Hot answers tagged

19

The rules don't explicitly cover this, so we must use our own judgement. When a player dies, they reveal their role and their cards. The dead player has no more hidden information. Therefore, I see no reason why they should be required to remain silent. Additionally, one could argue that they aren't even playing the game any longer, and therefore can't ...


13

An eliminated player no longer contributes to distance. If this were not the case, in a large game you could quite easily have situations where nobody could reach anybody else for many turns in a row. From the rules: When a character is eliminated, he is no longer counted when evaluating the distance: some players will get "closer" when someone is ...


7

The question revolved around the following limitation: Beer has no effect if there are only 2 players left in the game; in other words, if you play a Beer you do not gain any life point. (Emphasis in original.) As such, it comes down to the number of players left in the game. According to Ghost Town, and reinforced by this FAQ, each ghost is in play ...


7

As you can see in this answer on BGG, the barrel stays until it is removed by another card. Also, from the official rules: Blue-bordered cards are played face up in front of you (exception: Jail). Blue cards in front of you are hence defined to be “in play”. The effect of these cards lasts until they are discarded or removed somehow (e.g. ...


6

You can still use a Missed card like normal if the barrel fails. From the rules: Example. C is the target of A's BANG! C has a Barrel card in play: this card lets him “draw!” to cancel a BANG! card. So, C flips the top card of the deck and puts it on the discard pile: it's a 4 of Hearts. The use of the Barrel is successful and cancels the BANG! If the ...


5

Beer can replenish the extra bullet that the Sheriff gets. From the Bang! rulebook: The Sheriff plays the game with one additional bullet: if his character card shows three bullets, he is considered for all effects to have four; if he has four bullets, then the Sheriff plays with five. "All effects" includes Beer.


5

From a post by the designer of Bang!, Emiliano Sciarra: ... you cannot play Bang! on yourself ... Also, this official ruling from the FAQ for the Wild West Show expansion The action you describe must be possible for the player By combination of these two rulings, Dorothy Rage cannot force a player to play a self-targeting "Bang!".


5

Yes, you can use multiple Gatlings or beers in a turn. These cards are not played in front of you, they are played directly into the discard pile. They are also not "BANG!" cards, so you can play more than one a turn (only the card "BANG!" is a "BANG!" card). You cannot, however, use multiple barrels. You can only have one of each blue (or green) card in ...


4

Contra the others posting here, I don't think there is much to be gained by pretending to be something you're not. Outlaws: No one except an Outlaw will shoot at the Sheriff, which means that if the Outlaws hold their fire, the Sheriff will sit there unhurt while everyone else gets whittled down. At the same time, the Outlaws' best bet is to concentrate ...


4

They still have the same goal to kill the sheriff as on their turn they are back in the game and in the situation you are describing it is temporally a 3 player game again when it is a shadow players turn. Which means that on an outlaws turn if they kill the sheriff then the outlaws win. It doesn't matter that they where a shadow player because during their ...


4

The actual answer is a little more complicated and so doesn't match either of the arguments. While the original card's wording (Italian/English) doesn't match the effect, it doesn't affect played cards (like the Bang! you mentioned), nor does it affect other players outside of their turn (so Bang! cards discarded for Indians are discarded as normal). This is ...


4

Here is some clarification posted on this card over at Board Game Geek where someone got answers from the publishers. Looking at the answers that where posted it looks like in your case the card was intended to be used only twice as at that point in the game it is only a two player game. Q: Lady Rose of Texas. Can a player use this ability just once per ...


4

It doesn't hurt the gameplay. It's a decent special ability, but not overpowered. Here are situations that discourage or prevent action chaining: She can't play more than one Bang! card per turn (unless she has a Volcanic), Dueling is dangerous when she holds no other cards, Mancatos are not playable unless someone is shooting at her (so not on her turn), ...


4

Using the FAQ here the following question and answer says, Q19. How many Missed! cards are required to cancel a Gatling played by Slab the Killer? A. Only one. The special ability of Slab the Killer applies to BANG! cards only. For reference Slab's ability is "Players trying to cancel his BANG! cards need to play 2 Missed!" This would infer to me ...


4

A duel is a special attack that must be responded to by discarding a bang. If the person the duel is played on is unable to discard a bang they take a hit. If they are able to it goes back to the person who played the duel. If they can't discard a bang they take a hit however if they can the process repeats by going back and forth between the players until ...


3

From the rules describing the "Draw a card" symbol: If “any player” is specified (see that symbol), then you can draw a random card from his hand, or you can choose one in play in front of him. If no player is specified, draw the top card of the deck. In any case, cards drawn are added to your hand. The rules don't explicitly clarify what ...


3

The number of cards in your hand equals the number of lives (bullets) you have left. Cards played do not count as being in your hand. So you can have as much blue cards on the table as you like.


3

From the wiki page for bang BackFire – Counts as Missed!. Any player who targeted you with Bang! is now a target of Bang!. The card says it correctly that the payer who shot you is the target of a bang. If you needed to play a bang also for it to work that would be listed on the card as well.


3

There's an official answer in the Bang! Dodge City FAQ: Q11. How Conestoga and Rag Time work? A. Just read the symbols. They both allow you to draw a card (from the hand of among “in play” cards) from any one player, regardless of the distance. Adding this to the base rules of Bang! regarding the "draw!" symbol: Draw a card. If “any player” is ...


3

If you are asking about the "Ghost" card from the Valley of Shadows expansion, it says: Play in front of an eliminated player. That player returns to life without a character ability and no way to gain or lose life points. Besides this he plays as a normal player. This means the targeted player returns to the game and since (s)he has this blue card on ...


3

Is there rule for table talk? There is nothing in the rules which would allow/disallow the talking of dead players. The official FAQ says Q1. Can players talk during the game? A. Of course! That's one of the most amusing aspects of the game. -- but even there nothing is said explicitly about dead players. This means that the decision must be made ...


3

I play with the French version of the game which is very clear and could be translated as follow: During phase 1 every player picks his card from the discard pile if it is possible. If so, every card discarded during his round will be put face-down on the draw pile Translation from the original French card: Durant sa phase 1, si c'est possible, chaque ...


3

Yes, you can. Here's an extract from the rulebook: Example. You have 2 life points left, and suffer 3 damages from a Dynamite. If you play 2 Beers you will stay alive with 1 life point left (2-3+2), while you would be eliminated playing only one Beer that would allow you to regain just 1 life point. You would still be at zero!


3

No, that means when you switch to the other character your health is set at 2 points and on your turn you can gain the missing health back. Which means that if you are switching to a character that has 4 bullets normally you can then play a whiskey to go back up to 4 bullets in health. Also if you are the sheriff in this game you could follow up with a beer ...


3

According to the creator of Bang! (Emiliano Sciarra) on BoardGameGeek: Actually, during the Sermon you cannot use Bang! cards during your turn only: it is allowed to use Bang! cards outside your turn. It follows that if you play a Duel, your opponent may answer with his Bang! while you can not, and so you will lose the Duel! As regards Calamity Janet, ...


3

Yes he can use his ability. For reference the Ghost Town card reads: During their turns, eliminated players return to the game as ghosts. They draw 3 cards instead of 2, and cannot die. At the end of their turn, they are eliminated again. Note that it states that they are to draw cards, so the ghost's will enter at phase 1, the draw phase. Clause "...


3

Whenever a player plays a card that instantly deals damage to one of more players, that damage is considered caused by a player. This includes all possible brown cards with a 'bang' symbol. If the damage is delayed (as it is with dynamite), it is not caused by any player. This is probably partially because it is impractical to keep track of who played it (...


3

Yes, according to a dodge city faq from the developer. It should be noted that when ghost town is in play players who have been eliminated are still considered eliminated and not part of the game when it is not their turn. If a player had been previously eliminated any abilities their character had will not activate unless it is their turn. FAQ Q15. How ...


3

There was an old ios app that is no longer supported due to the developer no longer having an agreement with the card games developer. After ios 11 the app can no longer be used due to it being a 32 bit app. There is a thread on board game geek where there is talk of a new app in development but from what I can see that has been going on for a while with no ...


3

No she can not play a punch as a miss. BANG! are specific cards and those are the only one she can use as a miss. There are other cards that can be used to damage players but they are not considered a BANG!. One of the key parts of a BANG! is you can only play one of them a turn unless you got a card that says otherwise and a punch or other damage card can ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible