3

Using the turn order described in base Catan, each player places a harbor settlement first and a regular settlement second on the starting island (each without a road). Your harbor settlement must be placed on one of the intersections marked with a circle (page 9). The regular settlement may be placed on any intersection, including those marked with a ...


2

There is no contradiction. A road is built between two hexes, hence it is adjacent to both these hexes. You can't build a road if one of these two hexes is undiscovered. You can build a road between two discovered hexes such that at the end of the road is an undiscovered hex; it's just that building this road doesn't "discover" the hex.


2

An intersection is formed at the point where three hexes meet. The intersection is hence adjacent to these three hexes. A settlement cannot be built if any of these three hexes is as yet undiscovered. The rule means nothing else, hence a settlement can definitely be built closer to an undiscovered hex than two road lengths away; it just has to be at least ...


2

Converting a settler to a settlement is done as part of the movement phase, and can't be done during the build and trade phase. This restriction to the movement phase can be missed in the English version of the rules because the sectioning is somewhat unclear; luckily we can clarify things a little using the title in the German version of the rules: ...


2

I'm not sure about the American editions (by Mayfair IIRC?), but for the German editions by Kosmos the answer is yes. The base game as well as the expansions had the material for 3 and 4 players, and all expansions and the base game each had an individual extension for 5th and 6th player. The expansions and their 5/6-extensions only contain the additional ...


1

In the rules: Discovering with Ships To discover new land, you must move one of your ships towards the unexplored areas of the board (example 3 A). If, after moving a ship, one of its ends (bow or stern) points toward the corner (intersection) of an undiscovered hex, you muist discover that hex (example 3 B). Turn the hex over. If it is a terrain hex, take ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible