7 votes
Accepted

Order of actions in Ascension

The Storm of Souls rulebook says: When an Event card flips into the Center Row, immediately move it to the Event Zone on the board, and then replace it in the Center Row. [...] If a new Event ...
user avatar
  • 186
6 votes

Do I play a hero's ability every time I draw it?

In Ascension you only ever use a hero's ability when you play the card. So in your case when you draw the Seer of the Forked Path nothing happens. However on your turn if you play that card you will ...
user avatar
  • 13.6k
3 votes

When is Mechana Initiate worth buying?

I've managed to play many games on digital with all expansions to date which include up to Dawn Of Champions, and even several promos. There's already been some good answers concerning "in general", ...
user avatar
3 votes
Accepted

Do I need to keep the Ascension expansion boxes as I have the original one?

It looks like that version of Ascension has the Broken Token Box Organizer (or similar) included, which should allow for most, if not all, of the expansions to fit into the one box. The game normally ...
user avatar
  • 3,376
3 votes

Do I play a hero's ability every time I draw it?

Every turn consists of playing whatever cards from your hand that you want. There is no limit to how many cards you can play; and you never have to play a card if you don't want to. So if it is in ...
user avatar
  • 69.8k
3 votes
Accepted

Is there a best time to play Tablet of Time's Dawn?

No, there is no best time to use that ability to increase your odds of of winning. The thing to remember with cards like this is that a lot of it will depend on how the overall game is progressing. ...
user avatar
  • 13.6k
2 votes
Accepted

Combining Ascension expansions: tokens and boards

In my opinion: I don't think there are any any interactions between sets to-date that would make this impermissible, but this might be inadvisable. Consider that cards with set-specific interactions ...
user avatar
  • 196
2 votes

Do Ascension's small box expansions work well with the other big boxes?

I have played all combinations of sets up through and including Realms Unraveled. Here are my thoughts: Immortal Heroes will mix in fine with RoTF and CoTG. Immortal Heroes played all on it's own ...
user avatar
  • 121
2 votes
Accepted

Do I play a hero's ability every time I draw it?

You seem to believe this effect happens when you acquire the hero, and are asking if it happens when you play it. It's the other way around, a hero's effect triggers when it is played, not when it is ...
user avatar
  • 13.1k
2 votes

How to apply the effect "You may treat all Constructs as Mechana Constructs" in Ascension game?

Yes, once you have the effect of "You may treat all constructs as Mechana Constructs", this applies to acquisition (e.g. runes that can only be used to purchase Mechana constructs can be used to buy ...
user avatar
  • 318
1 vote
Accepted

Clarification about Azurite Channeler in Ascension: Deliverance

The way cards like that work in general is you place the card where the banished card came from. An example of this is Guide of Lost Souls from Dawn of Champions You may banish a card in your hand ...
user avatar
  • 13.6k
1 vote

When to buy cards costing 1 "Rune" in Ascension?

When considering expansions, some of the cross-set card interactions are covered here... https://boardgames.stackexchange.com/a/27079/13749 With just that set alone, Lifebound Initiate combos with ...
user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible