"When...would" text is only applied when the event specified actually would occur; if it is impossible for any reason, then the conditional is ignored. The following is the relevant section in the FAQ:
19.2 "When would"
An ability that happens when an event would occur (such as when you would gain a card), happens before the event actually occurs (...
You do everything on the card in the order it says:
Draw one card.
Add one to the number of remaining actions you have for the turn.
Add one coin to the amount you have to spend this turn.
Discard a card.
And then you can move on to other Actions or your Buy phase. So you'll discard a card before you play any other actions. (But it's during your Action ...
Unfortunately, the clerk was mistaken. From Rio Grande Games' website:
Dominion: Hinterlands is an expansion, and cannot be played by itself; to play with it, you need Dominion, or a standalone expansion to Dominion (e.g., Dominion: Intrigue). Those provide the Basic cards you need to play (Treasure, Victory, and Curse cards), as well as the full rules ...
Per the Hinterland Rules, Chancellor does not trigger Tunnel
This ability does not function if cards are put into your discard pile without being discarded, .... when your deck is put into your discard pile, such as with Chancellor
The single Treasure map will get trashed first before you can Scheme it. From the Seaside rules:
Treasure Map - You can play this without another Treasure Map
in your hand; if you do, you trash this and gain nothing.
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose an Action card you have in play. If you discard it from play ...
Not sure which Dominion expansions are you running, but there are several cards that can counter this.
If you have prosperity, you can add the Watchtower to the kingdom cards which blocks curses gained in this manner, priced at only 3$. With Masquerade from Intrigue, or Ambassador from Seaside you can give those curses back to your opponent. Dark Ages has ...
The major thing to understand about heavy ill-gotten gains strategies is that they rapidly deplete two piles: both ill-gotten gains itself and the curse pile.
This means that ill-gotten gains games tend to end based on a third pile running out rather than the province pile depleting, and so you need to adjust your strategy to compensate -- notably it makes ...
No, the clerk was wrong and you cannot play Hinterlands with just what comes in that box. You will need what are referred to as the Base Cards in order to play. These come with the original Dominion, they also come with Dominion: Intrigue (perhaps your clerk confused Hinterlands and Intrigue), or they can be purchased on their own.
You start your turn with a "bank" of 1 Action, 1 Buy and 0 Coins. During your Action phase, you may spend 1 Action to play one Action card from your hand. If you do, then you do everything that the card says on it, in order, to the best of your ability.
If the card says "+(n) Card(s)", then you immediately draw that many cards from your draw pile. If you ...
Per Dominion base Rules:
"Discard" – unless otherwise specified, discarded cards are from the player’s
hand. When a player discards a card, he places the discarded card face-up
onto his Discard pile. When discarding several cards at once, the player
need not show all cards he is discarding to his opponents, but player may
need to show how ...
"When you would gain a card..."
(source - Trader card)
The condition "would gain a card" is not satisfied when there is no card to gain. Hence, there is no reason to think that you should gain a silver. Key word: instead.
Your reasoning doesn't make any sense. What could it possibly mean to gain a curse from an empty curse deck?
GAIN: take a card and add ...