18

TL;DR I agree with player D's interpretation, but it's not clearly enough worded to be enforceable without prior agreement from other players. In a casual setting I would have agreed the interpretation, but allowed player A to re-do his go now that we'd agreed on the card's rules. Interpretation of the rules You may offer each Opponent a resource card ...


16

In a tournament, player D may get away with it; but he definitely wouldn’t at my house, or during any games I’ve played with friends. In a game that involves open negotiation and trade, intent is an important factor. When a player asks “anyone have a sheep” and anther responds “Sure. For a wheat?” Both players have to infer from the language that the other ...


13

You turn your city marker, and treat it as if it were a settlement. From the Catan FAQ: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - What happens if I have to downgrade a city to a settlement but don’t have another settlement in stock? Answer Turn one of your cities on its side and treat it as a settlement until you ...


12

From the original Catan rules: Important: If the production number for the hex containing the robber is rolled, the owners of adjacent settlements and cities do not receive resources. The robber prevents it. I think it's clear from that that a player doesn't receive production in the scenario that you outline, even if production in some sense occurs. ...


10

Yes, you are always limited to the number of pieces you have, no matter what that piece is. In the case of Cities and Knights, the Fortress does only allow you to upgrade your two strong knights (level 2) to mighty knights (level 3), which in itself is only an upgrade of 2 strength. However, in doing so, it also means that you can have up to six knights on ...


10

Your are correct. I believe that the official Cities and Kights rules are clear enough for this: Commodities are produced only by cities, and only in forest, pasture, and mountains. It might be different if Cities always produce commodities in C&K, but that's not that case. Cities on grain or brick don't produce commodities, and C&K rules ...


9

First, you check if Catan wins or not by comparing the strength of the barbarians (the number of cities) against strength of the knights (the sum of the value of active knights). In the event of a tie in the strengths, Catan wins. If the barbarians win, the player who contributed the least has one of their cities pillaged. In the event of a tie for the ...


9

You only collect two ore. The 4th edition cards(pg. 15) contain updated text which makes this clear. You may take two ore cards from the bank for each mountain hex which is adjacent to at least one of your cities or settlements. You can purchase an updated card deck. I think this is all you need to update your set to the latest edition.


8

Yes, This is answered by the online Catan FAQ. Can the players win against the barbarians if there is not one single city on Catan? Yes


8

Opinions will always vary, but what I think one can objectively say is that Cities & Knights adds more complexity and variation to the game as it adds several new dimensions: new resource types, new types of knights, new expansion cards and new 'privileges' gained as you expand your principality. So if this type of 'extra dimensions of complexity' is ...


7

In general, depending on how well you pay attention to the game and the rolls of dice, you can know almost all cards a player has or at the very least get a good impression of it. Since commodity cards are an important resource, I usually keep track of who has how many of them at a given time. (This is made slightly more difficult by rolls of 7 or playing ...


6

Roughly 15x16" for the base game. roughly 15x20" for the 5-6p expansion. About 17x28" for framed base game with C&K, and another 3.125" for 5-6p. Seafarers can be considerably larger... up to 24x36" I've not bothered with Traders and Barbarians, so I cannot speak to it. Note that the travel version (which is base game only) fits nicely on an airline ...


6

You cannot buy commodities using fish. http://download.catan.com/en/download/?combination-Fishermen_Cities-and-Knights.pdf If you discard 3 fish, you may draw one card from the hand of one of your opponents (Resource or Commodity Card). If you discard 4 fish, you may take resource card but not a commodity. The following applies also for the ...


6

Changes to the base game The biggest change in the base game is that the name has switched from "Settlers of Catan" to just "Catan". They've also updated the art (citation). Changes to seafarers Many of the scenario maps are different. It seems they used the maps from the 2008 German printing of seafarers when making 5th edition. The big change is that ...


6

It appears the FAQ addresses this kind of situation, and the answer is no. See question number 3 on this page of official catan FAQ: Progress Cards: General - May I play a Progress Card if playing it has no effect? If you know beforehand that playing the card will have no effect (e.g., the Foundry card, provided that you are not settling adjacent to ...


