All Questions

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11
votes
3answers
390 views

Whom is a player bankrupt to if a Chance card tells him to pay $50 to each player and he can't pay?

If a player draws the Chance card (US standard edition) that tells him "You have been elected Chairman of the Board. Pay each player $50", and his cash is insufficient (even after he sells hotels/...
1
vote
1answer
26 views

What does hut wording mean?

Here are some relevant threads on BGG: The hut The Hut = Most Pointless Card in the Game?! Hut – explanation needed Here is the hut card wording from the rulebook: In the trader phase, the owner ...
1
vote
1answer
89 views

When is it too late to make a person pay the penalty in Dos for not calling Dos?

If a player lays out all their cards during their turn without calling Dos - technically ending the game, can other players call Dos on the player if they don’t notice during the time they are laying ...
0
votes
0answers
8 views

Pandemic Legacy 2 objectives: build 3 supply depots and build 3 new supply depots

We have been playing the first campaigns of Pandemic Legacy 2. A question on two of the mandatory goals. We have the goals: Build 3 supply depots. Build 3 new supply depots. By building 3 new, we ...
2
votes
2answers
71 views

Are you allowed to play a 5 of a kind in Exploding Kittens to add an Exploding Kitten to your hand?

My friend discarded 5 different cards to add a card from the discard pile to his hand, but he chose the Exploding Kitten. Is that allowed, and what happens to it after?
7
votes
2answers
550 views

What manners are specific to mahjong?

Many games, especially ancient ones, have their own set of manners. For instance, Go players bow before the game and greet each other ("onegaishimasu") and play the first stone in the upper right ...
6
votes
4answers
2k views

Is there a competitive version of werewolf/mafia?

I'm trying to devise a point-based scoring system for a variant of Mafia/Werewolf. The idea is that there are teams coming in, and so individual players should be able to earn points regardless of ...
0
votes
2answers
31 views

Activating Golos during another player’s turn

Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability can be activated during another players turn, but does doing so allow you to still play the cards if it is not your turn? The ability text says you may play those ...
4
votes
1answer
131 views

Is a Wild Card a match to a Wild Draw Color Card in Uno Flip

When the "Wild Draw Color Card" is played, the next player must start drawing cards. If they draw a "Wild Card", does it qualify as the selected Color?
-4
votes
1answer
65 views

Are “infinite loops” legal? [duplicate]

With this question I intend to clarify whether the game situations in which "infinite loops" are created can be considered legal; and, if they are not, if there are formats in which they are legal. ...
0
votes
1answer
25 views

Leyline of Combustion w/ two Pandemonium triggers

If player A controls two (2) Pandemonium and player B controls Leyline of Combustion, how would this resolve. Player A has a creature enter the battlefield and has it deal damage to player B twice ...
0
votes
0answers
3 views

Clank! Legacy Necrosis Rules

! Clank! Legacy Spoilers Ahead ! With Necrosis you need to Heal to get rid of the card. If you have no damage can you Heal the Nevrosis with a forest space? Can you trash Necrosis at a volcano?
2
votes
2answers
5k views

Why was Maxx “C” banned from play?

Now I have absolutely NO idea why this card has been banned from play. Sure it's effect that lets you draw a card every time your opponent special summons is powerful to the point where it should be ...
2
votes
1answer
39 views

Rules of “Constellations” (1984)

I played a Halley's Comet themed game in 1984 that was called Constellations. I've only been able to find it on Ebay so far: https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Vintage-Game-Circa-1984-Constellations-Darryl-...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

What is the timing of “you may pay” abilities?

With abilities that allow a player to pay for optional effects, is that payment made as the ability resolves or as it goes onto the stack? If it's made as it resolves, do you have the opportunity to ...
0
votes
0answers
4 views

Clank! Legacy Con Cards ( Spoilers )

! SPOILERS AHEAD ! In the underworld, Con cards usually have 3 bullet points. The 2nd bullet usually says "spend". The bullet/con makes me think that you can give up 2 coins (along with completing ...
5
votes
1answer
63 views

What game uses dice with shields, fleur-de-lis and rapier hilts?

A while ago I bought some dice from the "discount dice jar" of mismatched dice at my local games store. The store personnel claim to have no idea where these dice came from. From what I can gather, ...
39
votes
9answers
154k views

What are good general strategies for Pandemic?

I've looked at a lot of forum posts on several sites on Pandemic and it seems that there is a decent amount of luck. You may win 2 6-epidemic games in a row, then lose 3 5-epidemic games. I have no ...
8
votes
3answers
910 views

What was the first Infinite Combo in Magic: The Gathering?

I started wondering when the first time an infinite combo was possible in Magic: The Gathering. I went through Alpha and, as far as I could tell, there wasn't an infinite combo available among the ...
12
votes
1answer
206 views

What's this board game with an old radio and some country flags on it?

This is the boardgame in question. What is it? The capital cities listed are Paris, London, Brussels, Berlin, Rome, and Vienna. There's a number of spaces that say "Tune" and it appears to have an ...
9
votes
3answers
14k views

Is it valid to exploit infinite loopholes in Magic: The Gathering?

Today at work, I played my first game in almost 10 years using a deck from another player. He was playing a deck made of creatures that facilitate life points regain. At one point, using 3 different ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Do face-down creatures with death trigger activate normally?

If a face-down creature has a "When this dies [...]" effect (i.e. because of Ixidron), will that effect activate when it dies?
7
votes
2answers
5k views

How does Void Winnower affect face down spells and creatures?

Void Winnower says Your opponents can't cast spells with even converted mana costs. (Zero is even) Your opponents can't block with creatures with even converted mana costs. If I control a ...
3
votes
3answers
301 views

Ability to cast for overload cost or just cast

Dreadhorde Arcanist allows you to "cast target instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost equal to or less than dreadhorde arcanists power from your graveyard without paying its mana cost" but ...
17
votes
1answer
4k views

Which board game is this token from with a number on the front and “SW” on the back?

Please can anyone identify this game? These tokens have fallen out of some box but I can’t remember which one - it’s not any of the ones I’ve checked so far.
5
votes
1answer
202 views

What happens if your partner hits you in Pegs and Jokers?

Question for marble movement. Your partner has a marble in their in-spot (start of home). If you hit that marble with yours, what happens to your partners marble? And yours? We have been playing ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Super Polymerization how does it work

My question involves the card Super Polymerization. I understand that it can be used to fusion summon using monsters on either side of the field, but it seems unclear on if those monsters have to be ...
3
votes
2answers
112 views

Is there a long-term scoring system for 4 or 5 players who have played the same game repeatedly?

We are a group of 4, sometimes 5 players who have played Power Grid every week for nearly 2 years. For every game we have played, I have kept track of game dates and rankings (1st place, 2nd,..., 5th)....
2
votes
1answer
8k views

Can I activate a Legendary creature's abilities before the Legend rule kicks in?

Say I have a Krenko, Mob Boss on the field. I use Krenko's ability to create X tokens. Then, I play a Progenitor Mimic choosing Krenko. When the Legend Rule takes effect, I sacrifice the original ...
7
votes
1answer
170 views

How does Ashiok, Dream Render interact with the Vigor/Hostility and Profane Memento cards?

I have questions regarding this ruling on Ashiok, Dream Render: If Ashiok’s last ability targets an opponent, the cards put into their graveyard will be among the cards exiled by the ability. No ...
7
votes
2answers
84k views

Is Ace high? Or low? Or both?

When playing the cards, Ace is worth 1. When counting runs, A 2 3 is worth 3. I've often played with Q K A also being worth 3. I've even played with K A 2 being worth 3! Definitely good ways to ...
12
votes
2answers
626 views

Carcassonne interaction between “The Robbers” and “The Messages”

I probably didn't get some part of the rulings correctly but it seems to me that there is an interaction problem with 2 of the mini-expansions in Carcassonne. The problem seems to be the following: ...
2
votes
1answer
61 views

Can you use one card on multiple obstacles?

I'm just started playing shadowrun crossfire prime runner, and I had a question about if you can play one black market card on two or more obstacles. Like if a black market card has a face damage and ...
5
votes
1answer
140 views

Why is there a “no man's land” between 1NT 15-17 and 2NT 20-21?

I cannot find any info online or by talking with experienced players about this issue. I assume Goren set this up? Wouldn't this be more logical: 1NT=15-17 2NT=18-19 3NT=20-21
0
votes
1answer
59 views

In bridge, can you tell your partner that your two bid is a weak two?

In bridge, can you tell your partner that your two bid is a weak two or a strong two as you make the bid?
10
votes
2answers
936 views

What happens if the Heliod/Spike Feeder combo meets the Heliod/Walking Ballista combo?

Alice's board: Heliod, Sun-Crowned, Spike Feeder equipped with Swiftfoot Boots Bob's board: Heliod, Sun-Crowned, Walking Ballista, 2 mana to activate Heliod The turn prior, Alice played the infinite ...
0
votes
1answer
43 views

Who Takes The Trick In Rage If Everyone Plays A Black Card?

We've often had it happen that when playing rage, no one plays a "suit" card. First player plays "Change Rage", second player plays "Out Rage" etc. etc. In this case is there a rule as to who takes ...
28
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a player choose to not pay {0}?

I cast a spell, and then my opponent casts Thassa's Intervention targeting my spell, choosing 0 for X. Can I choose to have my spell countered? Or have I automatically paid {0}. It seems that ...
1
vote
1answer
36 views

How to apply the effect “You may treat all Constructs as Mechana Constructs” in Ascension game?

Could I treat any Construct in center row as Mechana Construct and accure them acquire it as a Mechana Construct?
2
votes
1answer
93 views

Is it possible to convert a settler ship into a settlement without moving and then build or is it considered a move?

Is it possible to purchase a settler during the build and trade phase, then load him onto a ship, move him, and then on a next turn convert him into a settlement during build phase? Or is it ...
6
votes
1answer
167 views

If the last surviving human mutates to an alien, do they win with the aliens?

In Escape From Aliens in Outer Space, one of the item cards is the Mutate card, which turns a human into an alien. The rules say that the human then plays as an alien from then on. However, if the ...
7
votes
1answer
404 views

Can I activate mana abilities before the Legend Rule kicks in?

I have kind of an obscure edge case that has been bothering me, as I am not sure how the rules work. I have Teysa Karlov in my hand. On the battlefield: Teysa Karlov, which doubles death triggers ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

When does the Legend Rule take place?

Say my opponent has Elesh Norn on the table and plays Phyrexian Metamorph as a copy of her. As I understand from her Gatherer-page, all my creatures will now briefly have -4/-4. So my question is ...
-2
votes
1answer
117 views

Is it possible to copy a Legend that is on the battlefield on your side?

Following up on this question: in the current rules a player can't control two Legends of the same name simultaneously. However, suppose I do one of the following: I summon a Clone copying another ...
0
votes
1answer
95 views

Lazav and Clever Impersonator

Lazav, the Multifarious is activated to become a copy of Clever Impersonator, with Caged Sun out, so it doesn't die. It is now simply a 1/1 with the name, "Lazav, the Multifarious," Lazav's ability, ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a legendary creature “die” when put into the graveyard due to the Legendary rule? [duplicate]

The Scarab God's text reads: When The Scarab God dies, return it to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step. If I have Mirage Mirror in place and my opponent attempts to exile The ...
8
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I have two similarly-named legendary creatures on the field?

If I have two different Ulamogs, can they both be on the field? They both share Ulamog as part of their name, but their entire names are different. One is Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger, while the ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when Progenitor Mimic copies a legendary creature?

In a recent multiplayer game I played Progenitor Mimic to copy an opponent's Niv-Mizzet, Parun. You may have Progenitor Mimic enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, ...
4
votes
2answers
543 views

What happens when I copy a legendary creature with Rite of Replication?

What happens when you replicate a legendary creature with Rite of Replication?
8
votes
2answers
8k views

How to deal with Legendary tokens?

Can you have more than one "Legendary Token"? I don't think so, but I have a creature named Tolsimir Wolfblood that allow me to tap it to create a 2/2 Legendary Wolf token named Voja. If you can't ...

15 30 50 per page