20

Your initial analysis is pretty good, but perhaps overemphasising the risk to the corp. The real issue is that five cards from 45 is a very variable draw, and the results are a pretty unpredictable. I'll examine the two cases separately. Runner As you say, the runner can mulligan fairly freely - there isn't much of a downside. Obvious mulligans: No ...


17

To be honest, I wouldn't worry so much about slow play when learning, and I would not recommend complicating it further with a clock. Here are my thoughts: 1) This game requires lots of mental arithmetic, especially when playing as the runner. How much might that run cost? Do I have the breaker suite required to make success likely? What is the worst ...


15

No. If an ability has a [Click] as part of its cost, it can only be used as a main action in the controlling player's turn. It cannot be used on the other player's turn or during a run. From the rules (PDF) page 21, under Paid Abilities (emphasis mine): Paid abilities can be triggered at the beginning of each turn, before and after each player action, ...


14

Normally the Corp doesn't get to see what cards the runner accesses from R&D. This would mean the corp wouldn't know they could spend 4C to deal the damage! When accessed from HQ or a remote server, the Corp already knows what the card is, and so can pay 4C to deal the damage. By making the runner reveal the card when accessed from R&D, the corp ...


14

Obviously it depends on the game-state, but here are some tips: Be aware of how much money the Corp has. The less they have, the less dangerous the ICE they can afford to rez. (Also, don't forget that the more aggressively you run, the more they rez and the less money they have for other plans.) Run on click one, especially against HB. Judge the threat of ...


14

From the official FAQ, page 4: Destruction of Servers [...] If there are no cards installed in or protecting a remote server, then the server immediately ceases to exist. If a server ceases to exist during a run, the run immediately ends. Unless the run has passed step 4.4 of the timing structure of a run, it is not considered to be successful or ...


13

The powerlevel of cards has changed, quite a lot of cards from the original netrunner have been increased in cost or decreased in effect. The main difference is that the new netrunner has factions and identities. When building a deck you are allowed as many neutral and your faction cards as you like, but you can only include up to 15 (normally) of other ...


12

Yes, this combo works. Parasite will trash any ice as soon as it has zero (or lower) strength, regardless of how that strength was lowered (i.e. it doesn't only trigger from Parasite's counters). Other cards that combo with Parasite include Datasucker: Whenever you make a successful run on a central server, place 1 virus counter on Datasucker. Hosted ...


12

At one point there was a rules ruling via e-mail that it wouldn't be trashed to OverSight AI, and separately that Chum wouldn't do the damage. In the latest FAQ It has been clarified that this didn't make sense, and so for consistency "all" would apply to "0" and so all the subroutines are broken, and so chum does not do damage and oversight AI means the ice ...


12

From the Netrunner FAQ: Where is an upgrade installed in a remote server? An upgrade is installed in a remote server in the same position as an agenda or asset. The Runner should not be able to tell what type of card is installed in a remote server by its position. This is different than installing an upgrade in a central server, where it is ...


12

Short answer: Yes. Long answer: Scavenge says "As an additional cost to play this card, trash an installed program". That means that when you play Scavenge (paying the 0 credits), you trash a program as a cost. After you have trashed the program, it then states "Install a program from your grip or heap lowering the install cost of that program by the ...


12

There is nothing banned in All That Remains. This exception was added in the update to the Tournament Rules for the World Championship to clarify that because it was being released so close to the Championship, it would not be legal (since players would not be able to adequately play with it first). I expect this exception to be removed in the next update ...


11

You cannot because upgrades are always installed un-rezzed from your hand. In order to put SanSan City Grid onto a server you first have to discard Breaker Bay Grid. Therefore by the time you can rez SanSan City Grid you no longer have the effect of Breaker Bay Grid. Also note the reason is because you aren't allowed to have two regions installed and the ...


10

You are correct! No icebreaker is required to make a run. So yes, the mantra: run early, run often! On the first turn, it is usually good to put some pressure on a central server that isn't well defended (either HQ or R&D). However: some decks will punish you for this (especially Jinteki), as they have cards that can hurt you when accessed from R&...


10

Yes, Personal Workshop allows you to install programs/hardware during a run. You have already paid the click to host them though, so all its really doing is allowing you to defer payment until they are needed. This does allow you to install a Femme Fatale after the corp rezzes and Ice, targeting that Ice for the special bypass, and then bypass the Ice as ...


10

All transactions are conducted with the bank, credits never change hands directly from one player to another. Thematically, this makes sense as you can think of runner and corp using different scales of money. One credit to the runner may represent say $1,000 or $10,000, but for the corp it may represent 10 or 100 times that amount. From a game design ...


10

Core rules: After the Runner breaks all of the ice’s subroutines and/or any effects from unbroken subroutines resolve without ending the run, he has passed that piece of ice. He then continues the run by either approaching the next piece of ice protecting the server or proceeding to the Access phase if there is no more ice to approach. Data Mine ...


10

It's in the official rulebook, under Access Phase in the section on Runs: • R&D: The Runner accesses the top card of R&D, and any upgrades in its root... • HQ: The Runner accesses one random card from HQ and any upgrades in its root... • Archives: The Runner accesses all cards in Archives and any upgrades in its root... • ...


10

Yes, this card is an example of the Psi game mechanic, and credits are always spent from your credit pool. If aplayer has no credits, then they can only bid 0 during the Psi game (note: this is an excellent way of dealing with Caprice Nisei!). From the manual (p.7), Credit Pool: Each player has a credit pool where he keeps the credit tokens he has ...


10

No, ice can only be trashed when installing other ice. The terms "in a server" and "protecting a server" are not interchangeable, but rather used discretely to refer to different types of cards and their relation to servers. Agendas, assets, and upgrades are installed in servers, while ice is always referred to as protecting a server, and is never ...


9

There is nothing about Medical Breakthrough that would function differently than other agendas upon forfeit. Forfeited agendas no longer affect the game either for points or for their abilities. Details Medical Breakthrough's ability is: Lower the advancement requirement of each Medical Breakthrough by 1. This ability is active even while Medical ...


8

You choose the order they resolve. If Wyldside resolves first: Draw two cards, lose a click Sell Wyldside with Aesop's: trash it and gain three credits Or, if Aesop's resolve first: Sell Wyldside for three credits Wyldside does nothing because it's been trashed (so you keep all four clicks) This specific scenario is actually covered in the rulebook (PDF)...


8

I believe the only three current cards that can trash ICE after it's installed are: Parasite - program that reduces the strength of a rezzed ICE until it hits zero, at which point the ICE is trashed. Forged Activation Orders - event that forces a Corp to rez an ice, or trash it if it can't (or doesn't want to) pay for it. Kraken - event that forces the Corp ...


8

Queen's gambit doesn't specify that the card has to be able to be advanced. If you compare it to Matrix Analyzer, you will see the difference: When the Runner encounters Matrix Analyzer, you may pay 1 [Credits] to place 1 advancement token on a card that can be advanced. Normally the Advance action is used to advance cards. This is where the corp pays ...


8

The "gunblade" combo refers to having both a Silencer (the gun) + Dagger (the blade) installed. Dagger is strength 0 killer unless a stealth card provides a credit to boost it (+5 for each credit). Currently, the only stealth cards available that interact with Dagger are Shaper's Cloak (which uses 1 MU, and whose recurring credit can be used on any ...


8

Traps generally do not have one of the 3 usual subtypes (Barrier, Code Gate, or Sentry). So they cannot be broken by breakers for those types of ice. In general you need an AI breaker like Crypsis, Overmind, Knight, or any of the other AI breakers. However traps can still be bypassed with Femme, just like any other ice. Note that some traps DO have a ...


8

The answer provided by @user30903 in the comments is correct, and I believe your question effectively clarifies what you mean by "playing" as you also reference icebreakers. There is no benefit in installing Magnum Opus twice at the same time: the effects do not stack, and in fact it is detrimental due to the memory usage. The same is true of each individual ...


8

No, remotes only exist if there is a card installed either inside of them (asset/upgrade/agenda) or in front of them (ICE). This differs from the central servers, which always exist even if there is nothing in or protecting them (e.g., archives). This is discussed on page 4 of the official FAQ, under "Destruction of Servers" (emphasis mine): If there are ...


7

Android Netrunner cards are the same size as Magic: the Gathering cards, so you can use any sleeves that are Magic sized for them. This includes Fantasy Flight, Ultra-Pro, KMC, and Dragon Shield. The color or design on the sleeves doesn't matter as long as the deck has all of the same color/design (the Corporation and Runner decks can have different colors/...


7

Accessing Cards in Netrunner Access in Netrunner is highly dependent on server location. The following draws primarily from the latest FAQ, and is supplemented by my notes/clarifications. Accessing Archives From the FAQ, with additional emphasis: When accessing cards in Archives, the Runner turns all cards faceup in Archives before accessing them. ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible