Hot answers tagged

13

Under the current rules, you can bestow despite "you can't cast creature spells." The rules changed in the Magic Origins rules update to tweak the spell casting procedure and also to address the bestow interaction explicitly. Matt Tabak (then the rules manager) writes: I made some tweaks to the procedure of casting a spell or activating an ability. It ...


10

No, as you've said in your question, all of the blockers have already been declared. There's not another opportunity to declare blockers, especially not after combat damage has been dealt! The steps of combat are: beginning of combat declare attackers declare blockers combat damage end of combat Your creature presumably doesn't die until the combat damage ...


10

First gatherer note on Hypnotic Siren: If you Hypnotic Siren for its bestow cost, and you gain control of a creature with a constellation ability, that ability will trigger when Hypnotic Siren enters the battlefield. You'll controll [sic] that triggered ability. Looks like the answer is "yes".


9

When a card is exiled with Nightveil Specter, you may play it in any way it could normally be played under all the normal restrictions (such as timing, paying costs, etc). In the case of exiling Eidolon of Countless Battles (or any other bestow creature), this means you can pay the bestow cost to cast the spell as an enchantment aura. When a creature card ...


9

No, because whilst Nylea's Emissary is bestowed on another creature, it isn't itself a creature - it's just an Enchantment — Aura. Its card type might be Enchantment Creature — Cat, but whilst it's bestowed, that's overwritten to just make it an Enchantment — Aura. That's thanks to the following two rules: 702.102a (the expanded ...


8

Yes, you can, for both. Prophet of Kruphix allows you to cast "Creature Cards" as though they had flash. Thassa's Emissary IS a Creature Card. It's NOT a "Creature", as a "Creature" is a permanent on the battlefield, which it isn't while it's in your hand or on the stack. But it IS a "Creature Card", and that's all that matters. See rules for Bestow, noting ...


8

Your opponent controls the Nighthowler. Control of an enchantment and control of the object it enchants are independent. Changing control of a permanent doesn't automatically change control of any Auras or Equipment attached to that permanent. Your opponent still controls the Nighthowler, even while you control the creature it enchants. And your opponent ...


8

Your opponent never had control of Herald of Torment. When he took your creature, he only took the creature; he did not take control of any auras (or equipment) attached to it. So in this case, he would have control of a creature that has an aura that you control on it. This means that the creature would have +3/+3 and flying like usual; and YOU would lose 1 ...


8

601.5. A player can’t begin to cast a spell that’s prohibited from being cast. So you are exactly right EDIT: not correct anymore


7

A spell is cast and will trigger any 'on cast' triggers when all of the steps of casting the spell are complete and it is on the stack 601.2h. Once the steps described in 601.2a-g are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. At that point it only matter what the spell ...


7

Yes. 603.6d Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. Continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. [...] We're trying to determine if the ability triggers for when Hypnotic ...


6

According to the definition of "Bestow" (702.102a), the card will enter as an Aura spell. "Bestow [cost]" means "You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost." and "If you chose to pay this spell’s bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature. The game will remove the Creature type from the card. Since Human ...


6

There's just one point to check at, once the spell is fully cast: 601.2h Once the steps described in 601.2a–g are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. In those words, the triggers happen when a spell becomes cast. They don't look at the whole process, just that one ...


6

As long as a creature card with Bestow is enchanting a creature, it is an Aura Enchantment and not a Creature. So, Humility will not affect it. The rules for Bestow and type changing say 702.102a Bestow represents two static abilities, one that functions while the card with bestow is on the stack and another that functions both while it’s on the stack ...


5

It becomes a creature, because the rules make a special exception for bestow. Even though you've cast your creature with bestow as an aura spell, when it resolves, it can end up as an aura or a creature. From the bestow section of The Mechanics of Theros: If the target creature leaves the battlefield after you cast a card with bestow as an Aura but before ...


5

Aqueous Form goes to the graveyard. It doesn't attach to the newly-a-creature Thassa's Emissary, because it wasn't enchanting Thassa's Emissary - it was enchanting the Cyclops, which has left the battlefield. Bestow comes with exceptions that let Thassa's Emissary simply become an Enchantment Creature once it's no longer attached, but there's nothing ...


5

In addition to the answer you've already gotten, I want to point out that Spiteful Returned doesn't say 'another enchanted creature'; it specifically uses the phrasing 'when enchanted creature attacks'. This refers to the creature that Spiteful Returned is enchanting, and that creature only; if you have Spiteful Returned in play and, say, a Bloodcrazed ...


4

Close, but not quite. Bestow is an alternative way of casting the card, once you choose to cast it not for its Bestow cost it is a regular 3/3 Enchantment Creature with Trample (It isn't enchanting itself so it doesn't get +3/+3 from its ability). There is no way to attach it to a creature once you have cast it as a Creature. 702.102. Bestow 702....


4

Yes, only blue (or artifact) creatures can block it. Cavern Lampad unfortunately doesn't include reminder text for Intimidate, but if it did, it would say "This creature can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or creatures that share a color with it.". It's granting the ability to your blue creature, so it's that creature's color that matters. Yes,...


4

Depends on the situation. Normally, when a creature dies (goes to the graveyard) or gets exiled, all attached enchantments are moved to the graveyard as well. 704.5n If an Aura is attached to an illegal object or player, or is not attached to an object or player, that Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. Unless you have a bestow enchantment: 702....


3

You may sacrifice Underworld Coinsmith, and then you may sacrifice Hopeful Eidolon. Whenever a creature dies, all of its enchantment(s) become unattached. Normally, they would be sent straight to the graveyard as a state based action. However, enchantments with Bestow immediately become a creature instead due to rule CR 702.102a. The commonly used slang ...


3

When you cast a card for its bestow cost; it becomes an Aura Enchantment spell; and does not act as a creature in any way. So Nighthowler can never attack nor block while it is attached to another creature as an aura. Nighthowler does not have a power or toughness while it is an aura. You add +X/+X to the enchanted creature, where X is the number of ...


2

303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or “enchants,” that object or player. Since Nyxborn Eidolon has no Auras attached to it, it's not Enchanted. More importantly, it's not enchanted by Spiteful Returned. Spiteful Returned's triggered ability only triggers when Spiteful Returned or the creature it ...


2

Dictate of Erebos' effect goes onto the stack for each instance it was triggered. The Hopeful Eidolon becomes a creature as soon as the creature it's attached to is removed from the battlefield so it will be a creature before the second Erebos trigger resolves, so you may sacrifice it.


2

In both case, the Nighthowler becomes a permanent[CR 702.102e], and it remains under your opponent's control. I say "remains" because you never controlled it. Taking control of a permanent does not grant you control of any effects affecting the permanent, any equipment equipping it or any auras enchanting it. There's no reason for it to switch "to your side"...


1

Yes, you need a blue and/or artifact creature to block a blue creature enchanted with Cavern Lampad From the Basic Rule book Intimidate A keyword ability seen on creatures. A creature with intimidate can’t be blocked except by creatures that share a color with it and/ or artifact creatures. For example, a red creature with intimidate could be ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible