Hot answers tagged

49

Only the player who is currently taking their turn can win the game, so player C would be the winner. Official Rule: ENDING THE GAME If you have—or reach—10 victory points on your turn, the game ends immediately and you win! You can only win during your turn. If somehow you find you have 10 victory points during another player’s turn, you ...


48

Count the cards in the supply In Settlers of Catan you are always allowed to count the number of resources left in the supply decks. It is a perfectly legal move to count the deck before using the monopoly on a resource. This also means that after you got the resources you can just check how many you have in your hand, and how many are left in the deck. ...


48

This isn't really an ethics question, it's more that you and Player 2 haven't agreed on which game you're playing. You want to play a game that involves loose alliances and table talk. Player 2 wants to play a game with strict solo play and no talk. There's not much you can do here apart from agree, in advance, which version of the game you're playing. If ...


45

Significantly. The thing about 2d6 is that you've got a range of numbers that have a certain probability of them showing up. When you're rolling 2d6, your available numbers are 2-12. You're dropping off the number 1. Also, you have an escelating scale of percentage probability. 2's and 12's will happen 2.77% of the time (each). 3's and 11's will happen ...


44

Use the dice themselves as a reminder of whose turn it is. This avoids the need for any extra tokens or start player marker. If players roll them in front of themselves and then they physically pass them to the next player once their turn is over. It should then be clear whose turn it is. That way a player can't roll twice as dice are already in front of ...


41

It's 8 segments. The game rules say: The first player to build a continuous road (not counting forks) of at least 5 road segments, receives the Special Card “Longest Road”. [...] so you don't get to count the two-segment fork.


33

This is super clear in the rules. Under Build in the Game Rules section: You cannot build more pieces than what is available in your pool—a maximum of 5 settlements, 4 cities, and 15 roads. Then, later, under Build (Building) in the Almanac: You can build as many items and buy as many cards as you desire—as long as you have enough resources to “...


33

You can NOT hide the number of resource cards that are in your hand, so the premise in your question is incorrect. From the rules, page 8, under Knight Cards: However, you can always ask players about the number of cards they hold. And from the Official FAQ: Resource Cards - Am I obligated to tell my opponents the number of Resource Cards in my hand? ...


31

Based on my read of the rules, specifically the section in the Almanac on Maritime Trade, I don't see any reason why you couldn't trade at the 4:1 rate even when you have a better rate available. I even see this text: Generic Harbor (3:1): Here you may exchange 3 identical resource cards for 1 other resource card during your trade phase. The use of the ...


28

There is no real "correct" answer here, in terms of official game rules. It is going to depend completely on the friendliness/casualness of your playgroup. In a tournament setting, such a thing would need to be clarified in the tournament rules; otherwise a judge would need to be informed of the situation and make a ruling. My game group pretty much always ...


28

No Your first two settlements (placed during set-up) are special and can be placed in any valid position on the board, after that new settlements must be connected by road to existing settlements. The relevant parts of the rules are: Under building roads (bottom of page 4) it says "A new road must always connect to 1 of your existing roads, settlements, ...


27

Answering the question and its follow-ups: In general, you are not allowed to decline to take a resource. Page 12 of the rules gives a more detailed explanation of the rule Pat Ludwig cited. There is no option about whether or not to take a resource card if you place the robber next to a city/settlement of one or more players, all of whom have at least one ...


26

Yes, as it says in the rules you quoted you can only win on your turn Victory Conditions: Can I win during the special building phase? Answer: No. You can only win during your own turn. So yes if you reach 11 points and it is not your turn it doesn't matter and someone else will still win if they reach 10 points on their turn and it is before your next ...


26

No. Supplies are finite. If you need more settlements, you have to upgrade some to cities. As soon as you upgrade one settlement to a city, the settlement returns to your supply. The same goes for roads and cities, they too run out. As such, the longest possible road has length 15 (or 30 if you include ships from the Seafarers expansion).


25

To build a settlement, you just need to obey the relevant rules for building a settlement, which are: You may only build a settlement at an intersection if all 3 of the adjacent intersections are vacant (i.e., none are occupied by any settlements or cities—even yours). Each of your settlements must connect to at least 1 of your own roads. ...


25

a) Rolling a “7”✹ and Activating the Robber If you roll a “7,” no one receives any resources. Instead, every player who has more than 7 Resource Cards must select half (rounded down) of his Resource Cards and return them to the bank. https://www.catan.com/en/download/?SoC_rv_Rules_091907.pdf There's no mention of an exemption for the player who ...


24

We use Better Settlers. The Better Settlers Board Generator is for use with the offline board game Settlers of Catan. Not only does it allow for faster game setup, it generates a fair and engaging game. We love playing Settlers. We've noticed that sometimes the game seems to be over in the first fifteen minutes--and no matter how fairly we ...


24

This is not a card giveaway. You were under no obligation to make the second trade. For that reason, she is not, technically or otherwise, giving away a wheat for nothing.


23

Simple answer is no, it is not always in your best interest to immediately play a knight when you get one. In all truth I would say that it is better to hold onto it for a while unless the robber is currently in a position that is hurting you. By holding onto it you accomplish two things, first you keep protection for yourself allowing you to move the ...


23

From the official game rules: The starting player places a settlement on an unoccupied intersection of his choice. He places a road adjacent to this settlement. The other players then follow clockwise. Everyone places 1 settlement and 1 adjoining road. Once all players have built their first settlement, the player who went last in the first round ...


23

This is a perfectly legal, and quite common tactic. The Monopoly card has no play restrictions other than the typical "once per turn, not on the turn you got it" Dev card restrictions. It affects all resources of the named type in play, regardless of how long the other players have owned those resources. Trading resources away and then Monopolizing them ...


22

Yes. Say you start with the following: _ _ _ / \ _ / We all agree that's 7 segments long. It makes no sense that adding a segment would make it shorter, so the following can't possibly be 6 segments long: _ _ _ / \ \ _ / Therefore, it must be 8, and your example must be 7. The rules indicate that ...


21

This situation is called The Kingmaker Scenario. It is an effect that is largely seen as being undesirable in games, yet at the same time is also considered somewhat inevitable in games with 3 or more sides in a Free-For-All situation to at least some extent. Game designers are always trying to find ways to fight against this effect, and there are a number ...


20

I wanted to add this as a comment, but I don't have the rep yet. There's one other very similar configuration that new players seem to have trouble deciphering and often count incorrectly. _ _ / \ _ \ _ / The mistake I see being made is avoiding counting the loop in favor of covering the most distance between end points which results in 5 ...


20

I would argue the rules say this is not legal. Quoting from rules found on Catan Website However, you cannot give away cards, or trade matching resources (“trade” 3 ore for 1 ore, for example). Your example in effect breaks both those rules. You are trading wood for wood which is illegal. The exact amounts don't matter, the example is 3 and 1 ore but ...


19

First thing is, that it would make the numbers more or less unimportant, since they all have the same probability now (that of 4 or 10 before). This means good building spots are nothing you have to fight for anymore. Settlements will be more spread out from the beginning, because a starting settlement with a 2 or 12 is no problem anymore. So there will be ...


19

No, the card holder chooses. From the rules, page 11 (emphasis is mine): Each player counts his Resource Cards. Any player with more than 7 Resource Cards (i.e., 8 or more), must choose and discard half of them.


19

The placement of your initial settlements is very important. Your initial settlements (along with the first couple rounds of dice rolls) have a large impact on your game, affecting whether you get off to a quick start or lag behind. Some things to keep in mind when placing your initial settlements include: Probability of numbers: All else equal, a space ...


19

No, this is not legal as written. This is really a series of three separate trades (one of them being with the bank), and two of them are giving a resource for free, which is forbidden by the rules. The problem is that a trade can only involve 2 people, so a "triangular trade" must be done as separate trades. From the FAQ: Trade - Is a “triangular trade”...


18

Yes, from the turn overview of the game rules: You may build as long as your resource supply allows for it. Also, the Combined Trade/Build Phase section of the Almanac states that After rolling for resource production, you can trade and build in any order. Naturally, you can trade, build, trade again and build again. You are restricted to playing ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible