14

As always in Dominion, you do as much as you can of what the card instructs. Since there is no card to gain that has the same cost, your opponent gains nothing. You still trash the card that was turned over because you can do that part of the card's instructions.


14

The cost of Spoils is 0. When you 'gain(s)' a card, unless it specifically names a card not in the supply, you can only choose for cards from the supply. Copper, Curse, and Ruins (when playing with them) are in the supply and cost 0. Making all valid choices for cards that can be gained when Swindler trashes Spoils. http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index....


13

This is explained in the Intrigue rules Conspirator – You evaluate whether or not Conspirator gives you +1 Card and +1 Action when you play it. If later in the turn you play more Action cards, you do not go back and reevaluate a Conspirator played earlier. For the purposes of counting actions, if you Throne Room an Action, that's one Action ...


13

Bridge affects the costs. From the Dominion Intrigue rules, page 8 Saboteur ... Costs of cards are affected by Bridge


12

Out of interest, how did you reach the position of having zero cards in hand, library and discard? Anyway, the answer is fairly simple, I think. Consider the following section of the rules, qualifying the action of "draw 5 cards from your deck": If there still aren't enough cards to draw/reveal, he just draws/reveals what he can. It seems clear that ...


12

The update pack serves two purposes: Replace 6 old cards with 7 newer ones Provide a new card strip; base cards are missing from the new strip. Replacing older cards The following 12 cards have been removed from their respective versions: Base game (6): Adventurer, Chancellor, Feast, Thief, Spy, Woodcutter Intrigue (6): Coppersmith, Great Hall, Saboteur, ...


12

The combo is what is known as a "pin", although the biggest problem with it has been somewhat fixed in the 2nd version of Intrigue, which changed how Masquerade works. For reference, the three cards are (using their 1st edition wordings): King's Court: You may choose an Action card in your hand. Play it three times. Goons: +1 Buy. +$2. Each other ...


10

The Silver Gained from Trader works exactly the same as any other Gain; as Trader's text doesn't specify anything to the contrary, the Gained card goes directly to your discard pile. This situation is explicitly mentioned on page 11 of the Hinterlands instructions: If the card you were going to gain was not going to your discard pile, the Silver still ...


9

Your understanding is correct. You are just misinterpreting the article. You would need something like Scout to combo more effectively. Draw 4 cards, at least two non-victory, put them back, draw one using WW and wish for the second.


7

Each player reveals, trashes, and gains in turn order. The relevant text of Swindler is: Each other player trashes the top card of his deck and gains a card with the same cost that you choose. In Dominion, you do each instruction in order. The convention is that each instruction is one sentence. For Swindler, the instruction is "trash and gain." Having ...


6

First, you have a mistake in your question: Shanty can give +2 cards, but sometimes it will only give zero (not the 1 that say in your second sentence). 1) In a standard village+draw engine, the vanilla Village is more useful because you will expect to have other actions in your hand, and so Shanty Town's bonus won't trigger. 2) If there are lots of non-...


6

As you have seen, Minion is a powerful card that, unlike many other Dominion cards, "combos" well with itself: if you draw two you can play one for cash and one to get a new hand, possibly getting another Minion, and attacking the opponent as well! Minion is a card that's difficult to ignore. There are several ways you might consider to handle it: Probably ...


5

This is an old question, but I'm going to leave the answer here in case anyone else comes here looking for it. "Pass" has a specific meaning, defined in the Intrigue rulebook like this: “Pass” – when a player passes a card to another player, he places that card face down on the table between himself and the other player. The receiving player then takes the ...


5

Go here for the divider cards for all the sets: http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/73412/double-sided-horizontal-dividers-for-dominion-hint and for the perfect carrying case that you see in the first links picture: go to http://www.sciplus.com/p/STOREITALL-BOX_4254 - the STORE IT ALL BOX with removable dividers. We currently have the cards to: Dominion, ...


5

Short answer You should take a curse when discarding two cards would hurt your strategic plan, but you should also take into account your curse total compared to the other players and how it's likely to change. Long answer I 'm not going to dwell on "obvious" circumstances like There are no curses left Your hand is all victory cards etc. Under normal ...


5

I disagree strongly with aramis and goldPseudo's answers. Using the data from Isotropic, we can see that in all the games played on the site, people who bought 4 fewer Saboteurs than their opponent increased their win rate by a factor of 1.5. In fact, this graph suggests that the only worse attack card is Thief, and that even buying a single Saboteur hurts ...


5

Remember - act out the card in order that it is written: +1 Card, then +1 Action, then "Name a card...". So any card that has you put (just) one card back on your deck (e.g. Spy, Bureaucrat, Lookout, Courtyard, Pearl Diver, etc.) will not be a good combo for Wishing well. Scout, Navigator, and Apothecary are good for this.


5

One thing to note is that Masquerade was updated for second edition Intrigue. Originally, if you had no cards in hand when it was time to pass cards; you simply didn’t pass one, but you still received one. In the new edition wording, if you don’t have a card to pass, then you don’t receive one either. On first edition, the idea was that you could use this ...


4

The Fool's Gold reveal is optional, but yes, the order is: Play Swindler. Resolve any cards that trigger on playing an attack. (Go in order around the table, each player revealing and resolving eligible cards until they are done) For each player, reveal and trash that card. Resolve anything that triggers from that trashing (gaining a gold from Tunnel, ...


4

Yes. If order matters, then resolve in turn order. From Intrigue Rulebook: Swindler - A player with no cards left in his Deck shuffles first; a player who still has no cards does not trash a card or gain a card. If the order matters (such as when piles are running low), resolve Swindler in turn order starting with the player to your left. Gained ...


4

I personally only take the discard-2 if it can be done without harming my hand (I had an extra Copper, or 2 Estates anyway, etc). My view on Torturer is that it's really just a Witch. They played a Witch, except that I got a special freebie opportunity to avoid the curse if my hand sucked already! So I do the kinds of things in deckbuilding that I'd do to ...


3

To add on Jon's last point: I also consider taking the curse in a 3-4 player game if more than one other play with the Torturer, and the current Torturer got played by the player playing directly after me. Then there's a good likelihood more Torturers are coming in one round, so the curses I draw for the first 1-2 players, I can discard with the next ...


3

You are correct in your assessment that in most Kingdoms, Coppersmith is a poor card and you would be better off with something else or just Silver. It has a couple of problems, as you have seen. It's terminal, so it doesn't play well with basic drawing cards that could give you a hand full of Copper, like say Smithy. It doesn't provide a +Buy, so if you do ...


3

I look at it this way: In the early game, I'm unlikely to have many actions in my hand. Shanty is good early. In the late game, the hands will start to fill up with victory cards, so your odds of triggering the draw increase. Remember: if you have Village and Shanty in your hand, you can play the village and other actions first, then draw two cards with ...


3

As thesunneversets said, if you have no cards in hand and in your deck when you play dominion, you do not pass a card, but your opponent still has to. This is the key to the dreaded king's court / masquerade lock. to quote dominionstrategy.com: The key lies in trimming your deck down to where you have a four-card hand of King’s Court, King’s Court, Goons,...


3

I dislike Saboteur because it makes the game less fun; it torpedoes the "building" aspect of deck-building, and my face-to-face group won't use it for that reason. However, contrary to Isotropic's stats (which I believe are heavily biased towards 2-player games -- please correct me if I'm wrong), I've found that in a 3-4 player game, ignoring Saboteur only ...


3

The update packs are meant to replace cards from the original sets. No more Chancellor, Adventurer, etc., as these cards were generally under played. Of course you are free to mix and match whatever you will from the update and the original sets, but that is the intent. You should continue using the treasure cards and victory cards even though they aren't ...


2

Saboteur is undoubtedly more dangerous in a 4-player game, but that does not necessarily mean better. 4-player games can end on piles more frequently than 2-player games because you only have 3 Victory cards per person (rather than 4 in 2/3-player) and 2.5 cards/Kingdom pile/person (vs. 5 in 2-player and 3.33 in 3-player). Saboteur can result in up to 3 ...


2

Whenever my group has 5 or 6 for Dominion, I try to split it into two groups, either 3+2 or 3+3. With Intrigue, there are enough basic Treasure, Victory, and Curses to go around. Then when both groups are finished, you can switch and play with the other Kingdom with no additional setup time; then compare notes as to how the different groups handled the ...


2

I usually discard as well, unless I'm already below 5 cards. Usually my decision hinges on if I'll still be able to do something with that turn. Of course if i'm holding 2 Victory cards, I'll just drop them. However, if I have a verifiable action chain in my hand, I'll take a curse, or if I have a card that allows me to discard (not trash) for an effect, ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible