Skip to main content

New answers tagged

3 votes

Where would modern bridge players draw the line in the following paradigm?

Two statements here, before it goes into the weeds: One of my rules (which nobody I trust disagrees with) is "Once you have decided your hand is an X, it remains an X no matter what happens. It ...
Mycroft's user avatar
  • 2,873
4 votes

Do good bridge players open one diamond and rebid two clubs when they are "weak?"

In addition to what @Alexander Woo says, I disagree that the 5=5 minor hand should rebid a "limiting" (not "signoff". You're unlimited) 1NT. Treatments (and system continuations) ...
Mycroft's user avatar
  • 2,873
9 votes

Do good bridge players open one diamond and rebid two clubs when they are "weak?"

I think your second bid should be 2D. A rebid of 2N should promise an invitational hand, and I don't think that hand qualifies, particularly since you have a misfit (and hence partner's 5th diamond ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
2 votes

What are the arguments for and against raising a "one over one" response with three to an honor?

To take off on Ruds' excellent answer, you should have bid game on your own, after 1NT (which promised at least two spades). The reason is that your hand is far stronger than its nominal strength ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes

Am I underestimating the differences between these two hands if I bid them the same way?

With the edits and the change in focus, my other answer (while still valid, and I will refer most of my arguments for what I state here, there) looks like it's a little odd. Mostly because it assumes ...
Mycroft's user avatar
  • 2,873
3 votes

What are the arguments for and against raising a "one over one" response with three to an honor?

There are really two questions in this question: first, what are the merits and demerits of "raising on three," as it's called, and second, what went wrong in the auction on the given hand? ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 6,408
3 votes

What does it mean when the laws say that a forcing 1NT response cannot guarantee invitational values?

You are referring not to the laws, but to the ACBL's convention charts, which govern the conventions that are legal to play in ACBL-sanctioned events. In the Basic chart, which is designed for events ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 6,408
3 votes

If a responder to a strong 1NT bid is 5-4 in the majors, would it make better sense to use Stayman rather than a transfer bid?

You have discovered the problem that the Smolen convention was invented to solve. If you agree to play Smolen, after the auction starts 1NT-2C-2D, a bid of three of a major shows 4 cards in that major,...
ruds's user avatar
  • 6,408
7 votes

Am I underestimating the differences between these two hands if I bid them the same way?

Short answers: Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. That's what makes bridge interesting. There is no right answer(*). It depends on your partner, your partnership, your agreed system, your opponents, the state of ...
Mycroft's user avatar
  • 2,873
3 votes

Was it reasonable for me to pass my partner's 2NT bid?

I'm going to disagree with Mycroft here. Not because his analysis is unsound - it's great, in its proper place - but because his premise is. The nuances he discusses so well simply don't exist unless ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar

Top 50 recent answers are included