12

I'll enumerate some general tips below (followed by keener insight after having played over 150 hours): 1) Do not obsess about keeping the world tidy, clear of gates, of monsters, of clues. Accept that it is messy and will just get messier. Think more about taking from it what's useful to you at any point in time. You have so few turns before that mythos ...


9

Any token, other than Clues, Gates, and Monsters, is always available. If there are no remaining tokens of the specified type, track those tokens on paper or with a small object such as a coin. Source: Reference Guide, "Component Limitations" (page 3)


8

I own both AH and EH. I have the Kingsport, Innsmouth and Black Goat of the Woods expansions for AH. Only have the base game for EH right now but those four expansions call me pretty loudly. I really couldn't say that either is better than the other because I really love both a lot but for different reasons. One thing that I can say I really miss from ...


8

If you have ANY condition (whether it be debt, or a dark pact, or hallucinations), you cannot gain it again while it is in play. So, if you take a debt (getting 2 additional "bucks" or influence for that purchase), on any subsequent turn while you are still in debt you cannot do that again or get the bonus. It only happens once. If, on a later turn, you ...


8

No, unless an item specifically says it can be used on other investigators (e.g., "Choose an investigator"), it can only be used on/by the person holding the item.


8

Short answer: Yes. Longer answer: Note, you can only improve each stat a total of two times (thus there's only +1/+2 tokens). You also cannot perform the same action in a round (so can only use the item once a round). This is also balanced by the check, which you may not pass. So yes you can spend 10 rounds maxing out your guys stats (if you roll well/...


8

Have you looked into foam core? There are a lot of solutions available on BGG


8

From the reference guide, page 11: He may use one effect that provides a bonus (for example “Gain +3 Will”). If multiple effects provide a bonus, he uses only the highest bonus. This wording implies that when multiple effects are available he uses the highest bonus, not that he strictly uses the effect with the highest bonus potential. It implies to me ...


8

Yes, resolving the encounter doesn't mean you have to resolve it successfully. Your clue gained during the encounter still entitles you to place it, as the Mystery states. A few references to illustrate that the term resolve doesn't imply success or passing a test: On page 9 of the rulebook, when describing Phase 2, the Encounter Phase: During this ...


7

It has been a while since I played Arkham Horror, but I own Eldritch Horror myself. There are a few very obvious differences. The gate encounters in Arkham take multiple turns to complete. In Eldritch, you resolve a card and that's it. You know at the end of the encounters phase if you've closed the gate or not. In Arkham, the characters have three sliding ...


7

No. Its effect only applies to tests (where you test one of your Investigator's five skills). It does not apply to checks like the Dark Pact condition has (or any other check where you roll a dice without reference to a specific skill).


7

No, they can't. An Epic Monster cannot be defeated by any effect except losing Health equal to or greater than its toughness. Source: Reference Guide, "Epic Monster" (page 6)


7

From the rules reference (page 12): Q. Can I use multiple weapons during combat? A. Yes, but you can only apply the highest bonus to a test. However, you may use any other effects, from your other weapons. For example, if you have a Bull Whip Asset and a .45 Automatic Asset, you may apply the +3 bonus from the .45 to your {combat check} ...


7

If the items are unavailable, the new investigator cannot take them. From the official errata & FAQ: Q. What happens if a new investigator’s starting possessions are being used by another investigator? A. When a player chooses a new investigator, he receives that investigator’s starting possessions from the decks, discard piles, or reserve....


6

Toughness is the max health. That's the damage you should take. To clarify, a monster taking damage does not effect its toughness. Once a monster takes damage equal to Toughness, it dies


6

Further digging turned up this thread where official rule clarifications from the maker of the game have been gathered. Turns out it this has been addressed. How do the effects "advance/solve the active Mystery" interact with the Final Mystery? Quote : The Final Mystery is not the active Mystery. As such, “advance the active Mystery” and “...


6

You only need one success to pass a skill test. There can still be consequences (Sanity or Health loss for instance). If the text says that if you fail the horror check you will suffer blablabla, then you only need your test result to be 1 or higher to avoid the blablabla consequence. Here are extracts from the Reference Guide to cover those answers (...


6

You only count successes once all rerolls have been made. This can be inferred from this clause in the rulebook: Rerolling Dice Immediately after rolling dice during a test, an investigator may spend a Clue token to reroll one die. He may perform this multiple times, as long as he spends a Clue token each time. He determines whether he passed or ...


6

Reducing toughness is very different from dealing damage. Toughness tells you how much damage can a monster withstand. From the Reference Guide, "Monster" (page 8) When a Monster has lost Health equal to or greater than its toughness, it is defeated. Toughness almost never changes. Several monsters (mainly epic ones) have variable toughness. Barring ...


6

The text is unambiguous. Have in mind it's not worded "Then discard 1 of these Spells and this card." while it could be. There is no relevant ruling, as this is not a rules issue.


6

From the FAQ (Page 3) Q. If all investigators are defeated at the same time, do investigators lose the game? A No. At the end of the Mythos Phase, each defeated investigator will choose a new investigator to play as. However, if being defeated would cause a player to be eliminated, such as if the Ancient One has awoken, all players could be ...


6

From the base rule book, page 9: Combat Encounters If an investigator is on a space containing one or more Monsters, he must resolve a single Combat Encounter against each Monster on that space, one at a time, in the order of his choice. Combat Encounters are described in detail on page 14. After an investigator resolves all Combat ...


6

The final decision is always down to the active investigator when you are deciding the nearest but two or more targets are an equivalent distance. From the rules reference (page 9): When determining the “nearest” space or token, find the space or token separated by the fewest number of interconnected paths. If two or more spaces are tied for ...


6

Let's look at the exact wording on the cards: "Skids" O'Toole Whenever you roll a 1 during a test, you may reroll that die. Composed: When resolving a test, if you do not roll any 1's, you may reroll all of your dice. You can trigger Skids' ability whenever you roll a 1 during a test, that is apparent. Composed on the other hand is triggered ...


5

Jefromi has pointed out that there is more than one Madness condition, such as Paranoia, Amnesia, and Hallucinations. Consequently, an investigator can have more than one madness condition, as long as they are not the same. I hadn't realized madness was a category of condition.


5

As was already mentioned, the reference guide states: An investigator cannot have multiple copies of the same Condition. If he would gain a Condition that he already has a copy of, he does not gain another copy of that Condition. However, this rule does not prevent a player from making a choice to gain a condition, and then failing to actually gain ...


5

1) +N bonuses do not compound. From rules (Section Additional Rules - Tests p.12: An investigator can use only one card effect that provides a skill bonus during each test (for example, an Asset that reads “Gain +1 [”). If he has multiple card effects that provide a bonus, he uses the highest bonus. An ally is an asset just like a weapon, so having ...


5

Page 6 of the Reference Guide: Epic Monsters are treated like Monsters for all effects except as described here: An Epic Monster cannot be defeated by any effect except losing Health equal to or greater than it's toughness. So, yes to the first part, no to the second. You can't out-right kill an epic monster with a card ability. You MUST do ...


5

Typically, you use a straight forward reading of the rules/instructions in EH. In this case they indicate that the tokens are interchangable. The mystery you refer to also clearly states that any Eldritch tokens remaining on the board when the mystery is solved should stay on the board. This rather strongly indicates that (in this case at least) it is ...


5

The very detailed reference guide covers this case. From p.4, "Conditions": An investigator cannot have multiple copies of the same Condition. If he would gain a Condition that he already has a copy of, he does not gain another copy of that Condition.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible