15

You always gain bonus dice from clue tokens spent, regardless of how negative your actual ability check is. So in your example you do not have to spend one to overcome the negative, then another to gain a dice, you would be able to spend one (or more) clue(s) to gain one (or more) dice. From the rulebook (page 13 under Spending Clue Tokens on Skill Checks):...


14

No, you can't do that. Short version: the Ancient One devours you as soon as you're reduced to 0, so by the time the Injury/Madness tries to change how you recover after your're reduced to 0, you're already gone. In combat with the Ancient One, you're devoured if you're reduced to zero Stamina/Sanity: Any investigator reduced to 0 Sanity or Stamina by ...


14

Roll as many dice as you need to (nine, in your case). The relevant bit in the rules, I suppose, is: When making a skill check, a player always rolls a number of dice equal to his investigator’s value in the appropriate skill. There's also an example, under Weapon and Skill Limits, saying: ... He then accounts for the Star Spawn’s combat rating (–3), ...


13

If the gate the second investigator came through (or another gate to the same world) is open when they try to return, then they would return as normal to whichever gate they choose. However, if there are no open gates to that Other World, then the investigator would be lost in time and space. For reference, this is on page 8 of the Arkham Horror rulebook, ...


10

They're just markers; effectively you have to draw three unique items to pass her story. Rules-wise, there's nothing that explicitly says this, it's just that the tokens are on the card, not in your possession, and there's nothing that says you can ever gain them or use them. I wouldn't say they're "lost" when passed/failed; you never actually had them as ...


9

This is clarified/fixed in the FAQ in the Dunwich Horror rules: Battling the Ancient One Q: In combat with Ancient Ones, do investigators get a full Upkeep Phase, or is the Upkeep Phase limited in some way during the final battle? A: Investigators get a full Upkeep phase. So yes, you roll for blessings and curses. I can only assume they wrote the original ...


9

If a mythos card with no gate is drawn during step 14 of Game Setup, discard it and draw again until you draw a mythos card that depicts a gate. Source: Arkham Horror Core FAQ or Complete Arkham Horror FAQ, "Rule Changes and Clarifications" (page 2 in both sources)


8

You always apply whatever toughness modifiers are in effect when you exchange the trophy, the trophy's worth when you gained it is irrelevant. To refer to your examples, a Fire Vampire killed before a Heat Wave, and exchanged during a Heat Wave is worth +1 toughness, while a Fire Vampire killed during a Heat Wave and exchanged after the Heat Wave has ended ...


8

I think the "Gate and a monster" effect still needs to follow the basic rules on placing a gate. This means if you are at a location with an Elder Sign, the gate doesn't open, and if you are at a location with an open gate, then a monster surge happens. So, you are on a location with an open gate, and you have explored it. A gate opens in your location. ...


8

I own both AH and EH. I have the Kingsport, Innsmouth and Black Goat of the Woods expansions for AH. Only have the base game for EH right now but those four expansions call me pretty loudly. I really couldn't say that either is better than the other because I really love both a lot but for different reasons. One thing that I can say I really miss from ...


8

During the final battle, the only thing that matters is the Ancient One and any Investigators who were not lost in time and space. Everything associated with the old board is irrelevant. Take a look at the description of the turn structure on page 22 of the rules: Combat with the Ancient One is divided into rounds. During a round, players first have an ...


7

It's worth adding that there are two versions of Curse of the Dark Pharaoh. The original release was an excellent addition, as it added the highly thematic exhibit card class. However it suffers from dilution in an all-in game, as the chances to draw encounter which refer to the Exhibit items severely diminish. The revised version of Curse of the Dark ...


7

Diana Stanley's Dark Insight ability does not override the effects of the Mythos environment in play. If it would override the Mythos card, it would state so. For example, Akachi's ability states: Secret Rites - Any Phase: Akachi gains +1 bonus to all skill checks to close or seal a gate. In addition, Akachi may always seal gates, regardless of other ...


7

Yes, you get only once chance. The key phrase is "cast and exhaust". An exhausted card can't be used again until it's un-exhausted during the next turn's upkeep. And the spell is exhausted whether or not you succeed at casting it. The rules are a little bit fuzzy on this, but this official FAQ has a pretty clear answer: Does an unsuccessful ...


7

There are two different forms of movement in Arkham Horror. These are described on page 6 of the rulebook. They are: Arkham Movement Other World Movement Each investigator must choose which they will use based on where they are located at the beginning of their movement. If you are using Arkham Movement, use your speed points to move as you will. Of ...


7

Yes, this is an official rule. From the rulebook, p.9/10: 3) A Monster Appears The first player draws a monster marker from the cup at random and places it on the location. If this would bring the number of monsters over the monster limit, the first player places the monster in the Outskirts instead... Exception: If there are five or more ...


7

It has been a while since I played Arkham Horror, but I own Eldritch Horror myself. There are a few very obvious differences. The gate encounters in Arkham take multiple turns to complete. In Eldritch, you resolve a card and that's it. You know at the end of the encounters phase if you've closed the gate or not. In Arkham, the characters have three sliding ...


7

Each of the investigators has some flavour on the back of their investigator card. I've found using that gives the player some insight in to the strange going ons in Arkham, but leaves them just enough in the dark for it to remain mysterious. Make sure you read out all the encounter cards and not just get to the business end of things in order to roll dice....


7

Tasks and missions are considered "items" as per the Dunwich rulebook (Page 5): Tasks are a type of item found in the Common Item deck, while Missions are items found in the Unique Item deck. If you receive an effect that requires you to discard items you can discard a task or mission as part of that, noting in the base rules (page 16): Important: ...


6

Delayed has no bearing on whether an investigator has an Other World encounter or not. However the gate takes precedence. Both investigators should have been drawn through the gate first, then the monster appears. From the Dunwich Horror FAQ: Q: When a location card says a gate and a monster appear, which appearance is resolved first? A: The gate appears ...


6

I know of this one from boardgamegeek which was tallied up from a community vote:


6

Yes, you do as per the setup rules (page 5): 14. DRAW AND RESOLVE MYTHOS CARD Finally, the first player draws the top card of the mythos deck and resolves it as described in the Mythos Phase section of the rules. ... After the mythos card has been completely resolved, the first turn begins, starting with the first player. If you are beginners, you may want ...


6

As far as I can tell, there is no specific King in Yellow great old one. If you're talking about Hastur as the great old one, that's a different story. Thematically, The King in Yellow is actually Hastur's avatar. So, in that sense, it might make perfect sense to use both of them in conjunction. Mechanically, they're just two parts of the game board that ...


6

If you start your movement phase on a location or Street with any monsters, you must either evade them all or fight them. If you attempt to pass through a location or street with a monster on it, you must either evade or fight them. If you end your movement on a location or street with a monster, you must either evade or fight them. Flying monsters ...


6

Your character moves to the Dreamlands, no further encounter that turn. As the card says "Move to the Dreamlands" the character is not delayed. If it had said something like "A Gate Opens and pulls you to the Dreamlands" then the character would have been delayed.


6

It means you merely skip the roll (you do not skip all upkeep instructions) "It's like a salary. You usually get them through encounters. Darrell Simmons and Rita Young also start with one." https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/397466/retainers "If you have a copy of a "special" card, i.e. Retainer, Blessing, or Curse, and you receive another one, it replaces ...


6

You don't draw a monster. Like you said, you just make a combat check - except there is a modifier, the (-1) specified by the encounter. And it really is a combat check, not a weird fight check; that's why your items with combat modifiers apply. If a monster is to appear, the card will say so, and plenty do.


5

Yes you can. Look at the Official FAQ: Q: When an investigator casts a spell, can he spend all of his Sanity to pay the spell’s Sanity cost? A: Yes. If he does so, once the Sanity cost has been paid the investigator makes his Spell check and, if he passes, the spell takes effect. Whether the check is passed or not, the investigator then goes ...


5

No. The mythos card says "investigators cannot gain sanity" with a couple exceptions, and her ability says "gain sanity" and is not one of the exceptions. She can of course still gain stamina, though.


5

To answer the question...the kind of game you're thinking of, really, is Mansion of Madness, which is the Descent version of Arkham Horror. Players play one of eight investigators and move through a location as they try to uncover a secret plot. The story teller acts as the Herald or Overlord, by moving monsters to certain locations and playing cards on ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible