17

I think it's pretty safe to say that there are only 3 Diplomacy tokens provided because the scenarios in which 4 or 5 Diplomacy tokens are required at once are so vanishingly rare. As I discovered from previous discussions of the finer points of the rules terminology (and I went so far as to double-check with the game designer Antoine Bauza via Twitter!), 7 ...


9

The rules state: At the end of the game, each mask allows the controlling player to copy the scientific symbol of a green card present in one of the two neighboring cities. If a player possesses multiple [mask] symbols, he or she can only copy a given card once, and must thus copy as many different cards as they have [mask] symbols. A player can copy two ...


8

If you are playing by the official Cities rules, it clearly states When a player puts in play a card which causes a monetary loss, the player’s teammate must also pay that loss. The thread you are referencing is talking about differences between the official rules and some unofficial team rules, stating that in their unofficial rules, the teammate ...


6

From the Cities rule book (4): Important: monetary losses are always resolved at the end of a turn, after players have played their cards, possibly having paid for trade and/or obtained money... The player is able to participate in the project, but he/she would have to take debt afterwards. As for whether that player has to participate in Great ...


6

According to the cities rulebook, p. 4: Important: Monetary losses are always resolved at the end of a turn, after players have played their cards, possibly having paid for trade and/or obtained money... Therefore, for all your examples, you do have enough money to pay the debt. Monetary losses is the last effect to resolve itself, even following the "...


5

Yes, she can. The game's creator weighs in a few posts down at this BGG thread Secret Warehouse & Black Market depend of your resource icons present on your "board" So if you have a STONE or CLAY brown card (and nothing else) : SW can produce either a STONE or a CLAY BM can't produce neither a Stone or a CLAY (none of them) ...


5

Once only. According to the cities rulebook, p. 5: If there are ever only 2 players left during a conflict resolution, they only face each other once and each take a single token.


5

You may only take Debt tokens if a card with the Debt icon would cause a loss of coins for you. So you may not decide to take Debt tokens instead of paying for a building (or for anything else). Source The rules for the Cities expansion explain the Debt mechanic on page 4. The first paragraph starts with "A card with the [Debt icon] symbol", and no other ...


4

From the FAQ at the end of the Wonder Pack rules: If multiple players take cards from the discard pile during a given turn, the resolution order is the following: Halikarnassós, The Great Wall, Manneken Pis, Salomon and finally, the Courtesan’s Guild. My guess is that nobody thought too hard about balance here: it's important for there to be some order, ...


3

The Cities rules say about "Debts" (on page 4): Important: monetary losses are always resolved at the end of a turn, after players have played their cards, possibly having paid for trade and/or obtained money... So Alice takes 4 coins (3 + 1), and then she decides whether she wants to pay 3 coins, pay 2 coins and take 1 Debt token, pay 1 coin and take ...


2

(I assume you mean Builders’ Union, where other players have to pay 1 coin to the bank for each Wonder stage they built.) Yes, players have to pay also for stages built in the same turn. From the Cities rules about Debts (page 4): Important : monetary losses are always resolved at the end of a turn, after players have played their cards, possibly having ...


1

I do believe each action should be separated and she should get her bonus coin. It says she increases any amount taken from the bank by one. With examples from the rulebook "Discarding a card gives 4, tavern 6...." So any building gain is automatically increased. If the building says "Take 3" you automatically read that as 4 when you have Berenice. The ...


1

I will add a precision : you can always choose to take debt instead of paying. From the Cities rule book, an example: Tina has the required coins but decides to keep them for later in the game: she therefore takes 2 Debt tokens. So even without the rule quoted by Deo, player is free to participate or not.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible