All Questions

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
16
votes
1answer
744 views

Volrath's Shapeshifter, Static Buffs, and Combat damage

Inspired by this question. I have an Elvish Archdruid, a Volrath's Shapeshifter, and a Llanowar Elves on the battlefield. I attack with Elvish Archdruid and Llanowar Elves. My opponent blocks in ...
7
votes
1answer
796 views

If you have multiple planeswalkers, how many of their loyalty abilities can you use in a single turn?

Let’s say I played Ajani, Caller of the Pride and then played Ajani, Wise Counselor. Would I be able to use Caller of the Pride's -8 ability to give me, say, 20 creatures and then use Wise Counselor'...
1
vote
2answers
255 views

Buffs During Combat

If an opponent plays a card like Elvish Archdruid that gives other elf creatures they controls +1/+1 and they declare the Elvish Archdruid and another Elf creature as attackers, when I go to block ...
1
vote
1answer
35 views

Initial meld with a canasta

In Modern/American canasta can I meld with a canasta that contains wild cards if I also have a natural to meld with it? For example, I have five J’s and two 2’s, and three 9’s. Counting card ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

What's the lifetime of Wicked Wolf's +1/+1 counters?

Do Wicked Wolf's +1/+1 counters stay after the turn is over? It says: Sacrifice a food: Put a +1/+1 counter on Wicked Wolf. It gains indestructible until end of turn. Tap it. I was reading the ...
3
votes
1answer
139 views

Does a creature have its abilities while being on the stack?

I have a question. When creature is on the stack, does it have its abilities? For example Syr Eleonora, the Discerning, has an ability that says that spells which target her cost 2 more mana. But when ...
0
votes
1answer
94 views

Matsu-Tribe Decoy vs. Trap Runner

If I activate Matsu-Tribe Decoy's ability targeting opponent's Trap Runner, can he activate Trap Runner's ability, blocking my creature, and making Trap Runner an illegal target for Matsu-Tribe Decoy'...
8
votes
2answers
959 views

Hideaway - do I get to put cards put on the bottom of my library in any order?

With Spinerock Knoll, when it enters, hideaway activates, however, it doesn't specify whether I put the cards on the bottom of my library in any order, or in a random order. Which one is it? This is ...
3
votes
0answers
138 views

What's this German Go/Chess-like Game? “Heureka!”?

I was recently thinking back to a board game I played some 8 years ago. In my mind, I'm convinced the game was called Heureka (not Eureka), but after many days of fruitless searching, I don't think ...
6
votes
2answers
102 views

In Diplomacy, how does a time limit per round affect overall gameplay?

I want to introduce a group of people to the game Diplomacy. To make it manageable, I want to impose a 10 minute time limit per round (7 player game). I heard this type of limits are sometimes used in ...
2
votes
1answer
44 views

Does armor prevent non-combat damage?

There are a lot of cards that deal damage to creatures. Does the target creature's armor reduce that damage, or is armor only useful in combat damage (when attacking or being attacked by other ...
5
votes
1answer
198 views

What requires MTG players to remind their opponents of “may” parts of effects?

Section 3.7 of the IPG defines Tournament Error — Communication Policy Violation as follows: A player violates the Communication policies detailed in section 4 of the Magic Tournament Rules and the ...
6
votes
2answers
120 views

Sedris and Nicol Bolas, the Ravager

If I unearth Nicol Bolas, the Ravager thanks to Sedris, the Traitor King, then use Nicol Bolas's activated ability to exile it, does it return to the battlefield transformed? Unearth seems to replace ...
3
votes
2answers
92 views

Titania's Song and Mycosynth Lattice

How do Titania's Song and Mycosynth Lattice interact? What happens if Song enters the battlefield first, Lattice enters first, or they enter at the same time? Is there any circumstances under ...
1
vote
1answer
62 views

Does Adarkar Valkyrie's ability target cards in graveyard?

Adarkar Valkyrie's third ability targets a creature and creates a delayed triggered ability that returns that creature to the battlefield when it dies this turn. It clearly targets the creature on the ...
1
vote
2answers
59 views

Interaction with Grismold and Adarkar Valkyrie

Setup Player A controls Adarkar Valkyrie, Grismold, the Dreadsower and a bunch of creature tokens. Player B casts Akroma's Vengeance. Question If Player A responds with Adarkar Valkyrie's tap ...
2
votes
2answers
339 views

Can I use Oko's ability targetting a creature with protection from green?

I'm going to play a deck with a Oko, Thief of Crowns. And my question is: can I use his abilities targeting a creature with protection from green? I know that normally I couldn't do that, because I ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Oko, Thief of Crown's +1 vs. Deputy of Detention

Let's say my opponent plays Deputy of Detention and exiles my creature. I play Oko, Thief of Crowns and +1 on Deputy. Do I get my original creature back? If the answer is "no", do I get my original ...
2
votes
1answer
50 views

All cards run out and all cards in play, still has card draws

Mostly making sure we played this right but I ran into an odd situation recently. My wife had been forced to KO a lot of cards from her deck, while piling up lots of card draw power. She run into a ...
0
votes
1answer
99 views

Is flip summon considered a normal summon?

Goblindbergh: When this card is Normal Summoned: You can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower monster from your hand, also, after that, change this card to Defense Position. So if Goblindbergh ...
3
votes
1answer
52 views

How many buildings can I buy per turn in Queendomino?

The instructions state you can (Optional) Construct a building on an open red construction square. I am assuming the convention is that you can buy one building per moved Meeple?
6
votes
2answers
193 views

A knight's movement

In chess, the knight moves in an 'L' shape. I have not found any additional name for this. Does this movement have a name other than 'L' shaped?
4
votes
3answers
956 views

How to find Enchantments or Artifacts that have multiple effects?

I've tried the Gatherer and Advanced Google Search and cannot find a good way to find cards of the type I'm hoping to find. I'm looking for enchantments or artifacts that have multiple effects ...
5
votes
1answer
183 views

How does Golos work with cards that increase mana costs? [duplicate]

Let's say I activate Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability while there is a Sphere of Resistance out. Do I have to pay 1 mana for each of the cards that are spells that I play from Golos?
0
votes
1answer
94 views

About Chronomaly Cabrera Trebuchet's effect + pay cost for no effect

Chronomaly Cabrera Trebuchet: Once per turn: You can Tribute 1 other "Chronomaly" monster, then target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; its ATK becomes 0 until the End Phase. Player A ...
0
votes
0answers
42 views

MTG Sacrificing creatures [duplicate]

If I have Viscera Seer, Carrion Feeder and Spore Frog down and I decide to sac Spore Frog do I get the +1/+1 counters on Carrion Feeder and the scry 1 with Seer. Additionally if I have Jarad, Golgari ...
7
votes
2answers
856 views

Can Chandra, Acolyte of Flame cast Heartfire without the additional cost?

I was under the impression that if you used Chandra, Acolyte of Flame's -2, targeting Heartfire, you would still have to sacrifice a creature, but someone told me that was not true. What is the ruling ...
4
votes
1answer
178 views

Does a Wolf enters the battlefield and fight target creature with or without buff?

I have a Wolf on the battlefield which gives other Wolfes +1/+1 . And I cast a Wicked Wolf. Does it enter and fight target creature already with this buff or without it? And do I get a priority after ...
-3
votes
1answer
89 views

Do players have to get priority the same number of times? [duplicate]

I have a question regarding priority. Do players have to get it the same numbers of time during a step? I mean, for example, it's my turn, after declaring blockers, I get priority and decide to cast a ...
8
votes
1answer
135 views

Does Enlist trigger itself?

In Scythe, one of the actions that you can take is to enlist a recruit. When you do, you get on ongoing benefit for the rest of the game. Does the "rest of the game" include the action that you just ...
3
votes
2answers
523 views

Armory Automaton and Dowsing Dagger/Sword of the Animist

What happens if I cast Armory Automaton and equip to it Dowsing Dagger and/or Sword of the Animist that an opponent controls? When Armory Automaton attacks while equipped with Sword of the Animist, ...
2
votes
1answer
290 views

What happens to the target of Oko, Thief of Crowns' second ability when it is put in the graveyard?

An artifact or creature becomes a 3/3 green Elk creature due to Oko, Thief of Crowns' second ability. What happens to that artifact or creature when it is put into the graveyard? Does it remain a 3/3 ...
3
votes
1answer
239 views

Are Magic: The Gathering booster packs “color random”?

Are Magic: The Gathering booster packs "color random"? I've tried Googling it, but nothing tells me anything specific. Can you get booster packs by color, or are they filled with random colors?
2
votes
1answer
104 views

Does a multicolored green/blue spell count for abilities triggering on casting a blue spell?

I have a short question that relates to some effects that tell about spells' colours. When I have for instance, Gadwick, The Wizened who has a triggered ability thas says "Whenever you cast a blue ...
2
votes
1answer
199 views

Untapping a creature enchanted with Charmed Sleep

I have a question that relates to untapping a creature enchanted by Charmed Sleep. It says "Enchanted creature doesn't untap during its controller's untap step". That's clear. But when someone has an ...
5
votes
2answers
879 views

Can you take an Immortal Phoenix out of the game?

I am a fairly new player and the person I have been playing with has a card called Immortal Phoenix and I was wondering if cards that say "destroy" wouldn't activate the Phoenix's resurrection feature....
5
votes
1answer
202 views

Can anyone provide a citation for the existence of pre-alpha MTG rules about an initiative stat in combat?

I remember years ago hearing about a rule/mechanic that existed in early prototypes of Magic the Gathering, before the Alpha set was released. Basically all creatures had 3 combat stats: power, ...
0
votes
0answers
51 views

How does Bazaar of Baghdad interact with Wasteland / Strip Mine? [duplicate]

Player A has in play a Bazaar of Baghdad that has the following activated ability: {T}: Draw two cards, then discard three cards. Player B has in play a Strip Mine that has the following ...
6
votes
1answer
116 views

Can you have an aura attached to an aura that is itself attached to the first aura?

This question was inspired by this post on /r/BadMtgCombos. In the post, the user makes use of three copies of Feedback and Aura Graft to get Feedback 1 attached to Feedback 2, Feedback 2 attached ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

What is the priority sequence during a turn?

I know that at the beginning of each step and phase the active player recieves priority, and that the active player recieves priority after a spell resolves. I want to make sure that I am right about ...
3
votes
0answers
143 views

What is the name of this card game described below?

A player draws a card from 2 different stacks. First stack: a question that the player must ask another..."will you marry me?". Second stack: an emotion or attitude...."Aloof". The player must ...
3
votes
1answer
56 views

Cribbage. Run of 5 or more

I get that 4,6,5,7 is valid and scores 4 points. If it was a run that goes past the four cards played, e.g. 4,6,5,7 then a 3 is played and then a 2. Do the 3 and 2 continue the run and score 5 ...
8
votes
3answers
5k views

Non-Legendary Planeswalkers

If a Planeswalker in Magic the Gathering wasn't Legendary when it was printed (before Dominaria in 2018, e.g. Liliana, Death's Majesty), would you be allowed to have two of that same Planeswalker ...
4
votes
1answer
272 views

If I “play” a card, does it count as casting it?

Fires of Invention has this line of text: You can cast spells only during your turn and you can cast no more than two spells each turn. Golos, Tireless Pilgrim has this line of text: 2WUBRG: ...
2
votes
3answers
260 views

Changing a creature's base Power and Toughness until End of Turn

I have a question regarding spells that change other creatures' base power and/or toughness (for example, 3/3). I'm asking because in a few days I will probably receive my Oko Planeswalker Deck from ...
4
votes
1answer
932 views

Are the names of guilds in Ravnica protected intellectual property?

I don't see a TM symbol anywhere and some searches of the interwebs reveals nothing but laughing cats... I'm not wanting to infringe, just not step on toes. (Very big, powerful toes)
4
votes
2answers
280 views

Getting priority after putting a spell on the stack

I have a two questions connected with priority and stack: It's my turn, during the combat phase, after the declaring blockers step. Blockers are declared. At the Combat Damage step, I get priority ...
6
votes
1answer
245 views

Shieldgate - Tied Village Clusters

In Cartographers, what would score if your 1st and 2nd Village clusters are the same size? There's also a 3rd village cluster at a different size. The card states: Earn two reputation stars for ...
1
vote
2answers
102 views

Can you use jokers to change which noble visits at the end of turn?

A player cannot refuse a visit from a noble. But can you choose to use jokers to change which noble visits if you don’t have the gem colors required at end of turn?
2
votes
1answer
150 views

What is the purpose of the Attack stat for a unit with no melee weapons?

According to the 8th Edition Core Rules, the attack stat is defined as follows: Attacks (A): This tells you how many times a model can strike blows in hand-to-hand combat. As I understand, this ...

15 30 50 per page