14 votes
Accepted

Did I underbid or did my partner?

I will dissent and say that your partner underbid, unless you knew you had an agreement that 3H is forcing (or perhaps even a convention on top of it). Partner, with 16HCP added to your opener, knows ...
Karl Knechtel's user avatar
12 votes

Did I underbid or did my partner?

It is arguable whether you underbid, but your partner definitely did. when you open 1H, your partner knows that you have at least 26 HCP and eight hearts between you. This is enough that they should ...
JDL's user avatar
  • 266
4 votes

How should an intervening bid have changed my response?

If you take an action with this hand, double is the correct action. Pass is also acceptable, but I think it would be a very conservative approach and would expect most of the field to act. In this ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
4 votes

Did I underbid or did my partner?

As Alexander Woo mentions in his answer, there is no true Standard American anymore. In situations such as these I typically refer to the ACBL's SAYC booklet, which is as good a guide as any, I ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
4 votes

How should partner and I have gotten to 3NT?

Your hand is by no means unbalanced. It may be described as semi balanced. Your hand is difficult to bid, no doubt. I think there are 3 reasonable ways you may choose to bid the hand. First, you can ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
4 votes

Which of these hands should be opened in which late positions?

I would not open in 4th seat with the five heart hand - the traditional rule is to add your high card points and your spades, and open if you have 15. This hand is a good example - you should not ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
4 votes

Did my partner and I get to 3NT in a reasonable way?

I don't open your hand 1N, but not because it doesn't have stoppers. (No one decent has worried about stoppers in non-competitive bidding for the last 40 years, because the imprecision in bidding ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
3 votes

Under what circumstances should partner bid 3 clubs (Stayman) over a 2NT opening?

I have run a simulation from responder's perspective, and the results clearly show that the hand in question is not good enough to bid game in response to a 2NT opener when playing double dummy. ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
3 votes

Did my partner make a plausible sequence of bids?

Your 3rd round call of 2D is correct; and you got the par result on the hand. Your analyses of the actual auction and its comparison auction are sound. Partner has no means of undoing her initial ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
3 votes

Did I underbid or did my partner?

Almost no experts play Standard American (rather than 2/1) anymore, so there is no longer a standard Standard American, only various homegrown variants. The question for you and your partner is: is 3H ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
3 votes

Which of the following hands are good enough for a takeout double?

Here's a really simple rule: Never pass a hand that Goren would have recommended acting with. Modern bidding is more aggressive than the style Goren recommended, which results in calls being found for ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
3 votes

How should I choose which game to bid with this strong but misfit hand?

There are a number of things to unpack here. First, your double was not "negative." A negative double is a convention used by responder. Your double does not promise four hearts in standard ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
3 votes

Opening light in the 3rd position

My feeling is that, in expert play, you should open in 3rd seat if you'd be willing to overcall, OR if you'd be willing to open in 1st seat. (Of course, sometimes you make 4 card overcalls. ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
3 votes

Partner opens 1NT (15-17 HCP) and then your RHO intervenes

This is what I would expect to agree with an advanced player at the partnership desk given that we have only a few minutes to discuss all of our agreements and want to stick with what I would expect ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
3 votes

Should I have done something other than open one heart in the following situation?

In 3rd seat - yes I think you should open 4H. If partner has 1 trick, then 4H has good chances. If partner does not have 1 trick, then 4H is quite likely to be a profitable sacrifice undoubled, ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
2 votes

Should I have raised partner or bid 1NT in the following situation?

Modern practice (which assumes that at least Check-Back Stayman (CBS) or New Minor Forcing (NMF), if not XYZ, is being played) requires that all balanced minimums be rebid at the one level (whether ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
2 votes

What is meant in matchpoints by "opponents have control of the bidding and play?"

Yes, this is part of the "luck" of bridge. Some hands are not difficult at all to defend, e.g. one opponent has the AKQ of trumps, and there is no other chance of a trick anywhere. The ...
JDL's user avatar
  • 266
2 votes

Could it be a bad idea to try to compete when the opponents have stopped at two of a minor

Yes - you compete less aggressively against 2 of a minor or 4 of a minor because those are generally poor scoring contracts. Also, I play penalty doubles in that sequence. If your partner had a ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
2 votes
Accepted

Under what circumstances should I refrain from raising partners' three level pre-empt to four (when I have three trumps)?

The rule of thumb is to raise partner's preempt to the level of the trump fit, but it is only a rule of thumb to make routine bidding easier. Here, you are probably right that it was incorrect to ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
2 votes

How far should a partnership explore altnernatives to a no trump game that is clearly indicated at matchpoints?

I differ with @ruds; I believe you and partner are both at fault. Partner has a semi-balanced 26 (the fifth club is counterbalanced by heart jack not being in a longer suit) with all suits stopped; ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
2 votes

How far should one go in preferring an eight card major suit game to a no trump game?

If you are not an expert or very close, you should always prefer an 8 card major suit fit to a notrump game. Experts know better, but it requires a good deal of experience, factors too subtle to ...
Alexander Woo's user avatar
2 votes

What is the most expeditious way to defeat this (overbid) slam?

@Alexander Woo raises excellent questions, that should be asked before choosing a lead against good opponents - but I've seen you and partner around the club before, and won't bother. God gifted me ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
2 votes

How should I choose which game to bid with this strong but misfit hand?

I'm going to add one further consideration to those already mentioned in the answer by ruds and comments by Alexander Woo: Your additional strength, beyond minimum, both interferes with defensive ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
2 votes

How should partner and I have gotten to 3NT?

First off: Partner has no excuse for not responding to your 1 Diamond opener holding 6 HCP. That's inexcusable, and even more so with a good feature in ♠QJ9. Presumably Partner passed because of ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
1 vote
Accepted

Under what circumstances should partner bid 3 clubs (Stayman) over a 2NT opening?

I'm going to venture on a limb, and argue that your hand is just shy of a 2NT opening, and worth only 19 points in NT rather than 20. Reasons are: Plus 1/2 point for the fifth club. One would often ...
Forget I was ever here's user avatar
1 vote

How far should a partnership explore altnernatives to a no trump game that is clearly indicated at matchpoints?

It seems straightforward to me. Partner is balanced and should bid 3NT. It is the most accurate description of the hand. Any other bid denies a balanced hand. Responder can then suggest going further ...
sixString's user avatar
1 vote

How far should a partnership explore altnernatives to a no trump game that is clearly indicated at matchpoints?

You should be pretty cautious about bidding beyond 3NT when it may be the best contract, particularly at matchpoints. That doesn't mean that you can never show a minor. If your hand were xxx xx Qxxx ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
1 vote

Did my partner make a plausible sequence of bids?

A rule of thumb I learned many years ago is "The first two doubles are takeout, the third is penalty." There are exceptions, but your auction is not one of them. So partner's second double ...
Barmar's user avatar
  • 186
1 vote

Did my partner make a plausible sequence of bids?

Assuming that the 1C opening was natural, partner's first double showed (let's say) 12+ with 0-2 clubs or 18+ any shape. Their second double showed 15+ with 0-2 clubs or 18+ any shape. Your 2D call ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873
1 vote

Is this small slam biddable and if so, how?

I agree with you; you don't have the right hand to double and then bid hearts. I would not choose that course of action over a one-level bid, much less over a preempt. In my opinion, partner is too ...
ruds's user avatar
  • 5,873

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible