33

From my copy of the rulebook: If an effect of another tile or card leads to the Mystic Elevator (such as the Collapsed Room or Secret Passage), the token placed by that effect stays on the Mystic Elevator tile even if it moves. Emphasis mine. It doesn't explicitly say that the token remains functional, but that clearly seems to be the intent. I've also ...


19

The FAQ/Errata, found here, clarifies that these rooms can each only be used once per player per game. Chapel, Gymnasium, Larder, Library -- Can you stay in one of these rooms turn after turn to increase an attribute? No. Each character can receive the benefit from each room just once per game (one boost for each trait for each player, if all ...


12

Using paper clips works great! The little loopy bit can frame the numbers. They stay in place, but can easily be moved and removed. They don't damage the cardboard, and you can use plain silver ones, or get colored plastic coated paperclips.


12

Following the haunt, the game tends to become semi-cooperative, with one antagonist. In those cases, while you're not controlling a character, you could certainly offer advice and contribute to group-thinking. I certainly think that answer, in line with previous ones, is most appropriate, but if you're desperate to house-rule an alternative, how about this "...


12

Yes, you must always roll for the bad stuff that can happen to you for leaving a room, no matter how or why you are leaving the room. From the official FAQ (which for some reason stopped being linked on the Wizards/Avalon Hill websites with the release of Widow's Walk): Attic, Graveyard, Junk Room, Pentagram Chamber -- If something like the Mystic Slide ...


11

I interpret "moving past an opponent" as walking into a room with an opponent It doesn't say "to move past an opponent", it says "to leave that room." Is there a movement penalty if you are ALREADY in the room with your opponent at the beginning of a turn? Yes, there's a movement penalty for leaving a room with an opponent. This penalty is not ...


11

For a more concrete and official answer, this is from the Wizards of the Coast errata page for the game: How much do you have to reveal about what you are doing to the other side? You should announce the purpose of any action you are taking to the other side -- for instance, "I am making an exorcism roll now," or "This roll is to see whether the house ...


11

1) Yes you would die from the sanity loss. From the rule book (page 9): Once the haunt begins, if any of your traits (Speed, Might, Sanity, or Knowledge) moves down to the skull symbol, your explorer dies. This does not differentiate in any way between taking direct damage and any other forms of stat loss, so gaining the Madman can kill you if your ...


11

When the haunt was revealed, one player becomes a traitor (or in some scenarios, is removed entirely), and the rest become heroes. Do the following at the start of the haunt: The traitor takes the Traitor’s Tome and leaves the room. The traitor reads only the haunt that is starting now. The rest of the players become heroes. They look up the ...


11

Most Omens are also regular items, yes. From the first edition rulebook (sorry, second edition rulebook isn't available online anywhere). Most omen cards (except the Bite card) are also items you keep, and they’re used like other items. And Some omens, like the Dog, aren’t items at all, so they can’t be dropped or traded. They’re companions that ...


11

Yes, you can. The Angel's Feather reads: When you attempt a roll of any kind, you can call out a number from 0 to 8. Use that number instead of rolling the dice. Discard this item after you use it. The feather explicitly says it can be used for a roll 'of any kind'. That's different from a lot of effects in the game which only apply to skill rolls. The ...


10

Some ideas that have worked out alright in games of Betrayal I've played: Let the knocked out player control one of the monsters (if there are more than one and player knowledge wouldn't make much difference). Move the knocked out player onto the control team of another player's character. Start the game with some number of additional characters (controlled ...


10

I use the mobile apps, they not only keep track of stats but help with the haunt scenarios. Here is the link for IOS and another for Android. I have only used the IOS one but it works well


10

You don't have to do anything on your turn, so if all players agree there's no reason you couldn't give the player who discovers the vault all the turns until they open it. However, I'd suggest this is tactically a bad idea for the players not in the vault. Until the haunt starts you don't know who is on your team. An individual player could increase his or ...


9

If you kill the Hero on the Hero's turn (or during your monsters' turn), then you don't get to do anything with the items; you can only pick up items on your own turn. (Though you can steal an item on your opponent's turn in lieu of inflicting at least 2 points of damage, as normal. But then you didn't kill the Hero.) If you killed the Hero on your turn, ...


9

The rules for sealing off rooms have this line at the end: If all the remaining tiles for a floor would seal off the floor, then the person whose turn it is rearranges the floor until there are more free doorways. It seems reasonable to infer that this rule would also apply if adding the necessary room for the Haunt also seals off the floor. Thus the ...


9

Yes, your movement will always end after you enter a newly discovered room with a symbol in it. This does mean you can have some claustrophobic haunts, but it is the way the game is played.


8

I wouldn't expect the rules to say anything about this; the card text is intended to be the rules. There's also nothing in the FAQ about it. Angel Feather reads: When you attempt a roll of any kind, you can call out a number from 0 to 8. Use that number instead of rolling the dice. To me, that fairly clearly implies that you choose the number before you ...


8

Both the Rabbit's Foot and the Angel Feather have extremely generic text; the Rabbit's Foot says once during your turn, you may reroll one die; the Angel Feather says When you attempt a roll of any kind... The only restriction I can see is that both the Rabbit's Foot and the Angel Feather must be used by the player who revealed the Omen card and is making ...


8

When the haunt begins, the player to the left of the traitor always takes the first turn. It doesn't matter who had the last turn (the person to reveal the haunt will not always be the traitor). There are a couple scenarios that change this, but they will specify their own rules in the haunt description. Rulebook, page 11: Haunt Turn Order The first ...


8

Any time you enter a newly-drawn room, you must resolve the symbol in that room if it has one. The only way a room can appear in the house without having you enter that room at the same time is during a Haunt's setup instructions. During these setup instructions, you will ignore any symbols in the rooms, because there is no player entering the room to ...


8

What is the point/benefit of the dog? The main purpose is to trade objects between players. Say that a character gains the Revolver item, which allows them to use Speed to attack. If the character who found it has a low speed, they can use the dog to give it to another player with a higher speed, without having to take the time to meet up with them on their ...


8

I'd suggest playing with 2 characters each. When the haunt starts, the player who controls the traitor hands their non-traitor character over to the other player to control.


7

Page 12 of the rules book (you can download a copy from WotC here) says that those companions remain in the room and are picked up whenever another explorer enters that room (this appears to be mandatory, whereas it is optional for explorers to pick up dropped items).


7

Yes, you can choose not to move. The rules on movement state: Moving On your explorer’s turn, you can move up to number of spaces equal to your character’s current Speed. "Up to" includes 0 spaces. Note that if you stay in the elevator for your entire turn, then the elevator will move again. From the FAQ: Heroes must roll for their destination ...


7

"Lose one sanity" instructs you to reduce one specific stat, which is quite different from taking one point of mental damage, and so are the situations were both occur. While taking damage results in stat loss, I don't think stat loss is damage. The existence of a difference between the two is supported by the game using both "lose 1 from a mental trait" and ...


7

Yes, drawing a card for any reason ends your movement. As you pointed out, the rules (page 5) make it clear that drawing a room tile with a card symbol does this: The first time you discover a room with a card symbol, you must end your move in that room and draw the appropriate card. The rules for movement (page 4) clarify this further: Whenever a ...


7

The house is still in danger of blowing up. The FAQ clarifies that the traitor still gets turns: A dead traitor can still move monsters, etc., during his turn. If this weren't true, the heroes could usually pull off an easy win by killing the traitor and then taking their sweet time to scour the house for helpful items. This would be imbalanced, boring, ...


7

There are no special rules regarding the Mystic Elevator as a newly discovered room. So yes, Mystic Elevator is just like any other room and can be discovered from the Collapsed Room (or any other rooms that require you to draw new rooms). If the issue is that thematically, an elevator isn't something you should be able to fall into from above; remember ...


7

No, a hero cannot become a traitor unless the rules of the scenario cause him to become one. Allowing that would be no different than allowing a traitor to simply declare "I am a hero". Now, technically a hero can help the traitor if he wants to in a number of ways; but if the traitor wins that player would still lose.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible