Hot answers tagged

10 votes

Wild card discard in Canasta

This depends on which type of Canasta you are playing. Classic Canasta, which in my experience is the most common and what you will find rules for in most sources, does not have any such restriction. ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
6 votes

In Canasta, if the pile is frozen, must you take the whole pile or can you take just the top one?

You always take the entire discard pile, whether it is frozen or not does not affect this. There is no way in the game to only take the top card without taking the rest. From the rules: Under ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
6 votes

Replacing red threes

If you are dealt red 3s, you place them in front of you and draw replacements before the hand even begins; before it would be your first turn. The Deal Each player must immediately place face-up in ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
5 votes

Can you pickup just the wild card on frozen pile in canasta?

No, you can't. The discard pile can never be picked up while a wild is on top. In order to pick up a frozen pile, you must have 2 naturals in hand that match the card on top of the pile. Rules ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
4 votes

Canasta - Discard Pile Pick-up

Yes. Here are a few sources to confirm this. Hoyle gaming says "you can pick up the discard pile if you can use the upcard in an existing meld or in a new meld" and that a "canasta is a meld." ...
SocioMatt's user avatar
  • 7,785
4 votes
Accepted

Initial meld and additional pair of same rank

Yes, you can do this, but you have the order wrong. You don’t first meld, and then pick up the discard pile. First you show the 8,8 from your hand, and lay them down along with the enough other cards ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
4 votes

Initial meld with a canasta

The value of the cards in the canasta counts as points in the meld; but the 300 bonus points for the canasta does not. This means that in your example, you would be melding 120 points worth (50 for ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Can you play a wild card on an existing Canasta to go out?

Yes. You can add to existing melds in general; whether going out or not. This includes adding a wild to an existing Canasta. A player may add additional cards to a meld by his side, provided that ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Putting opponent’s cards in your hand in canasta

The Official Rules of Canasta describes optional point penalties for certain Irregularities in the play. Point Penalties Penalties paid in points, rather than by forced plays that rectify ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
3 votes

Discarding after picking up discard pile in Canasta

There is no rule specifying what type of cards you discard so it is up to the player to decide if they want to discard a dead card or a wild card. Canasta Rules When a player has melded his cards, ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14k
3 votes

Taking Discard Pile with One Natural Card in Hand

The Rules of Canasta clearly state: TAKING THE DISCARD PILE When the discard pile is not frozen against his side, a player may take it: a) with a natural pair matching the top card as above; or b) ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
3 votes

Canasta Going Out with Stock Exhausted and Only One Card in Hand and Discard Pile

No, you cannot. Whether the stock is exhausted or not, a player with only one card in hand cannot take a discard pile that only has one card in it. Quoting from multiple rules since with Canasta, ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Beginners question

No. Once a meld is laid down, you can add to it, but you can't ever take cards back away from it. There is not really a specific rule I can quote saying this; rather it is simply that none of the ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Canasta opening with jokers

No. Any valid meld in Canasta needs to have at least 2 naturals in it, so wilds by themselves are not enough. From Bicycle: A meld is valid if it contains at least two natural cards of the same ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

What are you allowed to do if you only have 1 card in hand, and no Canastas yet?

If the player cannot pick up the discard pile because he cannot meld the card on top, or it is frozen, then he has to pick up the top card of the draw stack, and just discard 1. He has no other choice....
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Canasta - initial pickup

No, this is not allowed. Drawing cards, whether from the deck or the discard pile, is always the first step in a turn. You cannot play any melds until after you have drawn. After drawing, but ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Canasta: Rules to pick up discard pile when frozen or not frozen

You are mostly correct; except in your understanding of the wilds. To determine if you are allowed to pick up the (entire) discard pile; follow these rules: If the discard pile is frozen, you can ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Canasta undo melds

Talking about in-game help sounds like it's describing a computer implementation of the game, but I'm not sure what implementation it's referring to. That being said, in real-life play, it's possible ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

Can a deck be unfrozen by only using the top card

You can never pick up only the top card of the discard pile. You always either pick up the entire discard pile, or draw from the regular draw pile. This does not change at all whether the pile is ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
3 votes

in Canasta, is it allowed to pick up from a frozen pile?

If the pile is frozen, you must have two more tens in your hand in order to pick up the discard pile. If the discard pile were not frozen, you could pick up the discard pile as long as you can meld ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes

Canasta rules for melding and picking up pile

Yes, assuming that your total point value of the meld meets your minimum. From various sites that gives rules for Canasta: A meld must contain at least two natural cards and not more than three ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes

Canasta and the rules on invalid melding

There are two different rules that pertain to this and it will differ based on the exact rules being played at the time. Some rules list for the first meld you would take it back but have a penalty ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14k
2 votes

Canasta - picking up stock pile

Yes, you can do that. From the rules: UNFREEZING THE DISCARD PILE A frozen discard pile is unfrozen only by being taken. When the discard pile is topped by a wild card or a black three, ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes

Canasta Melding with insufficent points

If playing with the 10 point penalty, then the penalty would be incurred in this case. First of all, the 10 point penalty is not a universal rule. Out of many different sources of Canasta rules, I ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes
Accepted

Using an existing Canasta to pick up the discard pile

Yes, you can add to a Canasta just like you can add to any other meld. Source: Additional cards may be added to a canasta to score their point values, but these do not affect the bonus - except ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes

Canasta Playing Wild Card on a Canasta

It depends on which rulebook you follow. Most commonly, Canasta rules say that a legal meld cannot contain more than 3 wild cards: A meld is valid if it contains at least two natural cards of the ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes

Canasta- using the top card of a non frozen pile to a canasta meld

Yes, a Canasta is not diffferent than any normal meld when it comes out adding more cards to it. You can add another card to your Canasta whether that extra card comes from your hand, or if it is the ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes

Can I move a wildcard after melding if I get 3 natural cards in canasta?

No. There is no specific rule that I can point to in the various online resources I know to quote; but there is nothing in the rules that says that this would be allowed. You can add additional ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
2 votes

Does adding a deck change the odds?

Adding an extra deck definitely increases the chance that someone will get a Canasta because cards are drawn without replacement. The point is easiest to see via a drastic oversimplification. Take a ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
2 votes

Going Out with Stock Exhausted

You cannot play anything unless it is your turn. The rules for the stock being exhausted don't allow any player to act outside of their regular turn. The only difference between an exhausted stock or ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible