38

I found this rule very quickly in the rules. In the rare circumstance where a drawn tile has no legal placement (and all players agree), the player discards the tile from the game (into the box) and draws another tile to place For example:


37

A city in Carcassonne is completed when their are no places you can possibly add any additional tiles to grow that city. Three Cities, A, B, & C. Three Tiles that can be laid down (1,2, & 3) in the Green Square.. So in this first picture; only city "B" is completed (3 tiles); as you cannot add any more tiles to that specific city; city A &...


21

Basic Rules: On your turn you place a tile. After placing the tile you can place your meeple onto any uncontrolled feature on that tile. After placing meeples, all completed features are scored. Assuming that you are trying to gain some control of a controlled city Let's assume the situation is this: In the situation that you have presented you have ...


17

A city is completed when it has a fully connected border and the area within that border is completely filled. If the tiles that form the city have other city pieces, then as long as those pieces aren't part of the city then the city is still completed. One way to think of it is to imagine that you're working in MS Paint. If you drew the borders of the city ...


15

According to the rules: Each field is worth 3 points per adjacent completed city. So the city must share a line with the field. It does this for three of the cities. The small vertical city is adjacent to two fields which does not connect to the field with the red meeple, so this one does not count.


14

Yes, depending on how many players there are and what expansions are being played, the game will sometimes end with one or more players having played one tile less. Furthermore, some tiles can become discarded. At times, early on in the game, a four sided city tile has no where to go and thus has to be discarded; the player draws again, and upsets the tile ...


14

You could do, the game would work perfectly well without farmers. I would argue against it because this still leaves the new players in a position where they don't see farms being used and don't see how they can score highly if placed well despite the long-term sacrifice of a piece. In my experience with teaching Carcassonne, players tend to go very ...


13

You can only place it on the tile you just placed. From the Rio Grande edition rules: After the player places a land tile, he may deploy one of his followers, using the following rules: The player may only play 1 follower on a turn. The player must take it from his supply. The player may only deploy it to the tile he just placed. While the Z-Man edition ...


12

As mentioned in the comments, I think the U-turns of the river in your example board are invalid; see (this version of) the rules. If, as you say "We must also exclude possibilities that become unplayable when the river curves in onto itself.", the Java program at the bottom will calculate all possible boards, with the caveat that it distinguishes between ...


11

If you're playing with the River (or the River II) don't play with the start tile from the basic game - it has a different coloured back and so will stand out during the tile draw.


11

At any time when the builder is on the table, it functions as documented in the rules. The number of builders in a single city does not affect the way in which each builder functions. Nor does the number of knights. Only the active player gets an extra play if he/she extends the road or city. A builder can be deployed even if there are thieves, knights, or ...


11

No, that's just scenery. The inns all have lakes next to them. This copy of the rules appears to be for the new edition (it says ©2002, 2015 and it doesn't look quite like my copy of the original edition) and the inns all have an obvious lake right next to them. For example:


9

From the Carcassonne FAQ: Q: I have memorised all the tiles. Am I allowed to play a tile when I know that by doing so I am creating a space which can never be filled, either because the required tile doesn't exist or because all the possible tiles have already been played? A: Yes, that is permitted. But be aware that, if by doing so, you have ...


8

The list of expansions that add pieces for each player are as follows: Base game 7 meeples, plus one for scoring. Inns & Cathedrals Adds the Big Meeple. Traders & Builders Adds the Builder and the Pig. Abbey & Mayor Adds the Mayor, the Barn, and the Wagon. Bridges, Castles, and Bazaars Adds 2-3 bridges and 2-3 castles, depending on the ...


8

A couple points of advice here - 1) One easy way to teach the farm mechanic is to run through a sample game of perhaps 5 turns. Make sure to drop a farmer or two during this sample and at the end go through the scoring process. This will get you to the "aha" moment that people have about farmers much more quickly. 2) the game can certainly work without ...


8

It seems like the rules have changed since we bought our copies of Carcassonne. Two-tile cities are now worth two points per tile (four points total) like any other city. I have an old copy published by Rio Grande. In its rules, the following exception is found: Exception: a 2 tile city does not get 2 points per tile A newer copy of the rules (dated ...


7

I accept the answer, but doing a little bit research, I found in the Complete Annotated Rules the following: The original starting tile can either be mixed into the stack of river tiles, or placed as soon as the river has been completed, and is treated like a normal tile. And an additional house rule: Mix the original starting tile (without a river) ...


7

The Mayor's ability allows him to count as more than one follower. So at the end of the game, an unfinished city is scored as normal - compare the Mayor's effective follower number with that of any other player present in the city. The player(s) with the most followers each score one point per city tile, and one point for each pennant. The only special case ...


7

To answer the first half of the question: Which of the three road pieces would be considered valid placements for the meeple? (cited from the Complete Annotated Rules ver 7.4 pages 142-143 available here) Alternatively, the player may place a follower as a flier on a flying machine symbol to get the follower in the game.[378][379] The flying machine ...


7

Short and simple answer: The mayor cannot be placed in a castle. (From footnote 161 in the Carcassonne Complete Annotated Rules) If the mayor is in a city that is turned into a castle, you won't get any points from the mayor as there are no banners in a castle. In that case, the mayor will not be returned to you until the castle is scored (that is to say, ...


6

Just to add my 2 cents, I taught the game to my kids (when they were 9). Everything was easy, except how to explain to them the concept of farms. After a few games without any farms, I let them put some meeples inside a field after the game was finished so they could understand how farms work. Now they are playing with farms, but they are not very good with ...


6

Yes, you are missing something. 'Lucky guy' in your example gains the same benefit as 'clever guy', despite playing fewer field tiles. Each time you place a tile and cash in the accumulated points for that field you are foregoing a chance to (maybe) increase those points. The optimal number of points accumulated before cashing in depends strongly of the ...


6

You can only place a meeple on a tile you just placed. The Princess & Dragon expansion provides an exception to that rule. As Gendolkari already quoted, the rules in the vanilla game are clear: The player may only play 1 follower on a turn. The player must take it from his supply. The player may only deploy it to the tile he just placed. However, in ...


5

The answer I found on BoardGameGeek.com divides the turn into three phases: Draw and place tile. Place and move meeple (place or remove follower, move dragon and so on). Score points. So that would mean that Alice doesn't get any points, because her knight is removed before she can get any points, and this city's points are lost.


5

(adding to Kristo's answer because this is a bit too long for a comment) We regularly play "SuperUltraMega Carcassone" because we have most of the expansions and two copies of the basic game and we are, frankly, silly. It can take a couple of hours to play that way, but it's kind of fun and means we only have to clean up once. Plus there's the challenge of ...


5

In the current version of Carcassonne, two-tile cities are worth 4 points. But this is not the only rule that has changed between editions - farmer scoring has changed as well. Below are the scoring differences (copied from here): First Edition Scoring If a farmer can walk along the field to a city, he is connected to it. It can be fifty tiles ...


5

According to the FAQ you linked, the tile backs are compatible. If you want to restrict yourself to the new art style just to make it look pretty, you certainly can, but you'll be limited to any expansions that get (re)printed with the new style in the future. So if you want expansions now, you pretty much have to ignore the art difference. Among the older ...


5

As per the rules: When a feature (city, road, cloister, or farm) with the fairy is scored, the player whose follower stands on the tile with the fairy scores 3 points for standing there, and may score for the feature as normal. When scored, the follower returns to its owner, but the fairy remains. Make special note of "When scored, the follower returns ...


5

In the file Carcassonne CAR (this is the link https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/87531/carcassonne-standard-complete-annotated-rules ) page 52, section the tower, before note 120 says: "Whenever a player places a tower piece, he or she may take one follower prisoner. Builders and pigs cannot be taken prisoner" So any meeple than can be considered a follower ...


5

No. Redeployment of the Wagon following scoring (at the end of a turn) is a separate step from the figure deployment step (for the next turn), so it has no effect on any of the actions you can take during the figure deployment step, including moving the Fairy.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible