24

Your strategy should be highly dependent on your particular city's special strengths and weaknesses. For example, if you're the city (I forget which one) with the "science wild card" special power, then you have some benefit to concentrating on green cards. If you're Giza, you'll need a lot of raw materials to build your wonders, so it would be risky to ...


24

The consensus opinion, based on asking the games' creators how situations such as these were intended to be resolved (see this BGG thread), is that you should treat Babylon's "play last card of each age" power as, in effect, a 7th and separate turn. If you do, then naturally you would be able to use your resources once per build, not have to divide them ...


19

From what my friends and I can ascertain, the board sides are not designed to be strictly balanced per se, but are instead designed to work best with different play strategies, or at least different skill levels. In my experience, the "A" sides provide fewer opportunities for specialization than their "B" side couterparts. For example, if a player is ...


19

Yes, you can find them on the offical website of Repos Production (rprod.com): 7 Wonders base game http://rprod.com/index.php?page=download-2 (there you can find the Quick Rules, too) Czech (PDF) Danish (PDF) Dutch (PDF) English (PDF) Finnish (PDF) French (PDF) German (PDF) Greek (PDF) Hungarian (PDF) Italian (PDF) Japanese (PDF) Korean (PDF) Norwegian (...


17

I think it's pretty safe to say that there are only 3 Diplomacy tokens provided because the scenarios in which 4 or 5 Diplomacy tokens are required at once are so vanishingly rare. As I discovered from previous discussions of the finer points of the rules terminology (and I went so far as to double-check with the game designer Antoine Bauza via Twitter!), 7 ...


16

First off, Seven Wonders is meant to be a 7-player game! You got the "normal experience". It's not as if resources are much less scarce in the 3-player game - you do remove more than half the cards from the mix in that game, after all... I've never found the Age 3 cards to be "unaffordable", so yes, I would suggest that if you find yourself unable to take ...


16

There are no extra cards in a correctly prepared deck. The base game contains: 49 Age I cards 49 Age II cards 50 Age III cards (There is one additional Age III card so that there are never all Guild cards in play.) For a game with 5 players, you have 35 cards per Age: Age I: 35 non-Guild cards Age II: 35 non-Guild cards Age III: 28 non-Guild cards, 7 ...


15

The East and West Trading Posts are considered separate structures because they have a different name and illustration. Using the short form on the Forum card indicates that either the East or West Trading Post can be the base for chain construction.


14

If it is too late to undo, option 3 is your best bet (assuming they can build their wonder). If it's been more than 2-3 turns, and other people have been using their resources, I might consider letting it stand. Especially true if there are a lot of people who haven't played before in the game. Really it's not the end of the world, unless a player ...


13

You get 1 coin per brown card that already exists, including brown cards built by your neighbors in the same round. Note that brown resources built into player boards do not count for this. You do not get any coins for brown cards built in future rounds. All Age cards that provide coins provide them immediately.


13

The designer, Antoine Bauza, has responded to this question on BGG, it is as if the Babylon player had two turns. You get to produce resources twice, buy twice from your neighbor, and even receive production from your newly built/discarded 6th card. Q: When playing both cards in round 6 to build two buildings: Can you use one resource twice for each of ...


13

This question indicates a common misunderstanding of the way resources work in 7 Wonders. Resources are not collected and spent; you can build any card (building or Wonder stage) that requires resources as long as you have your own access to those resources, or pay a neighbor for the temporary use of theirs. If you do not have the required resources, and ...


13

This article on BGG is probably the definitive guide on differences with different player counts. To summarize some of its points here: 4p features the most basic (brown) resources per player of any player count. You can wait to draft what you need. By contrast, 3p and 7p have the least resources per player, and in those games you should draft the resource-...


13

You can use this ability one time only: exactly at the end of the turn in which this stage is built (not at the end of the Age!). (And note that it’s not only for cards from the "previously played ages". The discard pile may also contain cards from the current Age and even the current turn.) The relevant explanation is on page 8 of base game rules, "The ...


13

I find that using the rulebook is often not the best way to teach 7 Wonders. There's a lot of text there. While a "here are your cards, let's go approach," can work well, most new players appreciate some form of idea. I'll post the bullet points to my 7 Wonders Crash Course (given fairly regularly at game nights near me). Apologies for the impending wall of ...


12

A good question to ask yourself here: does everyone in my playgroup have the same distaste for blue cards that I feel? If so, if they're predisposed to ignore them in favour of "cooler" cards, you could easily make a killing by snapping them up. I will agree that something like the Pawnshop (3 victory points, that's it), doesn't seem like an exciting card, ...


12

If you look at the last page of the rules, it clarifies that the card does count itself, so you would get 4 VPs.


12

There are no building prerequisites. The building names next to the cost indicate that you may construct the building for free, without having to fulfill the resource cost. From the rulebook, p. 4: Free Construction (Chains): Some structures in Age II and Age III have, to the right of their resource cost, the name of a structure of a previous age. If ...


11

You may only construct structures/wonder stages if you can produce the required resources in their cost, or your adjacent opponents have the missing resources you require (and you have the coins necessary to purchase those goods). The rules are probably not as specific as they should be, but you can glean the correct answer by looking at the examples given. ...


10

According to the rules, the free city can take any action a 'normal' player can take with a restriction on discarding cards for money. The free city CAN build a wonder. In fact, a good strategy for the third city is to use it to bury cards your opponent might want, e.g. by building the wonder. The free city CAN also discard a card for money, but only if no ...


10

Your friend is correct, Chamber of Commerce and other cards like it only count resource cards, not your starting resources or resources produced from other sources such as Wonder benefits or Yellow cards. On the Description of the Wonders page of the rules you'll see a clarification at the top Clarification: the resources produced by the boards are not ...


10

You can only buy the amount that they have. Here are the relevant rules: The resources of a city are produced by its Wonder board, its brown cards, its gray cards, and some yellow cards. To build a structure, a player’s city must produce the resources indicated on its card. Example: Giza produces 2 Stones, 1 Clay, 1 Ore, 1 Papyrus and 1 Textile. ...


9

Start by reading this "dissertation", as somebody on that forum put it: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/691370/some-complex-strategies-for-7-wonders. Nobody addressed this, but the strategy depends a lot on the number of players. With 6-7 people, your feeble attempts to build up the powerful army are only going to take points away from 2/5 = 40% or 2/6 = 33% ...


9

No, you do not receive any coins. It is indicating a discount. You only pay {1} Coin instead of the normal {2} from the neighbor in the direction to which the arrow points. You can contrast this with the Tavern card. 7-Wonder's rule book (page 12). Tavern Icon - the card is worth the amount of coins pictured, the coins are taken from the bank only once, ...


9

You may use it once per age. The description of symbols page shows that symbol as (emphasis mine). The player can play the last card of each age instead of discarding it. This card can be played by paying its cost, discarded to gain 3 coins or used in the construction of his or her Wonder.


9

The resource is pictured in the upper left. You can see it in the rules on page 8 or 9 The Colossus of Rhodes: Ore The Hanging Gardens of Babylon: Clay The Pyramids of Giza: Stone The Lighthouse of Alexandria: Glass The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus: Textile The Temple of Artemis in Ephesus: Papyrus The Statue of Zeus in Olympia: Timber


9

If you look at the rules there is a specific example of how this works. On Page 6, in para 6, "Commercial Structures": Example: Alexandria has built the Chamber of Commerce. This structure is worth 2 Victory Points for each gray card present in their city. Alexandria has played 2 gray cards: 4 Victory Points. And in the accompanying picture, ...


9

Babylon has a clarification in the rules that says: Clarification : - during the sixth turn, the player can therefore play both cards they have in hand. If the second stage of the Wonder is not built, the Babylon player can then build it on their sixth turn and then play the seventh card instead of discarding it. Halicarnassus has the following ...


9

The rules state: At the end of the game, each mask allows the controlling player to copy the scientific symbol of a green card present in one of the two neighboring cities. If a player possesses multiple [mask] symbols, he or she can only copy a given card once, and must thus copy as many different cards as they have [mask] symbols. A player can copy two ...


8

This is a tricky one. The rulebook makes seems to specify option #3 pretty specifically: Shuffle the 7 Wonder cards, face down, and hand one to each player. The card and its facing determine the Wonders board given to each player, as well as the side to be used during the game. However, when I demoed the Leaders expansion from Asmodee at a convention, ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible