New answers tagged

0

Yes, you may use the ability if the robber prevented your production. The answer from the latest version of the Cities and Knights rulebook seems very clear: Aqueduct (green): If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you may take one resource of your choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ...


-2

You can argue either side, here. The rule is the ambiguous as written. My opinion is that getting production any time you roll a number that you don’t occupy is a large enough benefit and avoiding the Robber as well is too much of an advantage. Make your own House Rule and avoid the long discussion


0

I agree: the rules don't prohibit you from playing cards simply because it will have no effect. Online or app versions that prevent you from doing so are programmed incorrectly. As you suggest, there is no specific rule that says this, but following the wording of the specific card should guide you here. Perhaps the most illustrative examples are Resource ...


-3

Play a strategy that ensures you get most of the development cards. Make sure you have all the sheep, ore and wheat you need and focus on blocking these resources for other players throughout the game. You will control the robber, so the kingmaker at least can't use that tool. Furthermore, your opponent can't target you with the robber. So when you're at, ...


-3

I've always hated player trade and it is especially bad when players invoke no kind of trading strategy. Sometimes they'll hand cards over to the player who is close to winning! People seem to think solely about the cards they need, but there are many scenarios where the act of trading leaves you in a worse position overall due to helping another player. ...


-1

We use a rule that both speeds up, but also helps NEWBIES and feel it is completely within the spirit of EuroGames giving a leg up to those falling behind and keeping them in the hunt! Whenever 3 or more points behind the leader (of course only for visible points, not counting Victory Points!), any player that far behind, when their turn, and for the ...


-1

You only collect resources from the first settlement placed. Thus the only conclusion I can see is that that first city placed in lieu of your second settlement only collects one resource from the tiles to which it is adjacent. But all other cities build after that get two resources per adjacent tile.


1

In general, ore is the most valuable resource, followed by brick (with obvious caveats about this not being true in all situations). Justification This conclusion is based first and foremost on the trade ratios I've observed over dozens of games. Ore and brick are most likely to command multiple resources in trades from other people and least likely to be ...


4

What you say is not possible, as there are only 3 different ways that a road could go into an intersection (and in some places just 2, so perpendicularity is not possible). However, it is technically legal for someone to build a road into an intersection where another player already has two roads going through. (Other than the purpose of blocking a player's ...


Top 50 recent answers are included