Only the player who is currently taking their turn can win the game, so player C would be the winner.
ENDING THE GAME
If you have—or reach—10 victory
points on your turn, the game ends
immediately and you win! You can only
win during your turn. If somehow you
find you have 10 victory points during
another player’s turn, you ...
Count the cards in the supply
In Settlers of Catan you are always allowed to count the number of resources left in the supply decks. It is a perfectly legal move to count the deck before using the monopoly on a resource.
This also means that after you got the resources you can just check how many you have in your hand, and how many are left in the deck. ...
This isn't really an ethics question, it's more that you and Player 2 haven't agreed on which game you're playing.
You want to play a game that involves loose alliances and table talk.
Player 2 wants to play a game with strict solo play and no talk.
There's not much you can do here apart from agree, in advance, which version of the game you're playing. If ...
Use the dice themselves as a reminder of whose turn it is. This avoids the need for any extra tokens or start player marker.
If players roll them in front of themselves and then they physically pass them to the next player once their turn is over. It should then be clear whose turn it is.
That way a player can't roll twice as dice are already in front of ...
It's 8 segments. The game rules say:
The first player to build a continuous road (not counting forks) of at least 5 road segments, receives the Special Card “Longest Road”. [...]
so you don't get to count the two-segment fork.
This is super clear in the rules.
Under Build in the Game Rules section:
You cannot build more pieces than what is available in your
pool—a maximum of 5 settlements, 4 cities, and 15 roads.
Then, later, under Build (Building) in the Almanac:
You can build as many items and buy as many cards as
you desire—as long as you have enough resources to “...
You can NOT hide the number of resource cards that are in your hand, so the premise in your question is incorrect.
From the rules, page 8, under Knight Cards:
However, you can always ask players about the number of cards they hold.
And from the Official FAQ:
Resource Cards - Am I obligated to tell my opponents the number of Resource Cards in my hand?
Based on my read of the rules, specifically the section in the Almanac on Maritime Trade, I don't see any reason why you couldn't trade at the 4:1 rate even when you have a better rate available. I even see this text:
Generic Harbor (3:1): Here you may exchange 3 identical resource cards for 1 other resource card during your trade phase.
The use of the ...
No (or yes, depending on how you define a single trade).
The person whose turn it is can trade. Each trade is with that person and one other person.
If you can accomplish what you need in a series of trades, you're welcome to try. But any promise of future trade is non-binding: your later trading partner may legally decline the trade when it comes time.
Yes, as it says in the rules you quoted you can only win on your turn
Victory Conditions: Can I win during the special building phase?
Answer: No. You can only win during your own turn.
So yes if you reach 11 points and it is not your turn it doesn't matter and someone else will still win if they reach 10 points on their turn and it is before your next ...
Supplies are finite. If you need more settlements, you have to upgrade some to cities. As soon as you upgrade one settlement to a city, the settlement returns to your supply.
The same goes for roads and cities, they too run out. As such, the longest possible road has length 15 (or 30 if you include ships from the Seafarers expansion).
a) Rolling a “7”✹ and Activating the Robber
If you roll a “7,” no one receives any resources.
Instead, every player who has more than 7 Resource Cards
must select half (rounded down) of his Resource Cards and
return them to the bank.
There's no mention of an exemption for the player who ...
This situation is called The Kingmaker Scenario. It is an effect that is largely seen as being undesirable in games, yet at the same time is also considered somewhat inevitable in games with 3 or more sides in a Free-For-All situation to at least some extent. Game designers are always trying to find ways to fight against this effect, and there are a number ...
From the official game rules, under "Set-Up Phase":
The starting player places a settlement on an unoccupied intersection of their choice, then places a road adjacent to this settlement. The other players then follow clockwise. Everyone places 1 settlement and 1 adjoining road.
Once all players have built their first settlement, the player who ...
This is a perfectly legal, and quite common tactic.
The Monopoly card has no play restrictions other than the typical "once per turn, not on the turn you got it" Dev card restrictions. It affects all resources of the named type in play, regardless of how long the other players have owned those resources. Trading resources away and then Monopolizing them ...
Simple answer is no, it is not always in your best interest to immediately play a knight when you get one. In all truth I would say that it is better to hold onto it for a while unless the robber is currently in a position that is hurting you. By holding onto it you accomplish two things, first you keep protection for yourself allowing you to move the ...
Say you start with the following:
_ _ / \
We all agree that's 7 segments long. It makes no sense that adding a segment would make it shorter, so the following can't possibly be 6 segments long:
_ _ / \
\ _ /
Therefore, it must be 8, and your example must be 7.
The rules indicate that ...
I wanted to add this as a comment, but I don't have the rep yet.
There's one other very similar configuration that new players seem to have trouble deciphering and often count incorrectly.
_ / \ _
\ _ /
The mistake I see being made is avoiding counting the loop in favor of covering the most distance between end points which results in 5 ...
I would argue the rules say this is not legal. Quoting from rules found on Catan Website
However, you cannot give away cards, or trade matching resources (“trade” 3 ore for 1 ore, for example).
Your example in effect breaks both those rules. You are trading wood for wood which is illegal. The exact amounts don't matter, the example is 3 and 1 ore but ...
The placement of your initial settlements is very important.
Your initial settlements (along with the first couple rounds of dice rolls) have a large impact on your game, affecting whether you get off to a quick start or lag behind. Some things to keep in mind when placing your initial settlements include:
Probability of numbers: All else equal, a space ...
No, this is not legal as written. This is really a series of three separate trades (one of them being with the bank), and two of them are giving a resource for free, which is forbidden by the rules.
The problem is that a trade can only involve 2 people, so a "triangular trade" must be done as separate trades. From the FAQ:
Trade - Is a “triangular trade”...
Yes, from the turn overview of the game rules:
You may build as long as your resource supply allows for it.
Also, the Combined Trade/Build Phase section of the Almanac states that
After rolling for resource production, you can trade and build in any order. Naturally, you can trade, build, trade again and build again.
You are restricted to playing ...
No, you may not.
As per the rulebook, under "Build" (on page 4) it says:
Take the appropriate number of roads, settlements, and/or cities from your supply and place them on the game board.
An explicit part of the building process is putting the built items onto the board, so no, you can't buy it and place it later.
In a tournament, player D may get away with it; but he definitely wouldn’t at my house, or during any games I’ve played with friends.
In a game that involves open negotiation and trade, intent is an important factor. When a player asks “anyone have a sheep” and anther responds “Sure. For a wheat?” Both players have to infer from the language that the other ...
I agree with player D's interpretation, but it's not clearly enough worded to be enforceable without prior agreement from other players. In a casual setting I would have agreed the interpretation, but allowed player A to re-do his go now that we'd agreed on the card's rules.
Interpretation of the rules
You may offer each Opponent a resource card ...
The best way to do is simultaneous. While discarding, all the players keep all the cards aside face down. When everyone is done with this then the cards go to bank and are revealed to other players. I have seen this in action on the online version of Settlers of Catan on www.playcatan.com hence I think this is how it should be done.
The offical rules (bottom of page 5) state:
ENDING THE GAME
If you have 10 or more victory points during your turn the game ends and you are the winner!
Interpreted literally, this is a state of the game, not an action - if at any point during your turn, you have 10 or more victory points, you win, independent of what you say or do. "Declaring ...
It is 8, the relevant rules are exactly what you quoted.
The Longest Road is a continuous road connecting two intersections, which consists of at least 5 individual road pieces and is not interrupted by game pieces belonging to other players. It has more individual road pieces than any other connecting road of this type.
The bolded part tells you what "...
This is not an official rule; that is why you didn't find it in the rule book.
The reason this isn't a rule is because it would detrimental to the game experience. The player with the 'largest army' has already moved the Robber at least three times and has 2 victory points. Giving the player the power to move the Robber each turn, without a roll or playing ...