Questions tagged [yu-gi-oh]

A trading card game where players summon Monsters and activate Spells and Traps to deplete their opponent's Life Points. The game has a strong fantasy theme, and is usually played with 2 players, although it has been adapted to work with more. It has no direct resource system, but utilizes face-down cards in play. It is based on the Japanese anime "Yu-Gi-Oh!" .

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
1answer
4 views

The End of Anubis vs Red-Eyes Zombie Necro Dragon

I play with a Structure Deck: Zombie Horde and my friend is always using The End of Anubis against me. My Red-Eyes Zombie Necro Dragon has the following effect: Gains 100 ATK/DEF for each Zombie ...
0
votes
1answer
42 views

Can you banish maiden with the eyes of blue even if it is face up?

I play Yugioh at school and the main person I play against has a Blue-Eyes deck. He uses Maiden with Eyes of Blue and says I can't destroy it. But I read somewhere that you can banish it. Is this ...
0
votes
2answers
52 views

Lilith Lady of Lament special summoned by Tour Guide from the Underworld

By using Tour Guide from the Underworld, special summoned Lilith Lady of Lament. Q: Can Lilith's effect of tributing monster still be activated? As, tributing 1 dark monster (as a cost), but not have ...
1
vote
1answer
73 views

Weird Problems with Starving Venom Fusion Dragon

My friend and I were dueling, and he summoned Starving Venom Fusion Dragon, and Starving Venom Fusion Dragon can copy an opponent's card's effect. So he copied my Cyber Dragon Infinity's effect. Cyber ...
0
votes
1answer
95 views

Is flip summon considered a normal summon?

Goblindbergh: When this card is Normal Summoned: You can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower monster from your hand, also, after that, change this card to Defense Position. So if Goblindbergh ...
0
votes
1answer
89 views

About Chronomaly Cabrera Trebuchet's effect + pay cost for no effect

Chronomaly Cabrera Trebuchet: Once per turn: You can Tribute 1 other "Chronomaly" monster, then target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; its ATK becomes 0 until the End Phase. Player A ...
0
votes
1answer
43 views

Meklord Emperor Wisel vs Dragonic Diagram

Meklord Emperor Wisel: Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must be Special Summoned by its own effect, and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways. When a face-up monster you control is destroyed ...
3
votes
4answers
154 views

Monarchs Stormforth vs Number 59: Crooked Cook

The Monarchs Stormforth: Once during this turn, if you would Tribute a monster for a Tribute Summon, you can Tribute 1 monster your opponent controls even though you do not control it. You can ...
1
vote
2answers
97 views

Chaos Emperor Dragon vs materials

Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End: Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster from your GY. You can pay 1000 Life ...
0
votes
1answer
43 views

Battle Fader vs Majesty's Fiend

Majesty's Fiend: Cannot be Special Summoned. Monster effects cannot be activated. Battle Fader: When an opponent's monster declares a direct attack: You can Special Summon this card from your ...
1
vote
0answers
31 views

Special summon 2 Interplanetarypurplythorny Dragon [duplicate]

Interplanetarypurplythorny Dragon: If a monster you control is destroyed by battle or card effect and sent to the Graveyard: You can Special Summon this card from your hand. Opponent destroyed 1 ...
0
votes
1answer
105 views

There's this card type in Yu-Gi-Oh that I can't quite put my finger on. It has to do with nature

Back in ~6 grade there was a yu-gi-oh archetype that I really liked. I liked this because of the play-style and the art/character design in general, but I can't quite remember the name of the deck and/...
0
votes
1answer
88 views

If spirit monster's effect is negated for 1 turn, does it return to hand by end phase?

So let's say player A summoned Dark Dust Spirit, then: Case 1: Player B activates Forbidden Chalice on Dark Dust Spirit so its effect is negated until end phase. Does it return to hand by end phase? ...
0
votes
2answers
111 views

Can players activate Quick-Play spells or Traps as face-down monsters are flipped face-up in battle?

Player A's monster attacks player B's face down monster. Both players decided not to chain the attack while monster is still face down Monster is flipped face up, which is Kelbek Player A activates ...
2
votes
1answer
46 views

If banished token then try to resummon it, possible?

I have a token on the field, then I used Interdimensional Matter Transporter, will it return to the field? Interdimensional Matter Transporter: Target 1 face-up monster you control; banish that ...
5
votes
2answers
95 views

Special Summoning After the Seal of Orichalcos

My question is this, after you activate the seal can you Special summon monsters from other places? The Seal of Orichalcos destroys all monsters that you had special summoned when it activates and It ...
0
votes
1answer
38 views

Can “Phantom Knights's Sword” Prevent a monster from being destroyed because of “Call of the Haunted”?

So let's say I use "Call of the Haunted" to summon a monster from my GY. Then I equip "Phantom Knights Sword" to it. So now that monster gains 800 ATK and if it were to be destroyed, I can destroy "...
5
votes
1answer
168 views

Halving Points in Yu-Gi-Oh!

What happens if points (Life Points, Attack Points or Life Points) should be halved, but are a odd number? Some cards like Solemn Judgement can half a variable, while some monsters like S39 Utopia ...
-1
votes
2answers
163 views

God cards are allowed?

I know there that the anime version of God cards are: overpowered, effects are not unclearly specified in the card text, and illegal to play in tournaments and private matches. My question is about ...
2
votes
1answer
78 views

Caius the Mega Monarch if targets 2 cards inflicts damage twice?

Caius the Mega Monarch: You can Tribute Summon this card by Tributing 1 Tribute Summoned monster. If this card is Tribute Summoned: Target 1 card on the field; banish it, and if you do, inflict ...
3
votes
1answer
74 views

Majesty's Fiend vs Michion the Timelord

Majesty's Fiend: Cannot be Special Summoned. Monster effects cannot be activated. Michion the Timelord: Cannot be Special Summoned from the Deck. If you control no monsters, you can Normal ...
2
votes
1answer
56 views

Monster attacking directly considered as “battled”?

So if monster attacked directly, is it considered "battle"? So if Michion, the Timelord attacked LP directly, his effect of halving LP activates? I'm asking this because of Michion, the Timelord's ...
2
votes
2answers
97 views

What is a good way to find information on previous ban lists?

Many people say it's fun to go back and play previous formats of Yu-Gi-Oh, like the popular "Goat Format" from the mid 2000s. I have been having a hard time finding a resource to easily view every ...
2
votes
1answer
708 views

May I use “Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring” to negate the effects of cards that send from deck to grave, but not in the specific scenario?

Let us assume that my opponent is playing a Shaddoll deck, and has activated "Shaddoll Fusion" on the first turn of the game. Since I have not taken a turn and have no monsters special summoned from ...
3
votes
1answer
271 views

Can I activate my “once per turn” effect twice if the activation is negated?

Let's assume I have two copies of "Spellbook of Secrets" in my hand. I activate one, and my opponent chains to it with their set copy of "Solemn Judgement". Am I able to activate my second copy? "...
1
vote
2answers
246 views

What happens when I summon “Gameciel the Sea Turtle Kaiju” to my opponent's field by tributing their “Prank-Kids Battle Butler”?

As many people are aware of, the removal of monsters by tributing them for Kaiju monsters, or "Kaijuing", is a relatively common way of dealing with threatening monsters that are hard to get rid of. ...
2
votes
1answer
193 views

Mystic mine vs Denko Sekka

Does Mystic Mine stops all monster effects? Or just activation? It sounds like only activation, so continuous monster effects may still be active? Like Denko Sekka's effect? Mystic Mine: If your ...
2
votes
1answer
82 views

If a flip summon (via attack) is negated, can I change attack target?

I attack a face down monster (1900 atk to 2500 def) and when it is flipped face-up I activate Forced Back, which reads: Negate the Normal Summon or Flip Summon of a monster and return the monster ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

D.D. Esper Star Sparrow vs Compulsory Evacuation Device

Let's say D.D. Esper Star Sparrow was special summoned from graveyard by its own effect, then Compulsory Evacuation Device was activated on him. D.D. Esper Star Sparrow: There can only be 1 "D.D. ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

“Once per turn..” including opponent's turn?

As the title mentions, if explicitly mentioned in the text just "once per turn" (without mentioned "your turn" or "opponent turn"), does that mean it's both turns? Like Eternal Soul: Every "Dark ...
1
vote
1answer
65 views

Difōmā Raiton and going to zero Life Points

I have a question about a Yu-Gi-Oh card that I have been thinking a bit about: Difōmā Raiton or in English Morphtronic Lantron. In the anime, it appears in 5D's in the second season (episodes 142-143)...
4
votes
2answers
381 views

Can my opponent chain an on-summon trigger effect to my on-summon trigger effect?

I'm confused about on-summon trigger effects. Consider this scenario: Opponent has a card on the field, with the effect When your opponent Summons a monster: ... (e.g. Trap Hole or Evolzar Solda. ...
3
votes
1answer
120 views

Safe Zone vs Magic Cylinder

Player A's monster attacks player B's monster. Player B activates Magic Cylinder. Player A activates Safe Zone on his own monster. Q: The attack will not be negated because Safe Zone prevents ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Super Polymerization how does it work

My question involves the card Super Polymerization. I understand that it can be used to fusion summon using monsters on either side of the field, but it seems unclear on if those monsters have to be ...
1
vote
1answer
91 views

Can I summon Interplanetarypurplythorny Dragon in response to The Monarchs Stormforth?

Player A activates The Monarchs Stormforth, tribute summons a monster from hand by tributing 1 monster on player B's field and sends it to the graveyard. Player B has Interplanetarypurplythorny ...
0
votes
1answer
56 views

Yu-Gi-Oh!: If monarch Caius or Raiza is flipped face up its effect activate?

Let's say I have Caius or Raiza in hand. Then I tribute summoned Caius/Raiza but set it face down. Q1- If next turn I flip it face up in Attack position, does it's effect activate? Q2- If opponent ...
2
votes
2answers
67 views

Yu-Gi-Oh!: Metaion the timelord vs Evilswarm Obliviwisp

Metaion the timelord attacks Evilswarm Obliviwisp, nothing else in the field. Q1- Does Evilswarm is returned to hand? Q2- Is Metaion effect negated? Q3- Is Metaion destroyed as result of battle? ...
2
votes
1answer
277 views

Would Pot of Extravagance be too unfair if you use a deck that doesn't use an Extra Deck?

Pot of Extravagance allows you to banish cards from your Extra Deck to draw cards. However, some archetypes, like "Monarch", "True Draco" or the "Lair of Darkness" structure deck doesn't need an ...
0
votes
1answer
380 views

Cyber dragon infinity

Example 1: If I activate a card from my hand can cyber dragon infinity negate and "destroy it" Example 2: If I activate a monster effect from my hand and crystal wing synchro dragon tries to negate ...
0
votes
1answer
76 views

Pendulum monsters question

All most all pendulum monsters have an opposite. For example Dragonpulse Magician, Dragonpit Magician One is pendulum value 1 the other 8. My question is, is there an opposite for Guiding Ariadne? ...
3
votes
1answer
503 views

Are there any cards in Yu-Gi-Oh that let me interact with face-down banished cards?

Pot of Desires is a card where you banish 10 cards from the top your deck, face-down to draw 2 cards. Is there anyway I can change those cards, like flipping them face-up or returning them to the ...
2
votes
2answers
182 views

Why would someone want to use Pot of Desires, other than to draw 2 cards?

Pot of Desires allows you to banish the top 10 cards of your deck, facedown, and then draw 2 cards. Why would someone do this? Is gaining 2 cards worth it?
1
vote
1answer
68 views

Monster equipped with 2 Safe Zone then 1 of them is destroyed

Q1- If I activated 2 Safe Zone cards on my monster, then if one of them (the 2 Safe Zone cards) is destroyed: The monster won't be destroyed because it's still protected by the other Safe Zone..? Or, ...
2
votes
1answer
306 views

Can effects (like Majesty's Fiend) prevent Exodia from winning?

Majesty's Fiend is on the field. It says Cannot be Special Summoned. Monster effects cannot be activated. If all Exodia cards are collected, does Exodia's player win even though Majesty's Fiend ...
1
vote
1answer
196 views

Can Trap Hole be activated in response to Denko Sekka's summon?

Trap Hole is a normal trap card (speed 2), and normal summon of Denko Sekka (speed 1). Trap hole (as I believe) is faster but doesn't include summon negation (it only destroys). I've read in some ...
1
vote
1answer
59 views

Can Gullveig of the Nordic Ascendant be used as material for the summon of another Gullveig?

Gullveig of the Nordic Ascedant is a Link Monster who's materials say: 1 lvl 5 or lower Nordic Monster. Does this mean the Gulllveig can be used as material for itself?
0
votes
1answer
61 views

When a Phantom Knight's Trap is Special Summoned back as a monster, and then is sent to the GY, is it still treated as a monster?

Some Phantom Knight's Card have an Effect that says you can special summon it as a monster (This card is not treated as a trap). When it is destroyed, is it a monster or trap in the GY? (For example, ...
-1
votes
1answer
102 views

How “Malice Ascendant” works?

In Yu-Gi-Oh!, there is a monster effect card called "Malice Ascendant", which its effect says: During your opponent's Standby Phase, send 1 card from the top of their Deck to the Graveyard for ...
2
votes
2answers
137 views

Why this challenge in Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's Tag Force wasn't completed?

I was playing Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's Tag Force in PPSSPP "PSP emulator for Android". In this game, there are a challenge list to complete; one of those challenges is: 001 - Caused 10,000 or more points ...
1
vote
1answer
70 views

If I activate the effect of Hand Destruction but I send Kidmodo Dragon to the graveyard, can I activate Kidmodo Dragon's effect?

Lets say I have a hand consisting of: "Kidmodo Dragon", "Red-Eyes B. Dragon", and "Hand Destruction". If I activate Hand Destruction and discard Kidmodo Dragon, can I activate Kidmodo dragon's effect ...