5

From the rules to Sefarers, page 6: If you roll a "7" during your turn, you may elect to move the pirate INSTEAD of the robber. From the Cities and Knights rules, page 5: The robber cannot be moved until after the barbarians reach the island of Catan for the first time. Since the robber can't be moved until the barbarians attack, neither can the ...


5

You receive your resource. In the German version the aqueduct description specifically states that it does not work if the seven is rolled. In all other cases it works as usual. You can find this clarification In the largest German FAQ for Catan, but I did not find an English source. This does however only apply if you did not get any resources and ...


5

Yes, you can do this. None of the Progress Cards have prerequisites that must be fulfilled. The rules do not give any limit on playing a Progress Card that's related to whether or not the Progress Card would help you at all. Here's the full rules for Playing Progress Cards: Playing Progress Cards During your turn, you may play as many Progress ...


5

You're right, the rules only state that the player loses one of thier cities but not how to determine which city. However, the mobile app comes in handy. I created the same conditions as you explained, and this is how they designed the game to handle the situation. So the player decides which of their cities get pillaged.


5

Yes. The rules text for Aqueduct is If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you may take any one resource of your choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ability when a "7" is rolled. I think the first sentence is sufficient evidence: the rule does not care about why you do not receive ...


5

Yes, you can steal from a player even if he has a city wall. The rules make no mention of a city wall having any effect on stealing from a player when the robber is moved. As you said, the only thing that the walls do is increase your hand limit by 2 for how many cards you can safely hold when a 7 is rolled. I can't say why the green city did not light up; ...


4

As Pat indicates in his answer, the Largest Army card is not used. The second part of this question hints at the Defender of Catan points that are awarded, which sort of take the place of Largest Army. When the barbarians reach Catan, if the total strength of active knights equals or exceeds the total number of cities, the player with the most total ...


4

Yes, like the Settlements and Cities, you are constrained by the number of knights you have to promote to Mighty knights (or any other type) 2 of each. You can always make house rules but the game was designed with the specific number of pieces they sent along.


4

Here is a link to the Completely Annotated Rules & Almanac for Catan Cities and Knights by Derek Whaley on BGG. I don't know how official this can be, but the turn overview on page 8 makes it quite clear that you can't use a Knight action before rolling the dice: The player who placed the last city takes the first turn. Each player, going clockwise ...


4

It is not explicitly stated in the rules. A large Catan faq (German only) argues that, because the rules don't distinguish between metropoles from different branches, the player who owns them may decide which one to revert. What you describe is a common house rule (I use it as well). In the faq it is mentioned that some people paint the metropoles to make ...


4

The English rules are correct; you still must discard half your hand if you are holding too many cards. You can find the latest edition of the rulebook on catan.com here. It says; The robber cannot be moved until after the barbarians reach the island of Catan for the first time. Until the first barbarian attack, if you roll a "7", each player must check ...


4

Correct, you cannot upgrade to another level 4 unless you first build another city. From the FAQ: City Improvements and Metropolises - May I upgrade a city to 2 metropolises at the same time? No. If you only have 1 city and already upgraded it to a metropolis, you are not allowed to build a 4th level of improvement in another area. Before you do ...


3

When the barbarians attack, they assume the strength of the total number of cities. Then we look at the total points of active knights on the board. When the knight points equal or surpass the barbarians strength, the Settlers are victorious. However, if there are more cities than knight points, the barbarians win. The actual difference does not matter after ...


3

Yes, you can take the same kind of action at multiple points in your turn. The relevant rule is: You may do any or all of the following in any order: – Trade resources and/or commodities with the bank and/or other players. – Build roads, settlements, cities, knights, city walls, and/ or city improvements. – Activate, promote, and/or perform ...


3

There's a German Q&A on this subject that says Knights are unaffected by volcanic eruptions. The reason for this is simply stated as "Because the rules on eruptions only describe the effects on settlements and cities, you can conclude that nothing happens to knights." I find this answer quite unsatisfactory, and I recommend that you decide before the ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible