All Questions

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
49 views

Revised Farmers of the Moor expansion on the non-revised based set

I own the non-revised edition of Agricola. I want to get the FOTM expansion - but it looks like only the expansion for the revised edition is available. Would this expansion work with the non-...
2
votes
1answer
38 views

Can I build on a different tile to the one I terraform?

In a game I played recently, there was an adjacent territory that was my home terrain that I wanted to build a dwelling on, but also the bonus for that round was terraforming, so I wanted to do a ...
3
votes
4answers
266 views

Is there a good place to find information about strategies, tricks and caveats for specific cards?

Sometimes, I'm surprised when I see that a certain card is considered good. I don't get it! For example, when I first saw Skullclamp, I just saw a card that increased power by one at the cost of ...
4
votes
2answers
125 views

Golos activated ability and adventure cards

If Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's activated ability were to hit a adventure card are you able to cast the adventure side of the creature or only the creature for free? Rules on Golos say you may not use ...
4
votes
3answers
166 views

Etrata, the Silencer and token creatures

My opponent attacks me with Etrata, the Silencer. I have only token creatures in my battlefield. Does one of the tokens go into exile? Does my opponent have to shuffle Etrata into his library again?
1
vote
1answer
174 views

Is Leyline of Combustion triggered by attacks?

If my opponent attacks me, does that trigger Leyline of Combustion to do damage to them? I'm new and need help with this rule. Thanks
0
votes
0answers
46 views

MTG playing Kykar, Wind's Fury [duplicate]

I cast an enchantment, which triggers Kykar, my opponent responds by destroying Kykar. Does Kykar still produce the token?
2
votes
1answer
66 views

How do you score an all wild card Canasta?

Today I made my first ALL Wild card Canasta with six 2's and a Joker in Classic Canasta :O) How much is this worth please? Also, it was concealed... does that 'Up' the bonus?
-4
votes
1answer
219 views

Extreme price on a MTG card [closed]

I was at a store and I saw this I was looking around the price and in tcgplayer says its 16 cents. How can it be 1k that card?
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Countering an uncounterable spell, triggers, and state-based actions

So I just played a game in Arena where my opponent was at 4 life, I had 1 card left in my deck (after drawing my card for the turn), and they had two copies of Drowned Secrets on the battlefield. I ...
11
votes
1answer
172 views

What is this round board game on a turn table?

The board has 32 sections with 4 peg holes in each section. There are 4 numbered pegs each a different color. There are 4 die with numbers 1 through 6 following the same colors as the pegs. It is ...
2
votes
1answer
114 views

Interaction between Torment of Hailfire and Persist

If I choose a creature with persist for one repetition of Torment of Hailfire, will it return to play before the next repetition to choose it again?
2
votes
1answer
321 views

Cities produce in Traders and barbarians of Catan

In the initial setup of the Traders and barbarians expansion and scenario, we use 1 settlement and 1 city (from where the caravan head out). At this moment the city will produce only 1 resource. But ...
16
votes
1answer
745 views

Volrath's Shapeshifter, Static Buffs, and Combat damage

Inspired by this question. I have an Elvish Archdruid, a Volrath's Shapeshifter, and a Llanowar Elves on the battlefield. I attack with Elvish Archdruid and Llanowar Elves. My opponent blocks in ...
7
votes
1answer
798 views

If you have multiple planeswalkers, how many of their loyalty abilities can you use in a single turn?

Let’s say I played Ajani, Caller of the Pride and then played Ajani, Wise Counselor. Would I be able to use Caller of the Pride's -8 ability to give me, say, 20 creatures and then use Wise Counselor'...
1
vote
2answers
259 views

Buffs During Combat

If an opponent plays a card like Elvish Archdruid that gives other elf creatures they controls +1/+1 and they declare the Elvish Archdruid and another Elf creature as attackers, when I go to block ...
1
vote
1answer
36 views

Initial meld with a canasta

In Modern/American canasta can I meld with a canasta that contains wild cards if I also have a natural to meld with it? For example, I have five J’s and two 2’s, and three 9’s. Counting card ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

What's the lifetime of Wicked Wolf's +1/+1 counters?

Do Wicked Wolf's +1/+1 counters stay after the turn is over? It says: Sacrifice a food: Put a +1/+1 counter on Wicked Wolf. It gains indestructible until end of turn. Tap it. I was reading the ...
3
votes
1answer
139 views

Does a creature have its abilities while being on the stack?

I have a question. When creature is on the stack, does it have its abilities? For example Syr Eleonora, the Discerning, has an ability that says that spells which target her cost 2 more mana. But when ...
0
votes
1answer
94 views

Matsu-Tribe Decoy vs. Trap Runner

If I activate Matsu-Tribe Decoy's ability targeting opponent's Trap Runner, can he activate Trap Runner's ability, blocking my creature, and making Trap Runner an illegal target for Matsu-Tribe Decoy'...
8
votes
2answers
959 views

Hideaway - do I get to put cards put on the bottom of my library in any order?

With Spinerock Knoll, when it enters, hideaway activates, however, it doesn't specify whether I put the cards on the bottom of my library in any order, or in a random order. Which one is it? This is ...
3
votes
0answers
139 views

What's this German Go/Chess-like Game? “Heureka!”?

I was recently thinking back to a board game I played some 8 years ago. In my mind, I'm convinced the game was called Heureka (not Eureka), but after many days of fruitless searching, I don't think ...
6
votes
2answers
103 views

In Diplomacy, how does a time limit per round affect overall gameplay?

I want to introduce a group of people to the game Diplomacy. To make it manageable, I want to impose a 10 minute time limit per round (7 player game). I heard this type of limits are sometimes used in ...
2
votes
1answer
46 views

Does armor prevent non-combat damage?

There are a lot of cards that deal damage to creatures. Does the target creature's armor reduce that damage, or is armor only useful in combat damage (when attacking or being attacked by other ...
5
votes
1answer
199 views

What requires MTG players to remind their opponents of “may” parts of effects?

Section 3.7 of the IPG defines Tournament Error — Communication Policy Violation as follows: A player violates the Communication policies detailed in section 4 of the Magic Tournament Rules and the ...
6
votes
2answers
122 views

Sedris and Nicol Bolas, the Ravager

If I unearth Nicol Bolas, the Ravager thanks to Sedris, the Traitor King, then use Nicol Bolas's activated ability to exile it, does it return to the battlefield transformed? Unearth seems to replace ...
3
votes
2answers
92 views

Titania's Song and Mycosynth Lattice

How do Titania's Song and Mycosynth Lattice interact? What happens if Song enters the battlefield first, Lattice enters first, or they enter at the same time? Is there any circumstances under ...
1
vote
1answer
62 views

Does Adarkar Valkyrie's ability target cards in graveyard?

Adarkar Valkyrie's third ability targets a creature and creates a delayed triggered ability that returns that creature to the battlefield when it dies this turn. It clearly targets the creature on the ...
1
vote
2answers
59 views

Interaction with Grismold and Adarkar Valkyrie

Setup Player A controls Adarkar Valkyrie, Grismold, the Dreadsower and a bunch of creature tokens. Player B casts Akroma's Vengeance. Question If Player A responds with Adarkar Valkyrie's tap ...
2
votes
2answers
339 views

Can I use Oko's ability targetting a creature with protection from green?

I'm going to play a deck with a Oko, Thief of Crowns. And my question is: can I use his abilities targeting a creature with protection from green? I know that normally I couldn't do that, because I ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Oko, Thief of Crown's +1 vs. Deputy of Detention

Let's say my opponent plays Deputy of Detention and exiles my creature. I play Oko, Thief of Crowns and +1 on Deputy. Do I get my original creature back? If the answer is "no", do I get my original ...
2
votes
1answer
50 views

All cards run out and all cards in play, still has card draws

Mostly making sure we played this right but I ran into an odd situation recently. My wife had been forced to KO a lot of cards from her deck, while piling up lots of card draw power. She run into a ...
0
votes
1answer
100 views

Is flip summon considered a normal summon?

Goblindbergh: When this card is Normal Summoned: You can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower monster from your hand, also, after that, change this card to Defense Position. So if Goblindbergh ...
3
votes
1answer
53 views

How many buildings can I buy per turn in Queendomino?

The instructions state you can (Optional) Construct a building on an open red construction square. I am assuming the convention is that you can buy one building per moved Meeple?
6
votes
2answers
205 views

A knight's movement

In chess, the knight moves in an 'L' shape. I have not found any additional name for this. Does this movement have a name other than 'L' shaped?
4
votes
3answers
956 views

How to find Enchantments or Artifacts that have multiple effects?

I've tried the Gatherer and Advanced Google Search and cannot find a good way to find cards of the type I'm hoping to find. I'm looking for enchantments or artifacts that have multiple effects ...
5
votes
1answer
185 views

How does Golos work with cards that increase mana costs? [duplicate]

Let's say I activate Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability while there is a Sphere of Resistance out. Do I have to pay 1 mana for each of the cards that are spells that I play from Golos?
0
votes
1answer
101 views

About Chronomaly Cabrera Trebuchet's effect + pay cost for no effect

Chronomaly Cabrera Trebuchet: Once per turn: You can Tribute 1 other "Chronomaly" monster, then target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; its ATK becomes 0 until the End Phase. Player A ...
0
votes
0answers
42 views

MTG Sacrificing creatures [duplicate]

If I have Viscera Seer, Carrion Feeder and Spore Frog down and I decide to sac Spore Frog do I get the +1/+1 counters on Carrion Feeder and the scry 1 with Seer. Additionally if I have Jarad, Golgari ...
8
votes
2answers
858 views

Can Chandra, Acolyte of Flame cast Heartfire without the additional cost?

I was under the impression that if you used Chandra, Acolyte of Flame's -2, targeting Heartfire, you would still have to sacrifice a creature, but someone told me that was not true. What is the ruling ...
4
votes
1answer
178 views

Does a Wolf enters the battlefield and fight target creature with or without buff?

I have a Wolf on the battlefield which gives other Wolfes +1/+1 . And I cast a Wicked Wolf. Does it enter and fight target creature already with this buff or without it? And do I get a priority after ...
-3
votes
1answer
89 views

Do players have to get priority the same number of times? [duplicate]

I have a question regarding priority. Do players have to get it the same numbers of time during a step? I mean, for example, it's my turn, after declaring blockers, I get priority and decide to cast a ...
8
votes
1answer
139 views

Does Enlist trigger itself?

In Scythe, one of the actions that you can take is to enlist a recruit. When you do, you get on ongoing benefit for the rest of the game. Does the "rest of the game" include the action that you just ...
3
votes
2answers
523 views

Armory Automaton and Dowsing Dagger/Sword of the Animist

What happens if I cast Armory Automaton and equip to it Dowsing Dagger and/or Sword of the Animist that an opponent controls? When Armory Automaton attacks while equipped with Sword of the Animist, ...
2
votes
1answer
312 views

What happens to the target of Oko, Thief of Crowns' second ability when it is put in the graveyard?

An artifact or creature becomes a 3/3 green Elk creature due to Oko, Thief of Crowns' second ability. What happens to that artifact or creature when it is put into the graveyard? Does it remain a 3/3 ...
3
votes
1answer
240 views

Are Magic: The Gathering booster packs “color random”?

Are Magic: The Gathering booster packs "color random"? I've tried Googling it, but nothing tells me anything specific. Can you get booster packs by color, or are they filled with random colors?
2
votes
1answer
105 views

Does a multicolored green/blue spell count for abilities triggering on casting a blue spell?

I have a short question that relates to some effects that tell about spells' colours. When I have for instance, Gadwick, The Wizened who has a triggered ability thas says "Whenever you cast a blue ...
2
votes
1answer
212 views

Untapping a creature enchanted with Charmed Sleep

I have a question that relates to untapping a creature enchanted by Charmed Sleep. It says "Enchanted creature doesn't untap during its controller's untap step". That's clear. But when someone has an ...
5
votes
2answers
885 views

Can you take an Immortal Phoenix out of the game?

I am a fairly new player and the person I have been playing with has a card called Immortal Phoenix and I was wondering if cards that say "destroy" wouldn't activate the Phoenix's resurrection feature....
5
votes
1answer
203 views

Can anyone provide a citation for the existence of pre-alpha MTG rules about an initiative stat in combat?

I remember years ago hearing about a rule/mechanic that existed in early prototypes of Magic the Gathering, before the Alpha set was released. Basically all creatures had 3 combat stats: power, ...

15 30 50 per page