Hot answers tagged

12

From the rules here You may only build a settlement at an intersection if all 3 of the adjacent intersections are vacant. and Each of your settles must connect to at least one of your roads. If you don't break either of those rules and you have the resources you may build a settlement. You might be getting confused with how a player 'breaking' a road ...


12

There are multiple issues with the way this played out. First of all, trading 2 wood for 1 wood is not a legal trade, as outlined in the rulebook: You may not trade like resources (e.g., 2 wool for 1 wool). But aside from that, simply stating "I will take any (1) resource for (2) woods" is not actually making a trade, it is simply proposing a ...


8

No. From the almanac, p11: Players with settlements and/or cities adjacent to the target terrain hex receive no resources from this hex as long as the robber is in the hex. That's it; the robber rules say nothing about maritime trade and the maritime trade rules say nothing about the robber. In the absence of some rule telling you there's an exception, the ...


5

Yes, you can freely extend the length of your longest road to make it even harder for an opponent to claim the Longest Road bonus from you. The rules talk about how you gain the Longest Road card and how someone else takes it from you; nowhere does it say anything that would imply that ownership of the card prevents you from building roads. Your own ...


5

'May' is optional It is pretty much universal among board games that if the game says you 'may' take an action, that action is optional. If the word 'may' is not present, the action is usually mandatory. If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you MAY take any one resource of your choice from the bank. ...


4

What you say is not possible, as there are only 3 different ways that a road could go into an intersection (and in some places just 2, so perpendicularity is not possible). However, it is technically legal for someone to build a road into an intersection where another player already has two roads going through. (Other than the purpose of blocking a player's ...


4

Yes. Sebastian Rapp of Kosmos confirms on BGG: Cities & Knights: If a player has an aqueduct and is entitled to claim a resource for it, he may claim a resource that was not given to the players due to a shortage. He may even do so, if he is only allowed to use the aqueduct because of the shortage. There's also this second-hand recollection of ...


3

As written in these rules (pdf) and these rules (plain html) (and as you note in your question), it's optional. And also note you can't attack "as soon as you arrive" but rather at the end of the turn (any turn in which your shipping route has reached the fortress that matches your color). If your shipping route has reached the pirate fortress ...


3

This information is found in the Settlers of Catan Rules. No. The requirement for longest road is only that you have a continuous road of at least 5 segments. Your own buildings (settlements or cities) will not affect this, however other players' buildings can be placed along your road to block it. No. You count the road pieces that make up the road, not ...


3

No. There is not THIS IS A SCENARIO FOR THE CATAN CITIES AND KNIGHTS BOARD GAME EXPANSION: In order to play with this Scenario, you will need the following 2 Games: CATAN Base Game and CATAN Cities and Knights Board Game Expansion.` Quote from this location: https://www.amazon.com/Catan-Cities-Knights-Conquerors-Scenario/dp/B084HNCLRV


3

Yes, those are good numbers and might be worth not having access to ore. It's hard to tell without seeing the rest of the board. Convince other players to trade ore with you; even though they'll probably notice you don't have access to ore, you might hold other resources that they absolutely need. Use a harbor to trade with the bank in better ratios than 4:...


3

I'm not aware of any tables like what you're looking for, however many years ago I did read a Catan strategy article which gave the advice that you should treat every development card as a victory point. What the author meant was that generally they should be played in a way that immediately gains you points. For example, the Year of Plenty could get you the ...


2

Catan's initial setup follows a snake draft structure, so the strategies available to the players in different positions are fairly different. As a general rule, the players at the beginning of the settlement placement should focus on the raw production numbers of their settlements while the players towards the end should focus on specific resource ...


2

In general, ore is the most valuable resource, followed by brick (with obvious caveats about this not being true in all situations). Justification This conclusion is based first and foremost on the trade ratios I've observed over dozens of games. Ore and brick are most likely to command multiple resources in trades from other people and least likely to be ...


1

I agree: the rules don't prohibit you from playing cards simply because it will have no effect. Online or app versions that prevent you from doing so are programmed incorrectly. As you suggest, there is no specific rule that says this, but following the wording of the specific card should guide you here. Perhaps the most illustrative examples are Resource ...


1

Yes, you may use the ability if the robber prevented your production. The answer from the latest version of the Cities and Knights rulebook seems very clear: Aqueduct (green): If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you may take one resource of your choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ...


1

Using the strategy that you did, you can start off with no ore in the first two settlements, and get off to a "quick" start (many settlements). But you have to use that "quick start" to remedy your deficiency. The first thing to do is to use your third (or subsequent) settlement to build next to an ore hex. Even a 4 or 3, 10 or 11 may do.(...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible