever a unit from a Hunter Contingent selects a target in the shooting phase, any number of other units from the same detachment who can still ...
3
votes
2answers
299 views

Does a Venomthrope gets an extra attack for using multiple weapons?

This question is related to the 7th edition core rules and Codex Tyranids 6th edition: The Codex has a "designer note" in the Melee Weapons section stating: Tyranid Melee weapons come as pairs. ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Are there online variants to "Path of Glory"? WH40K

I've been watching a handful of this extended campaign type for a while now and I just saw a video where someone created an Ork war-band by using a dice-roll sheet prepared from custom rules. Can ...
3
votes
1answer
152 views

What is a "Small Area" when talking about Cluster Mines?

When I was building a scout-heavy army, I noticed that cluster-mines could be taken by my scout-bikes to mark a "small area" as dangerous terrain. However, there is no actual measurement in how big ...
1
vote
2answers
289 views

How does "Concealment" transfer to Dedicated Transports?

I have been looking over the combat benefits from the various force organisations granted by Gladius Strike Forces. The one that interests me is the 10th Company bonus where all units in this Company ...
2
votes
1answer
713 views

Does anyone know the Campaign Badges for the Second Purging of Lastrati or the 3rd War for Armageddon?

I am in the process of painting an obscure Space Marine army of mine called the Storm Giants. Due to having a similar name to the Storm Lords, I was looking to include a campaign badge from either of ...
2
votes
1answer
303 views

First blood on the same initiative step

If two opposing forces completely destroy each other at the same initiative step in combat, who is regarded as the first casualty for the purposes of things like first blood?
3
votes
4answers
2k views

In Warhammer 40k is it possible to have your army use vehicles from other factions?

Is there anything in the rules that say you can have your army use vehicles from another faction? I use Harlequins and I always thought about trying something new and using some Eldar vehicles like a ...
3
votes
1answer
101 views

Blast markers hitting multistorey buildings

This has caused a large amount of discussion today and we couldn't find a suitable answer in the rule book. When a blast marker (not flamer template) hits a multistorey building, who gets hit? Is it ...
1
vote
1answer
401 views

What are the rules for Storm Giants?

When I started looking up Warhammer 40k, I had selected the regular Space Marine book and a few models as a reference. After finding out how incredibly powerful scouts could become, I decided that a ...
1
vote
2answers
591 views

Is the following considered battle-forged?

I have recently been collecting models for my first WH40k Army, but I have yet to receive a core rule book that I have ordered. However, I do have the Space Marine book and have constructed a Gladius ...
1
vote
1answer
929 views

Warhammer 40K 7ed: Haemonculus Covens "It Will not Die" rule effect on units with 1 wound

In Warhammer 40K 7ed, the Dark Eldar's Haemonculus Covens "power from pain" rule gives their wracks the "it will not die" (IWND) special rule by turn 4. My question is this: Does a unit with one ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Where can I find Storm Bolters

In what kits can I find storm bolters to use them in my space marine's army? Or how can I model/craft them instead?
3
votes
4answers
549 views

Beefy assault marines

I'm going for a very expensive but hopefully good assault marine setup, but I require advice. The setup is 5 marines total in the squad with one wielding an evicerator, two wielding flamers and the ...
2
votes
3answers
506 views

In warhammer 40k can I combines these armies?

I have an Ezekiel, Grand Master of Librarians, which is a dark angels HQ and I have a grey knight army. Can I use Ezekiel as my HQ?
2
votes
1answer
233 views

Warhammer 40k Unit Composition - Marines

If I make my own chapter, lets just call them Flat Black, and they are all painted flat black, can I also include a hero from the Ultra Marines, painted blue, such as Magnus? Or a librarian that is ...
4
votes
1answer
362 views

Saving throws against Destroyer weapons

If your opponent hits one of your models with a D strength weapon, rolls on the table and gets a 'Seriously Wounded' result, then rolls 3 for the number of wounds. How many saving throws do I roll? Is ...
5
votes
6answers
21k views

Are there any tabletop apps to allow you to play warhammer 40k with friends in other cities?

Pretty much as the title; I've looked at vassal 40k, but it hasn't been updated in a while and is missing units. I'm not necessarily looking for something for WH40k in specific - as long as it allows ...
5
votes
2answers
95 views

Mounting a Hive Crone with Harpy parts

I am new in this game and right now mounting my first unit: a Hive Crone. In the box it contains the pieces for mounting either a Harpy or a Hive Crone. I already decided I want the Hive Crone, but ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Monstrous Creatures still only have AP6 when using Scything Talons?

Scything Talons have AP6, but to me it seems odd that a creature the size of a Carnifex with talons nearly twice the size of a human would have trouble cutting its way through a Guardsman's flak vest. ...
3
votes
1answer
850 views

Can I put any ranged weapon on a Crisis Battlesuit?

I've read the Codex (6th) entry for the XV8 Crisis Team and it says: Any Crisis Shas'ui may take up to three items from the Ranged Weapons and/ or Support Systems lists. I can see only one list ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Which battleforce should I buy as a newbie player? [closed]

After playing some Mordheim games we decided with my friends to buy a Warhammer 40k battleforce and start playing Wh40k. I started reading all the codexes/forums but I feel a little overwhelmed with ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Modernising a 90s Warhammer 40K Army

I collected and gamed with a Blood Angel and Dark Angel army during the mid to late 90s. I have (I think) the second edition that came in a box set of basic Space Marines and Orks, and also have the ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

How many different right-handed Power Swords are there on the sprues of the Space Marines?

I am looking to make a group of Vanguard Veterans who wield Power Swords, but since they are not on the sprue I will have to pilfer them from other boxed sets. But since the GW website is rather ...
3
votes
5answers
1k views

Which has to be declared first: Marklights or Jink?

Situation: A squad of (jet)bikes has several Markerlights on them. The tau player is about to shoot at them with some Plasma or other weapon w/ low enough AP to punch their armor. Does the Tau player ...
2
votes
1answer
549 views

Where can I find the rules for the Roc Pattern Storm Eagle?

I've seen that its rules exist, but not in which book or web supplement to find them. Where can I find them?
3
votes
2answers
821 views

40k - Ork Mob Rule vs Psychic Shriek

I think I know the answer to this but was just hoping someone could prove me wrong... Let's say you're casting Psychic Shriek against a mob of 15 Boyz. Psychic Shriek states "Roll 3d6 and subtract the ...
2
votes
1answer
4k views

WH/40k - The age-old instant death and multiwound models question

I'm asking this because I can't find an up-to-date and credible source of information on the subject (since it has apparently changed at least once over the years). My question is, when does instant ...
3
votes
1answer
944 views

40k - Kustom Force Field and Vehicle Explosions

I've asked this numerous places and no one can seem to agree or provide a completely sound explanation on it... When a transport containing a unit that includes a KFF explodes, do the models inside ...
0
votes
2answers
737 views

Can a non independent character deploy in a dedicated transport?

Can a non independent character (not attached and not attachable to the unit) deploy in a dedicated transport of any unit? I'm thinking of putting Death Cie. Tycho with 9 Death Cie. inside the unit's ...
2
votes
2answers
342 views

Going to ground behind a Aegis defense line

If a unit goes to ground while behind an Aegis defense line (or some other "high" terrain), do we still consider them visible and potential targets for other shooting attacks? After all, they're ...
0
votes
1answer
108 views

Drop pod deviation above terrain

Assuming a drop pod place 2 inch away from a 6 inch wide impassible terrain (eg: river of lava). Drop pod deviation says that it has to deviate 12 inches, in the direction that passes above said ...
0
votes
2answers
1k views

Space Marine Attack Bike Twin-Linked bolter

According to page 62 of the Codex: Blood Angels (5th), the Space Marine Bike are equipped with twin-linked bolter. According to the army list, neither Attack Bike Squad nor Bike Squad mentions this ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Calculating reserves, and the 50% rule

According to the rules, 50% of units, rounded up may be in reserves. Also, some units (flyers, drop pods) don't count towards the units counted in reserves. But do we count the latter including or ...
2
votes
1answer
401 views

Putting a reclusiarch terminator in a drop pod?

I'm thinking of putting a Death Company in a drop pod for my next game. The HQ would be either a librarian or a reclusiarch in terminator armor. Can I put my HQ in the drop pod with the DC? Can ...
3
votes
2answers
790 views

In the new Tyranid Codex (6th Edition) is the Close Combat Weapons bonus included in Unit profiles?

There have been some changes to the way Close combat weapons work for Tyranids. The rule used to be, that Scything talons were the only CC weapon that would give a +1 Attack bonus. Now it applies to ...
6
votes
4answers
28k views

Can I combine different races as a single army? [duplicate]

Can I mix soldiers from totally different armies? I mean, can I have some, say, Necrons in among my Chaos Space Marines? I have a couple different armies, and I'd like to combine them.