41 votes
Accepted

Can I Nope a Defuse?

Nope. From the rules Nope Stop any action except for an Exploding Kitten or a Defuse Card. Imagine that any card (or Pair or Special Combo ) beneath a Nope Card no longer exists You can not nope ...
Toon Krijthe's user avatar
  • 11.7k
14 votes

What do I do if there’s only one card left and I need to draw four because of attack cards?

Attack cards force you to take extra turns, so it's not just "draw 4" but rather take 4 turns in a row, each one that will end with you drawing a card. So you should simply handle each draw ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.8k
12 votes
Accepted

Do you need to show what you draw?

The rules (which are available online) do specify that hands are secret. This is within the setup section: Shuffle the remaining deck and deal 4 cards face down to each player. Deal 1 Defuse card to ...
Samthere's user avatar
  • 9,693
10 votes
Accepted

What happens to exploded kittens?

The wording on the exploding kitten card from the rules You must show this card immediately. Unless you have a Defuse card, you’re dead. Discard all of your cards, including the Exploding Kitten. ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.1k
9 votes

Nope card following a chain of Attack Cards

Player D nopes the attack card of player C. So it is still player C's turn and he/she has to resolve the double attack. See this question for the resolution of the double attack.
Toon Krijthe's user avatar
  • 11.7k
9 votes
Accepted

In Exploding Kittens, how do you know that another player got the exploding kitten?

There's certainly nothing stopping a player from cheating and not revealing a drawn Exploding Kitten, but since (at least in the base game) there's no way to put a card from your hand back into the ...
ConMan's user avatar
  • 11.4k
8 votes
Accepted

Are you allowed to play a 5 of a kind in Exploding Kittens to add an Exploding Kitten to your hand?

In the rules, Five Different Cards If you play 5 different cards (any 5 cards with different titles), go through the Discard Pile to take any single card you’d like. (Grab the Pile ...
Toon Krijthe's user avatar
  • 11.7k
8 votes
Accepted

Playing Nope on a Double Slap after it has been played

Nope. You can't do that. The rules (under the section on Nope) specifically state that: You can play a Nope Card at any time before an action has begun, even if it’s not your turn. As soon as you ...
Ken Herbert's user avatar
  • 8,336
8 votes

Why, when we play Exploding Kittens, does it always comes down to the last card in the deck or so?

With 52 cards and 4 players, there are about 17 cards per Exploding Kitten, so the probability of the last one being in the last 5 cards is about 5/17, or about 1/3, so it certainly should happen ...
Acccumulation's user avatar
7 votes

Nope card following a chain of Attack Cards

Nope cards aren't played on your own turn. You can play a Nope card at any time before an action has begun, even if it’s not your turn You play them as a reaction to the card whose effect you want ...
ikegami's user avatar
  • 47.7k
7 votes
Accepted

Can I combine Exploding Kitten decks to allow for more players?

Absolutely. From the website, Exploding Kittens is a: Party game for 2-5 players (up to 9 players with 2 decks) I often combine the Original and NSFW versions, to play with more than 4 players. You ...
Raj's user avatar
  • 1,129
6 votes

Exploding Kittens Nope Cards

Anyone can play a Nope card at any time (except for an Exploding Kitten or Defuse Card), from the rules: Stop any action except for an Exploding Kitten or a Defuse Card. Imagine that any card beneath ...
Cesar M's user avatar
  • 1,189
6 votes

What happens if you run out of cards in Streaking Kittens

The streaking kitten expansion introduces the streaking kitten card, it allows a player to keep one (and only one) kitten in her hand: Streaking Kitten 1 Card While this card is in your hand, ...
Toon Krijthe's user avatar
  • 11.7k
6 votes
Accepted

Exploding kittens. How many turns can an attack card "really" skip?

I'm going to answer my own question here. ThankYou Ken and Toon for the replies. :) How many turns can an attack card “really” skip??? It can skip all the turns that you have piled up on you. + it ...
Rex's user avatar
  • 121
6 votes

Following directions on pairs in exploding kittens?

As per the VERY first paragraph in the "Special combos (for advanced play)" section on the rules: When you play combos, ignore the instructions on the cards and do the following instead: Therefore,...
KitsuneZeta's user avatar
  • 1,759
6 votes
Accepted

Exploding kittens defuse card

We had 4 attack cards in a row yielding 8 turns for player B. For the nerfed version: The attack card does not stack in Exploding Kittens. It is not like the +1 in Uno (if you get the reference). If ...
GabrielOshiro's user avatar
6 votes

What happens to a losing player's cards in Exploding Kittens?

They go back into the Discard Pile. EXPLODING KITTEN ... Unless you have a Defuse Card, you're dead. Discard all of your cards, including the Exploding Kitten. Since there are one more ...
Ola Ström's user avatar
  • 1,596
5 votes
Accepted

Only card in hand is a skip card

On your turn you can play any number of cards from your hand, including zero cards. So you only need to play the Skip card if you think it is worth it. If you did decide to play the Skip card, your ...
Ken Herbert's user avatar
  • 8,336
5 votes

Do you need to show what you draw?

You know exactly how many exploding kittens are in the deck and there are no cards that allow you to put cards from your hand back in the deck, so it would become obvious at some point if someone ...
Duncan's user avatar
  • 590
5 votes

End turn by Drawing from Bottom card after Triple Slap?

I see from the rules that the slap cards give multiple turns, not multiple draws. Thus, the only cards that will allow you to avoid those extra turns are the Slap cards, which explicitly pass all ...
Brilliand's user avatar
  • 500
5 votes
Accepted

Is it possible to play 2 of a kind or 3 of a kind while I'm blinded by the Curse of the Cat Butt?

When playing blind, you can only play one card at a time. Curse of the Cat Butt is a clone/replacement of Blind as a Bat and follows the same rules. Blind as a Bat instructions: any cards must be ...
L. Scott Johnson's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

Can I shuffle discards into the draw deck?

No, you cannot shuffle the discard pile back into the deck. The entire point of Exploding Kittens is that the game eventually draws to a dramatic conclusion where almost all the leftover cards are ...
n0m4d3's user avatar
  • 343
4 votes

How do I tell if a game is counterfeit?

Compare it to a legitimate copy The easiest way would be to compare it to copy that's known to not be a counterfeit. To start with you might want to look at some pictures of the box on board game ...
aslum's user avatar
  • 4,756
4 votes

Are you allowed to play a 5 of a kind in Exploding Kittens to add an Exploding Kitten to your hand?

Taking an Exploding Kitten from the discard pile should have the same effect as drawing it. You explode unless you defuse it. Let's consider what the rules say on the subject: By the rules as ...
ikegami's user avatar
  • 47.7k
4 votes

Running out of cards in Exploding Kitten

It's impossible to run out of cards. The last card in the deck is guaranteed to be an Exploding Kitten. You must either handle it using a Defuse (which would create a deck consisting of just an ...
ikegami's user avatar
  • 47.7k
4 votes

Can I play NOPE on Catomic Bomb?

from the rules here on Nope cards Stop any action except Exploding Kitten or a Defuse Card. As Catatonic Bomb is neither of those cards a Nope card can be played.
StartPlayer's user avatar
  • 10.6k
4 votes
Accepted

What if the first card after an attack card is a kitten, does one need to draw a second card?

The effect of the Attack card is as follows: End your turn without drawing a card. Force the next player to take two turns. Therefore the next player has to draw again even if the first card is a ...
zovits's user avatar
  • 559
3 votes
Accepted

Do I need to have Imploding Kittens to use Streaking Kittens?

Yes, you can use the base game with only the second expansion, as none of the cards in the Streaking Kittens expansion requires anything from the Imploding Kittens pack.
zovits's user avatar
  • 559
3 votes
Accepted

Re attack after “noping” a chain of attacks

As I understand it, a Nope card cancels only a single card (or one action with multiple cards in the case of a special combo) so player D will play 6 turns. From the rules: Stop any action except for ...
Almog's user avatar
  • 146
3 votes

What happens if a slapped player plays a card before playing a Slap

Double Slap reads: End your turn and make a player take any other turn you have plus two more. When you play a Slap card, your turn ends and all your remaining turns are transferred to the slapped ...
ikegami's user avatar
  • 47.7k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible