6

These cards are starting equipment. At the beginning of the game draw those cards and place them in front of yourself. They are no different than cards that you squire through out play. These abilities grant no ongoing benefit once the game starts


5

Yes, that would be correct. The task on the current adventure is complete, and absolutely nothing in the rules states that anything can change that task state back to incomplete during the current turn. So up until the adventure card is completed and awarded, or in the end is failed and all the dice cleared, it's good. Even if it was a monster task, there ...


4

Kate Winthrop's ability should be played as if the terror die does not trigger the terror effects. So, no doom should be added, nor other investigator should suffer any effects. I could not find rules about that anywhere, but that's how things work in the mobile version of the game.


4

Yes. The latest copy of the rules is actually much clearer than the version that came in my set. Here's the quote, with the same emphasis as the rulebook, but parenthetical bits removed: When a die is secured on a Spell card, it remains there until any player chooses to use it to complete a task, removes it from the spell to roll it, or until ...


4

Yes. In your example, technically speaking, you are really performing another round of rolling - rolling zero dice - and then resolving the final task. The die you have secured in your spell is a usable part of your dice pool, thus allowing you to meet the requirements of the adventure task even though you didn't physically roll any dice. Remember that ...


4

No, it does not include the Elder Sign that must be lost per Yig's abiliy The rules are not very clear on this matter: Defeating Monsters with Items and Spells - Some items or spells instruct the player to defeat a monster. When using such an item or casting such a spell, the player chooses any monster in play and flips its marker facedown, ignoring all ...


3

Page 9 of the rules here says Terror Effects If the player fails to complete a task and at least one of the rolled dice shows a terror result, he resolves all terror effects on the Adventure card, as well as any terror effects on the current Mythos card (see “Mythos Cards” on page 15). Terror effects occur before discarding a die due to failing a roll. As ...


3

Per the rulebook as written, the terror effect directly results from the failed task roll with the terror result showing. It takes effect before a die is discarded due to the failed roll. I would presume by that wording that they are trying to prevent exactly what you are describing - avoiding the terror by discarding the die. I can't find any errata to ...


3

Yes. Special effects that refer to discarding a card do not count as using the card.


3

Honestly, I think it's just 'Generic 1920's stereotype'. While I agree that he's got a tommy gun in both pictures, his facial structure looks wrong for being Michael McGlen. He actually looks closer to Joe Diamond, if it wasn't for Joe Diamond having a blue suit. Michael McGlen would be closest, without going over, but I think the cover art characters are ...


3

The super-team, as I've trial-and-errored to learn, is: Harvey Walters, Michael McGlen, Kate Winthrop, and Gloria Goldberg. The most important thing about the lot of them is that their abilities aren't item-dependent, and that can turn a game that's going badly into a squeaked-out win. Harvey and Michael's respective "swap out the terror glyph" abilities ...


3

There is no official ruling, so you will have to house rule it There seems to be some concern with Fantasy Flight Games slow FAQ releases and lack of designer feedback on rules clarifications. One do the designers, Richard Launius, has answered some questions sent directly to him, but they aren't considered official rules clarifications. This particular ...


2

Yes. Dice that are secured with a spell are regarded as focused, and can be used at any time (by any player, including you) to fulfill a task's requirement(s). You don't need to roll again.


2

The rules as written do not clarify one way or the other - it is up to a house ruling. However, many cards have specific timing for them listed (such as "At the start of your turn" or "At the end of your turn"). With this in mind, for any card that does not have a timing listed, you could make a case for justifying its usage at any time during your turn, ...


2

Locked dice on monsters are only unlocked when the monster is collected, which happens at the end of the Investigation Phase. Note that even if you failed to solve the Adventure or Other World card, you will still collect the monster trophy as long as you completed that task. You can then use the unlocked die on your next attempt. Adventure cards can be done ...


2

I've always taken this rule to mean that the die would go to the next lock in order of appearance. I've assumed that if you resolved the other adventures/monsters that would lock the die, they would just disappear. There is also this FAQ on Fantasy Flight Games website where they don't even mention this "order" rule.


2

This is a quote from the Elder Sign rulebook, as currently posted online. Page 8. Failing Rolls If the player is unable or unwilling to use his die results to satisfy any task’s requirements, the roll is considered a failed roll. He must discard one die of his choice from the dice pool and roll the remaining dice in another attempt to complete a ...


2

Not normally - monsters defeated within adventures are not destroyed and removed until the end of the adventure. Theoretically, this would work if you could destroy a monster instantly with some sort of monster-destroying special effect in the middle of the adventure; however, I believe that all such effects have timing windows that intentionally exclude ...


1

If there are no cards left, then you do not gain anything. Ideally, you should be making use of these cards as often as possible to ensure that future gains do not get wasted due to not having cards available. (Remember that all discarded cards go immediately to the bottom of their appropriate decks -- so you may want to spend spells freely in encounters ...


1

There is no difference between completing a task and defeating a task. The difference in wording is - as suspected - for consistency. Additionally, because some tasks are in fact monsters, defeating is a better fit for being the general term than completing.


1

Yes, you can use spells at the end of an adventure after completing all tasks. This includes using Dice Lock spells, allowing you to lock unused dice that may be useful for other players on their turn, such as the red die on a wildcard result.


1

No. Once focused, a die may only be used to complete a task using its locked side. This is not specifically mentioned in the rules or the FAQ sheet - however, based on other rulings in the FAQ, it is clear that not being mentioned in the RAW is not considered proof positive that a rule doesn't exist by the creators. Focused dice are especially limited in ...


1

Someone over on boardgame geek added a list of all cards for all expansions since I originally asked the question and did my search.


1

Now that I have played through all the adventures but the last one, Ithaqua, I have developed a pretty good set of companions to take with me. Using Loren Dean's advice I started with Harvey Walters, Michael McGlen, Kate Winthrop, and Gloria Goldberg. Harvey and Michael are great for adventures that require many Lore or Peril roles. I decided the goal of ...


1

I use this simple rule: There can not be two successive midnights without a doom token. So, if one midnight came without a doom token, the next midnight MUST have doom token and all 'unless' things are ignored. This makes a game a lot harder, basically in all games I played boss needs maybe 1 token to awake and often it leads entire game. It is tested ...


1

The game seems a bit too easy both before and after the Elder God awakens. My two house rules to solve this are as followings... At Midnight, roll one green die for each monster in play and each terror result adds a doom token. Once the Elder God is awakened, his "Midnight" effect happens at both 6 and 12 o'clock. I stole these ideas from another site's ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible