Skip to main content
4 votes
Accepted

Axis and Allies 1941: Who, when and to where can you retreat?

TLDR Retreats are possible for the attacker. Retreats are not possible for the defender, ever. Land and Sea units retreat as expected. They all withdraw to a friendly adjacent space. They only ...
Odin1806's user avatar
  • 337
3 votes

Axis and Allies 1941 planes and industry

An air unit cannot capture a territory; since the territory is not captured it would retain whatever control marker was on it. There are no rules to "destroy" a capital or industrial complex. A ...
sirjonsnow's user avatar
3 votes
Accepted

Ship Movement Question Axis and Allies 1940 Global (Rules 2.0)

Here is a 2 part answer to your question: From the Rules (http://www.axisandallies.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/Axis-Allies-Pacific-1940-Second-Edition.pdf): Move as many of your units into as ...
IronWilliamCash's user avatar
3 votes

If a fighter can't land during combat, can they land on carriers moved to them during the non-combat move phase?

Yes, you can use your non-combat move phase to have a carrier move to a position so that those planes that were moved in the combat move phase can land. Fighters land in the non-combat move phase of ...
Steve Oakes's user avatar
3 votes

When, if ever, are battleships worth buying in Axis and Allies?

never. 24 IPC is just way too costly, even with double HP. I think this gets along with real history: no super power build any BBs after the war had started. Found several house rules that makes BB ...
Cohensius's user avatar
  • 4,368
2 votes

Could Axis and Allies be "balanced" by weakening the US just a bit more?

This would be an interesting variation. I'm thinking you would have to remove all 3 IPC from Brazil. The timing of when IPCs are delivered has a huge effect. Early IPCs allow the Germans to build up ...
Dogberry's user avatar
2 votes

In Axis and Allies, could a house rule upgrading the German navy finally "balance" the 1942 game?

Interested in what you say here about the Allies having a slight edge. I assume you mean First Edition here. My friend and I have been playing for years. We originally used to think that the Allies ...
Steve Oakes's user avatar
2 votes

Can the Russia no first turn attack rule be realistically extended for more turns?

You can play this variant at http://gamesbyemail.com/Games/WW2 in which one option is to have Russia unable to attack until attacked. Having played 1 game this way, I believe it gives too much power ...
Dogberry's user avatar
2 votes

In a&a 1942 2nd edition, can bombers conducting a strategic bombing raid and fighter escorts retreat?

You are 100% correct. Retreating is part of general combat, Strategic bombing is a special type of attack that has no concept of retreating. AA units only get one shot at the inbound bombers, so ...
Steve Oakes's user avatar
2 votes
Accepted

Can I block enemy's port if my navy is on the sea sector next to a factory zone?

I was able to find the answer after reading the rule book for 17th time after awhile. Clearly the rules state on page 20 paragraph 2 in section restrictions on Placement "Place sea units only in sea ...
MikeB's user avatar
  • 75
2 votes
Accepted

Axis and Allies 1941 :Can a submarine sneak attack a battle ship when there is an enemy sub in the same battle?

A&A 1941: If you have a sub and the enemy has a sub and a battleship, you can make a Surprise Strike, but the defender can take the hit with whichever unit he wants (and if it's the sub, it would ...
sirjonsnow's user avatar
2 votes

Can sea units have more then the given amount in Axis and Allies 1941?

Unlike Monopoly, in which the rules restrict players to 32 houses and 12 hotels (in total), the number of pieces in Axis and Allies are limited only by what you can build according to the rules. The ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes

Axis and Allies 1941: Transport Rules for on loading and offloading units

Yes, what you are describing is possible and called an Amphibious Assault. However, the sequence load -> move transport -> offload is not limited to situations in which you land in hostile territory, ...
TheNickOfTime's user avatar
2 votes

Can AAA defend sea units

AAA cannot defend sea territories. From the rules: An Antiaircraft artillery (AAA) unit can fire only at an air unit when that unit attacks the territory containing that AAA unit. ... This AAA attack ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
2 votes

Does seazone 12 touch Gibraltar in Axies and Allies

The red line is the separation line between sea zone 12 and 13. Krieghund, the developer and Q&A author at axisandallies.org, clarified Gibraltar connects to sea zone 13. Q: Is Gibraltar ...
James Risner's user avatar
1 vote

Transports onload/offloading adjacent to enemy controlled sea zone

I believe you are correct. Australia is adjacent to a hostile sea zone, and therefore British transports cannot load or offload infantry in Australia while an enemy ship is in any of the sea zones ...
j33pfan's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote

Axis and Allies 1942 second edition and attacking subs

http://axisallies.com/rules/axis-allies-rules-1942-2nd-edition.pdf From "3. General Combat" The Battleship can defend itself during "Step 4. Defending Units Fire" as long as it is alive, or if it ...
LeppyR64's user avatar
  • 2,309
1 vote

Axis and allies 1942 edition

Sea units can safely enter or pass through territories occupied by enemy submarines only As stated in its profile on page 30 of the rule book, a submarine has the characteristic "Does Not Block ...
TheNickOfTime's user avatar
1 vote

Axis and Allies 1942 SE First Turn Builds

Way too late of an answer but here are my normal opening builds: Russia: 4 inf and 3 art with all inf in Caucasus and all art in Moscow to avoid losing the territory from the German transport in SZ 15 ...
roaringdolphin's user avatar
1 vote

Axis and Allies 1942 SE First Turn Builds

Triple A First Turn Builds I loaded up the game Triple A and tried a game with the Hard AI. This is what the AI built: Russia (24 IPC): 2 Infantry and 2 Artillery in Caucasus. 1 Infantry and 2 ...
Jess's user avatar
  • 175
1 vote

Can I block enemy's port if my navy is on the sea sector next to a factory zone?

If you occupy the opponent's factory zone with a land or air unit, the opponent doesn't get to build on that zone. You do. But the question was for the naval unit. It will be in an ocean zone next to ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote

Axis and Allies 1941 :Can a submarine sneak attack a battle ship when there is an enemy sub in the same battle?

This may depend on the version of the game, but I'm going with the Revised edition, as you mention a destroyer. Rules: http://www.axisandallies.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/Axis-Allies-Revised.pdf ...
sirjonsnow's user avatar
1 vote

Does Germany ever start first?

I think you are referring to Classic edition of A&A, with a "no Soviet first-turn attack" rule. In that variation, the Soviet Union receives its income and gets to "build," but not to attack, ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote

Does Germany ever start first?

Axis and Allies 1940 has Germany always going before The Soviet Union Rules Order of Play 1. Germany 2. Soviet Union 3. United States 4. United Kingdom 5. Italy 6. France (controlled ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.2k
1 vote
Accepted

How many units can a new factory produce?

According to the Wikipedia article Comparison of Axis & Allies games, some versions of the game had that restriction and some didn't have it. The number of units that may be deployed in ...
diego's user avatar
  • 20.1k
1 vote

Axis and Allies 1940 Multinational Defense, AAA and Radar

It depends on the exact wording of the rule that "radar increases the hit score". If there is nothing beyond those words, then it would logically apply to the unit; in your example the Allies have one ...
Tim Lymington's user avatar
1 vote

Submarines and "Defenseless" Transports in Axis and Allies

You played the right way. Basically, the turn continues until 1) all the defending forces are destroyed, or 2) all the attacking forces are destroyed or 3) the attacker elects to retreat. The ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote

Can a sub attack a lone sub in axis and allies and the attacked sub submerge?

Yes. Submarines that are not under threat from an enemy destroyer can use their special ability to choose to make a surprise strike (either on attack or defense) or choose to submerge. This occurs ...
Steve Oakes's user avatar
1 vote

Axis & Allies G40 Transport Question

Yes. Two opposing nations can't have units in the same zone simultaneously. But if the units of one side were "eliminated" in earlier fighting, then the surviving (attacker) can move units into the ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote

If damage is assigned to AAA during bombardment, can it defend before general combat begins in the territory or is it removed?

On page 15 of the Axis and Allies 1942, Second edition rulebook, it is stated: "Roll one die for each battleship and cruiser that can conduct bombardment…For each hit, the defender will move a ...
RM Bee's user avatar
  • 121

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible