12

I believe the Warlord is not allowed to destroy a building if that person already has 8 built.


11

Getting the crown is usually a small reward in comparison to, say, the architect or the thief abilities. The only way this can be a good strategy is focusing on golden districts. At that point, is it easy to target the king with either the thief or the assasin and break the advantage of having the crown AND a useful ability. In short, there is no way of ...


11

Yes. This is explicitly stated in the rules. 8) Warlord You receive one gold for each military (red) district in your city. At the end of your turn, you may destroy one district of your choice by paying a number of gold equal to one less than the cost of the district. Thus, you may destroy a cost one district for free, a cost two ...


9

Took some time to compare the rules, but man there's more than I thought. Some are more subtle, others are complete game changers. Here's a complete list (unless I missed any): Poor House US: costs 5 gold to build. EU: costs 0 gold to build. Removing characters US: First put down the face-down card, then the face-up cards. If needed, replace the king ...


9

The Magician targets a player, not a role, so I don't see why the fact they were targeted by the Assassin/Witch would have any impact on this.


9

You can trigger the bonus before or after building. This means you can either build a building with your existing gold, then trigger the gold collection, OR trigger the gold collection, and use that gold to pay for a new building. What you cannot do is gain some of the gold, build the building, and gain the extra gold from building that building. To answer ...


8

I have two reasons to conclude you pay to the bank: The rulebook doesn't say that you have to pay to the bank when building a district. This is assumed because it wouldn't make sense otherwise. Similarly, if the rulebook doesn't say whom to pay to destroy, then I assume it must go to the bank. The warlord can destroy one of it's own district if he wants to ...


7

Page 8 of the rulebook says (regarding 2-3 player games): The game is played normally, except that each player will have two turns during each round (one turn for each character). Players do not have to separate their gold or their districts between their characters, as they still only have one city. Page 7 of the rulebook says (regarding Game End):...


7

Further to bwarner's answer: Not only are the players not immune, but there's no way you could even make them immune based on the other rules of the game. The assassination target isn't revealed until the round is finished. Until then, you can't know for certain whether someone has been assassinated or not. For the magician to know this, the assassinated ...


7

Warlord is not authorised to attack a finished city. Nevertheless, the rules says that we finish the turn and end the game once someone reach 8 buildings (as opposed to "game is finished if, at the end of turn, someone has 8 buildings"), so if you use this card (I don't remember the name) who can be sacrificed to destroy a building, my thought is that the ...


6

Apparently Bruno Faidutti (the game designer) intended to allow this. The Warlord has the following limitation (as found in the official Citadels rules): You may not, however, destroy a district in a city that is already completed by having eight districts (or seven districts when the Bell Tower is in play). But apparently Faidutti intended for the Armory ...


6

If you are adding the 9th role, there is a different solution for the same problem. When we play a 3 player game, the roles are distributed as follows: Player 1 puts one card face down (1), and picks one (2). Player 2 picks a card (3) Player 3 picks a card (4) and puts one face down (5) Player 1 picks a card (6) Player 2 picks a card (7) and puts one face ...


6

I think this would actually be less balanced. Assassin From the perspective of the choosing player, the main strength of the Assassin is rarely the actual assassination. The Assassin's main strength is actually that since he plays first, he is able to avoid attacks by the Thief and Magician. (Occassionally the Assassin's player will benefit directly by ...


5

No. This is answered in the rules in the description of the Diplomat: You may not exchange the Keep district, any districts in the Bishop’s city, or any districts in a completed city of eight districts (seven with the Bell Tower in play). Note: If you are using the Diplomat in your game, you must remove the Cemetery from the deck since both cannot be ...


5

I believe you choose each round. In my version of Citadels (Fantasy Flight, 2009) there isn't a card called 'Mage Tower'. There is however a very similar card called 'School of Magic' which text states. For purposes of Income, the School is considered to be of the colour of your choice. If for you are the King this round, for example, the school is ...


5

Yes you can use the unique ability twice. The rules here state the following regarding 2-3 player games. each player has two turns each round (one turn for each character). So if a card says it can be used 'once per turn' then you will get to activate once during the turn of each character you took. The rules make a distinction between 'round' (...


5

Tax Collector collects immediately after each one, as per the text you quote. (Note: there may be at least one version of the rules whose section for the Tax Collector reads "one or more" and "at the end of the turn" instead. EDIT: found it: the original 2004 Dark City Expansion version said "If a player builds one or more districts in his city, that player ...


4

We play a lot of Citadels (3 games always, counting the points from previous games - makes 2nd and 3rd game from the start more competitive) and we have played with almost every combination so here is what I think: Assassin or Witch both can go Assassin is simpler but sometimes makes my friends too frustrated - being killed twice in a few rounds makes them ...


4

No one can use the Powder Tower this turn. The Thief can't use the Powder Tower, because he's bewitched he loses his turn after taking his action (choose 2 gold or 1 card). As the Witch, when you bewitch another character you still play with your own city. Since the Powder Tower is not in your city, you can't use it. A quote from the rules that best ...


3

In the US version, the Poor House costs 5 gold. In European versions, it costs 0 gold. The general consensus is that you should play the Poor House with its face value. If your version says 0 cost, that's what you should play it as. If you don't want to do that, make sure you inform everyone about this before the game starts. It's not clear which publisher ...


3

If the king holder always takes the king then they will become an easy target for other players when they take the assassin or the thief. If they only pick the king then they will end up hurting themselves as there is no real benefit to always being the crown holder that would make up for losing the other abilities.


3

It doesn't matter, you are revealing the card to let everyone know it is now your turn. I wouldn't say that the assassinated character plays stupid they just don't get a turn. And at the end of the round you know who everyone is so there is no reason whatsoever to try and hide it. No you can't skip your turn your turn to avoid the negative effects of another ...


3

The rules explicitly state [italics mine]: When the name of your character card is called, you must reveal your character card, place it face up in front of you, and take your turn. If your character has been assassinated, you say nothing and do not acknowledge that you have been assassinated in any way. It will be obvious by the round's end, however, ...


3

According to all the FAQ's I have seen the armory can still be used to destroy the bell tower after the 7th district is build since the card does not disallow it like the warlord does. While the warlord says 8 districts it must be remembered that the bell tower modifies the rules to change winning from 8 to 7 which would also change what is on the warlords ...


3

Everyone has equal access to the selected roles, so it's not so much the balance of the game that changes: only the metagame is affected. Before we start the game, we put all the roles pairwise on the table. Then we randomly select a starting player who picks one role. Its counterpart is removed. We proceed clockwise until all roles have been picked. This ...


3

I've read the Dutch rulebooks of the base game and the expansion. The expansion introduces the ninth character, and it states that in a 3-player game, you only have 8 characters. It's highly recommended to leave out both the Tax Collector and the Artist. Note that, as mentioned in the comments, the original game had only 8 characters. The expansion came ...


2

The alchemist description found in the rules, page 18, strongly suggest that first the tax collector taxes the alchemist, then the alchemist gets money back from his construction. Then, if the alchemist has no money after building something, the tax collector gets nothing. See also a similar question on BGG. Applying the same rationale, the diplomat ...


2

The rules/cards always say to put cards back at the bottom of the draw pile. Chances of actually seeing those cards again in a single game are extremely rare. There may be one card that lets you look through the draw pile, hence, you should be able to find any cards put back there. Since the rules never mention any other piles, that means you cannot create ...


2

We now play with the Witch instead of the Assassin. The Assassin is too powerful. Get hit twice in a game and there's no chance for a comeback. With the Witch, the beweitched character still gets a little something and the Witch character guarantees you a role that round. We also play with an enhanced Queen to make her as valuable as the other roles. If ...


2

According to BoardGameGeek, you can take any district that has been destroyed, so long as you were not the Warlord (you can't take a district you just destroyed), and the Graveyard was not the card destroyed. 1) Can the player owning the Graveyard claim another palyer’s District just destroyed (e.g. Palyer A destroys Player B’s Observatory and Player C, ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible