All Questions

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
139 views

Jace's Erasure with Prosperity

If I have a Jace's Erasure (Whenever you draw a card, you may have target player mill 1) out and cast Prosperity (Each player draws X cards), since we both draw at the same time, for each card ...
4
votes
1answer
571 views

What is “Z generic mana”?

According to the MtG wiki, the symbol is a "Generic mana symbol", specifically representing Generic mana in costs that only can be paid with mana from a source that can produce two or more colors ...
1
vote
1answer
61 views

What cards were never allowed in Commander?

The Commander format has a relatively big ban-list. Which cards were banned upon Commander/EDH becoming a format? Which cards never got the chance to justify their ban on the fields of battle?
3
votes
2answers
186 views

Open the Graves and blocking segment

Let's assume the following situation: On the battlefield on my side lying these permanents: Open the Graves, Thallid Soothsayer and another non-token creature. My opponent is attacking me with two ...
1
vote
1answer
44 views

Ticket to Ride trade original destination cards later in the game

About your original destination cards in Ticket to Ride North America (the three you get at the beginning of the game): Can you trade them later in the game? Our group is not sure.
1
vote
1answer
43 views

Vigilance and a tap ability

I'm attacking with a creature that has vigilance. After I declare him attacking, may I activate his ability before blockers are declared? His ability is pay 1 white and tap to tap Target creature. My ...
0
votes
0answers
20 views

Auras & Humble or Kasmina's transmutation [duplicate]

Let's say there's a 2/2 Bear on the battlefield. I'm thinking of the results of cards like Humble (Until end of turn, target creature loses all abilities and has base power and toughness 0/1.) or ...
3
votes
3answers
165 views

Emissary of Grudges vs. Annihilator

If I have Emissary of Grudges on the battlefield and my secretly chosen player controls a creature with Annihilator which attacks me, can I activate Emissary of Grudges and choose a new target for ...
1
vote
2answers
89 views

When is Garbage time and when to scoop to it?

This is a dual question but the answer from the first part directly leads into the second. Watching Magic the gathering streamers I've heard the term "Garbage Time" used occasionally. It typically ...
1
vote
2answers
91 views

Can creatures with Defender be unmorphed while attacking?

I have a face down Monastery Flock card on the battlefield. I begin my attack phase, and declare the face down Monastery Flock as an attacker. The defending player blocks with Llanowar Elves, then ...
1
vote
1answer
64 views

Order of enter the battlefield effects in multiplayer (Warp World)

In a four player EDH game, Player 1 casts Warp World. Each player begins by shuffling their permanents into their library. Player 2 has a Banisher Priest on the battlefield, which currently has a ...
3
votes
1answer
109 views

Casting Emry, Lurker of the Loch with Gilded Goose & food tokens

Emry, Lurker of the Loch costs 1 generic mana less for each artifact I control. Gilded Goose can turn my food tokens into mana. Let's say I have Goose, food token, and a land in play. Emry is ...
5
votes
2answers
371 views

Expansion // Explosion and Alms Collector

If I have an Alms Collector and my opponent casts Explosion where X is 4 targeting himself and my Alms Collector, should Alms Collector still replace the draw 4 effect? I assume because Alms ...
1
vote
1answer
35 views

Can the New Angeles Sol prevent a current from being trashed if an agenda was stolen?

The corp's id is the New Angeles Sol: Your News and some current is on the table. Say runner steals an agenda. What is the order of abilities triggered? The current is trashed and then corp's id can ...
1
vote
1answer
31 views

In what location do assets gain “advertisement” via Rebranding Team?

Rebranding Team says All assets gain advertisement. Does it matter where the asset is located? Say, do assets from HQ or Archives also gain "advertisement"?
3
votes
1answer
66 views

Is there a long-term scoring system for 4 or 5 players who have played the same game repeatedly?

We are a group of 4, sometimes 5 players who have played Power Grid every week for nearly 2 years. For every game we have played, I have kept track of game dates and rankings (1st place, 2nd,..., 5th)....
7
votes
2answers
701 views

Ixalan's Binding and Ashiok, Nightmare Muse

I cast Ixalan's Binding, and its etb targets and exiles my opponent's Rampaging Baloths. Later in the game I use the -7 on Ashiok, Nightmare Muse, choosing to cast my opponent's exiled Rampaging ...
0
votes
1answer
45 views

Green Horde: Do Orc Fatties spawn with 2x Orc Walkers?

The answer to this question pertaining to Black Plague suggests that Orc Fatties don't get an escort because it's not specifically stated in the rule book; as Green Horde is also a stand-alone core ...
0
votes
1answer
59 views

running out of cards in exploding kitten [duplicate]

I run out of cards as others were asking for it using the combo multiple times on me - does this mean i lost? or is drawing multiple action or combo cards allowed in drawing?
2
votes
1answer
158 views

Responding to a dynamic value trigger which could change the same value

If I attack with a Thundering Djinn, and in response to its trigger with something that would draw me additional cards (let’s say +2 cards and have only drawn your Draw step prior.). Will the damage ...
3
votes
2answers
206 views

Medomai's Prophecy Repeated

I have a few related questions about Medomai's Prophecy, which has the relevant Chapter abilities: II - Choose a card name. III - When you cast a spell with the chosen name for the first time ...
2
votes
1answer
134 views

Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx vs Contamination

In my current meta one of the players likes to play Contamination. If I have a Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx in play, and my opponent has a Contamination, would it be possible to produce non-black mana with ...
6
votes
1answer
610 views

Killing opponent's Arclight Phoenixes with Massacre Girl, with Cauldron Familiar in graveyard

My board: 5 lands, Cauldron Familiar in graveyard, food token Opponent's board: 1 untapped red mana, 2 Arclight Phoenix, Shock in hand I want to play Massacre Girl and sweep up opponent's board. ...
1
vote
3answers
108 views

Can a Pit Card Game be Won if two players refuse to trade with another particular player?

My sister and I had an argument after I stated that I did not want to play Pit with them anymore because her husband and her son for some unknown reason refused to trade with me. Since she is always ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a saga's ability resolve in time to save the saga?

Suppose I have a Time of Ice and Opalescence on the battlefield. My Time of Ice (which is a creature) is at two lore counters and won't untap during my next turn because of my opponent's sleep. Does ...
5
votes
1answer
356 views

Who draws a card from Curious Obsession?

If I have enchanted an opponent's creature with Curious Obsession, which player draws the card after damage is dealt?
-1
votes
1answer
121 views

Is it possible, controlling Vesuvan Doppelganger, to have two legends with the same name in play at the same time?

According to the well-known rule, Legendary Creatures - or simply Legends - can appear on the battlefield, but if a Legend with the same name as the one a player would like to summon is not already in ...
0
votes
0answers
40 views

Scrabble Scoring [closed]

If I make two words both with separate triple word scoring but one word was already on the board, I just added the letter s, I will triple my word. But how do I score the second word by only adding ...
-1
votes
2answers
68 views

Modify Ticket to Ride to For Six or More People - Thoughts? [closed]

To get more than 5 people in on a game without having teams I was thinking about buying another set of train cars (or two or three), painting them a unique color, and then doing one of a few things... ...
4
votes
2answers
260 views

What is the most mana that can be produced by tapping a single permanent in future standard?

After Theros: Beyond Death is added to standard, what will be the most mana a permanent can be tapped to produce? Rules: Current standard sets and Theros: Beyond Death are legal No infinite combos ...
0
votes
1answer
31 views

In Gizmos (2nd ed.), if someone performs the “research action” and files a gizmo, does that count as a “file action”?

For example, if someone decides to research on the first turn, if they decide to put a card in their archive, would they then draw an energy at random (from the beginning gizmo that allows you to do ...
1
vote
0answers
62 views

Is it possible to convert a settler ship into a settlement without moving and then build or is it considered a move?

Is it possible to purchase a settler during the build and trade phase, then load him onto a ship, move him, and then on a next turn convert him into a settlement during build phase? Or is it ...
2
votes
1answer
96 views

Starfield Field of Nyx and Mirror March

If you cast a Mirror March and have five enchantments on the battlefield, including a Starfield of Nyx and another Mirror March, does the preexisting Mirror March copy the Mirror March that you just ...
2
votes
1answer
72 views

Inalla, Archmage Ritualist and Sage of Fables interaction?

I'm curious, when you cast Sage of Fables and copy it with Inalla do both the original and the copy come in with +1/+1 counters? or does just the copy? Reading this question about Inalla and Disciple ...
1
vote
3answers
156 views

Is there a Magic the Gathering card that resembles The Hanged Man Tarot card?

I have been looking for any card which has artwork resembling an entity dangling upside down but with no luck. Potential ideas could be something to do with the Rakdos circus, an over-confident ...
5
votes
1answer
143 views

Scotland Yard: does the thief reveal his location on every turn of the travel log that is circled?

When playing the board game Scotland Yard, does the thief reveal his location on every turn of the travel log that is circled? Or does he hide his location on every circled turn of the travel log and ...
2
votes
1answer
126 views

Does Cycling a card to trigger an ability allow you to target a creature protected by the color of the card you're cycling?

If I'm going to use the Cycle ability of a card of a certain color, and that activated ability is connected with a triggered ability that needs to choose a target for its correct resolution, it is ...
1
vote
1answer
118 views

Return a creature with an adventure to hand, can i cast the instant/sorcery again?

Will returning Brazen Borrower from the battlefield to my hand using the -3 ability of Teferi, Time Raveler enable me to cast Petty Theft again? The rulings say nothing against it but I have the ...
0
votes
1answer
85 views

Elevation simulation [closed]

So, I am designing a board game. In it, players will recreate various tank battles (essentially a tabletop version of War Thunder.) The tanks will be represented by 3d printed models, so its a little ...
2
votes
1answer
139 views

Does a game recommendation website exist?

Is there a website that will collect your evaluations of various board games that you've played and will then recommend a board game that you will like, based on your evaluations and on those of other ...
2
votes
1answer
151 views

What effects can modify mana abilities and be affected by Mana Relfection and Nyxbloom Ancient?

Considering the following: Mana abilities come in two forms, Activated and Triggered Nyxbloom Ancient/Mana Reflection only works with Activated abilities of a permanent being tapped Triggered ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

When can opponents react to the lifegain from the mana ability of Pristine Talisman?

I have a Pristine Talisman on the board, alongside a Well of Lost Dreams. I activate the Talisman to add 1 mana and gain 1 life. Gatherer says 01.06.2011 Pristine Talisman has a mana ability. ...
1
vote
2answers
104 views

How can we play yu-gi-oh online after dueling network's shutdown? [duplicate]

Dueling network shut down after a cease and desist letter. Is there any way to play yu-gi-oh casually online now? I used to like the ability to just make any deck and play casually, I am trying to ...
0
votes
1answer
116 views

Casting instants between first strike/normal strike combat phases [duplicate]

Let's say I have a 1/1 with first strike that's attacking and blocked by a vanilla 4/4. It deals first strike damage, but that's not enough to kill the defending creature. Right now, the attacking ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

How much mana does tapping a Forest make, with Nikya of the Old Ways & Nyxbloom Ancient?

I have Nikya of the Old Ways out on the battlefield: Whenever you tap a land for mana, add one mana of any type that land produced. I play Nyxbloom Ancient: If you tap a permanent for mana, it ...
2
votes
1answer
65 views

Do I need to have Imploding Kittens to use Streaking Kittens?

The first expansion to Exploding Kittens is of course Imploding Kittens. The second expansion is Streaking Kittens. Can I use Streaking Kittens with Exploding Kittens without throwing Imploding ...
-6
votes
0answers
56 views

A specific case of First Strike/Normal Strike Combat Phase, with spells cast in between [duplicate]

Taking up a theme already discussed with the question - "Q: Is it still possible to assign combat damage, and return the creature back to its owner's hand?" - which has already had its negative answer,...
4
votes
1answer
489 views

Do you have to pay the commander tax if you have an Omniscience in play?

If you have an Omniscience in play, will you still have to pay the commander tax or do you get to play your commander completely for free? Or is it the case that Omniscience will only ever make my ...
0
votes
0answers
44 views

Who would win in this case? [duplicate]

Case scenario: Player 1: (9 points total) 3 cities (6 points) 3 hidden points Player 2: (9 points total) 3 cities (6 points) 1 village (1 point) longest road Player 3: (9 points total) 4 cities (...
7
votes
1answer
815 views

How does Haktos the Unscarred's protection ability work if no number was chosen?

Haktos the Unscarred has an unusual pair of abilties: As Haktos enters the battlefield, choose 2, 3, or 4 at random. Haktos has protection from each converted mana cost other than the chosen ...

15 30 50 per page