15

No, it cannot. From the official Catan FAQ: Development Cards – Progress – Road Building - May I use a Road Building card to build 1 road and 1 ship? Yes. You must build them one after another though. You are not allowed to first build a road via a Road Building card, then build a settlement adjacent to that road by paying the required resources,...


10

Your are correct. I believe that the official Cities and Kights rules are clear enough for this: Commodities are produced only by cities, and only in forest, pasture, and mountains. It might be different if Cities always produce commodities in C&K, but that's not that case. Cities on grain or brick don't produce commodities, and C&K rules ...


9

This is a problem with this scenario in its current form. Sebastian Rapp, Catan's Product Manager, suggests lowering the points required to 8 since the point of this scenario is more to build ships and defeat pirates that to develop the starting island. Your idea of being able to build on the pirate islands is another fix, possibly with the stipulation that ...


9

Yes, the Road Building Development Card can be used for ships or roads. From the Seafarers rules, page 5. When playing the “Road Building” Development Card in a game of Seafarers, you have the option of building 2 roads, 2 ships, or 1 ship and 1 road.


8

No, you may not move it, your ship is not open. From the official site. A ship is “open” when it is located at the end of a ship route. As soon as a ship route connects two settlements, the ship route is considered as closed. A ship in a closed ship route can not be moved. This rule also applies if another player builds a settlement on the intersection of ...


8

Opinions will always vary, but what I think one can objectively say is that Cities & Knights adds more complexity and variation to the game as it adds several new dimensions: new resource types, new types of knights, new expansion cards and new 'privileges' gained as you expand your principality. So if this type of 'extra dimensions of complexity' is ...


8

The 5-6 player extentions contains tiles, number fiches and additional playing pieces so there is enough to play with more players. It contains scenario's for 5 and 6 players. You can play with 3 or 4 players on a 5 or 6 player board, but then the game becomes too easy. The board is just to big (contains too much resources) to have a challenging game. And ...


7

Changes to the base game The biggest change in the base game is that the name has switched from "Settlers of Catan" to just "Catan". They've also updated the art (citation). Changes to seafarers Many of the scenario maps are different. It seems they used the maps from the 2008 German printing of seafarers when making 5th edition. The big change is that ...


7

Generally speaking, no points are granted for expanding to an island. That said, some of the scenarios have a special rule that grant points for expanding to an island. For example, scenarios 1, 4, 8 and 9 have the following special rule: If you build a settlement on a foreign island, you receive a Special Victory Point! Take a Catan chit and place it ...


7

You should reveal the hex tile when you first build a ship that reaches it; you don't wait until you are building a settlement. From the rules: When a ship (or a road) is connected to an unexplored area, a new tile will be discovered! If you place a ship or road that connects to the intersection of an unexplored hex, you must immediately draw the ...


6

Roughly 15x16" for the base game. roughly 15x20" for the 5-6p expansion. About 17x28" for framed base game with C&K, and another 3.125" for 5-6p. Seafarers can be considerably larger... up to 24x36" I've not bothered with Traders and Barbarians, so I cannot speak to it. Note that the travel version (which is base game only) fits nicely on an airline ...


6

There is a clear distinction between placing and building. The road building card says you place them as though they are just built. The hex exploration is triggered by placement, not by building. So logically, you would explore the first road's adjacent hexes before you have to place the second road or ship. How else could you build the second ship/road ...


6

It's pretty obviously NO. Page 2 of the rules - Except where noted below, Catan: Seafarers uses the same rules as The Settlers of Catan On page 4 Shipping routes act as roads across water (or along the coast). You build and place ships in much the same way as roads AND it specifically states If your shipping route reaches a coastline, ...


6

Yes, I would suggest that it's possible! The frame is just a convenience feature of newer editions and was originally composed of normal water hexes.


6

Boats are like roads with a few exceptions: they must border at least on one side to water. they require wood and sheep to build. you can pivot the last ship in a row of ships (but it needs to stay connected). they are affected by pirates You can only change from road to ship (or ship to road) through a settlement (or city). In order to build a ...


5

From the rules to Sefarers, page 6: If you roll a "7" during your turn, you may elect to move the pirate INSTEAD of the robber. From the Cities and Knights rules, page 5: The robber cannot be moved until after the barbarians reach the island of Catan for the first time. Since the robber can't be moved until the barbarians attack, neither can the ...


4

Complementary to some of the advice above, I generally follow a two-step process, especially when I don't have first pick: (a) see which resource is going to be rarest in the game, by the numbers; (b) pick the most advantageous point on the best number hex for that resource. If I'm going last-first-round, first-second-round, this is especially powerful; ...


4

In my experience, small islands are usually not worth going for in the beginning of the game because the amount of territory you get access to is not worth the resource requirements. Obviously, the larger the island, the closer it is to your starting position, and the more dots worth of production, then the more worth while it is to go for. However, even if ...


4

The original German (I've the first German edition) uses the word sofort meaning immediately so from that I'd say no. Later and American/English versions may differ. However, under what circumstances can you not immediately follow the placing of the two roads with placing a settlement between them, within the same turn?


4

There are no official "sequels" but there is some stuff you can find online. CatanMaps.com is the largest library that I've found. They have about 50 Catan maps or scenarios (mostly for Seafarers), and they add to it regularly. The collection includes info on setting up official scenarios that didn't make it into the current handbook (Greater Catan, ...


4

It looks like you're mixing two things up. The Chits in this scenario are not the same chits as the victory points ones. I don't have the material at hand, but you could use something completely different for those chits (a coin for instance). It's just used to track your progress in the wonder you're building. The first time you pay the resources to build ...


3

You need to create a full shipping line. If you want to move a ship, you have to place it so that it is attached to another ship, or to a city or settlement. You can never reach another island with just one ship.


3

In terms of Settlers expansion combinations, the catan official website really is a one-stop-shop. They have a combination listing for Seafarers and Fishermen, here. It says a few things about fishing and ships, but not about the pirate blocking fishing spots. Based on that alone, I'd say the pirate does not block fishing. If that doesn't do it for you, ...


3

One clarification of the rules regards moving ships. In the 4th edition Seafarers Rulebook, there was a poor translation which made some people think that you could not ever move the ship that is closest to a homeport (i.e. you could never divorce a settlement and its first ship). The 4th edition rules stated: "You may only move the ship that is at the end ...


3

The tradeoffs are often the usual case... with more complexity, there's a higher learning curve, and all other factors being equal, the game takes longer. However, you do get more depth, strategies, and things to do. Features vary between publisher (e.g. Kosmos vs. Mayfair) and edition (3rd edition and 4th edition Seafarers have some maps that are NOT in ...


3

Even though Pat provided a formal rule that states that the pirate should be placed only on hexes I want to argue that placing it on the border should be allowed. Simply because the border represents (incomplete) hexes. Also it clearly provides places for boats, settlements and cities there where the normal hexes align with it. The border that my family and ...


3

When the 5th edition of Catan came out, I remember reading an official source (Catan FAQ) explaining that it would be completely backwards compatible. The only source I can find right now is this one: The 5th edition will also be fully backwards compatible to the previous 4th edition and will feature a more cohesive art style throughout all 4th and 5th ...


3

If you are on land, you can build settlements separated by (at least) two roads. If you want to go to another island, you should build a "road of" boats from a settlement. Until you reach land where you can build a settlement. From the settlement you can build roads again. You can build boats along the coast as long as they start at a settlement. You can ...


2

I consider these in the following order, mostly because those listed first are more obvious and easier to assess: resources production rates spacing / room to expand resource conversion potential at ports (trading with the bank) dependence of strategies on trading sizing up opponent Adding up the dots on the dice roll chips to get an idea of the production ...


2

I have played with both these expansions ever since I started playing. We have always played to 13 victory points and it has worked very well.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible