The humans do not lose the moment a resource drops to zero. They only lose if a resource is zero at the end of a player's turn.
From the base game rulebook:
If at least one resource is depleted to 0 or less at the end of a player’s turn, the game immediately ends and the Cylon players win. This is the most common way for the Cylons to win. Note that it ...
The base rules, page 17, has an "Example of a Skill Check" (emphasis added):
The player to the current player’s left plays two Skill Cards into the pile. The next player decides not to play any cards, and finally, the current player plays a single card.
I don't think they would have included this if a person had to play a skill card.
That's a great question. I never noticed that the setup rules only list the top three in the line of succession. We have always played as if the full line of succession were in play there. So in your example, the admiral would be Apollo. Not having an admiral (or president for that matter) would cause some significant game play issues. I have to assume the ...
Page 28 of the rulebook says:
Should the President or Admiral be revealed as a Cylon, the highest player in the line of succession for that title claims it.
so it will never go to the "next" person in line, always to the highest (non-Cylon).
Yes, you MUST always have an Admiral, just as you must always have a President. Page 28 of the rulebook has the full line of succession. If none of the players have selected a character from that initial list, the Admiral title simply goes to the next person on the full list:
Sometimes, it's known that someone has only "negative" colours. Forcing then to play makes no sense. We've never forbidden zero cards in the above scenario or any other, and this is supported by the rules.
Starting with the player that is Play Skills: to the left of the current player (and ending with the current player), each player may play any number ...
The fundamental problem you have in adding a character mid game is that the number of loyalty cards in circulation has to change. As to the options you proposed, having a character inactive but dealt loyalty cards is a bad idea because it throws off game balance. For example, if there is a five player game, there are two cylons in circulation (as opposed ...
You can try giving orders, but the other player is in full control of the actions.
For this reason, never XO the person to your left unless all Cylons have been positively identified. Giving a Cylon 3 actions in a row is very hard to overcome!
All of the loyalty cards are dealt out. The starting loyalty deck compositions have (2n - 1) cards in 4 and 6 player, where n is the number of players, so that when the sympathizer card is added, there are exactly enough loyalty cards.
The point of the sympathizer card is to be half a cylon, by being either a handicapped cylon (no super crisis, can't ...
The Cylons and the Cylon leader win the game, together. The Agenda Card condition indicates which side they favor. They will have another condition which seems counter to their allegiance, but they are predominantly on one side or the other.
From page 10 of the Pegasus rule book:
Note that Cylon Leaders may win with the humans or the Cylons, as
No, Cylon Leaders are restricted to one card in Sickbay.
From the Daybreak rules
An Infiltrating Cylon Leader draws one extra Skill Card from
within his Skill set during his “Receive Skills” step for a total of
three Skill Cards.
Hence, they only receive an extra card if they are receiving their normal 2 cards. Sickbay overrides it to only allow ...
Nothing happens. The Exodus rule regarding raiders launching states:
Launch Raiders or Activate Cylon Basestars: When either of these icons
is resolved, if there are no basestars on the main game board, place 1
basestar on the Cylon Fleet game board, according to the placement
rules below, and advance the Cylon pursuit marker one space on the
However, Iron Will's second part will still trigger and cause a loss of morale if the check is 0 or less (e.g. if you Jury Rigged on a 7 check and get 0).
Iron Will doesn't make you pass. It just stops the labelled fail effect from triggering. It isn't a loophole in general; sometimes you miss out on good stuff on the pass, occasionally you ...
There is some strategies that can make you human group win. Is hard to fight the cylons in the board game (exactly like the TV show), but not impossible, even without changing the resources markers to a easier scenario. Here some of them:
Have a balanced team, including the Support character: try to establish a balanced team, considering the number of ...
From page 28 of the rulebook:
To make the game easier for the human players, start the game with 2 more of each resource (10 food, 10 fuel, 12 morale, and 14 population).
However, it's worth mentioning that the core game is very balanced, especially with 5 players. The expansions arguably make it more difficult.
It sounds like you're not playing very ...
Your guess is correct.
At the end of a player’s Movement step, if his character is in the same location as an ally token, he must encounter that token’s corresponding Ally Card before proceeding to his Action phase.
In the brig, you cannot leave during your movement step voluntarily. Leaving will normally occur as a result of using the action on the brig ...
This is corrected in the official FAQ: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/Battlestar_Galactica/bsg_FAQ_1-1-3-new.pdf
On page 28, the rules for Line of Succession should read “Should the
President or Admiral be revealed as a Cylon, the highest player in
the line of succession for that title claims it.”
The strategies vary based on which expansions are being used and the number of players in the game. For purposes of this answer, I'll assuming you're using ONLY the base game and Daybreak (which is my favorite way to play BSG), and have a full complement of 7 players (including a Cylon Leader).
Overall, Battlestar is a resource management game. For the ...
The situation of having only one Cylon in a 5/6 player game is possible if using the Exodus rules for execution and loyalty deck setup. The Exodus expansion added the concept of "You are not a Cylon" deck in addition to the Loyalty deck, and also an additional step to Human Execution:
The player adds one card from the “You Are Not a Cylon” deck to the
The best you can do is to say that a game will be "minimal spoilers" as opposed to "no spoilers". Problem is, someone who's more perceptive in observation and putting two and two together will notice things that give away plot points, personalities, and situations from the various cards. Hell, many of the crisis cards depict struggles in the TV show, with ...
The rules for placing ships on the Cylon fleet board are awkwardly placed over two pages and it appears you missed the second section. The situation is considerably more dire for the humans that how you played it. The basestar shows up on the main game board and usually brings a party with it.
If all ships of the appropriate type are already on either ...
I don't see why they would be treated any different. The rules say
At the end of a player’s Movement step, if his character is in the
same location as an ally token, he must encounter that token’s
corresponding Ally Card before proceeding to his Action phase.
Just because you don't leave those areas voluntarily doesn't mean you don't have a Movement ...
No. From the rulebook (pg. 15):
During the Prepare for Jump step of every subsequent New Caprica Crisis Card, when an evacuation icon appears, the current player takes one civilian ship from the top of the Prepared Civilian Ships stack and moves it to any space area with a viper launch icon.
There's no mention that it can happen any other way.
To be ...
Keep the Mutiny well managed. You don't want all 3 humans in the Brig.
if the cylon president already has a Mutiny, use Admin to force the president title to a human
Use the other Colonial One location to discard a Mutiny card without playing a harmful effect
Use Treachery that gives characters Mutiny to Brig unrevealed cylons
Play Mutiny cards ...
Political Prowess is not an Action card, what means that it can be used at any moment. You can use it in the Brig situation described in your question. Likely, you can use this card to:
Brig someone automatically in the Admiral Quarters location.
Change the President title in the Administration location.
This can be a powerful card if used at the right ...