14

Outsiders cards are just like any other card when you are searching. You can absolutely make noise and choose not to keep them. Once you do keep them, they go in your hand and don't take effect until you decide to play them. You might want to hold a card that will add too many helpless survivors if you are short on food this turn. Or maybe you're the ...


13

Read the description on the weapon cards. Most of them doesn't make noise. Ones that do, have a clause: "add noise if possible". Thus, you don't add noise in the colony or if 4 noise tokens are already present at the location.


13

There are no limits to the number of weapons that a survivor can equip and the effects stack. This has been confirmed in the Dead of Winter Rules forum on BoardGameGeek by Jon Gilmour, one of the designers of Dead of Winter. Click here to read one of these threads (Jon Gilmour's responses are posted under the user name JonnyRotten). A second thread ...


11

You decide when (or if) to play any card from the item deck, including Event cards that add survivors. Players may play item cards (including event cards) on their turn, but they are not required to do so. The one difference with Event cards is that they are not added to the waste pile but are instead removed from game. Unfortunately the rulebook doesn't ...


10

There is no way to get rid of starvation tokens but they only cause a loss of morale when there is not enough to food to eat for that round. In that situation, you would lose 1 morale for each starvation token in the food supply. This is covered in the rules in the section that describes the Pay Food section of the Colony phase. The rules indicate that in ...


9

Yes, Dead of Winter without a betrayer (especially without hardcore objectives) is easy, even extremely easy with 4 or 5 players. Even so, hardcore versions of objectives can be difficult if you play them with 3 players (and some are impossible with 2 players, literally impossible). While it might not be the case for your group, I'd argue that Dead of ...


8

Step back from the rules and think about it for a second. You don't get to feel good about giving out food if you don't give out the food! "Do as much as you can" applies to effects (benefits), not costs (requirements). "Spend 5 food" is really a cost here. I would not permit that option to be picked since the result would make no sense.


8

Deal out the four cards in a line. How likely is it that the one on the far right is the traitor card? 1 in 4 right? Now have the players pick up everything except the far right card. What are the chances that they didn't pick up the traitor card? It's the same question. So your answer is still 1 in 4.


6

The statistic theory presented by the question is best described Hypergeometric Distribution. During the game set up, 2 Non-betrayal objectives per player, and 1 Betrayal objective, are combined in the opening deck. From that 7 card deck, each player will draw 1 objective, 3 total. Your goal is that 3 non-betrayal objectives are drawn. N = number of items ...


6

The rule you quoted clearly says it raises the dice result by one for each food card, so the dice result is raised by one for each food card.


5

The Colony is a location with six entrances. So for instance Raiding Party says add two zombies to every location. This includes the colony which would get one zombie in Entrance 1 and one zombie in Entrance 2 In your specified case when taking away zombies you would again take only two from the colony not two from every entrance From the manual page 5: ...


5

When zombies overrun a location each zombie that overruns kills a survivor that is at the location. What the means is that even if all the places for zombies are filled you can still go back there to try and do something but unless you kill some zombies any that get added will kill the survivors at the location. Rules Whenever adding zombies, they are ...


5

You keep the starvation tokens in the food supply for the rest of the game, however, they only cause you to lose morale when you don't have enough food that round. For example, you don't have enough food this round and you add one starvation token to the food supply but keep the food that was already in there. This causes you to lose one morale. Two rounds ...


5

Yes, the exiled player still draws a crossroads card and the player on the right still draws one for him/her. Since they can't have any survivors in the colony, they can't vote on any cards that require survivors in the colony. One of the designers clarified this in a reddit thread https://www.reddit.com/r/boardgames/comments/2kt5fn/...


4

I see no mention of any exception, and the wording doesn't specify the option such as by saying "you may move a survivor etc", so it sounds like the answer to your question is no, you may not opt to play it without moving.


4

Yes. When the players vote in favor of exiling a player, the exiled player must immediately draw 1 exiled secret objective card. This text of that card follows the following template: If you are not the betrayer: Reveal your secret objective to all players and remove it from the game. Your new secret objective is now the following: [...] If you are the ...


3

Things that are (mostly) duplicated in TLN: Colony and location boards (Colony board has different art, location boards are thicker), player boards, set of dice and tokens (TLN has two-sided tokens for barricades and helpless survivors because there are now different versions of those). Regular zombie standies have different art. TLN also has all starting ...


3

You math is slightly off because you aren't accounting for cards being removed from the deck. In order for all three to be allies: Player 1 gets the first card, where the ratio is 3:1. This means they have a .75 probability of drawing an ally. Player 2 gets the second card, but the ratio has been reduced to 2:1 since player 1 removed an ally. Player 2 has a ...


3

If you look closer at the rules it is explained that you always start placing the zombies at spot 1 when adding new zombies. Also of note if you have to add more then 6 zombies in a turn you cycle around from spot 6 to spot 1 again Whenever adding zombies, they are added 1 at a time until all zombies that need to be added have been added. When ...


3

There are two types of moves that involve giving cards to other players. They are Hand Off and Request. The one you probably want is request. Request: During his turn a player may request 1 or more item cards from other players. Other players may give the requesting player an item card from their hand, if they do, that card must be revealed and ...


3

Helpless survivors are not affected by the spreading of a bite effect. Bite effects spread to the character with the lowest influence first. Helpless survivors do not have any stats (If they did, I would assume that they would have the lowest influence out of all the survivors). The exact wording in the rules (page 11) is as follows: Roll the exposure ...


2

When the Dead of Winter rule book says to spend a food card, it doesn't matter what the number on the card is. In this case, if you spent a Food 2 card, it would only count as one card and you could only increase a singular die result by one.


2

The rules don't specify this, but you would not want to do that anyway, since you seem tot have the pvp attack rule wrong: If a survivor is chosen [to attack], roll the spent action die. If the result is equal to or less than the chosen survivor's attack value, ... This makes sense, since the better a survivor is at fighting (low attack value), the ...


2

The rules state (p. 12): If a player is unable to meet the conditions of an option on a crossroads card, she must choose the other option. So no, you have to pick the other option.


1

No, every card that you would put in the waste pule says for it to be placed in the waste pile. A good example of this is resolving a crisis as you don't add those cards to the waste pile when you are done. Here is the online rules Resolve Crisis: Shuffle the cards that were added face-down to the crisis during the player turns phase. Reveal them one ...


1

Voting to have the group spend food (when they don't have the food to spend) thematically won't work. In this case, I'd discard the Crossroads card and move on because it couldn't take effect fully (much like other Crossroads cards...I've drawn many cards that couldn't fully take effect because none of the conditions were met). Considering that there's a ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible