15

No, you only need one of the base games (Europe or USA) in order to access the train car cards, scoring markers and the player carriage pieces. It doesn't matter which base game you own. For example, the rules for Heart of Africa tell you: This game is an expansion and requires that you use the following game parts from one of the previous versions of ...


8

Either of those big boxes is fine. Märklin is not perfectly compatible, since the train car deck is a little bit off, and Nordic Countries only has enough trains for three players. That's why those boxes are not quite compatible with the expansion maps.


7

yes. Taken from the 5-6 players rules pdf: http://www.catan.com/files/downloads/settlers_5-6_rv_rules_100107.pdf emphasis mine: • Special Building Phase – Your opponents may build as outlined below. The Special Building Phase occurs just after the end of your turn (i.e., between player turns). All the other players may participate in the Special ...


7

No, trading with the bank even with your ports (2:1, 3:1) is not allowed. If that rule did not exist, it would be very unlikely to have more than 7 cards in your hand. Taken from the rules (http://www.catan.com/files/downloads/settlers_5-6_rv_rules_100107.pdf): • Special Building Phase – Your opponents may build as outlined below. The Special Building ...


7

Coup: Reformation is the expansion for more than 6 players. It contains 15 cards; 3 of each rather than 2 of each. I think the rules from the game say how many cards to use for how many players, since someone quotes it as 25(5 of each) cards for 9-10 players. Since you use 15(3 of each) cards for 6 players, I'm guessing you add 1 of each card for 7-8, 2 for ...


7

You can find the list of existing products along with their logo, symbol and release date on the Magic's official card archive page. The page is available in french as well. While this page doesn't contains informations about border colors, each products page links to the corresponding card gallery on the Gatherer.


6

Baratheon strength 2 is Final if the Throne ranking so determines : which house executes first and next house executes after. So slightly counter-intuitively the lower Throne ranking would receive the benefit in this case. http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/73198-house-card-questions/ http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/867434/final-...


6

No, you can only trade with the bank in your own trading phase. The special building phase is just for building!


5

As it says in the rules for Shattered Empire, if you're using the Age of Empire variant, you have to use the Imperial II strategy card rather than Bureaucracy.


5

Yes, it's correct, in that to use everything in the box, you absolutely need the base set and On the Brink. There are things in there that directly add on to things from On the Brink, and would be useless without it. But you can still use most of it without On the Brink. You can add in the roles and events, and you can play the lab, solo, and team variants. ...


5

According to the FAQ you linked, the tile backs are compatible. If you want to restrict yourself to the new art style just to make it look pretty, you certainly can, but you'll be limited to any expansions that get (re)printed with the new style in the future. So if you want expansions now, you pretty much have to ignore the art difference. Among the older ...


4

Boardgame Geek's Carcassonne family page; which collects information on all of the Carcassonne games. You can also search for "Carcassonne" and get a list of all the games and subscribe to the individual games of interest. Just sign up, click "Subscribe" and you will stay up to date on all Carcassonne news.


4

A quick Google web search reveals this post for the Easter Festival (yes, it's the same author although a different name). The full rules for both expansions can be found in the downloads sections of Carcassonne Central (you'll need to register, but it's free to do so). Easter Festival - Rules Easter Festival - Tiles City Gates Rules - English translation


4

The actual answer is a little more complicated and so doesn't match either of the arguments. While the original card's wording (Italian/English) doesn't match the effect, it doesn't affect played cards (like the Bang! you mentioned), nor does it affect other players outside of their turn (so Bang! cards discarded for Indians are discarded as normal). This is ...


4

Here is some clarification posted on this card over at Board Game Geek where someone got answers from the publishers. Looking at the answers that where posted it looks like in your case the card was intended to be used only twice as at that point in the game it is only a two player game. Q: Lady Rose of Texas. Can a player use this ability just once per ...


4

While it seems Fantasy Flight Games has never explicitly said that Eldritch Horror expansions can be combined, the consensus of players is that it is perfectly fine to play Eldritch Horror with multiple expansions. No expansion is incompatible with another expansion Thus far, no expansion directly conflicts with another expansion. For instance, there is no ...


4

Allthough there have been numerous expansions and scenarios that were never published in English, it is still quite possible to acquire these scenarios in the US, along with reliable English translations of the rules. I would recommend starting at BoardGameGeek.com. That site can be a bit of a firehose for newcomers, but if you have a bit of patience, your ...


4

A player may move the fairy instead of placing a follower. A player can move the fairy on the placement of the first tile, the second tile, or both. A player can only score the one point when the turn begins. The "double turn" is a continuation of the turn, not the beginning of a new turn. Therefore a player cannot move the fairy on the first tile and ...


4

If you're looking for the rules applicable to all the various mechanics added by a given expansion, your best bet is to start reading the manual provided by nomad games. There are sections detailing the mechanics added by each expansion and their rules. This will also include the three released Digital Edition Exclusive expansions, which are not part of the ...


3

I just bought inns and cathedrals today and the new set of needles does include an abbot piece.


3

In terms of complexity, it doesn't add much. It all depends on your GOO (Great Old One), in fact, to determine what rules you're playing with in the end. And the additional rules don't make the game harder or more complex. They actually give the players other avenues to solving mysteries. Plus, setting up or tearing down the expansions doesn't add that ...


3

I have the Forsaken Lore expansion and haven't yet seen that it increases playtime, but it may increase difficulty (much in the same way that playing against Cthulhu in the base game is a little more challenging than say, any of the other Ancients). I have played the Forsaken Lore expansion now a couple of times and it's just as lengthy as the base game.


3

The difference is that wizards printed a whole lot of chronicles, and they sold it cheaper than normal packs. The result was a massive market flood of cards, some of which actually were somewhat valuable. compare the prices of Nicol Bolas to other obscure legends that weren't printed in chronicles like Angus Mackenzie, to see how chronicles affected it. ...


3

I believe the board art is also different and that's worth mentioning because if you buy the In the lab expansion you will end up with distinct board styles even purchasing the new cards.


3

I own all of the Ascension blocks and personally play CotG the most since the minimal mechanics allow it to be more accessible to my wife. I find it as a good introduction into the world of Ascension and then once she becomes more comfortable with it, I'll pull out the other blocks :-)


3

I play with the French version of the game which is very clear and could be translated as follow: During phase 1 every player picks his card from the discard pile if it is possible. If so, every card discarded during his round will be put face-down on the draw pile Translation from the original French card: Durant sa phase 1, si c'est possible, chaque ...


3

It looks like that version of Ascension has the Broken Token Box Organizer (or similar) included, which should allow for most, if not all, of the expansions to fit into the one box. The game normally comes with an insert that looks a little different. As such you would not need to keep the additional expansion boxes if you have no desire to resell the game,...


3

According to the rules: http://www.zmangames.com/uploads/4/7/1/7/47170931/en-stone-age-ext_rules.pdf A player may: Trade only once his marker has moved off of space 0 of the merchant track. Only trade in order to acquire a Civilization card or Building tile. Trade the resources and jewelry of their choice. Improve his trading ability ...


3

When combining Boss Monster with Boss Monster: The Next Level you still use the standard hero allocations, i.e. Two Players: 13 Heroes, 8 Epic Heroes Three Players: 17 Heroes, 12 Epic Heroes Four Players: 25 Heroes, 16 Epic Heroes But you choose the hero sets from either two packs. For example, you can use the regular Heroes from Boss Monster, and ...


3

A bit late, but still :) There are three words that adresses people in different ways in this game. House, Player, Opponent. (in this specific scenario, the difference between opponent and player is crucial) 1: Judging from the Bronn Vassal House Card. "After you reveal house cards, your opponent may choose to discard 2 of their available tokens to ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible