35

From the rules: "The player must complete all of his Actions before he moves on to the Buy phase of his turn."


34

Yes, you can trash Copper -> Silver -> Gold, since Mine requires you trash cards from your hand, and then gain them back into your hand, setting you up for another play. Copper -> Platinum with a King's Courted Mine is also possible (and incredibly devious!) For clarity, Mine reads: Trash a Treasure card from your hand. Gain a Treasure card costing up ...


33

Short answer: yes, its possible and it has been officially acknowledged that the German rules are wrong. Long answer: as you have already quoted from the base game rules (emphasis mine) The cost of a card is in its lower left corner. The player may play some or all of the Treasure cards from his hand to his play area and add to their value the coins ...


28

You do exactly what the card says in order, how bold the type is doesn't matter. The +2 Actions isn't an instruction to play (up to) 2 action cards at that time, it means that later in the Action Phase you can play 2 additional actions. So the revealing cards would happen before you could play any other cards from your hand. From the Dominion Rules: ...


26

I don't know about the biggest - you could buy curses instead - but yes, this is definitely a big mistake and one of the most common. Buying only silver and gold (aka "big money") is actually a reasonably strong strategy. It's not amazing, it's pretty easy to beat, but it'll tend to win over beginner players and it's definitely way better than buying ...


24

Reaction Cards: No. It's not an inherent property of Reaction cards that they protect you from attacks. What makes a card a Reaction is that it's used outside of the normal game sequence when something happens; they don't have to interact with attacks at all. Moat protects you from attacks because it says it does. Tunnel gives you Gold when discarded, ...


22

No, you cannot do this. Your "hand" always refers to cards that you physically keep in your hand. Cards that you have played this turn are in a different place, the "in-play" area. On page 6 of the rulebook: To play an Action, the player takes an Action card from his hand and lays it face-up in his play area. Pages 9 and 10 also show picture examples ...


20

My favorite Dominion article, Building the "First Game" Engine, looks at this problem. The article works out some very good strategies, comparing them to a baseline of Big Money + Smithy. They run simulations to "prove" which one is best. A Village/Smithy/Province (V/S/P) strategy beats Big Money + Smithy a little more than half the time, and eventually the ...


20

As a general rule that applies to all of Dominion, you always must follow every instruction on the card you play as long as it is possible to do so. Whenever there is the option to not do something, the card will use the word "may". This means that if you play Moneylender, you are forced to trash a Copper (if you have one), and if you play Smithy, you are ...


20

No, you can't play it as a reaction card. Only cards labeled "Reaction" on the bottom can be played as reactions. Band of Misfits just says Action, so it may only be played during your turn. When you do play it during your turn, if Moat is in the supply, you can certainly play it as a Moat, to get +2 Cards. But it doesn't copy another card until you ...


20

One great resource is Dominion Deck Builder, a website that allows users to design and save kingdoms. They can be voted on, discussed, etc. This is also a frequently-discussed topic at the Dominion Strategy Forum. Here are a few threads that each list several Kingdom setups that people have suggested, and in the latter 2 threads, voted on: http://forum....


19

One of the clearest examples of game theory in Dominion shows up quite frequently in 2 player endgames, and it's called the Penultimate Province Rule (PPR). Basically, you should avoid buying the second to last Province if buying the remaining Province would allow your opponent to win. Imagine a game where my opponent and I each have 3 Provinces, with 2 ...


18

Chapel can be effectively used mid and late game, but that requires card draw or action branching or both. The trick to chapel is to trash lots of cards with it early and not rely on it late game (turn 10 bad mid-late game cards into 1 dead card early). This means trashing your entire starting deck as soon as possible. Do not wait until you have plenty of ...


18

Spoils is played twice, but is returned to the Spoils pile and not trashed. Spoils is a treasure providing three coins that reads: When you play this, return it to the Spoils pile. Counterfeit reads: When you play this, you may play a Treasure from your hand twice. If you do, trash that Treasure. According to the Dark Ages rulebook (PDF), page 11: ...


16

To fully understand how to use Chapel, you have to examine its use with many different Kingdom setups. I will only detail some scenarios from the base game. Standard Big Money Strategy The standard Big Money Canonical strategy is to buy a Provence, else buy a Gold, else buy a Silver. To get a better understanding on how Chapel works effectively, it might ...


16

The key point is that you're not reacting to the reaction cards. Rather, you're reacting to what happens after those reactions resolve. Thus there is no "going back". There actually isn't nesting in your examples. This is what should happen for your 2nd paragraph example. I've indented the reactions Buy Ill-Gotten Gains. Gain Ill-Gotten Gains. Other ...


16

You do everything on the card in the order it says: Draw one card. Add one to the number of remaining actions you have for the turn. Add one coin to the amount you have to spend this turn. Discard a card. And then you can move on to other Actions or your Buy phase. So you'll discard a card before you play any other actions. (But it's during your Action ...


16

As of 2020, there are 14 sets and 11 promo cards1. In release order: Dominion (Base game) Intrigue Seaside Alchemy Prosperity Cornucopia Hinterlands Dark Ages Guilds Adventures Empires Nocturne Renaissance Menagerie And the list of Promo cards: Envoy (November 2008) Black Market (March 2009) Stash (February 2010) Walled Village (June 2011) Governor (...


15

No, cards Set Aside cards are not In Play The Seaside Rules states rather specifically on page 4 that set aside cards are not in play, only played cards are. In play cards are those you have played - not those set aside, trashed, or discarded. Nor are they cards in your hand, deck, supply or discard piles. (page4, sidebar) “In play” -- Action cards ...


15

There is certainty a first-player advantage in Dominion. However, that particular house rule gives a possibly even more significant second-player advantage. The reason for this is that the first player can never safely end the game. He has very little control over how the game ends. The best he can do is to build up a significant lead, then end the game and ...


15

In Dominion, the general rule is that you have to do everything on a card in order before you can play another card. This affects Throne Room in an odd way, because it means you have to do everything printed on the card Throne Room tells you to play, then do everything on that card again. Thus, when you Throne Room a Throne Room, you play one card and ...


14

I taught myself how to beat Treasure Bot (our name for this effect, to distinguish from the wait-for-platinum strategy Prosperity introduces) by having simple rules which -- while not on their own necessarily better than treasure bot, were useful for developing the "feel" of a good deck. (The zeroth rule: if you see a way to buy a province, do so. This is ...


14

Throne Room costs an Action to play; the card you play twice is part of the effect of Throne Room, and neither play of it consumes an Action. My speculation is that that particular wording was in answer to a complaint encountered during development, something like: "Village gave you two actions, but you just played that Witch two times with Throne Room, so ...


14

Yes, that's how they work. If the text on the cards isn't enough for you, it also explicitly says it in the rules: You get a bonus depending on what type of card you gained. A card with 2 types gives you both bonuses; if you use Ironworks to gain a Great Hall, you will then draw a card (because Great Hall is a Victory card) and may play another Action (...


14

It is not considered in play if it has moved from your play zone to the trash. The 'no more than one action card in play' trigger will not count mining villages that were played and then immediately trashed. Sources: forum post by Donald X. (games creator) http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/682203/description-sheet Walled Village: When you play this, you ...


14

The cost of Spoils is 0. When you 'gain(s)' a card, unless it specifically names a card not in the supply, you can only choose for cards from the supply. Copper, Curse, and Ruins (when playing with them) are in the supply and cost 0. Making all valid choices for cards that can be gained when Swindler trashes Spoils. http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index....


14

Things that require no actual house rules: 1. Get and use the Prosperity expansion (or the Dominion Base Cards set), and play more games with Colonies/Platinum. Games with Colonies usually last longer, because it is not often worth buying Provinces. Instead of trying to get to $8 for Provinces, you are trying to get to $11 for Colonies. 2. Use setups that ...


14

The vast majority of the cards feature unique artwork, which is great. However, there are some cards that indeed include other cards' artwork, like: Scrying Pool (from Dominion: Alchemy) depicts the artwork from Village. Just turn the card upside-down to see the reflection in the pool. Minion (from Dominion: Intrigue) displays a portrait of a Minion. Self-...


14

No, because you trash all cards simultaneously. From the Dark Ages rulebook: When two or more cards are trashed at the same time, such as due to Count, first trash them all, then pick an order to resolve things that happen due to trashing them. So with Donate, you must trash all of the cards you want to trash at the same time; and only then do any trashed ...


13

Do exactly what it says on the card, in the order it says it. So: Procession says you may play an action card from your hand twice. You pick Madman. You play Madman once. You get +2 actions, and then return it to the Madman pile. If you do, +1 card per card in your hand - you did, so +3 cards. You play Madman a second time. You get +2 actions again, and ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible