All Questions

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
86 views

Pandemic - Can an action be performed by different players during action phase?

In Pandemic, can an action be performed by different players during action phase, by using Funded Event cards? For example: "Flexible Aid Package" allows a. player to perform 1-3 extra actions (by ...
5
votes
2answers
75 views

Special Summoning After the Seal of Orichalcos

My question is this, after you activate the seal can you Special summon monsters from other places? The Seal of Orichalcos destroys all monsters that you had special summoned when it activates and It ...
7
votes
1answer
289 views

Does the amount of +1/+1 from Prowess remain on a creature, even when a creature gets flipped face-down by Ixidron?

I have Elsha of the Infinite on the battlefield, who has prowess: Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn. Her prowess triggered five times, making her a ...
3
votes
1answer
65 views

In Spades, what is the probability a suit is distributed in a way, given I hold n cards from that suit?

In Spades, (or any other trick taking game), when I hold n cards of a certain suit, what is the distribution of the other 13-n cards in that suit? In particular, what is the probability that ♦'s are ...
2
votes
1answer
30 views

Is the Hand pattern probabilities equal to suit pattern probabilities?

In Spades, I wish to know the probability a certain suit is distributed in a particular way. For example I wish to know what is the probability that the diamonds are distributed either 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-...
6
votes
1answer
125 views

What is the highest game score theoretically possible in Scrabble using 1 player and the International Scrabble Dictionary?

This is one for simulation and some guesses on the strategy to used e.g. is it best to always get the bonus every turn or do the most combinations even if it doesn't use up all the letters every turn. ...
-3
votes
2answers
152 views

Monopoly: Why is it this way? [closed]

Is there any real-world reason why someone absolutely has to spend a night at a $2000 hotel when they have five dollars in their bank account, or is it just "the rules"?
3
votes
2answers
289 views

When is the last time tribal decks were competitive?

More or less what it says on the tin. I see a lot of meta decks that revolve more on a (thematically) random group of cards that only share a strategy. When is the last time a tribal deck was ...
1
vote
1answer
44 views

Can I build off a branch blocked by a troll?

Saboteur Duel adds Troll cards into the game where there is path, but one of the branches is blocked by a troll. The rules state: The troll blocks the path behind it. If a player wants to pass a ...
1
vote
0answers
147 views

What's the etymology of Eldraine?

Ravnica is based on a Serbo-Croatian word for plain. And the other planes, like Phyrexia (basically "land of Phyresis") seem to have etymologies for their names... So, what's Eldraine's etymology?
3
votes
2answers
900 views

Does the mana ability restriction of Pithing Needle refer to the cost or the effect of an activated ability?

Pithing Needle affects cards with activated abilities, unless they are mana abilities. An activated ability comes in the form: [Cost]:[Effect] "A mana ability is an activated ability that ...
0
votes
0answers
43 views

Kerfuffle rules?

I recently bought Kerfuffle from a thrift store with no rules. I have managed to piece together most of them from online videos but could someone point me to a pdf. It does not seem to be on bgg
3
votes
1answer
131 views

Can Laquatus's Creativity cause an opponent to discard their hand if you have Narset, Parter of Veils on the battlefield?

Can Laquatus's Creativity cause an opponent to discard their hand if you have Narset, Parter of Veils on the battlefield?
1
vote
0answers
27 views

How does drafting work in The Champion of the Wild?

We bought a copy of The Champion of the Wild first edition, and totally missed the second edition funding campaign. One of the new things in the second edition is four new game modes involving ...
3
votes
2answers
131 views

what happens to an injured pokemon shuffled back into the deck

Heracross can perform an attack which forces the opponent to »shuffle his active pokemon back into his deck«. What happens if this pokemon is already injured? I did not find the rules adequate about ...
0
votes
1answer
35 views

Can “Phantom Knights's Sword” Prevent a monster from being destroyed because of “Call of the Haunted”?

So let's say I use "Call of the Haunted" to summon a monster from my GY. Then I equip "Phantom Knights Sword" to it. So now that monster gains 800 ATK and if it were to be destroyed, I can destroy "...
3
votes
1answer
139 views

How does Zndrsplt work with Krark's Thumb?

How do cards like Zndrsplt, Eye of Wisdom (and Okaun, Eye of Chaos) work with Krark's Thumb? For example, if I win 2 coin flips, even if I only keep one, does it trigger Zyndrplt's card draw ...
0
votes
1answer
134 views

What is the statistically favorable amount of lands for Yennett? [closed]

Recently I have been brewing up Yennett, Cryptic Sovereign, as a commander deck. The deck was going well, with only 3 cards with even mana costs, and those being Lightning Greaves, for protection, ...
8
votes
1answer
424 views

At what point does a land become controlled?

Shrine of the Forsaken Gods has the ability: {T}: Add {C}{C}. Spend this mana only to cast colorless spells. Activate this ability only if you control seven or more lands. Golgari Rot Farm has ...
8
votes
2answers
473 views

How do draw effects during the discard phase work?

What happens if discarding one or more cards during the discard phase triggers an effect that draws me cards? The instance I have in mind is having The Gitrog Monster on the battlefield and more than ...
3
votes
1answer
193 views

When exactly does the commander tax get added?

Does commander tax increase for each time the commander has been cast, or for each time it has been removed from the battlefield? For example, if an opponent would kill my commander but I manage to ...
5
votes
1answer
197 views

Why do some artifacts require tapping and sacrificing as an activation cost?

With the new Food token mechanic being introduced in Throne of Eldraine, you have to both tap and sacrifice a food token to activate its ability. I noticed that the same is true for Treasure tokens, ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can Adventure creatures always be cast from exile?

Throne of Eldraine will include 'Adventure' instant and sorcery subtypes, that are attached to a creature (or possibly just permanent) card. The reminder text says (Then exile this card. You may cast ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

How to calculate the power level of a Commander deck?

I've been playing Magic casually for almost half a year now, mostly in the multiplayer Commander format. Regularly, I hear people talk about the power levels of decks. Especially when I'm playing with ...
8
votes
1answer
190 views

What game did these pawns go to?

Vintage unidentifiable Hard plastic game pieces 8 short 4 medium 1 large in both blue and red.
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there a reason effects that introduce another combat phase also create another main phase?

In Magic, there are a number of effects that create an additional combat phase. In any example I've seen, they either also create an additional main phase, or else they can only be cast/activated ...
5
votes
1answer
107 views

Gather Specimens on Meddling Mage

You cast Meddling Mage which has you name a card as a replacement effect. An opponent responds with Gather Specimens which takes control of Meddlig Mage as a replacement effect. Who gets to name the ...
0
votes
2answers
100 views

If I cast Reality Ripple with Eon Hub out, is the target Permanently phased out?

Reality Ripple reads, "Target artifact, creature, or land phases out. (While it's phased out, it's treated as though it doesn't exist. It phases in before its controller untaps during their next untap ...
7
votes
1answer
906 views

Can doublestrike kill a creature with totem armor?

The Battlefield My opponent has a 3/3 creature in play, enchanted with a Mask token from Estrid, the Masked's -1, which grants the creature totem armor: If enchanted permanent would be destroyed, ...
2
votes
1answer
99 views

Does Master of the Veil work on Megamorphs?

Assuming I have Master of the Veil face down and Stratus Dancer face up, can I flip Stratus Dancer back over with Master of the Veil? I do not know of Megamorph falls under Morph. Are they completely ...
4
votes
1answer
206 views

What happens if I flip a token face down?

Lets say I have a Voidmage Apprentice and make a token copy of it. What happens if I target the token copy with Master of the Veil? Do I get a face-down token creature? Does it stay face up?
1
vote
1answer
70 views

copying with Saheeli, Sublime Artificer [duplicate]

If I turn an artifact into any creature for that turn that has an enter the battlefield effect, such as Vizier of the Scorpion, do I amass one? what if the artifact entered the battlefield that turn?
6
votes
1answer
122 views

Can this sequence of events cause a commander to be permanently phased out?

Suppose that you have a three-player Commander game. The players are Alice, Bob, and Carol. Bob's commander is Isamaru, Hound of Konda, a vanilla creature. On Alice's turn, she: Casts Dominate to ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if I double Meddling Mage's 'enter the battlefield' trigger?

Let's say I play Meddling Mage while I have Panharmonicon out. What happens? Do I get to name two cards that can not be cast? Or does the second card I name overwrite the first one?
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Do I need to get a noble in order to win Splendor?

Is it necessary to win a noble in order to win the game of Splendor? I have heard two different sets of rules, one is to reach 15 points, the other is to reach 15 points and possess at least one ...
6
votes
1answer
200 views

Do artifacts count as creatures when they are put into a graveyard while March of the Machines is in play?

Say I have March of the Machines in play, along with Sunbeam Spellbomb and Salvaging Station. I pay {W} and sac the Spellbomb to gain 5 life. Does the Spellbomb trigger the untap-ability on Station? ...
4
votes
1answer
137 views

Defeating Final Evolution Pokemon

I'm a very new player to the Pokemon TCG, and have picked up two themed decks to play with (Ultra Prism). So far in my experience however it seems that if one player gets their active Pokemon to its ...
2
votes
1answer
162 views

What happens if you are unable to scry because your library is empty?

What happens to a player if they have to scry (for whatever reason), but are unable to scry a card because their library is empty? Does scrying an empty library trigger a loss? Related to What ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

What is the converted mana cost of land cards?

What is the converted mana cost (CMC) of land cards? Is it zero? For example, if I have lands in the graveyard, would Sun Titan be able to bring them to the battlefield?
3
votes
2answers
306 views

Rabid Bite mechanics [duplicate]

When a creature is summoned I understand this card has “Summoning Sickness”, where the card is not “tapped” but just cannot attack or use any abilities until the next turn. How does this work with ...
3
votes
3answers
224 views

Does equipping an equipment go on the stack?

Say we're in a game of MTG Commander/EDH. I already have Lightning Greaves on the battefield from the previous turn. I begin my main phase and I play my commander (Let's say it has no abilities or ...
26
votes
2answers
2k views

Am I required to correct my opponent's assumptions about my morph creatures?

The comprehensive rules state that You must ensure that your face-down spells and permanents can easily be differentiated from each other. You’re not allowed to mix up the cards that represent them ...
5
votes
1answer
123 views

Cloning Skullbriar

Will a creature that is a copy of Skullbriar, the Walking Grave retain it's counters as it moves to another zone? For instance, if a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Skullbriar, later gains ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

Can I look at my deck before playing the Zombie Mason

The text on the zombie mason says: Trash the top card of your deck. You may gain a card costing up to $1 more than it. Is this a "blind play", i.e. do I make my decision to play the zombie mason ...
1
vote
1answer
36 views

Question about Warrior mechanics

The instructions for the warrior state: For each Traveller you have in play (including this) each other player discards the top card of his deck and trashes it if it costs $3 or $4. So let's ...
4
votes
1answer
40 views

Understanding “Events”

I just bought the "Dominion Empires" expansion (German edition) and have a question about how events work. Is my understanding correct, that the randomly selected events lie on the table openly, ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

What does Divine Intervention do when it resolves in a multiplayer game?

What happens in a mulitplayer game when the last counter from Divine Intervention is removed and the ability ends the game in a draw? Does it resolve as normal the only real difference being a 4-way ...
1
vote
2answers
41 views

Rule clarification about debt mechanics

I just bought the "Dominion Empires" expansion (German edition) and have a question about the debt mechanics. According to the rules, when I buy a card with a certain debt value, I need to take the ...
4
votes
1answer
180 views

In Euchre, can you call a misdeal with “No ace, no face, no trump”?

In the game of Euchre I have been dealt a hand of nines and tens, none of which are trump. May I declare a misdeal? I have seen some groups play that the hand is redealt by the same dealer while ...
6
votes
2answers
140 views

In bridge, are there penalties for “table talk” that can only help the opponents?

Declarer is playing a hand. Dummy has very limited rights to talk, such as "no more of the suit, partner?" to prevent a possible "revoke." But suppose dummy asks indiscreetly, "why did you do that, ...

15 30 50 per page